Close MultiLang Selector Dialog
下一代培养
2022年1月24日
13分钟

营造家族团结氛围:基业长青的基本要素

2022年1月24日
13分钟
剑桥家族企业学院
概览

家族团结是无形要素,难以衡量,因此很容易被忽视。然而,必须有意地营造家族团结氛围,使关系、决策或发展势头不受阻碍。


运营企业的家族要实现企业基业长青,以三大支柱为依托:

  • 家族资产充分增长,
  • 任命有才干的家族成员和非家族成员在家族企业中担任重要职务,以及
  • 家族、企业主团队和家族企业团结一致。

这三大支柱相辅相成。

任何一个支柱出现短板,都应及时补齐。如果其中两个支柱长期存在重大缺陷,会严重拖累业绩,并影响家族的长期成功。在如今瞬息万变的环境中,当家族企业需要灵活敏捷、当机立断以及偶尔大胆求变时,这三个领域长期积弱不振会引发极其严重的后果。

成功与团结之间的联系

 
 
 
该图描述的是家族企业的各类资产和经营活动。家族企业及其使命、愿景和价值观是家族所有其他方面的核心所在。整体以圆形图呈现。围绕着家族企业的是家族的所有其他方面:家族公司、非核心业务、金融/流动资产(家族办公室)、家族资产(房产、艺术品)、慈善/社会影响力活动、家族社区活动、家族团结和家族生活、家族人才。这些资产和活动彼此交集,并且以主要家族企业为中心。此图由John A. Davis于2013年绘制。
 
 

人们倾向于认为,长期成功与前两大支柱之间存在直接且相当密切的联系,这两大支柱为资产(尤其是金融资产)增长以及重要职位的举贤任能。人们往往更加关注直接和密切的联系。然而,乍看之下,团结与长期成功之间的联系似乎没有其他两个因素那么直接,即时影响力也稍逊。

团结有助于一群人就其(1)使命、宗旨或关键目标,以及(2)开展集体工作的重要价值或方式达成一致或共识。

重要的是,团结并非和谐的代名词(“我们总是意见一致,我们总是相处融洽”)。提倡团结并不意味着期望任何时候都和谐共处。考虑到家族内部的相互竞争和情感因素,持久的平和是难以实现的,而且是一个不可能达到的标准。集体的团结,并不要求集体成员在与其集体相关的所有事项上都达成一致。事实上,大家以建设性的方式充分各抒己见,才能解决复杂问题并为集体指明正确方向。

对于家族企业基业长青而言,家族团结至关重要。团结有助于家族成员忠于家族和公司,家族成员彼此信任,及时作出决策,有建设性地解决问题,谨慎地承担风险,以及为支持集体长期成功的其他事情而付出努力。

为何营造团结氛围经常被忽视?

尽管团结在促进长期成功方面可发挥重要作用,但许多家族和企业领导者却忽视了营造团结氛围。其中有几个原因。其一,团结是无形的,难以衡量,并非日常生活中显而易见的直接因素,因此团结很容易被忽视。集体团结一心,就像好的设计一样,虽然不为人注意,但其在幕后运行,为其他因素的出现创造条件。

作为无形因素,团结被视为理所当然,不团结的征兆却被忽视或淡化。当因为重要决定或特殊事件而需要团结时,人们会感受到团结的重要性。即使发现集体不够团结,领导者也可将其归咎于“某些人”的不配合,而不是认为本身缺乏系统性的团结,而让集体团结一致是领导者的责任。

其二,人们错误地认为修复不团结的关系易如反掌,可以很快就重修旧好,因此何必要用那么多时间营造团结局面呢?此外,家人之间难道不是本来就该团结一心的吗?当发现不团结的情况时,我们可能会鼓励、劝说、协商或迫使一些人或一些反对者同意某项提议,但这些行动很少能在任何集体中形成真正的团结局面。真正的团结需要成员之间的高度一致,其形成只能靠时间的沉淀,就像一个果园,靠多年的精心照料才能结出果实。

因此,我们归纳出营造团结氛围被人们,尤其是家族所忽略的第三个原因:要团结起来,通常需要一些令人不安的对话(比如讨论投资什么、雇用谁或提拔谁、企业要作出什么改变),这可能会打破家族的和谐状态。要成为企业的成功家族主理人,就需要作出明智的决策,而这些决策可能会令一些家族成员感到失望,并疏远一些大力反对这些决策的家族成员。大多数家族担心出现这类结果,并避免破坏家族关系。

讽刺的是,高度团结的家族成员(目的和方式与家族保持一致)不太可能会被疏远,而且在其个人利益没有得到充分满足的情况下,他们愈发可能会留在集体中。有太多的家族因为担心家族成员之间发生矛盾冲突而抑制真正团结一致所需的对话和解决问题的做法,并满足于成员之间“粉饰太平”。在这种状态下,家族成员之间仍会感觉到关系紧张,并且知道他们没有真正和睦相处。此外,他们错过了就其方向和方式达成真正共识的机会。这是双重损失。

一个有进取心的家族会致力于深入思考在其体系中形成和维系团结的意义,并积极采取行动加强团结,同时在出现不团结的问题时迅速而坚定地解决问题。

那么,一个家族如何才能营造团结氛围呢?首先让我们要了解团结的组成部分。

家族团结的要素

  1. 尊重、信任和公平。根据上述论点,您可能会想到,家族的团结在很大程度上取决于家族成员之间,尤其是家族成员与其领导者之间互尊互信的关系。为营造团结氛围,企业和家族领导人需要以尊重他人的方式管理关系并作出重要决定,以减少疏远他人和削减他们对家族企业的承担的可能性。相互尊重的决策过程承认成员的不同利益和意见,同时将成员自身利益归属于集体目标。通过值得信任和相互尊重的决策过程以及尊重他人的领导者来树立相互尊重的家族文化,可为形成和维系家族团结提供极大的帮助。
    还需要是尊重、信任和公平“融入到”治理系统和企业组织结构中,以支持家族团结。各职务的决策权和决策规则分明,不仅可以建立起对集体及其领导者决策的信任,也是对家族成员的尊重。他们应当清楚决策过程,能够相信所作决策是公平的,以及决策有利于集体利益而非个人利益。
    公平是家族中最重要的问题,以透明度为支撑,寄托着企业主和家族成员的期许,平衡家族成员之间的地位和权力的差距,使差距不至于过大,不应过于明显而被大众察觉。当家族成员有资格担任职务,根据能力而不是因为任人唯亲或权术而获得机会时,会更有兴趣继续作为集体的一份子。
    在家族内部以及家族与其企业之间建立高度互信,需要(家族和组织)强有力的表现、值得信赖和尊重他人的领导者和治理能力、清晰有效的股东协议、重要讨论中的透明度和包容性、公平和尊重地对待家族成员,以及对家族成员和主要利益相关者的明显关怀。
    接受观点分歧的集体成员之间互尊互信的关系,为团结提供支撑。如果您无法通过讨论、辩论和提出异议来真正实现成员的观点一致,那么您就无法实现团结。确切地说,如果一个集体的成员无法接受异议,他们就不太可能团结起来——他们并不知道这一点。虽然一个集体的成员未必需要成为和睦或亲密的朋友才能团结一致,但彼此信任、解决问题时能够提出意见、相互扶持的朋友,的确有利于团结。
  2. 令人信服且切实可行的家族使命、愿景和价值观给人以激励,彰显家族想要实现的共同目标以及家族代表着什么。这些表述在家族内部形成一种看法,即“我们是家族的一份子,家族高于个人”,并且我们共同创造的各种价值大于我们个人所创造的价值。在这些陈述中必须列出家族希望创造的主要价值类型,以便不同家族成员都能感受到家族的使命符合他们的利益。
  3. 同样,拥有一个鼓励家族广泛参与和积极贡献、具有吸引力的家族企业组织,也可以促使家族团结和投入。家族的所有事业包括其核心业务和其他生意、金融投资慈善和社区活动、普通家庭住宅和其他生活方式资产,以及家族活动(包括家族治理)。
    虽然通常情况下,很少家族成员能够成为家族企业的员工或董事会成员,但很多家族成员可以在其他家族活动中发挥作用。一个人对组织的贡献越多,此人对组织的投入程度往往也越高。认可对家族企业不同组成部分作出贡献的家族成员,有助于使他们彼此建立联系,并强化家族的整体目标。 
     
     
     
    维持家族成功需要家族专注于同一个使命,并以价值观为指导。这是所有其他活动的核心。利用这一重点,家族得以实现家族资产增长,在家族成员和非家族成员中培养人才,并形成/维系家族和组织团结。
     
     
  4. 家族企业(例如公司、家族办公室、家族慈善事业等)的出色业绩有助于树立对领导者判断能力的信心和信任,对家族产生积极作用,并且通常会促使家族成员因为持续的共同投资而获得经济回报。出色业绩也会使家族成员对其家族、共同的历史和家族贡献感到自豪。除了加强对家族和家族企业的投入外,出色业绩还为家族成员一起工作提供更多的理由。
  5. 家族团结还需要家族成员和家族主理人之间的协议和讨论过程。这些协议(通常包含在家族宪法和股东协议中)应列明对家族成员和主理人有何期望行为和标准,阐述他们要如何履行职责,管理关系以及解决分歧。
    股东协议的重要方面之一是允许主理人在某些情况下遵循特定规则变更主理人团队(买卖股票)。有时,为了维系家族团结,一些主理人需要离开。此外,当主理人发现解决问题的方法时,家族主理人团队往往会更加团结。此外,需要落实流程,让家族成员讨论他们的兴趣和关注事项,设定目标和制定计划,讨论分歧,并解决不团结的问题。

要管理不团结现象,而不仅仅是解决矛盾

当然,家族是复杂的集体。运营企业的家族具备某些特质,使他们成为强烈情感和关系矛盾的温床。然而,在商界有一席之地的家族都严格管控不团结现象。他们观察、权衡不团结现象,并在情况发展之前解决问题,以防分歧影响关系、决策或发展势头。

虽然一家管理得当的家族企业可在一段时间内避免家族主理人之间不团结或团结不紧密,但家族内部的深层次分裂最终会不可避免地给整个企业制造问题。没有一家家族企业可长期容忍不团结问题。

不团结表现形式各异。不团结可以表现为家族矛盾,家族成员明显不和,矛盾经常会激化。也可以在没有冲突的情况下出现不团结的局面,即家族成员渐行渐远、彼此疏远。

家族不团结类型一:离心离德

当不团结表现为离心离德时,家族成员难以维持联系。他们退出家族企业,彼此不再相干。家族成员倾向于采取个人主义而非集体主义;他们拥有独立的目标,并且对追求这些目标方面兴趣更浓厚。他们对共同活动和资产呈现出极为消极被动的态度。随着时间推移,家族成员相互疏远,脱离家族企业。彼此可能会保持相互尊重,甚至血浓于水的关系,且没有明显冲突,但缺乏共同目标或家族凝聚力。

导致运营企业的家族出现离心离德原因众多,例如家族企业财政状况不佳;企业所进军的行业并非家族的兴趣所在或有悖家族价值观;慈善事业涉及的领域难以引起家族的共鸣;家族在主理人层面缺乏高级人才,在战略事务方面失去发言权,选择放弃主动所有权;家族将其公司、投资组合和家族企业的相关重要决策委托给非家族高管或受托人;作为一个有进取心的家族,无法掌握自己的命运等。其中任何一个原因都有可能导致家族转向追求个人利益,以及从共同的家族资产和活动中抽身。

这类不团结会使家族企业的发展速度变慢,使其难以凝聚人心、作出集体决策,以及就发展策略达成一致。随着家族成员分道扬镳,家族企业将无法长久生存。通常,最好的结果是出售公司,让家族成员靠独立的资产独立生活。

家族不团结类型二:矛盾冲突

另一类不团结是指家族因不和与分裂而陷入的不团结局面。主要是明显的矛盾、敌意,或被动/挑衅式的对抗。在这种氛围中,家族成员之间相互防范、不信任并且玩弄权术。彼此鲜有合作。问题层出不穷,不尽力解决问题,关系恶化。家族结构遭到破坏,难以在重要事务上达成共识。

当家族蒙受损失问题得不到解决时;当竞争、矛盾冲突和沟通引起不和成为家族互动的模式时;当家族缺少实际领导者时;当家族将矛盾升级而不是控制矛盾,甚至将不和延续至下一代时,通常就会出现这种情况。(如需进一步了解这种严重且持久的矛盾冲突,请阅读《持续家族矛盾的根源》一文。)这类冲突会拖慢家族企业的发展步伐,使其停滞不前,在重要工作中分散注意力、让家族蒙羞、使人们心生厌倦。不仅关系受到损害,而且也难以达成一致和找到问题的解决方案。

营造团结氛围和维系团结

如果不干预,家族的团结程度会自然而然地逐代下降。家族分裂的方式有很多种。家族成员越来越分散,交往越来越少。所有权分散。生活方式各有不同。个人利益优先于集体目标。公平问题导致分歧。无法就某些分歧达成共识,一些关系割裂的情况持续存在。团结是维持长期成功的重要因素,以至于在这些总会出现的情况下,家族明智地选择退出——要么买下始终对多数人持反对意见的少数家族成员的资产,要么分割资产让持异议的成员脱离家族。这些是极端案例,但家族必须要为这些情况做好准备。

应对团结程度自然下降的问题如逆流而上,须积极防止家族分裂。在几代人中维系家族团结不可循规蹈矩。但经营企业的家族做到了——他们有意地营造团结氛围。他们了解家族团结的要素、不团结的根源,并对其畸形追踪、监控和管理。例如,家族领导者清楚仍未解决的积怨,以及正在萌芽的当下问题。他们密切关注可能引发不团结的、在各代人当中存在的可预测问题(例如继任过渡或出售企业);这些重大问题可导致派系的产生,需要加以监控。家族领导者保持消息灵通,表现出关注态度,并通过干预手段来管理沟通。他们与家人交谈并了解他们的看法,以确保家族行为和关系总体上倾向于团结一致。(除了本文的建议外,请阅读《即使相隔遥远,仍维系家族团结》,了解在地理上分散的情况下,加强家族团结的10种方法。)

结束语

有进取心的家族成员终其一生维持相互联系,其原因众多。通常情况下,共同的传承意识、对遗产的认同、责任感,以及继续共同创造价值的愿望(及其他原因)会促使家族坚持共同投资,在早期的数代家族成员中情况更加明显。但随着时间推移,经历多代人之后,随着家族壮大,成员分散,情感疏离,这些羁绊几乎难以维持使命和价值观的高度一致。这意味着必须有目的地营造家族团结气氛和维系家族团结。

毕竟,更加团结的家族更有把握获得成功。

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多

We noticed that you are based in . Would you like to view this page in ? Yes, take me to the page. No stay on this page.

Close MultiLang Selector Dialog
Next generation
January 24, 2022
13 mins

Building family unity: An essential element of multigenerational success

January 24, 2022
13 mins
Cambridge Institute for Family Enterprise
SUMMARY

Family unity is easy to neglect as it is invisible and hard to measure. However, it is critical to deliberately build family unity so it does not impede relationships, decisions, or momentum.


The multigenerational success of an owning-family rests on three pillars:

  • Adequate growth of a family’s assets,
  • Placing capable family and non-family talent in key roles in the family enterprise, plus
  • Having unity in the family, the ownership group, and in the family enterprise.

Each of these pillars supports the other two.

Weakness in any of these three pillars should be corrected. Serious weakness in two of these three areas for a long period of time will greatly reduce performance and endanger a family’s long-term success. In today’s quickly changing environment—when family enterprises need to be agile, decisive, and occasionally make bold changes—lasting weakness in all three areas can be fatal.

The connection between success and unity

 
 
 
Image describes the Family Enterprise <q>Portfolio</q> of Assets and Activities. The family enterprise, its mission, vision and values is at the center of all other aspects of the family. It is represented as a circle. Surrounding the family enterprise is all other aspects of the family: Family Company, Non-core businesses, Financial/Liquid Assets (Family Office), Family Assets (homes, art), Philanthropy/Social Impact Activities, Family Community Activities, Family Unity & Family Life, Family Talent. These assets and activities intersect with one another and the main family enterprise at the center. This image was developed by John A. Davis in 2013.
 
 

People tend to see a direct and rather immediate connection between long-term success and the first two pillars: growth of assets (especially financial assets) and having capable talent in key roles. Human beings tend to pay much more attention to direct and immediate connections. The connection between unity and long-term success, however, seems less direct and less immediately impactful than the other two factors, at first glance.

Unity has to do with the alignment or agreement by members of a group on their (1) mission, purpose, or key goals, and (2) the important values or approaches for doing the work of the group.

Critically, unity is not synonymous with harmony (we always agree and we always get along). To advocate for unity is not to say harmony is expected at all times. Given competing agendas and emotions in a family, consistent peace is rarely attainable and would be an impossible standard. Unity in a group doesn’t require that group members agree on everything related to their group. In fact, you need enough different views, constructively expressed, to be able to solve complicated problems and set the right direction for a group.

Family unity is pivotal to the multigenerational success of a family enterprise. Being united facilitates members’ commitment to the family and company, trust among members, timely decision making, constructive problem solving, prudent risk taking, and other things that support the group’s long-term success.

Why unity-building is often neglected

Despite its role in fostering long-term success, many families and business leaders neglect building unity. There are a few reasons for this. First, because it is out of sight, hard to measure, and not an obvious or immediate factor in day-to-day life, unity is easily overlooked. Being united as a group is like good design, which is said to be invisible, operating in the background, and creating the conditions for other factors to be present.

Being an invisible factor allows unity to be taken for granted, and signs of disunity to be ignored or downplayed. Unity tends to be seen as important when it is needed for a consequential decision or special event. Even when disunity in the group is spotted, leaders can blame it on certain people being difficult, rather than seeing unity itself as lacking systemically, which is the leaders’ responsibility to nurture in their group.

Second, disunity is mistakenly thought to be easily repaired and unity quickly restored, so why invest a lot of time in building unity? Besides, aren’t families supposed to hang together? When disunity is spotted, we might be able to encourage, cajole, negotiate or force some people to agree or some dissenters to go along with a proposal, but these actions rarely build authentic unity in any group. Real unity requires a deep alignment among members, which can only be nurtured over time, like with an orchard that produces fruit only when it is well-tended over years.

This brings us to our third reason why building unity is neglected, especially in families: building unity typically requires some uncomfortable conversations (like about what to invest in, who to hire or promote, what to change in the business) that can disturb family harmony. Being successful family owners of an enterprise requires making wise decisions that can disappoint some family members from time to time and could alienate some family members who especially disagree with these decisions. Most families fear these outcomes and avoid disturbing family relationships.

Ironically, family members who are strongly united (aligned with the family on purpose and approach) are much less likely to be alienated and much more likely to remain in the group if their personal interests are not all met. Too many families, fearing conflict among the members, suppress the dialogue and problem solving needed for authentic unity and settle for a pretense of peace, among members.

In this state, family members still feel tension among them and know they don’t have actual harmony. Plus, they miss the opportunity to build real consensus on their direction and approach. It’s a double loss.

The mandate for an enterprising family is to think deeply about what it means to build and maintain unity in their system, and take action proactively to strengthen it, while quickly and unflinchingly addressing issues of disunity when they arise.

So how does a family go about building unity? Let’s begin by understanding the components of unity.

Ingredients of family unity

  1. Respect, trust and fairness. As you might guess based on the above argument, unity in a family group depends a great deal on having respectful and trusting relationships among the members and especially between family members and their leaders. To build unity, business and family leaders need to manage relationships and make key decisions in a respectful way to reduce the likelihood of alienating others and weakening their commitment to the family enterprise. A respectful decision-making process acknowledges members’ different interests and opinions, while subordinating members’ self-interest to the goals of the group. Nurturing a respectful family culture with a trustworthy and respectful decision-making process and respectful leaders helps enormously to build and maintain family unity.
Respect, trust and fairness also needs to be baked into the governance system and enterprise organization structure to support family unity. Having clear decision rights and decision rules for various roles, not only builds trust in the decisions of the group and its leaders, it is a sign of respect to the members. They should know how decisions are made and be able to trust that they are made fairly and favor the group over individual interests.
Fairness, an overriding concern within families, is supported with transparency, managed expectations of owners and family members, and managed status and power discrepancies between family members so they do not grow too wide or become very visible in public. When family members can qualify for key roles, and receive opportunities based on merit rather than favoritism or politics, there is greater interest in remaining a part of the group.
Strong levels of trust in the family and between the family and its enterprise should be built through strong performance (by the family and the organization), trustworthy and respectful leadership and governance, clear and effective shareholder agreements, transparency and inclusion in key discussions, fair and respectful treatment of members, and demonstrated caring for family members and key stakeholders.
Unity is supported by having respectful and trusting relationships among group members who are comfortable disagreeing. You can’t achieve unity if you can’t discuss, debate, and disagree to authentically align the views of the members. One can properly say that if members of a group are uncomfortable disagreeing, it is unlikely they are united—they just don’t know it. While members of a group don’t have to be harmonious or close friends to achieve unity, being supportive friends who trust each other and can disagree to solve a problem does support unity.

2. A compelling and achievable family mission, vision, and values provide an inspiring sense of what the family wants to achieve together and what it stands for. These statements create an understanding within the family that ‘we are part of something bigger than any of us’ and that together we will build more value of various kinds than we can individually. It is important for these statements to list the key types of value that the family hopes to create, so that various parts of the family can feel the family’s mission speaks to their interests.

3. Likewise, having an engaging family enterprise organization that encourages broad family involvement and contributions also builds family unity and commitment. The family’s total enterprise includes its core business and other business ventures, financial investments, philanthropic and community activities, common family homes and other lifestyle assets, and family activities (including family governance).

While few family members typically can be family company employees or board members, many can have a role in the other activities of the family. The more a person contributes to an organization, generally the greater is his or her commitment to the organization. Recognizing family members who contribute to different parts of the family enterprise helps to bind them to one another and reinforce the whole purpose of the family.

 
 
 
Sustaining family success requires the family to be focused on a mission and guided by values. This is at the heart of all other activities. Utilizing that focus allows the family to GROW family assets, develop family and non-family TALENT, and create/maintain family and organizational UNITY.
 
 
  1. Strong performance of the family enterprise (e.g., the company, family office, family philanthropy, etc.) builds confidence and trust in leaders’ judgment, reflects well on the family, and generally rewards family members economically for remaining jointly invested. Strong performance also builds pride in one’s family, its shared history, and its contributions. In addition to strengthening commitment to the family and its enterprise, it gives family members more reasons to work together.
  2. Family unity also needs agreements and discussion processes among family members and among family owners. These agreements (often contained in the family constitution and shareholder agreements) should state what behaviors and standards are expected from family members and owners, explain how they will perform their responsibilities, manage their relationships and resolve their differences.

A vital aspect of shareholder agreements allows owners to change the ownership group (buying and selling shares) under certain circumstances and following specific rules. Sometimes, some owners need to leave for family unity to be preserved. Plus, family ownership groups tend to build greater unity when owners know there is an escape hatch. Processes also need to be in place for family members to discuss their interests and concerns, set goals and make plans, talk through differences, and address issues of disunity.

Manage disunity, not just conflict

Families, of course, are complex groups. Owning families have certain qualities that make them breeding grounds for intense feelings and relationship conflicts. But families that survive in business together manage disunity rigorously. They watch for it, measure it, and address it before it grows so divisions do not to impede relationships, decisions, or momentum.

While a well-run family enterprise can, for a time, remain insulated from disunity or weak unity among family owners, deep fractures within a family will eventually—inevitably—create problems throughout the enterprise. And no family enterprise will endure for very long with it.

Disunity comes in different forms. It can appear as family conflict where members are engaged in visible disagreements that often become heated. It can also appear without conflict, but instead as family members who are drifting apart and disengaged from one another.

Family Disunity Type 1: Disengagement

When disunity appears as disengagement, family members experience disconnectedness. They are withdrawn from the family enterprise and detached from one another. Family members favor individualism rather than collectiveness; they have independent goals and a greater interest in pursuing them. On display is an overwhelming sense of passivity about joint activities and assets. Over time, family members drift apart from one another and from the enterprise. Relationships may be respectful and even affectionate, with no visible strife, but there is no common purpose or force of gravity pulling the family together.

Disengagement in an owning family can occur for any number of reasons: the family enterprise underperforms financially; the company diversifies into industries that are uninteresting to the family or in opposition of its values; philanthropy drifts into areas that are uninspiring to the family; the family does not have senior talent at the owner level, and loses its voice in strategic matters, opting out of active ownership; the family delegates important decisions about its company, portfolio, and family enterprise to non-family executives or trustees; and it is no longer in charge of its destiny as an enterprising family.

Any number of these can lead the family to drift toward individual interests and to disengage from joint family assets and activities.

This type of disunity slows a family enterprise down, making it harder to convene people, make collective decisions, and agree on strategies to move forward. With family members moving in separate directions, the family enterprise will not survive long. Typically the best outcome is a sale of the company, allowing individual family members to live independent lives with independent assets.

Family Disunity Type 2: Conflict

On the other side of the disunity spectrum is an environment where the family is not unified because there is friction and division. Here, the presence of visible conflict, hostility, or passive/aggressive antagonism prevails. In this climate, there is guardedness, mistrust, and political maneuvering among family members. There is little cooperation. Problems grow, unattended to, and relationships deteriorate. The fabric of the family erodes and agreement on important matters is hard to achieve.

This typically occurs when family injuries go unaddressed and unresolved; when rivalries, conflicts, and divisive communication becomes the pattern of family interactions; when real leadership in the family is absent; and when the family escalates the conflict rather than manages it, even passing down divisiveness to the next generation. (More on this type of serious, persistent conflict can be found in the article, The Origin of Persistent Family Conflict.)

Conflicts like this slow a family enterprise, stall momentum, distract from important work, embarrass the family, and fatigue people. Not only are relationships harmed, but agreements and solutions to problems are hard to put in place.

Building and maintaining unity

Absent intervention, family unity naturally declines with each generation. There are a number of ways families can splinter. Family members become more diverse and dispersed, geographically and socially. Ownership diffuses. Lifestyles diverge. Individual interests eclipse collective goals.

Fairness issues cause disagreements. Some disagreements do not reach common ground, and some fragmenting is permanent. Unity is such an important ingredient in sustaining long-term success that, in these permanent cases, families are wise to resort to exits—either buying out minority members who consistently disagree with the majority, or dividing assets to allow a dissenting family member to depart. These are extreme cases, but they are cases for which families must prepare.

Counteracting the natural decline of unity requires actively pushing against the currents that drive families to fragment. Maintaining unity in the family over generations requires doing something unnatural. But the families that survive in business do this—they deliberately build unity.

They understand the ingredients of family unity, the sources of disunity, and they track, monitor, and manage them. For example, family leadership is aware of past grievances that remain unaddressed, as well as contemporary issues that are germinating.

They pay close attention to the predictable, once-in-a-generation issues that can trigger disunity (such as a succession transition or the sale of a business); these big issues can create factions, and need to be monitored. Family leadership remains informed, shows concern, and intervenes to manage conversations. They talk with and survey the family to make sure family behavior and relationships overall tilt favorably toward unity. (In addition to the recommendations in this article, see Staying United When Geographically Distant for 10 ways to strengthen family unity when geographically separated.)

In closing

There are many reasons why enterprising family members elect to remain connected throughout their lifetime. Typically, a shared sense of heritage, appreciation for the legacy, a sense of duty, and a desire to continue to build value together (among other reasons) encourage a family to remain jointly invested—particularly in early generations. But over time and through the generations, these are rarely enough to sustain strong alignment of mission and values as the family grows, becomes more diverse, and more dispersed. This means that family unity must be built and maintained purposefully.

A family, after all, is more assured of success if it has greater unity.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth. 

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth. 

View all insights