下一代培養
2022年1月24日

在地理相距遙遠的情況下維繫團結

2022年1月24日
劍橋家族企業學院
概覽

即便是在新冠肺炎疫情導致人們保持物理距離之前,各自心懷高遠的家族成員也早已是分散在全球各地——而這通常使家族更加難以保持團結。家族如何在成員相隔遙遠的情況下維持牢固的聯繫並保持團結一心?


在過去的半個世紀中,有進取心的家族常常存在地理分散的情況,這對家族團結構成挑戰。沒有面對面的接觸,家族難以維繫團結。然而,有進取心的家族呈現地域流動趨勢,已是不爭的事實。家族必須設法在地理相距遙遠的情況下營造團結氛圍和維繫團結。

家族地域流動趨勢

造成這種地理流動性的原因非常多。

自20世紀80年代以來,由於全球化推動了家族企業的國際化,越來越多有創業精神的家族成員為了家族業務而移居海外,例如為家族企業開拓新業務或在區域銷售辦事處、海外工廠或其他業務中擔任領導職位。家族所面臨的挑戰是維持遙遠家族分支與主系家族的聯繫和情感,使距離遙遠的業務經營與總部保持良好的協調。

過去20年中出現了另一種有進取心的家族:離開原籍國,到世界各地在最安全的社區置業和尋求最優質教育的高淨值家族。這些家族中的成員可能居住在多個司法管轄區。這些家族與任何特定國家或地區的關係都不太密切,而他們的移民過程將如何影響家族團結尚無定論。他們共同的移民經歷或許有助於提高他們在目標和價值觀方面的一致性。

在過去的半個世紀中,由於個人探索,有進取心的家族在地理上的分散程度與日俱增。過去半個世紀的模式大致為:下一代家族成員到所在國家或地區的另一個地方或前往另一個國家或地區上大學、旅遊散心或工作。他們喜歡這個新地方和豐富多姿的文化,並在那裡定居。他們與當地人結婚,生兒育女,不加入家族企業而是另謀高就,並定期回他們原來的家。其挑戰在於與大家族保持緊密的家族關係,以及一直了解家族企業的情況。  

近年來,科技為遠程工作和求學敞開大門,使企業員工在任何地方工作,學生打開手提電腦就能上課。科技能夠使某些行業從業者的居住地變得不那麼重要,選擇住在遙遠國家或地區的家族成員數量可能因此而增多。

最近,我們經歷了一種不同的家族物理隔離,原因在於新冠肺炎疫情迫使大家分離。在這種情況下,即使是地理上相近的家族成員,也會像生活在不同國家或地區的家族成員一樣感到彼此疏遠。科技和社交媒體在許多家族中發揮重要的平衡作用,他們表示,科技使他們與家族成員之間互動比疫情之前更加頻繁。

疫情有望很快結束,但上述趨勢仍將繼續。家族在物理距離上將更加分散。家族世代居住在同一個城市的傳統觀念已經過時。家族不斷遷移,該趨勢很可能會持續下去。

對家族團結的影響

將一個經營企業的家族緊密維繫在一起的是共同的目標和價值觀。家族團結的衡量標準是成員以一個家族的身份擔當使命(或實現目標)的一致性和奉獻精神,以及他們完成使命(或踐行價值觀)的方法。

當成員之間有共同的經歷,感受到互信互尊和彼此關懷時,更容易取得一致和投入其中。透過多個因素可以營造團結氛圍(請閱讀 Building Family Unity(《營造家族團結氛圍》)一文),主要是靠共同的親身經歷來營造。例如一起慶祝生日和節日,週日在祖母家共進午餐,兄弟姐妹每週舉行一次網球比賽。這些活動可加強關係,樹立家族自豪感,為必要的溝通對話提供空間,並創造集體記憶——所有活動皆有助於家族團結並形成共同的身份認同感。

當家族成員在地理上處於分散狀態時,保持親密的家族關係和維持對家族出身的共同身份認同會更具挑戰性。尤其在下一代當中,家族成員可能不太理解、認同包括家族企業在內的主系家族利益和優先事項,且無法為之作出貢獻。除了經濟利益和引以為豪的歷史外,他們與主系家族的聯繫會變成是「錦上添花」,而不是他們人生中至關重要的方面。

沒有面對面的接觸,家族難以維繫團結。這是家族團結程度逐代下降的原因之一。人們往往會信任、尊重或對他人存在好感,進而更願意與這些人交談或達成一致。建立信任、尊重和好感通常需要一段很長的時間,在此過程中,需要共處、溝通、合作、互相支持,並學會爭吵及和好。

那麼,一個有進取心的家族如何在相距遙遠的情況下仍保有共同經歷?在最基本的層面上,如何才能讓家族規模發展壯大、地理上距離越來越遠的家族成員們維持彼此間的關係以及與家族企業的聯繫?

以下幾個方面可能因為家族成員地理上相距遙遠而出現家族團結不緊密或難以維繫的現象:

  • 家族紐帶:當家族成員並非一起成長,沒有機會打好關係時,如何才能在親戚之間加強關係和建立友誼?
  • 家族負責人保持一致:當家族負責人會面的時間有限且不定期見面時,如何讓他們就戰略決策達成一致?
  • 家族與企業的聯繫:當企業所在地位於家族成員幾乎不去,甚至可能不願意去的地方時,家族如何與企業保持聯繫?
  • 家族在使命和價值觀上達成一致:當家族成員因為居住在不同的地方而發展出不同的個人興趣和優先事項時,如何讓家族成員就企業使命、願景和價值觀保持一致?
  • 解決敏感問題:當相距較遠,無法親自見面和交談時,要如何解決家族成員之間的矛盾並撫平往日的傷痛?
  • 家族關懷:當家族成員相隔遙遠時,他們如何表現出對彼此的支持,尤其是在需要時?

數碼方式下的聯繫為何不是充分的替代方式

誠然,現代通訊技術時常被視為上述挑戰的解決方案,但社會科學研究一再證明,電子郵件和視像會議無法取代面對面接觸。例如,與網絡互動替代方案相比,當面溝通可更有效地形成同理心,完成高難度對話,以及防止溝通不暢。研究還表明,面對面發出請求獲得積極響應的可能性是電子郵件的34倍。

面對面溝通更具說服力和效力。親自會面可提高創造力並鞏固友誼。這些因素皆有助於營造家族團結氛圍。家族成員應盡一切努力定期碰面,並儘可能親自出席。

如何在相隔遙遠的情況下營造家族團結氛圍?

由於上述原因,對於家族而言,親自見面並不總是切實可行。然而,當彼此距離遙遠的情況下,依然可以保持聯繫並維持團結。以下是有進取心的家族在彼此分散的情況下為加強團結而可以嘗試採取的10項實際措施。其中一些需要親自會面;其他措施採取網絡方式可能湊效。同樣,部分措施可在不違反保持社交距離規定的情況下實施;其他措施則建議考慮後疫情下的環境。

  1. 在使命、願景和價值觀方面保持統一。提醒家人是什麼維繫著整個家族。例如,解釋成為家族成員的意義、家族的共同願景、共同目標,以及保持聯繫和支持當前事業的重要性。切勿自以為大家均有此共識,而是要明確地加以灌輸。網上或面對面的研討會適合這項活動。
  2. 傳達地域包容性的資訊。主動告訴家人:「無論我們身處在世界的哪個角落,我們都是一家人,患難與共。」
  3. 拓寬家族活動的地域範圍。擴大家族活動的地理邊界,讓更多家族成員參與其中。例如,透過選擇區域性或全球性問題,重新定義家族慈善事業所要解決的社會問題。在家族成員居住的地區,組織家族應對危機或災難的慈善活動,因為這可能是一項齊心協力和相互包容的活動。
  4. 主動聯繫相距較遠的家族成員。家族應特別用心地與遠在他鄉或孤身一人的家族成員取得聯繫。與他們保持密切聯繫。讓他們感受情感紐帶的力量,並幫助他們以卓有成效的方式為企業做貢獻。指派家族中的某位成員擔任他們的「嚮導」,這樣一來,他們可以向此人提出問題,接收此人提供的最新資訊,從而使他們能夠與家族企業保持聯繫。讓這些家族成員變得脫離家族、不了解情況、對家族事務漠不關心或感到被疏遠是您所不願看到的局面。同時,也不要忘記聯繫姻親(配偶)和非婚姻伴侶。他們的參與對於實現家族團結非常重要。
  5. 在家族中培養關愛文化。被關愛的感覺是一股團結家族的重要力量,是團結的一大基石。在家族中培養關愛文化。指定負責維繫團結的家族成員,他們關注關係的變化趨勢,並努力確保關係向和睦的方向發展。這些家族成員負責凝聚人心,認可他人的個人成就。
  6. 盡可能親自見面。每年投入大量時間和資源親自維繫家族團結,最好是延長時間。這些活動應該均衡考量純粹的消遣(例如到某地度假)與有計劃的正式出遊之間的適當取捨。重點應放在協作、共同學習、團隊建設、分享經驗以及家庭活動方面。
  7. 促進使家族成員關係融洽的方法。一起參加有趣的社交活動是家族成員相互了解、建立紐帶和相互深入聯繫的好方法。提供鼓勵和資源,為家族成員參與體驗提供便利。一起慶祝家族大事和節日。還要養成參與新奇體驗的習慣:一起旅行、一起舉辦社區聚會、一起創造新事物、一起冒險。
  8. 密切關注下一代之間的關係。需要給下一代提供自行建立關係、一起了解家族企業和共事的時間。為下一代攜手合作而開發項目,以便他們有理由進行協調和溝通。例如,組織他們一起從事慈善活動,為創業構想而制定商業計劃,或展示他們所熱衷的事物。當老一輩共同表示支持,並為下一代提供這些機會時,就會取得成效。
  9. 假期期間相互拜訪或乘興拜訪。
  10. 了解家人的看法。詢問家人的意見,了解保持聯繫和在家族及企業的使命、願景和價值觀方面團結一心使每個人如何收益。

結束語

歸根結底,家族企業的強大,源於其背後家族的強大。面對使家族在社會意義和地理上分隔的趨勢和時代洪流,家族需要積極建立情感紐帶和制定統一目標。上述建議只是起點,但請記住,追求團結是一個過程,而且永遠如此。家族的希望之火,需要不斷的「眾人拾柴」,還要小心看顧。

We noticed that you are based in . Would you like to view this page in ? Yes, take me to the page. No stay on this page.

Close MultiLang Selector Dialog
Next generation
January 24, 2022
10 mins

Staying united when geographically distant

January 24, 2022
10 mins
Cambridge Institute for Family Enterprise
SUMMARY

Even before the coronavirus required physical distancing, enterprising families were dispersing around the globe––typically making it harder for families to stay united. How does a family maintain strong ties and alignment when physically separated?


For the last half century, enterprising families have been dispersing geographically, which is challenging family unity. It is difficult for families to maintain unity without in-person connections. Yet, the trends of geographic mobility among enterprising families are here to stay. Families must find ways to build and maintain unity while physically distant.

Trends in the geographic mobility of families

There is a myriad of reasons for this geographic mobility.

Since the 1980’s, as globalization has increased the internationalization of family companies, we are seeing more members of enterprising families move abroad for family business purposes such as to open new operations for the family company or lead posts like a regional sales office, foreign manufacturing, or other operations. The challenge for families is to keep the distant branch of the family connected to and feeling a part of the original family, and to keep the distant operations well-coordinated with headquarters.

Another type of enterprising family has emerged in the last twenty years: high net worth families that leave their country of origin and shop the world for the safest neighborhoods and best education. Individuals in these families can reside in multiple jurisdictions. These families become less aligned with any particular country, and the jury is out on how their migration will impact their family unity. It could be that their common immigrant story could help to increase their alignment on purpose and values.

For the last half century, enterprising families have also been increasingly dispersing geographically due to individual exploration. The pattern over the last half century has largely looked like this: next generation members attend university, or travel for pleasure or work, to another part of their country or to another country.

They like this new place and different culture, and settle there. They marry a local, have children, enter a different line of work than the family business, and visit their original home periodically. The challenge is to maintain close family relationships with the big family, and to stay informed about the family enterprise.  

Technology has recently opened wide the door on remote work and schooling, allowing employees to work from anywhere and students to attend classes on their laptops. Technology could make it less important where people reside to do certain work, and this might increase the number of family members who choose to live in distant countries.

Most recently, we have experienced a different kind of family physical distancing, forced by the coronavirus pandemic that has isolated us physically from one another. In this condition, even family members who are geographically close could feel as distant from one another as those living in different countries. Technology and social media have become the great equalizers in many families who report greater frequency of interaction with family members through technology than they achieved pre-Covid.

Covid-19 will end hopefully soon, but the trends described above will continue. Families will continue to become more physically separated from each other. The traditional notion of a family living in the same city for generations has become outdated. Families are on the move and this will likely continue.

The impact on family unity

What binds an enterprising family is a common purpose and shared values. Family unity is measured by members’ alignment on and commitment to their mission (or purpose) as a family, and their approaches (or values) to achieving their mission.

Alignment and commitment are easier to build when there are shared experiences, and felt trust, respect, and caring among the members. Unity is built through several factors (see Building Family Unity), most of which are nurtured through shared, in-person experiences. Think of celebrating birthdays and holidays, gathering for Sunday lunch at grandmother’s house, a weekly tennis match between siblings. These activities strengthen relationships, build family pride, provide a space for needed conversations, and build collective memories—all activities that help to unite a family and provide a sense of shared identity.

Maintaining close family relationships and a shared identity with one’s family of origin is more challenging when a family member is geographically separated. In the next generation, especially, family members can have little understanding of, identity with, and ability to contribute to the interests and priorities of the original family, including the family business. Outside of financial benefits and a proud history, their association with the original family can become a “nice to have” but not something that is pivotal to their life.

Unity is difficult for families to maintain without in-person connections. This is one reason that family unity tends to decline over generations. You’re more inclined to talk with people who you trust and get to alignment if you trust them, respect them, and like them. Building that trust, respect, and liking usually takes some lengthy periods where you spend time together, communicate and collaborate, support each other, and learn to quarrel and make up.

How, then, does an enterprising family maintain a shared experience while physically apart? At the most fundamental level, how do you keep a growing and geographically cleaved group of family members connected to one another and to the family business?

Consider these areas where family unity can weaken or deteriorate because family members are geographically distant:

  • Family Bonds: How do you strengthen relationships and build friendships among relatives when family members did not grow up together and do not have opportunities to socialize?
  • Owner Alignment: How do you align owners around strategic decisions when they have limited time together and don’t see each other on a regular basis?
  • Family Connection to the Business: How does the family stay connected to the business when the business is located somewhere that family members rarely—and may not even like to—visit?
  • Family Alignment Around Mission & Values: How do you keep family members aligned around the enterprise’s mission, vision, and values when they have developed different individual interests and priorities due to living in different locations?
  • Resolution of Sensitive Issues: How do you resolve conflicts and heal past wounds between family members when you aren’t near enough to meet and talk in-person?
  • Family Care: How do family members show support for one another, especially in times of need, when they are not nearby?

Why a digital connection is not a sufficient replacement

While modern communication technologies often feel like an antidote to the challenges described above, research across the social sciences has repeatedly demonstrated how email and videoconferencing cannot replace in-person contact. For instance, meeting face-to-face, when compared to virtual replacements, has been shown to more effectively build empathy, enable difficult conversations, and prevent miscommunication. Research also shows that face-to-face requests were 34 times more likely to garner positive responses than emails.

In-person communication is simply more persuasive and effective. Meeting together physically improves creativity and strengthens friendship. These are helpful elements in building family unity. Families should make every effort to meet regularly and, when possible, in-person.

How to build family unity when apart

For the reasons described above, meeting face to face is not always feasible for families. But it is still possible to stay connected and maintain unity when physically distanced from one another. Below are 10 practical actions for enterprising families to try as they work to strengthen unity while physically apart. Some of these require meeting in-person; others can be effective online. Likewise, some can be followed without violating social distancing guidelines; others are suggested with a post-Covid-19 environment in mind.

  1. Unify Around Mission, Vision, and Values. Remind the family what brings you together. For example, lay out what it means to be a member of this family, what the family wants to achieve together, its purpose for being together, and why it is important to maintain connections and support the work it is doing. Don’t assume people have this in mind, but instead make it an explicit exercise. Virtual or in-person workshops work well for this activity.
  2. Convey Messages of Geographic Inclusion. Actively articulate to the family: “We are all in this together. No matter where we are in the world.”
  3. Broaden the Geographic Scope of Family Activities. Expand the geographic boundary around family activities to engage more family members. For example, redefine the social issues that the family’s philanthropy addresses by selecting regional or global issues. Organize ways for the family to respond philanthropically to a crisis or disaster in geographic areas where family members reside, as this can be a unifying and inclusive activity.
  4. Actively Engage Distant Family Members. Families should be particularly deliberate in engaging family members who are far away or isolated. Stay in close touch with them. Help them feel connected and help them contribute to the enterprise in productive ways. Assign someone in the family to serve as their “Sherpa” so they have a go-to person they can ask questions of or receive updates from, allowing them to stay in touch with the family enterprise. You don’t want to risk these family members becoming disengaged, uninformed, apathetic, or alienated. Don’t forget to reach out to in-laws (spouses) and non-marital partners, either. Their participation can be essential in the pursuit of family unity.
  5. Develop a Caring Culture in Your Family. A feeling of being cared for is a critical force in unifying families—it is part of the foundation on which unity must rest. Develop a caring culture in your family. Appoint family unifiers who pay attention to the shifting winds of relationships and who work hard to assure they blow warmly. Unifiers are responsible for bringing people together and recognizing people for their personal achievements.
  6. Meet in Person Whenever You Can. Devote a substantial amount of time and resources to bringing the whole family together in-person every year, preferably for extended periods. These events should balance pure diversion—a vacation somewhere—with a formally structured retreat. The focus should be on collaboration, joint learning, team-building, shared experiences—and being a family together.
  7. Facilitate Ways for Family Members to Engage Socially Together. Participating in interesting social activities together is a wonderful way for family members to get to know each other, build bonds, and connect meaningfully. Make it easy for family members to participate in experiences by providing encouragement and resources. Come together to celebrate milestones and holidays. Also make it a habit to participate in novel experiences: take trips together, host community gatherings together, create something new together, be adventurous together.
  8. Pay Close Attention to Relationships Among the Next Generation. The next generation needs time alone to build relationships, learn about the family enterprise together, and work together. Develop projects for the next generation to work on together so they have a reason to coordinate and communicate. For example, have them work on a philanthropic activity together, or develop a business plan for an entrepreneurial idea, or present something that they’re passionate about. It is effective when the senior generation unites to support and provide these opportunities for the next generation.
  9. Visit Each Other—on holidays and for no reason at all.
  10. Survey the Family. Ask the family’s input on what each individual would find beneficial to stay connected and united around the mission, vision, and values of the family and enterprise.

In closing

In the end, a family enterprise can only be as strong as the family behind it. In the face of trends and currents driving families apart, both socially and geographically, families need to actively build a sense of connection and unified purpose. The suggestions above are a place to start, but bear in mind the pursuit of unity is, and always will be, a process. Like a fire, it needs steady stoking and care.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth. 

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth. 

View all insights