我們為何看好部分英國政府債券

概要

目前在我們看來,英國的經濟前景顯然不太樂觀。但由於利率可能已經見頂,某些英國政府債券對英國和歐洲投資者來說可能具有一定的投資價值。


經濟活動接近觸底——在短期內,實際GDP可能仍接近於零。如果歐元區GDP在2023年第四季度下滑,該地區仍有可能在今年冬天陷入技術性衰退,但考慮到我們的三個綜合前瞻性指標相對穩定,我們對出現長期、深度衰退的可能性持懷疑態度。

貨幣政策傳導效應抑制了貸款需要——歐洲央行10月份的銀行貸款調查顯示,所有貸款類別的信貸標準進一步收緊,企業和家庭的貸款需要持續顯著下降。展望未來,我們預計積極的信貸脈衝將預示經濟活動有所起色。

勞工市場走軟進一步強化了日益擴大的通脹降溫訊號——隨著就業預期下降,以及採購經理指數(PMI)調查中衡量就業的綜合指標滑落至負值,私營企業可能在未來幾個季度繼續裁員,這可能導致談判工資增速放緩。

各國央行目前將利率維持於高位,到2024年中期,減息才會被提上議程——通脹預期的進一步正常化可能是央行在2024年春末或夏初減息的一個必要條件。我們認同目前市場定價所反映的預期,即銀行利率可能會在2024年年中左右開始下降,到2024年底可能會下降約75個基點至4.50%。

股票策略——歐洲(英國和瑞士除外)股市在聯儲局上個加息週期後的12個月內表現強勁,但在本土央行上個加息週期後的12個月內表現不佳。英國股市對聯儲局和英倫銀行加息週期的敏感度要低得多。

固定收益策略——歐洲央行和英倫銀行上個加息週期後的12個月內,歐洲和英國債券收益率大幅下跌。目前歐洲和英國債券市場出現了大量機會。這一分析繼續支持了我們的觀點,即歐洲和英國債券的吸引力正在回歸,並應成為未來12-18個月穩定回報的潛在來源。

財富洞見

歡迎查閱與您和您的財富相關的焦點話題以及我們的獨到見解。

財富洞見

歡迎查閱與您和您的財富相關的焦點話題以及我們的獨到見解。

聯繫我們

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的私人銀行顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

請填寫表格,以便我們與您聯繫。

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款與條件以便繼續

最符合您情況的描述是?

我想討論的一項投資是關於

我想討論的一項投資是關於

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold Private Client

我關注的領域

Aircraft Finance
藝術品諮詢和融資
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

職務與公司

職務與公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

請輸入您的聯繫方式

請輸入您的聯繫方式

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,我們的團隊成員會盡快與您聯繫。

Why we favor select UK government bonds

SUMMARY

The outlook for the UK economy seems distinctly unpromising to us for now. But with interest rates likely having peaked, certain UK government bonds may make sense for UK and European investors.


Economic activity closer to bottoming out – In the very short-term, real GDP is likely to remain close to zero. While a technical recession remains possible this winter if euro area GDP were to fall in 4Q-23, we doubt that it will be either deep or long, given the relative stability in three of our composite forward-looking indicators.

Monetary policy transmission dampens demand for loans – The ECB’s October bank lending survey showed that credit standards had tightened further across all loan categories and that demand for loans by firms and household had continued to decrease noticeably. Looking ahead, we would expect a positive credit impulse to signal some gains in economic activity.

Labour market softening to add to broadening disinflation signals – With employment expectations softening and the PMI survey’s composite measure of employment slipping into negative territory, the private sector is likely to continue shedding labour in coming quarters, which is likely to translate into a slower rate of growth in negotiated wages.

Central banks on hold at peak rates, rate cuts coming into focus by mid-24 – A further normalisation of inflation expectations is likely to be a necessary condition for such a scenario to materialize in the late spring or early summer of 2024. We agree with current market pricing that Bank Rate will probably start falling around the middle of 2024, and that Bank Rate would likely fall by around 75bp to 4.50% by the end of 2024.

Equity strategy – European ex-UK and Swiss equities exhibit strong positive performance 12 months after last Fed hike but show negative performance 12 months after last domestic central bank hike. UK equities display much less sensitivity to both Fed and BoE rate hiking cycle.

Fixed Income strategy – European and UK bond yields fall significantly, 12 months after the last rate hike by the ECB and BoE, respectively. Plenty of opportunities presenting itself in the European and UK bond market. This analysis continues to support our view that European and UK bonds are back and should be a source of potential solid return over the next 12-18 months

Insights

Read some of our perspectives into the key issues for you and your wealth.

Insights

Read some of our perspectives into the key issues for you and your wealth.

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.