在紅海航運危機中尋求債券收益

概要

由於至關重要的海上貿易航道遭受襲擊,地緣政治問題再次引發投資者擔憂。但歷史表明,此類事件很少會對市場產生持久影響,因此我們重申我們積極的投資觀點。


由於通脹數據下降以及聯儲局的鷹派立場緩和,10年期美國國債收益率自10月底觸及逾5%的高峰後下跌。

新年過後,隨著經濟數據上升以及市場認識到3月減息存在不確定性,行情發生逆轉。標普500指數在2024年第一週下跌約2.5%,之後在週五創收盤歷史新高。債券收益率攀升,10年期美國國債收益率重回4%以上。

由於爆發武裝衝突,紅海曼德海峽的狹窄水道現已被封鎖。此前,也門胡塞武裝組織襲擊了通過曼德海峽附近海域的船隻。作為反擊,紅海護航聯盟(由美國和英國領導)對也門實施了空中和飛彈襲擊。

受此影響,該海峽的通行船隻數量銳減50%以上。超過2,300艘商船的船東對其商船的航運作出了限制,保險公司將保費費率提高10倍或完全停止承保。

市場對10月7日以巴衝突的最初反應是波羅的海乾濕運輸成本大幅上漲。隨後,乾貨貨櫃運輸價格很快得以正常化,而原油的髒濕運輸價格則持續上漲。同時,自之後的紅海衝突爆發以來,布倫特原油價格實際上卻有所下跌。

儘管紅海對全球貿易具有重要性,但我們預計,整體而言,紅海危機對全球消費者和市場僅帶來有限的最終影響。正如我們前文所述,大多數地緣政治危機不會產生持久的市場影響,包括目前的中東衝突。

經濟數據強勁(長期國債收益率上升)和聯儲局寬鬆政策(短期利率下降)的組合效應推動了美國國債收益率曲線牛市走峭,該收益率曲線自2022年年中以來一直呈倒掛局面。事實上,2年期和10年期美債收益率曲線本週的走勢在整個週期中「倒掛程度最低」。這項跡象非常令人欣喜,並且符合我們《2024年財富展望》中關於退出貨幣市場並投資於收益率曲線中端的指引。1

花旗財富的全球投資委員會(GIC)認為應將12%的投資配置到中期企業和證券化信貸。這些約4年存續期資產的平均收益率約為5-6%。

is-the-rapid-rise-of-esg-sustainable

展望

2024年財富展望

以下是我們對未來一年的全球經濟展望。

經濟增長將於2024年年初有所放緩,但我們認為並不會出現許多人所擔心的全球經濟同步崩潰的情況。 

聯繫我們

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的私人銀行顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

請填寫表格,以便我們與您聯繫。

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款與條件以便繼續

最符合您情況的描述是?

我想討論的一項投資是關於

我想討論的一項投資是關於

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold Private Client

我關注的領域

Aircraft Finance
藝術品諮詢和融資
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

職務與公司

職務與公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

請輸入您的聯繫方式

請輸入您的聯繫方式

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,我們的團隊成員會盡快與您聯繫。

Seeking bond income amid Red Sea shipping attacks

SUMMARY

Geopolitics is once again unsettling investors amid attacks on a vital maritime trade route. But history shows that these episodes seldom have enduring effects on markets, so we reiterate our positive investment case.


Since peaking over 5% in late October, 10yr US Treasury (UST) yields have fallen on lower inflation readings and a less hawkish Fed.

After the New Year, bullish economic data and a realization that a March rate cut was uncertain initiated market reversals. The S&P 500 fell roughly 2.5% the first week of 2024 before closing at a record high Friday. Bond yields climbed higher as the 10yr UST traded back above 4%.

The narrow pass at Bab-el-Mandeb in the Red Sea is now blocked as violence has erupted in the region. Houthi rebels in Yemen have attacked maritime vessels passing close to shore. In response, the Combined Maritime Forces (led by the US and UK) have undertaken air and missile strikes in Yemen.

As a result, the number of vessels transiting the strait has plummeted by more than 50%. The owners of more than 2,300 merchant vessels restricted travel and insurers boosted rates 10-fold or stopped writing policies altogether.

The initial market response to the October 7th Hamas attack was a large increase in both Baltic dry and wet shipping costs. Subsequently, the dry container shipping prices rapidly normalized, while the dirty wet shipping of crude oil have continued to rise. At the same time, the price of Brent crude oil has actually fallen since the later Red Sea conflicts erupted.

Despite the importance to global trade of the Red Sea, we expect the final impact on consumers and markets around the world to be modest, in the aggregate. As we have written before, most geopolitical crises do not have durable market impacts including, for now, the war in the Middle East.

The combination of both strong economic data (higher long-dated yields) and Fed easing (lower short-rates) has driven a bull steepening of the US Treasury curve that has been inverted since mid-2022. In fact, US 2s10s curve traded this week at the “least inverted” it has been for the entire cycle. This is a very welcoming sign and is consistent with the guidance in our 2024 Wealth Outlook regarding moving out of money markets and into the intermediate part of the yield curve.1

Citi Wealth’s Global Investment Committee (GIC) holds a 12% allocation to both intermediate corporates and securitized credit. These ~4-year duration assets are yielding about 5-6% on average.

OUTLOOK

Wealth Outlook 2024

Our global economic outlook for the year ahead

 

Growth will slow in early 2024, but we see no synchronized collapse across the global economy, as many fear. 

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.