可持续投资
2022年3月18日

地缘政治格局变化对能源和农业市场的影响

2022年3月18日
Harlin Singh
可持续投资全球主管
Malcolm Spittler
高级美国经济学家和全球策略师
Catherine Turullols
北美可持续投资专家
概览

在我们撰写的题为《迈向更可持续的世界:能源》(英文)的报告开头提到电影《不要抬头》,强调了发现短期风险的困难性,即使风险已经迫在眉睫。回顾这段开篇语,我们不得不承认,如同世界大多数人一样,我们无法料想到地缘政治的风云变幻竟会如此之迅速。


俄乌冲突破坏了长久以来的国际关系和供应链,颠覆了市场和人们的预期。在对俄制裁和乌克兰粮食生产直接中断的影响下,能源和农产品价格飙升。报告发布后的几周,由于关系断裂和供应链问题,石油市场出现“自我制裁”现象。

此外,作为合成化肥的原料,天然气的高需求和价格波动推高了化肥成本,这意味着世界各地农业成本上升,最终可能导致粮食价格大涨。而让局面雪上加霜的是,俄罗斯是低成本化肥的主要出口国。今天,世界必须评估和实行灵活的战略——不是为了满足遥远的未来的能源和粮食需求,而是为了满足明天的需求、下周的需求。

能源

在能源方面,这种局面创造了两个各自独立、且看似相悖的潜在机会。就近期而言,在相对远离俄乌冲突的世界部分地区,传统化石燃料存在贸易和扩张机会。在最近的全球投资委员会(GIC)会议上,我们增加了对油田服务的超配,原因是大量现有的石油供应源很可能需要迅速被替代供应源所取代。欧盟27国领导人3月11日举行会议,签署了《凡尔赛宣言》,不仅提出了欧洲重整军备的议程,还提出了在能源和食品方面实现自主的目标。

我们认为,市场和投资者可能会通过三种途径应对战争造成的中断。首先是能源市场本身,但正如我们最近几天所见,随着油价以惊人的幅度飙升继而大跌,俄乌冲突爆发后物价上涨,波动性也大幅增加。

大宗商品市场的极端波动过后,我们仍然发现油田服务存在短期潜在机会,这对于在美国和远离冲突的世界其他地区建立短期石油供应至关重要。这突显出能源价格冲击对发展中国家的影响,尤其是对于那些原本就深受能源供应不稳定之苦的国家。

我们认为,虽然在短期内另寻石油来源是满足世界能源需求的唯一途径(从一个石油供应国到另一个石油供应国的转变在本质上并不会额外增加碳成本),但最终这会是一个存在时间期限的机会。虽然现在纯绿色能源还无法完全取代化石燃料,但人类也不能永远使用化石燃料。

因此我们注意到,从长期来看,围绕冲突造成的中断进行仓位配置的一种方法是,买入并持有能够助力建立未来绿色替代能源供应的投资组合。早在欧洲宣布将能源独立作为防御战略目标之前,我们就将全球绿色转型视为不可阻挡的趋势和主要投资机会。随着德国承诺将净零目标提前20年,这一趋势目前仍在加速发展。

我们不认为只有欧洲能实现目标,但现在比以往任何时候都更明显的是,世界各地的政府都必须正视过分集中地依赖于其他国家或地区的化石燃料对自身国家安全所带来的影响。我们预计将出现新的政策和政府资金来支持研发,以及对替代能源产品和项目的直接投资,从而帮助这些国家降低在经济冲突中将能源供应用作武器的风险。

这些推动因素加上已经无法打破的能源转型逻辑,将采取行动的时间表提前了,迫使我们尽快结束化石燃料在全球电网中占据主导地位的局面。同样,造成能源价格居高不下的化石燃料短期短缺,将增加对目前可用的新能源解决方案的需求。由于化石燃料价格高昂以及涉及国家利益,这可能加快削减那些拖慢能源转型的繁琐流程。我们认为,欧洲不是世界上唯一出于国家安全考虑而重新评估外部石油依赖影响的地区。中国已经着手限制石油进口供应的集中度,可以从任何一个国家进口石油。

2021年初替代能源的表现放缓,使该领域潜在投资机会的估值比一年前更具吸引力,地缘政治事态发展加快了对脱碳的需求(或者说至少是加快了对能源独立的需求)。

化石燃料价格上涨对替代能源有利(波动性有所改善)。

在乌克兰冲突之前,冬季库存枯竭加上寒冷天气,将天然气价格推至当时难以想象的高点,在各国市场引发了一轮冲击。而且,由于大多数发达国家的法规使得成本的上升在一定限度上无法转嫁给消费者,因此,尽管消费者购买价格已经大幅上涨,但无论分销商或政府都持续在为能源价格上涨买单(见PDF中的图1和图2)。

例如,从2021年初到2月18日,也就是俄乌冲突开始前几天,英国约有30家能源分销商倒闭,原因是法规限制了可以转嫁给消费者的价格,但生产商在自由市场面临极其高昂的投入成本。

而现在,通过止损交易和风险分担协议,供应商将这些无利可图的客户转嫁给了同样面临生存危机的其他供应商,而天然气价格已跃升至之前水平的数倍。由于市场争相匹配供需,德国天然气期货价格最高一度同比上涨1227%。

短期而言,这对公用事业公司的偿付能力构成威胁;但从长期来看,公用事业公司要么会设法将成本和风险转嫁给消费者(这威胁到公正的能源转型,并对政客连任构成风险),要么会转嫁给政府。但这些成本太高,消费者无力承担。即使在未受到全球天然气价格最大飙升幅度影响的美国,一些国有和受监管的私营供应商也未能将天然气消费价格提高到足够高的水平,以弥补分销商所不得不付出的创纪录的高昂成本。

当我们将这种情况与风能或太阳能价格的波动进行对比时,就会清楚了解到越来越多能源供应商将可再生能源添加到其能源组合中的原因。虽然在某种意义上,风能和太阳能的价格就像是一个笑话,但因为可再生能源的成本在于与阳光和风力相关的技术成本,这个玩笑也有严肃的一面。可再生能源项目一旦建成,投入成本风险极小。

虽然它们与传统能源一样,所供应的能源面临市场价格风险,但可再生能源没有传统能源所面临的投入成本变化的风险。正如上文所述英国能源分销公司倒闭所表明的那样,任何使用燃料投入的电力项目,如果在评估长期能源成本时不考虑波动性,都有突然破产的风险。

为何能源转型会加剧化石燃料价格波动

以内燃机汽车向电动汽车的过渡为例。过渡有许多关键节点,但最重要的节点可能出现于汽油需求达到顶峰的时候。

随着电动汽车对电力的需求不断增加,全球石油需求终有一日会开始收缩。即使在竭力保护其业务的英国石油公司的缓慢能源转型展望中(见PDF中的图3),石油需求目前也已基本见顶,在快速向替代能源转型的情况下,传统能源需求可能会大幅萎缩,并面临多年下滑。

需求下滑与波动性增强之间的关联可能并不明显,但我们可以关注石油市场,石油市场与国家财富和繁荣之间密切的联系决定着如何瓜分不断缩小的市场份额。这意味着,依赖高能源价格的国家国民收入下降,而为了避免油价持续暴跌,需要仔细校准供应水平,以满足OPEC+组织内受管供应商的需求。如果这些国家供应过剩,价格将崩溃;而如果供应不足,价格将暂时上涨——美国页岩油供应商和其他边缘供应商将获得市场份额。为维持高油价,到目前为止OPEC+展现出限制供应的强烈意愿,甚至在近期油价飙升的情况下也不愿增产。

实际上,石油生产商将扮演央行的角色,试图将油价保持在平衡自然预算需求的水平。但他们也不希望油价涨得太高,因为这会吸引新石油供应商和可再生能源加入竞争。一个重要的推论是,受监管的市场向替代能源过渡的速度将快于不受监管的市场。因为在受到监管的市场,石油需求持续下降的同时,石油供应也会间断下降,因此价格下跌不会破坏改进绿色能源技术的成本优势。

这种状况在自由市场中会重复上演,绿色能源价格下降也意味着竞品能源价格下降,这将限制绿色能源的采用速度,使绿色能源的价格总是与化石燃料大致相同。但通过削减供应以匹配需求,从而避免价格下跌,油价可能会被人为地保持在较高水平。这种同业联盟行为将有助于维护国债,并可能为需要重塑经济模式以面对后石油时代的国家和公司提供更平稳的过渡。这还可能给环境带来惊人的好处。

如果油价受自由市场控制,电动汽车技术和绿色能源生产的每一次进步都会造成油价适度下降,这将保持传统内燃机汽车相对于电动汽车的价格竞争力。反之油价可能会被推高,有助于电动汽车的总拥有成本远低于内燃机汽车。因为现有的车辆数量如此庞大,对欧佩克和其他产油国来说,在技术变革的同时享受相当强劲的价格,比以它们几乎无法平衡收支的价格来减缓能源转型要好。

绿色能源和不同化石燃料价格之间的关系有些反常,过去4年西德克萨斯中质油(WTI)价格与MSCI全球替代能源指数之间存在适度的正相关性(见PDF图4)。这是有一定道理的,因为绿色能源和化石燃料的需求都主要由全球经济活动所决定。而且正如上文所述,石油市场中的同业联盟行为倾向于将油价维持在高位,从而提振了对替代能源的需求。相比之下,相对于不受监管的天然气价格与替代能源库存呈负相关性,这有些令人意外,因为从长期来看,天价天然气价格可能将有助于推动替代能源发展。

在我们的上一篇报告(英文)中,我们还讨论了碳价格对化石燃料价格波动以及全球能源转型的作用。我们讨论了两个发挥作用的驱动因素:一是受到欧盟碳排放交易体系(欧盟ETS)等计划监管的实际碳价格,二是投资者和消费者对于企业以更标准化的方式报告所有排放的诉求。这场危机引发了第三个驱动因素,能源供应中断突显出能源独立的需要。

随着欧洲的能源危机爆发,石油价格飙升打乱了自2021年初实施欧盟ETS第四阶段以来碳价格的单向波动。虽然欧盟ETS碳价格的走势可部分归因于市场总体的去风险操作,但也有人担心,严重依赖碳配额来推进其业务的工业企业将因油价飙升而削减业务,从而通过出售多余的配额来筹集现金。

然而,市场很快发生了逆转,人们认为这只是暂时的混乱,欧盟决定将继续利用碳市场来激励公司减少总体排放。支持减排的投资者不希望看到价格上涨(由于天然气等更清洁的能源来源中断,对煤炭等化石燃料的需求增加),而希望欧盟继续承诺减少配额。由于摆脱化石燃料能源的时间表提前,这可能意味着随着企业加快减排,碳价格上涨更具临时性,这是由能源独立和排放成本上升两个因素造成的结果。

农业

鉴于世界大部分粮食和化肥来自乌克兰和俄罗斯,联合国粮农组织总干事屈冬玉警告称,俄乌农业活动中断可能会加剧全球粮食供应的不稳定。根据联合国粮农组织的数据,约50个国家(许多都是最不发达的北非、亚洲和近东国家)30%以上的小麦供应依赖俄罗斯和乌克兰。此外,许多欧洲和中亚国家50%以上的化肥来自俄罗斯。俄乌冲突可能导致小麦成本骤然上涨,并可能使已经遭遇粮食短缺问题的低收入国家粮食供应中断。

与能源一样,这场冲突突显出粮食自给自足和投资于技术创新以增加粮食生产的必要性。我们必须接受这样一个事实——依靠世界上一小块地区的农业和能源生产是不可持续的,也是不安全的。地缘政治冲突以及与气候变化有关的天气和产量变化正在破坏粮食供应稳定性。

短期来看,各国正在寻找现有来源以外的供应。但从长远来看,要么必须增加产粮土地数量,要么必须改变粮食生产方式。与化石燃料相似,土地数量也是有限的,退林还耕需要付出巨大的环境代价。

另外,太阳能垂直农业、机器人和数字化、生物肥料和细胞农业等技术已经是全球农业技术公司的关注重点,这些技术可以提高粮食产量,实现粮食供应分散化。与全球能源转型一样,气候变化和地缘政治事件将推动加快农业技术应用来保障全球粮食供应,从而重塑未来。

结论

气候变化、粮食和能源安全与当今的地缘政治纷争紧密相关。迄今发生的相对较小的气候变化已经引发了大规模移民和政治秩序混乱。饥荒和缺水以及能源供应受到威胁历来是人类发动战争的主要原因,可悲的是,未来很可能依然如此。尽管如此,对粮食和能源可持续解决方案的投资不仅有机会从世界粮食和能源供应方式的必然变化中获益,而且有可能减轻会导致未来冲突的一些压力。

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多

Sustainable investing
March 18, 2022
5 mins

The impact of geopolitical shifts on energy and agriculture markets

March 18, 2022
5 mins
Harlin Singh
Global Head of Sustainable Investing
Malcolm Spittler
Senior US Economist and Global Strategist
Catherine Turullols
Sustainable Investing Specialist for North America
SUMMARY

A little over a month ago we wrote Shifting to a more sustainable world: Energy and opened the essay with a reference to the film Don't Look Up highlighting the difficulty in spotting near term risks even as they loom large on the horizon. We cannot now reflect on those opening sentences without acknowledging that we, like most of the world, could not have imagined the rapid shift in the geopolitical situation that is taking place.


The conflict in Ukraine has shifted long standing relationships and supply chains, disrupted markets, and changed expectations. A combination of sanctions against Russia and the direct disruption of food production that we see in Ukraine, has resulted in surging energy and agriculture prices. In the weeks since that report was published, oil prices surged and collapsed as a result of broken relationships and supply chain issues, leading to self-sanctioning in the oil market.

In addition, the high demand and volatile price of natural gas, a raw input in synthetic fertilizer, has driven up fertilizer costs which will mean higher costs for farmers around the world and ultimately can lead to food inflation. Exasperating the problem, Russia is a major low-cost exporter of fertilizer. Today, the world must assess and employ adaptation strategies to meet the energy and food demands not of the far future, but of tomorrow and the week after.

Energy

For energy, this creates two separate and seemingly opposite potential opportunities. In the near term, there are trading and expansion opportunities in traditional fossil fuels in parts of the world far from the conflict. At the Global Investment Committee’s (GIC) most recent meeting, we added an overweight to oil field services due to the fact that a large amount of the existing oil supply is most likely going to need to be replaced rapidly with alternative supply. And yet in Quadrant we discussed how this same interruption may lead, in the longer term, to an even faster green energy revolution. The EU’s 27 heads of state met on March 11th and signed the “Versailles Declaration,” laying out not only the rearmament of Europe, but also the goal of becoming autonomous in terms of energy and food.

We see three ways markets and investors may interact with the disruptions from the war. The first is in energy markets themselves, but as we have seen in recent days with the shocking surge in oil prices and subsequent collapse, prices are higher following the start of the conflict in Ukraine, as well as volatility.

Stepping back from the extreme volatility of commodities markets we still see near term potential opportunities in oilfield services which are crucial to building out the near-term supply of oil in the US and other portions of the world far from the conflict. This highlights the impact of energy price shocks on the developing world, and particularly on those individuals who suffer from energy insecurity.

We believe, while in the near-term shifting sources of oil is the only way to meet the energy needs of the world (and the shift from one supplier to another of oil is inherently carbon neutral), but ultimately this may be an opportunity with a finite time horizon. While the world cannot power itself with pure green energy today, it also cannot power itself with fossil fuels indefinitely.

As such we note that one way to position around the disruptions from the conflict in the longer term is to buy and hold portfolios that help build the green alternative energy supply of the future. Long before Europe declared energy independence a strategic goal for defense, we saw greening the world as an unstoppable trend and a key opportunity for investment. And now we find that the trend is only accelerating as we see by Germany’s commitment to move its Net Zero targets up by two decades.

We do not see the realization of Europe as isolated, but rather it is now more obvious than ever that governments around the world cannot ignore the national security implications of concentrated fossil fuel dependences on other states and regions. We expect new mandates as well as government dollars to support R&D as well as direct investment in alternative energy products and projects that can help countries decrease their risks to having energy supplies used as weapons in economic conflicts.

Adding these pushes to the already insurmountable logic of energy transformation accelerates our timeline for the end of fossil fuel dominance for power grids around the globe. Likewise, any short run shortages in fossil fuels that prop up energy prices will boost demand for the new energy solutions that are currently available. These high prices and national interests aligning will likely accelerate cutting through red tape and bureaucratic processes that have slowed down the green energy transformation. We doubt Europe will be the only part of the world that reevaluates the role of external oil dependence in light of national security. China already has limits on the concentration of supply in oil imports than can come from any one country.

The early 2021 slowdown in performance of alternative energy has left potential opportunities in that space more attractively valued than they were a year ago, and the geopolitical developments have accelerated demand for decarbonization and, at minimum, energy independence.

Higher fossil fuel prices are good for alternative energy (Volatility can be better)

Prior to the conflict in Ukraine winter depleted stockpiles combined with cold weather to drive natural gas prices to then unimaginable highs that sent shock waves through national markets. And because in most developed countries regulations place limits on how much can be passed on to consumers, despite huge consumer price shocks either distributor companies or governments have been on the hook for the higher energy bill (see Figure 1 & 2 in the PDF).

In the UK for instance from the start of 2021 through February 18th, just days before the start of the conflict, roughly 30 energy distributors had gone out of business as regulations had limited the price that could be passed on to consumers, while free markets set sky high input costs for producers.

Even now backstop deals and risk sharing agreements have sent these unprofitable customers on to other suppliers who face the same existential crisis, and the prices for natural gas have risen to multiples of their prior levels. At its highest, German natural gas futures were up 1,227% year-to-year as markets scrambled to match supply and demand.

In the short run this poses a threat to utility company solvency, but in the longer-term firms will either seek ways to pass costs and risks to consumers (threatening a just energy transition and reelection risks for politicians) or to governments themselves. These are costs that are simply too high to be assumed by customers. Even in the US, which was insulated against the worst surges from the global natural gas crisis, a collection of state run and regulated private suppliers have not been able to raise consumer prices of natural gas enough to sufficiently compensate distributors for the record high input costs that they have had to purchase.

When we contrast this to the volatility of the price of wind or sunshine it is clear why many energy suppliers are increasingly adding renewables to their portfolios of power sources. While in some sense the price of wind and sunshine is clearly a jest, as the cost of renewables is in the technology that makes use of the sun and the wind, it has a serious side as well. Once built, renewable energy projects have minimal input cost risk.

While they, like their traditional energy competition, face market price risk for the energy they supply, they do not face the same risk to a change in input costs. As the recent closures highlighted above in the UK makes clear any power project that uses fuel inputs that does not account for volatility in assessing long term costs of energy is at risk of sudden insolvency.

Why the Energy Transformation Will Mean More Volatile Fossil Fuel Prices

Take for example the transition from internal combustion vehicles to electric vehicles (EV). There will be many key moments of transformation, but probably the largest will be when we see peak gasoline demand.

As the transformation of electricity demand from EVs progresses there will be a moment when global oil demand starts to contract. Even looking at the energy outlook of BP plc (see Figure 3 in the PDF), which has every incentive to maintain business as usual, their outlook with a slow energy transformation is that oil demand has basically peaked at the current level, and in the case of a rapid transition to alternative energy demand is likely to collapse and face years of decline.

It may not be obvious why falling demand means greater volatility, but we will be watching the oil markets with their strong ties to national wealth and prosperity deciding how to carve up an ever-shrinking pie. This means declining national revenue to states that have become dependent on high energy prices and avoiding a durable collapse in oil prices will require careful calibration of supply to match demand from the managed suppliers in OPEC+. If they oversupply, prices will collapse and if they undersupply prices will temporarily jump – and US frackers and other marginal suppliers will gain market share. So far OPEC+ has shown a strong willingness to restrict supply to maintain higher prices and has even avoided changing output figures in response to the recent market surges.

In effect oil producers will take on the role of a central bank, trying to keep oil prices at a level that balances the needs of natural budgets, but also doesn’t rise too high to attract competition from new oil suppliers and renewables. A crucial corollary is the transition to alternative energy will be faster than in an unregulated market, as continuously falling oil demand will be met with punctuated drops in oil supply, so falling prices will not spoil the cost advantage of improving green energy technology.

This bears repeating in a free market where falling green energy prices would mean falling prices for their competitors which would place a speed limit on adoption with green energy always roughly the same price as fossil fuels. But oil prices are likely to be kept artificially high by cutting supply to match demand to avoid declines in price. This cartel style behavior will help national treasuries to be maintained and likely allow for a smoother transition for countries and companies that need to remodel their economic model to face a post oil future. But it also could be surprisingly good for the environment.

If the oil price was governed by a free market every improvement in EV technology and green energy production would be met with a moderate decline in the price of oil which would keep traditional Internal Combustion Engines (ICE) roughly price competitive with EVs. Instead, oil prices will likely be held up, helping EVs to fall well below ICE engines in total cost of ownership. Because there is such an enormous fleet of existing vehicles it will be better for OPEC and other oil producers to enjoy reasonably strong prices while the technology changes than to slow the energy transformation with prices that they can barely break even with.

The dynamic between green energy and different fossil fuels is truly unusual, with a modest positive correlation (see Figure 4 in the PDF) between the price of West Texas Intermediate (WTI) oil and the MSCI Global Alternative Energy index over the past 4 years. This makes sense as both sectors have global economic activity as a key determiner of demand, and as we saw above the cartel style behavior in the oil market will tend to keep oil prices high and thus also support demand for alternatives. In contrast the relatively unregulated natural gas price has had a negative correlation to alternative energy stocks, this comes as something of a surprise as presumably sky-high natural gas prices will help drive alternative energy in the longer run.

Carbon

In our last piece we also discussed the role of the price of carbon contributing to the volatility in both fossil fuel prices as well as the global energy transition. We discussed two driving forces at play on this: (1) the actual price of carbon regulated under schemes such as the EU ETS, and (2) investor and consumer demand for companies to report on all of their emissions with greater standardization. The crisis brings up a third force, the disruption in the supply of energy highlighting the need for energy independence.

As the crisis in Europe unfolded, the price spike in oil disrupted the essentially one way move in EU ETS prices since Phase IV of the scheme was implemented in early 2021. While the move can partially be attributed to an overall de-risking in markets, there were some concerns that industrials who rely heavily on carbon allowances to facilitate their businesses, would pare back operations as a result of the spike in oil prices and therefore raise cash by selling excess allowances.

However, the market quickly reversed with a view that this is a temporary dislocation and that the EU’s determination that carbon markets will continue to be used to incentivize companies to reduce overall emissions. Investors who are rooting for lower emissions don’t want to see the price rise due to increased demand on fossil fuels like coal to replace the disruption in cleaner sources of energy, such as natural gas, but rather from the continued commitment by the EU to reduce supply of allowances. On an accelerated timeline to move away from fossil fuel energy, this could mean that elevated carbon prices are more temporary as companies reduce emissions more rapidly, now as a result of two driving forces: energy independence and the rising cost to emit.

Agriculture

With so much of the world’s food and fertilizer coming from Ukraine and Russia, Qu Dongyu, Director-General of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) warns us that the disruption in agriculture activity in the region could escalate food insecurity globally. According to the FAO, approximately 50 countries, many being the least developed in Northern Africa, Asia and the Near East, are dependent upon Russia and Ukraine for over 30% of their wheat supply. Furthermore, many European and Central Asian countries attain over 50% if their fertilizer from Russia. The conflict could result in a steep increase in the cost of wheat and disrupt the food supply of low-income countries already struggling with food deficit.

As with energy, the conflict emphasizes the need to localize and invest in technological innovation to increase food production. We must come to terms with the fact that it is not sustainable or safe to rely on small areas of the world for agriculture and energy production. Geopolitical conflicts along with weather and yield variability related to climate change is destabilizing food supply.

In the short-term, countries are seeking out existing supplies. But in the long run, either there must be an increase in the amount of land that is cleared for food production or a shift in how we produce food. Similar to fossil fuels, there is only a finite amount of land and clear cutting more land comes at a high environmental cost.

Alternatively, technologies such as vertical farming fed by solar power, robots and digitalization, biological fertilizers, and cellular agriculture can boost food production, enable decentralization and is already a focus for AgTech companies around the globe. Much like the global energy transition, climate change and geopolitical events will shape the future by accelerating adoption of AgTech to safeguard global food supply.

Conclusion

Climate change, food, and energy security will always be inextricably linked to the geopolitical struggles of the day. Relatively small shifts in climate that have occurred so far have already triggered mass migrations and political dislocations. Famines and shortages of water as well as threats to energy supply are classic causes of wars through human history, and sadly it is unlikely to be different in the future. That said, investments in sustainable food and energy solutions have the opportunity to not merely profit from the inevitable changes in how the world feeds and powers itself, but also remove some of the pressure that could contribute to future conflicts.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights