可持续投资
2022年3月16日

迈向以女性为主导的平等复苏:我们为何以及如何投资于女性

2022年3月16日
Shoko Sekiguchi
花旗全球财富管理可持续投资
概览

在过去的一年里,我们经历了一系列深深震撼全球的相互交织的危机。不出意料是,这些危机进一步加深了现有的性别不平等现象。在国际妇女节这一天,我们倡导由女性为主导的平等复苏,以求推动系统性变革,并向大家说明如何参与其中。


在过去的两年里,人类经历了新冠肺炎疫情、气候变化影响加剧,以及种族歧视突出等一系列危机。这些问题进一步加深了整个社会已有的不平等现象。无论在哪个国家,女性往往是受影响最大的群体。

投资者和立法者已经注意到这一点,并将关注焦点放到了平等复苏上来:解决世界各地的显著不平等问题,以促进创新和增长,并最终惠及所有人。

寻求平等复苏

越来越多的人认识到我们需要找到更好的解决方案。所谓平等复苏,即倾听那些受影响最深的群体的声音,并优先解决能够为人类和全球带来积极影响的事项。平等复苏致力于解决系统性问题,并为公众创造途径,以便其推动相关保护和改善政策的出台。简而言之,这是一个重新构想未来的独特机会。1

尽管新冠肺炎首先是一场健康危机,但其带来的经济影响却殊为深远,扰乱了全球各地人们的生计。由于全世界有近58%的女性从事非正规经济活动2,她们的收入和存款较少,因此也更容易陷入贫困。

好消息是,我们正处于历史的转折点上。如今,女性控制着全球32%的财富3。在新增的亿万富翁中,有13%为女性。此外,75%的千禧一代女性主导着财务决策。

换句话说,拥有财富的女性在引导平等复苏方面具有较高的参与度和决策权。

性别视角投资

我们认为,以女性为中心的平等复苏为投资者带来了潜在的创新投资机会。越来越多以可持续发展为导向的投资者,寻求将性别视角纳入他们的投资组合中。

通常情况下,性别视角投资是通过投资于具有多元化董事会和管理层的公司,来促进女性领导地位的提升。性别视角主题投资正在蓬勃发展。

2020年的Project Sage 3.0中,通过性别视角配置资本的基金总共有138只,与2019年Project Sage 2.0中的87只基金相比增长58.6%,与2017年Project Sage最初报告的58只基金相比增长138%。其中近50%的基金是在2019年发行的。发行速度正在加快。4(图1)

 
图1.基金发行日期:每年发行的新性别视角基金数量不断增长。
 
参考文献:Project Sage 3.0,2020年7月
 

资产管理多元化带来的挑战

另外一种支持以女性为主导的平等复苏的方式,是与由女性所有或以女性为主导的资产管理公司合作。资产管理行业是经济的一块基石,可以将投资者的资金引向成长型企业,并为企业提供最佳实践指导。

然而,尽管该行业规模庞大并且十分重要,但多元化水平比较欠缺,因此可利用的机会相对有限。最近的一项研究表明,2021年,所有人属于多元化群体的公司所管理的资产仅占美国总资产管理规模(AUM)的1.4%。所有投资组合经理中,女性占比为9.4%。并且仅有2%的共同基金和资产完全由女性管理,而78%的基金和74%的资产则完全由男性管理。5

这一问题现已开始引起政策制定者的关注,担任国会黑人核心小组第27任主席的国会女议员Joyce Beatty,和国会女议员Maxine Waters最近共同发布了一份名为《多元化和包容性:让美国最大的投资公司负起责任》的报告。根据这份报告显示,在接受调查的28家公司中,只有9家(占比32%)提供了与其有业务往来的由少数族裔人士所有的资产管理公司的信息。平均而言,他们将资产管理服务支出总额的0.50%投入于由少数族裔所有的资产管理公司。就女性所有的136家资产管理公司而言,其数量占所有资产管理公司的近10%,但仅占整个行业资产管理规模(AUM)的0.8%。6(图2)

 
图2:对比女性所有的资产管理公司与投资管理公司中对女性所有公司的支出占比
 
参考文献:《多元化和包容性:让美国最大的投资公司负起责任》,2021年12月。
 
 
图3:按资产类别划分的所有权
 
参考文献:资产管理行业所有权多元化和绩效研究,2019年1月。
 
 
图4:美国的少数族裔和女性基金所有人占比(%)
 
参考文献:资产管理行业所有权多元化和绩效研究,2019年1月。
 

花旗致力于推动多元化、公平性和包容性

今年年初,花旗做出了与多元化、公平性和包容性(DEI)有关的多项承诺。我们的宗旨是通过在资产管理行业及其他行业推动包容性,以推动系统性变革并为平等复苏作出贡献。7

首先,我们在纳入过程中会考虑第三方管理公司的多元化和包容性情况。花旗环球财富投资(CGWI)正在开发一种多元化、公平性和包容性(DEI)视角,将其应用于美国的新管理公司筛选和现有管理公司监控。我们将定期对纳入平台的第三方基金管理公司进行审查,评估其多元化、公平性和包容性水平,考量其公司政策和流程是否符合不断发展的行业标准,能否在资产管理领域为女性和代表人数往往不足的少数族裔提供更多机会。

其次,CGWI将与行业贸易协会和数据库提供商合作,提高具有多元化所有人和管理者的第三方资产管理公司数据的可访问性,帮助它们扩大知名度和规模。我们将依托自身的行业领导地位,呼吁人们关注成立时间较短、规模较小的管理公司,以推进我们的性别种族平等目标的达成。

最后,我们于上个月宣布成立了多元化金融机构小组,这是我们投资银行内的一个新团队,将由董事总经理Harold Butler领导。该团队将发挥核心作用,在全公司范围内引领和扩大与少数族裔存款机构(MDI)、多元化经纪交易商和多元化资产公司的接触合作。多元化金融机构小组是基于“种族平等行动”(ARE)倡议而创建的,旨在帮助缩小美国种族贫富差距并提高经济流动性。

在花旗,我们支持以女性为主导的平等复苏,并继续为推进DEI而努力。

1 https://c40.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/2684_C40_GREEN_RECOVERY_STATEMENT.original.pdf (2021年7月)

2 https://www.ilo.org/global/about-the-ilo/newsroom/news/WCMS_627189/lang--en/index.htm#:~:text=employed%20population%20...-,More%20than%2060%20per%20cent%20of%20the%20world's%20employed%20population,in%20emerging%20a nd%20developing%20countries. (2018年4月)

3 https://www.bcg.com/publications/2020/managing-next-decade-women-wealth (2020年4月)

4 https://www.wharton.upenn.edu/story/project-sage-3-0-key-insights-from-the-latest-gender-lens-investing-report/ (2020年)

5Laura Pavlenko LuttonErin Davis, “晨星研究报告:基金经理的性别” 在线报告,6月

6 多元化和包容性:让美国最大的投资公司负起责任 (第117届国会,第二此会议,2021年12月。)

7https://www.privatebank.citibank.com/insights/our-approach-to-embedding-racial-and-gender-equity-into-asset-management (2021年7月7日)

We noticed that you are based in . Would you like to view this page in ? Yes, take me to the page. No stay on this page.

Close MultiLang Selector Dialog
Sustainable investing
March 16, 2022
5 mins

Towards a women-led just recovery: How and why we invest in women

March 16, 2022
5 mins
Shoko Sekiguchi
Sustainable Investing, Citi Global Wealth Management
SUMMARY

Over the past year, we have faced a set of intersecting crises, which have shaken the globe to its core. Not surprisingly, these crises have only deepened existing gender inequities. On International Women’s Day, we’re calling for a women-led just recovery to bring systemic changes and show how you can get involved.


Over the past two years, humanity has endured such intersecting crises as the COVID pandemic, intensifying impacts from climate change and heightened racial injustice. These phenomena have deepened existing inequities throughout society. Around the world, women have frequently been among the worst affected.

Investors and legislators have taken note, shifting the focus to a just recovery: one that addresses the stark inequalities around the world to promote innovation and enhance growth, which would benefit everyone.

Seeking a just recovery

There is a growing realization that we need to find better ways of doing things. A just recovery is one that considers the voices of those most affected and prioritizes positive outcomes for people and the planet. A just recovery addresses systemic issues and creates avenues for the public to push for policies that protect and improve. In short, it is a unique opportunity to reimagine our future.1

While first and foremost a health crisis, the economic fallout of COVID has been enormous, disrupting livelihoods everywhere. Because nearly 58% of women worldwide work in the informal economy,2 they have earned less, saved less and have been likelier to fall into poverty.

The good news is that we are now at a tipping-point. Today, women control 32% of global wealth3. 13% of new billionaires were women. What’s more, 75% of millennial women take the lead in financial decision.

In other words, women of wealth have a high stake and determination power in navigating a just recovery.

Gender-lens investing

We believe that a women-focused just recovery offers investors innovative potential investment opportunities. A growing number of sustainability-oriented investors seek to integrate a gender lens to their portfolios.

Typically, gender-lens investing promotes women’s leadership by investing in companies that have diversity at board and executive level. Gender-lens thematic investing is booming.

Project Sage 3.0 in 2020 includes 138 total funds deploying capital with a gender lens, up 58.6% from the 87 funds in 2019’s Project Sage 2.0, and up 138% from the 58 funds in 2017’s initial Project Sage report. Almost 50% of these funds launched in 2019. The rate of launch is increasing.4 (Figure 1)

 
Figure 1. Fund Launch Date: An increasing number of new gender-lens funds launched each year.
 
Reference: Project Sage 3.0, July 2020
 

Challenges in asset management diversity

Another way to support a women-led just recovery is to work with women-owned or women-led asset management companies. The asset management industry is a cornerstone of the economy, channeling capital from investors to growing ventures, and guiding enterprises’ best practices.

However, there are a limited number of opportunities available due to the lack of diversity in the industry, despite its size and importance. A recent study showed that diversely owned firms managed only 1.4% of the total US-based assets under management (AUM) in 2021. Women account for 9.4% of all portfolio managers. And only 2% of mutual funds and assets are run exclusively by women, while 78% of funds and 74% of assets are managed exclusively by men.5

Policymakers have now started focusing upon the issue, and Congresswoman Joyce Beatty, who sits as the 27th chair of the Congressional Black Caucus, and Congresswoman Maxine Waters recently released a report called “Diversity and Inclusion: Holding America’s Largest Investment Firms Accountable.” According to the report, only nine of the 28 firms (32%) that responded to the survey request provided information about the minority-owned asset managers with which they are doing business. On average, they devoted 0.50% of total asset management services expenditure to minority asset managers. For women, the 136 firms represent nearly 10% of all asset management firms, but just 0.8% of total industry assets under management (AUM) 6 (Figure 2)

 
Figure 2. Comparison between women-owned asset management firms and percent spent with women-owned asset management firms.
 
Reference: Diversity and Inclusion: Holding America’s Largest Investment Firms Accountable, December 2021.
 
 
Figure 3. Ownership breakdown by asset class.
 
Reference: A Study of Ownership Diversity and Performance in the Asset Management Industry, January 2019.
 
 
Figure 4. Percent (%) of U.S.-based funds owned by minorities and women.
 
Reference: A Study of Ownership Diversity and Performance in the Asset Management Industry, January 2019.
 

Citi’s commitment to diversity, equity & inclusion

Earlier this year, Citi made a variety of commitments relating to diversity, equity & inclusion (DEI). Our aim is to bring about systemic change and contribute to a just recovery by promoting greater inclusion in asset management and beyond.7

First, we consider third-party managers’ diversity and inclusion profile as part of our onboarding process. The Citi Global Wealth Investments team (CGWI) is developing a diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) lens as part of all new manager selections and existing manager monitoring in the US. We will periodically review managers of third-party funds included in our platform and assess their diversity, equity, and inclusion characteristics, in light of whether their firm’s policies and practices are consistent with evolving industry standards that provide more opportunities for women and traditionally underrepresented minorities in asset management.

Secondly, CGWI will engage industry trade associations and database providers to improve the accessibility of data about diverse-owned and managed third-party asset managers to help them gain exposure and scale. We will use our industry leadership to speak out about looking at newer and smaller managers to advance our gender and racial equity objectives.

Finally, we announced last month the establishment of the Diverse Financial Institutions Group – a new team in our Investment Bank – that will be headed by Harold Butler, Managing Director, and serve as a hub to lead and expand firmwide engagement with Minority Depository Institutions (MDI), Diverse Broker Dealers and Diverse Asset Managers. The Diverse Financial Institutions Group builds upon our Action for Racial Equity (ARE) initiative, which aims to help close the racial wealth gap and increase economic mobility in the United States.

At Citi, we’re supporting a women-led just recovery and continue to move the needle forward in our DEI effort.

Learn more about our DEI programs, please visit Women, unstoppable trends and innovation and our approach to embedding racial and gender equity into asset management.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

1 https://c40.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/2684_C40_GREEN_RECOVERY_STATEMENT.original.pdf (July 2021)

2 https://www.ilo.org/global/about-the-ilo/newsroom/news/WCMS_627189/lang--en/index.htm (April 2018)

3 https://www.bcg.com/publications/2020/managing-next-decade-women-wealth (April 2020)

4 https://www.wharton.upenn.edu/story/project-sage-3-0-key-insights-from-the-latest-gender-lens-investing-report/ (2020)

5Laura Pavlenko Lutton and Erin Davis, “Morningstar Research Report: Fund Managers by Gender,” online report, June

6 Diversity and Inclusion: Holding America’s Largest Investment Firms Accountable (117th Congress, Second Session, December 2021.)

7https://www.privatebank.citibank.com/insights/our-approach-to-embedding-racial-and-gender-equity-into-asset-management (July 7, 2021)