可持续投资
2022年10月11日

牢牢把握全球气候政策利好

2022年10月11日
Harlin Singh
可持续投资全球主管
Malcolm Spittler
高级美国经济学家兼全球策略师
Catherine Turullols
北美可持续投资专家
概览

投资者们对气候战略给予迅速而系统性的支持,不仅能够为实现气候目标作出有意义的贡献,还能寻求可能的经济和市场机遇,使其投资组合产生有竞争力的业绩回报。


在全球主要经济体因供应链中断和始料未及的俄乌军事冲突而遭受重创之后,全球多个国家/地区开始重启一些长久以来并不被看好的产业政策。

无论是将计算机芯片转为国内生产、努力摆脱对俄能源依赖,还是制定新一代的气候变化应对政策,西方政府开始通过政策干预方式来挑选市场中的赢家和输家,而不再依赖市场机制“无形之手”的智慧。

作为环保主义者、政策研究者和经济学家,我们对目前经济领域应对气候变化的方法有很多看法。其中很清楚的一个观点是:当政府挑选赢家和输家时,重要的是要寻找这样的赢家。

历史上,意识形态上的盲目因素一再导致投资者错失回报机会。无论是党派人士假设对手赢得选举市场就会崩盘,还是气候变化理论家回避不符合其世界观或理想策略的投资项目,当投资者在投资组合中固步自封,将潜在的投资机遇完全拒之门外时,其业绩往往表现不佳。

在我们的《展望》中曾提及虽然目前我们认为“构建绿色世界”是一个不可阻挡的趋势,但这既不是不可避免的,也不是永久性的。然而,激进的绿色产业政策在全球各大城市兴起,使得这种趋势比起三年前我们首次提出“不可阻挡”这一说法时更为迅猛。

追随“金钱之墙”

随着最近《通胀削减法案》(IRA)的通过、纽约气候周年度会议的召开以及《联合国气候变化框架公约》第二十七届缔约方会议(COP 27)举办在即,气候和清洁能源领域的活动发展态势强劲。将持续受益于产业政策的领域包括可持续能源、脱碳技术和绿色资本支出等长期增长主题,其中包括专注于太阳能和风能生产、能源储存、电动汽车和碳捕获技术的企业。在全球各地采取行动避免气候危机之际,这些由政府引导的投资机会和激励措施对于投资者来说至关重要,值得关注。

(参见PDF文档图1:资料来源:负责任联邦预算委员会,基于截至2022年8月3日的数据。IRA筹资:对《通胀削减法案》的资金筹集方式进行归类,以支持其支出计划。IRA支出:对《通胀削减法案》的资金使用方式按照法案目标进行归类。)

2021年11月通过的《基础设施投资和就业法案》将620亿美元的资金用于清洁能源计划1。随后,最近的《降低通货膨胀法案》为气候和绿色能源倡议提供了3,690亿美元的额外资金。该法案旨在到2030年将温室气体排放量在2005年的基础上减少40%——这是美国国会在减缓和适应气候变化方面有史以来最大的一笔投入2。

在9月的纽约气候周小组讨论会上,澳大利亚气候变化和能源部长克里斯·鲍恩(Chris Bowen)表示,可再生能源不仅是经济增长的驱动力,对国家恢复力和安全也至关重要3。与太阳能和风能等国内生产的可再生能源相比,化石燃料的价格因地缘政治冲突的影响而有所上涨。

不久后,COP 27将于11月份在埃及举行。此次峰会的目标是希望在以往会议的成功基础上再接再厉,进一步推动气候行动4。根据世界银行(World Bank)2019年10月的数据显示,在未来15年实现向绿色经济转型需要90万亿美元的基础设施投资——这表明成功转型过程中每投入1美元,就可以产生4美元的价值5。此外,《2018年新气候经济报告(英文)》指出,与不采取行动相比,气候行动到2030年能增加26万亿美元的经济收益5。

这对投资组合意味着什么?

最近,企业和投资者对采用可持续商业计划和实现经济脱碳的兴趣激增,但这仍处于早期阶段。为实现清洁能源转型和创新以及为实现气候目标所需的发展速度和规模提供资金,政府在可再生能源机会方面的重大投资已经达到数十亿美元。

为了避免气候变化的最严重影响,《巴黎协定》要求社会各界将全球气温上升控制在高出工业化前水平1.5摄氏度的幅度以内。据联合国称,各大主要养老基金和投资企业开始逐渐意识到其投资组合更倾向导致全球气温上升3.5摄氏度,因此,它们正与其资产管理公司和投资组合公司进行接洽,以期制定符合《巴黎协定》净零碳排放目标的投资策略5。

我们认为,通过迅速而系统地支持气候战略,投资者不仅能够为实现气候目标作出有意义的贡献,还能寻求经济和市场机会,让其投资组合可能产生有竞争力的业绩回报。尽管随着各国政府为应对气候变化、创造就业机会和保护我们的星球进行变革性投资,风险达到了前所未有的高度——但无论人们的意识形态观点如何,“构建绿色世界”的这一理念似乎比以往任何时候都更具及时性、相关度以及说服力。

可持续投资

目标型投资

花旗私人银行提供经妥善管理和安排的机会、另类投资以及经定制的资本市场敞口。可持续投资组合利用与我们传统投资组合相同的投资管理框架,将我们的最佳思想整合到资产配置、经理人选择和投资组合构建中。

了解更多

Sustainable investing
October 11, 2022

Harnessing tailwinds from global climate policies

October 11, 2022
Harlin Singh
Global Head of Sustainable Investing
Malcolm Spittler
Senior US Economist and Global Strategist
Catherine Turullols
Sustainable Investing Specialist for North America
SUMMARY

By swiftly and systematically supporting climate strategies, investors can meaningfully contribute to climate objectives, and seek economic and market opportunities that may potentially generate competitive performance in their own portfolios.


In the wake of supply chain debacles and surprise military conflicts that have brought major economies to their knees, countries around the globe are re-embracing long disfavored industrial policy.

Whether it is onshoring the production of computer chips, working to become energy independent of Russia, or the current generation of climate change fighting policies, western governments are picking winners and losers in business rather than relying on the wisdom of the invisible hand.

As environmentalists, policy wonks and economists we have many opinions about the current methods of fighting climate change in the economy. But we are clear on one thing: When governments pick winners and losers, it is important to seek winners.

Time and again, ideological blinders have historically caused investors to miss out on return opportunities. Whether it is partisans assuming markets will tank if their opponent wins an election, or climate change ideologs avoiding investments that don’t align with their world view or ideal strategy, when you close your portfolio off from potential opportunity, underperformance is the likely outcome.

While we currently believe Greening the World is an unstoppable trend in our Outlook, this is neither inevitable nor has it always been the case. However, the rise of activist green industrial policy in capitals around the world makes the case even stronger than it was three years ago when we first elevated this trend to the level of unstoppable.

Follow the wall of money

With the recent passage of the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA), annual gathering of NYC Climate Week, and upcoming 27th Conference of the Parties of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP 27), momentum is strong behind the climate and clean energy movement. Standing to benefit are the secular themes of sustainable energy, decarbonization technologies, and green capital expenditures, including companies focused on solar and wind production, energy storage, electric vehicles and carbon capture technology. These government-directed investment opportunities and incentives are critical for investors to pay attention to as the world takes action to avoid a climate crisis.

(See PDF Figure 1: Source: Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget based on data as of August 3, 2022. IRA Fundraising: Categorizing how the funds for the Inflation Reduction Act will be raised to support its spending initiatives. IRA Spending: Categorizing how the funds for the Inflation Reduction Act will be utilized for the bill’s objectives.)

The Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act passed in November 2021 directs $62 billion in funding towards clean energy initiatives1. Subsequently, the more recent IRA provides an additional $369 billion for climate and green energy initiatives. The bill aims to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 40% by 2030 from 2005 levels – and represents the US Congress’ largest investment in climate change mitigation and adaptation ever taken2.

During a Climate Week New York City panel in September, Australia’s minister for climate change and energy, Chris Bowen, expressed his view that in addition to being a driver of economic growth, renewables are an imperative to national resilience and security3. Compared to domestically produced renewable energy such as solar and wind, fossil fuels are impacted by price increases influenced by geopolitical conflicts.

Looking ahead, Egypt will host the COP 27 this November. It will aim to build on the success of past COPs and advance climate action4. According to the World Bank, October 2019 data indicates that $90 trillion in infrastructure investments are required over the next 15 years to transition to a green economy – suggesting that every $1 invested in a successful transition could yield $4 in value5. Moreover, the 2018 New Climate Economy Report found that climate action could deliver $26 trillion in economic gain through 2030 compared to no action5.

What does this mean for investment portfolios?

The recent surge in interest from companies and investors to adopt sustainable business plans and decarbonize the economy is still in its early stages. Significant government investments in renewable energy opportunities have directed billions towards clean energy transition and innovation while aiming to fund at the speed and scale required to achieve climate goals.

To avoid the worst impacts from climate change, the Paris Agreement challenges society to limit global warming to 1.5 degree Celsius relative to pre-industrial levels. According to the United Nations, major pension funds and investments firms are recognizing that their portfolios are more aligned with a 3.5 degree future and, in turn, are engaging with their asset managers and portfolio companies to align with net zero Paris targets5.

We believe that by swiftly and systematically supporting climate strategies, investors can meaningfully contribute to climate objectives and seek economic and market opportunities that may potentially generate competitive performance in their own portfolios. While stakes have never been higher as governments make transformative investments to combat climate change, create job opportunities and protect our planet – the case for Greening the World seems more timely, relevant and compelling than ever, despite one’s ideological views.

Sustainable investing

Investing with purpose

The Private Bank offers managed opportunities, alternative investments and tailored exposure to capital markets. Sustainable investment portfolios deliver our best thinking in asset allocation, manager selection and portfolio construction utilizing the same investment management framework as our traditional portfolios.

Learn more