可持续投资——2022年机会与趋势

Harlin Singh
可持续投资主管
Malcolm Spittler
全球策略师兼高级经济学家

化石燃料投资的可持续替代之选

最近几个月,对能源安全的担忧促进了化石燃料投资。但对可持续替代能源投资的推动作用更强。

要点

2022年化石燃料供应中断进一步凸显出绿色能源转型在经济方面的紧迫性,而化石燃料价格不太可能很快回落

全球可再生能源发电容量持续增加,但还远远不够

虽然化石燃料投资可能在短期内继续加强,但我们提醒投资者,该行业的长期风险很大

我们认为,随着新的商业方式变得不仅更可持续,而且较传统商业方式成本更低,让世界更绿的趋势将会加速,这是一股不可阻挡的潮流

2022年,世界向清洁能源的转型是否遭遇挫折?

从表面上看似乎是这样。全球经济的持续重启和俄乌冲突的爆发导致了严重的全球能源短缺。面对可能的电力中断和处境艰难的消费者,确保国家能源供应似乎比努力实现可持续未来更紧迫。

中国煤炭日产量已达到创纪录水平。随着欧盟寻求摆脱对俄罗斯石油和天然气的依赖,这个以往的绿色能源先驱表示,未来十年的煤炭消耗量将高于此前预测。在美国和全球范围内,石油和天然气供应商正在加大产量,同时增加勘探和开采投资。1

然而,绿色能源转型比以往任何时候都更加迫切。因为气候风险持续增加。2022年4月,平均二氧化碳浓度首次超过百万分之420。气候科学家还警告称,到2026年之前,全球平均气温很有可能比工业化前升高1.5摄氏度。2 持续超过这一阈值可能会对海平面、生物多样性和农业造成很大破坏性影响。

清洁能源组合

2022年的一系列事件也突显出清洁能源转型在经济方面的紧迫性。质疑者经常声称,太阳能和风能等能源没有化石燃料可靠。这可能曾经是事实,但情况已经发生了改变。可再生能源的生产价格具有很强的可预测性。与此形成鲜明对比的是,德国发电商的天然气投入价格飙升,3月份达到比去年同期水平高出1200%的峰值。3 依赖天气情况似乎比依赖地缘政治稳定更可靠。

至关重要的是,安装可再生能源发电设施的成本现在比化石燃料的成本更可预测。对于可再生能源,未来的成本相对可预测。新电厂生命周期替代能源成本急剧下降,甚至在俄乌冲突推高化石燃料投入成本之前,就已经低于煤炭和联合循环电厂的成本——见图1

 
图1.替代能源已成为具有成本效益的选择
 
图表显示价格 资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月20日。
 

与此相反,新的化石燃料发电厂除了投入成本极不稳定之外,由于面临新的法规或其他环境压力,在设计寿命结束之前可能就不得不关闭。这意味着摊薄建设成本的时间更短,从而降低了此类项目的潜在总回报。新石油钻机部署量明显远低于前几个高油价时期。4 这意味着,石油公司认为现在增加新产能有风险。这也降低了石油价格迅速回落的可能性。

绿色能源转型在2022年不仅更具吸引力,而且也取得了进展。全球可再生能源发电容量在2021年达到历史最高水平,2022年将进一步扩大。一些最强劲的装配增量出现在太阳能领域,2023年也可能会创下新记录。5 政策支持是主要的推动力。例如,为应对俄乌冲突造成的能源短缺,德国增加可再生能源生产,并制定到2030年实现100%可再生能源发电的目标。如果像我们预期的那样,化石燃料价格不会很快回落,则可能会进一步推动创新和可再生能源产能增加。

如何在2022年构建可持续能源投资配置?

多年表现不佳之后,许多化石燃料相关投资在2022年呈现上升趋势。鉴于当前能源价格高企,以及化石燃料项目短期内可能带来的高回报,我们认为这种逆势反弹可能会持续——参阅“克服供应短缺”。但我们还是要提醒投资者,此类投资有较大风险,包括可再生能源竞争加剧、环境监管收紧以及地缘政治形势最终稳定。从长远来看,化石燃料项目有成为搁浅资产的风险:可能过早注销,甚至成为直接负债。

通过可持续能源转型来实现更绿色的世界比以往任何时候都要紧迫。我们认为这一不可阻挡的趋势将在未来几年加速。中期而言,支持可再生能源转型的公司或成为大赢家,长期风险也小得多。然而,保持高位的估值可能会限制短期潜在的上行机会。目前所出现的化石燃料投资项目估值高、波动性大以及无差别抛售等趋势可能为长期投资者和着眼于未来的投资者提供非常有吸引力的买入时机。


下载完整报告

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

1Bloomberg,数据截至2022年5月15日

2Bloomberg,数据截至2022年5月11日

3Haver,数据截至2022年5月1日

4Haver,数据截至2022年5月15日

5IEA,数据截至2022年5月

Sustainable investing - 2022 Opportunities and trends

Harlin Singh
Head of Sustainable Investing
Malcolm Spittler
Global Strategist and Senior Economist

Sustainable alternatives to fossil fuel investments

Energy security concerns have boosted fossil fuel investments in recent months. But the case for sustainable alternatives has strengthened even further.

Key takeaways

Fossil fuel supply disruption in 2022 has further underlined the economic imperative of the green energy transition, with cheap fossil fuels unlikely to return soon

Globally, renewables' generating capacity continues to increase, although much more is needed

While fossil fuel investments may continue to strengthen near term, we caution that the longer-term risks to this sector are great

We believe the unstoppable trend of greening the world will accelerate as new ways of doing business become not only more sustainable but also more affordable than business as usual

Has the world’s transition to clean energy suffered a setback in 2022?

Superficially, it might appear so. The continued reopening of the global economy and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine have contributed to acute global energy shortages. Faced with potential blackouts and struggling consumers, securing national energy supplies may seem like a more pressing priority than striving for a sustainable future.

In China, daily coal production has hit record levels. The European Union – traditionally the trailblazer for green energy – has said that it too will burn more coal than previously forecast over the next decade as it seeks to wean itself off Russian oil and gas. In the US and globally, oil and gas suppliers are ramping up output while investing more in fresh exploration and extraction.1

Nevertheless, the case for the green energy transition is more urgent than ever. Climate risks continue to mount. For the month of April 2022, average carbon dioxide levels exceeded 420 parts per million for the first time ever. Climate scientists have also warned of a significant chance that the average global temperature in any year between now and 2026 will be 1.5°C above pre-industrial levels.2 A sustained breach of this threshold could have highly damaging effects upon sea levels, biodiversity and agriculture.

Clean energy portfolio

Events in 2022 have also underlined the economic imperative for the clean energy transition. Skeptics have often claimed the likes of solar and wind energy were unreliable compared to fossil fuels. Even if this was once true, the situation has now reversed. The production price of renewables is typically now known far in advance. Contrast this with the spike in natural gas input prices for German power generators, which hit a peak of 1200% in March above prior year levels.3 Reliance on weather conditions seems much less precarious than reliance on geopolitical stability.

Crucially, the cost of installing renewable energy generation facilities is now more predictable than for fossil fuel varieties. With renewables, the future costs are relatively visible. Life-cycle new plant alternative energy costs have fallen precipitously and were below the cost of coal and combined cycle power plants even before the war in the Ukraine drove up fossil fuel input costs – figure 1.

 
Figure 1. Alternatives have become the cost-efficient option
 
Chart shows the price per Source: Bloomberg, as of 20 May 2022.
 

As well as having highly volatile input costs, by contrast, new fossil fuel plants may feasibly be shut down before the end of their originally envisaged useful lifespan owing to new regulations or other environmental pressures. This means fewer years across which to spread construction prices, decreasing such projects’ potential total return. Tellingly, new oil rig deployment is far below levels during previous periods of high oil prices.4 This implies that oil companies view this as a risky time to add new capacity. It also makes a rapid return to lower prices less likely.

Not only has the case for the green energy transition become more compelling in 2022, there has also been progress toward it. Having reached an all-time high in 2021, global renewables generating capacity is expanding further in 2022. Some of the strongest growth is occurring in solar, where fresh records may also follow in 2023.5 Policy support is a key driver here. For example, Germany has responded to the conflict-driven energy squeeze by ramping up renewables production and setting a goal for 100% renewable electricity by 2030. If, as we expect, there is no return of cheap fossil fuel prices any time soon, it may spur further innovation and a ramping up of renewables capacity.

How to create a sustainable energy allocation in 2022?

After years of underperformance, many fossil fuel-related investments have strengthened in 2022. With current high energy prices and potentially high returns from fossil fuel projects in the short term, we believe this counter-trend rally may continue – see Overcoming supply shortages. That said, we caution that such investments come with outsized risks, including intensifying competition from renewables, tightening environmental regulation and eventual geopolitical stabilization. In the long term, fossil fuel projects are in danger of becoming stranded assets: subject to premature write-off or even becoming outright liabilities.

The case for greening the world via a transition to sustainable energy is more urgent than ever. We believe this unstoppable trend will accelerate over the coming years. Companies supporting the transition to renewable energy are likely to be significant winners over the medium term and bear much less long-term risk. However, still high valuations may limit short-term potential upside opportunities. The current high value of fossil fuel investments, and the high degree of volatility and indiscriminate selling may offer very attractive entry points for investors with longer time horizons and an eye on the future.


Download the full report

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.

1Bloomberg, as of 15 May 2022

2Bloomberg, as of 11 May 2022

3Haver, as of 1 May 2022

4Haver, as of 15 May

5IEA, as of May 2022