通胀放缓或利好股市

概览

通胀下降预示着全球经济在经历了新冠疫情时期的错位后逐渐复苏,同时暂时摆脱了衰退风险。尽管债券收益率较高,但我们最近还是提高了对美国中小盘成长股的配置。


通胀下降预示着全球经济在经历了新冠疫情时期的错位后逐渐复苏,同时暂时摆脱了衰退风险。尽管债券收益率较高,但我们最近还是提高了对美国中小盘成长股的配置。

投资者告诉我们,鉴于利率将在较长时间内保持较高水平,他们不会进一步加仓债券。他们还表示,鉴于经济衰退即将来临,他们不会增加股票配置。这两种观点之间的矛盾是显而易见的。 

通胀是世界经济病态的一种症状,即过多的资金追逐过少的商品和服务。在新冠疫情时期,情况确实如此,但如今局面已经发生了变化。全球通胀率从2022年8.7%的高位上回落只是世界经济复苏的迹象之一。尽管仍然存在供应冲击的风险,但需求正在放缓,供应正在恢复,而经济并未出现严重收缩。这是个好消息。

美国方面,我们看到,数据显示通胀在恢复至正常水平的道路上已取得了显著的进展。例如,即使在服务业,工资增长也在放缓。

虽然并非所有消费价格指数(CPI)报告都将低于预期,但本周CPI数据的走软并不令人意外。目前,住房成本正在切实下降。我们预计,在未来11个月中住房成本将大幅稳步下滑,直至2024年底逐渐企稳。

市场对通胀数据降温反应相当积极,标普500指数本月迄今上涨了7.6%。同期内10年期美国国债收益率下降44个基点。

尽管债券与股票之间存在较强的竞争关系,但全球投资委员会(GIC)于10月18日进一步增加我们的股票配置,超配标普400指数和标普600成长股指数成分股。这是自2020年6月以来我们对股票的配置首次从中性或低配转向“超配”。如果通胀下降且债券收益率回落,同时企业盈利上升,我们预计美国股市明年将迎来大涨。如果明年债券收益率因就业增长放缓而下降,而企业盈利上升,我们将进一步提高股票权重。 

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

联系我们

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的私人银行顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

您是私人银行现有客户吗?

您是私人银行现有客户吗?

请填写表格,以便我们与您联系。

我同意花旗私人银行搜集并使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话号码和电子邮件地址)与我联系,向我发送有关花旗私人银行理财产品和服务的营销信息。 我了解,我的信息被使用时将会遵守我所在地区的相关隐私声明要求。 我也了解,我可以通过电话或发送邮件至 donotspam@citi.com随时撤销此项同意。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

最符合您情况的描述是?

我想讨论的一项投资是关于

我想讨论的一项投资是关于

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,

我们服务的最低投资要求是500万美金

基于您提供的信息,我们相信Citigold的服务或许更加适合您的需求。

如需了解更多信息: 请访问Citigold

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,

我们服务的最低投资要求是500万美金

基于您提供的信息,我们相信Citigold的服务或许更加适合您的需求。

如需了解更多信息: 请访问Citigold Private Client

我关注的领域

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

职务与公司

职务与公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我们通过哪种方式与您联系?

您希望我们通过哪种方式与您联系?

请输入您的联系方式

请输入您的联系方式

您是从哪里得知花旗私人银行?

还有其他评论吗?

我同意花旗私人银行搜集并使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话号码和电子邮件地址)与我联系,向我发送有关花旗私人银行理财产品和服务的营销信息。 我了解,我的信息被使用时将会遵守我所在地区的相关隐私声明要求。 我也了解,我可以通过电话或发送邮件至 donotspam@citi.com随时撤销此项同意。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

您是从哪里得知花旗私人银行?

还有其他评论吗?

我同意花旗私人银行搜集并使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话号码和电子邮件地址)与我联系,向我发送有关花旗私人银行理财产品和服务的营销信息。 我了解,我的信息被使用时将会遵守我所在地区的相关隐私声明要求。 我也了解,我可以通过电话或发送邮件至 donotspam@citi.com随时撤销此项同意。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,我们的团队成员会尽快与您联系。

Easing inflation may be good news for equities

SUMMARY

Falling inflation is a sign of the global economy healing after the pandemic period’s distortions, but without a recession breaking out. Despite the yields available on bonds, we recently upped our equity allocation to US small- and mid-cap growth equities.


Investors tell us that they will not allocate more to bond investments because rates will stay higher for longer. They also say they will not allocate more to equities because of an impending recession. The inconsistency of these two views is obvious. 

Inflation is a symptom of a sick world economy, one suffering from too much money chasing too few goods and services. That was true of the pandemic period, but it is ending. Inflation’s drop from an 8.7% pace globally in 2022 is just one sign of the world economy healing. While supply shocks remain a risk, demand is moderating, and supply is recovering without a severe economic contraction. This is good news.

In the US, we see data that shows considerable progress toward normal levels of inflation. Wage growth, for example, is decelerating even in the services sector.

While not every CPI report will fall below expectations, this week’s soft CPI figures were not a surprise to us. Shelter costs are now coming down in earnest. We expect a material and steady drop for the next 11 months before housing costs start to stabilize towards the end of 2024.

Markets are responding quite positively to reported declines in inflation with the S&P 500 gaining 7.6% in the month to date. The 10-year treasury yield has fallen 44 basis points over the same period.

Though bonds are strong competition for equities, the Global Investment Committee (GIC) added further to our equity allocation with an overweight to the S&P 400 and 600 Growth components on October 18th. This was the first time our asset allocation to equities went “overweight” from neutral or underweight since June 2020. If inflation falls while yields moderate even while corporate profits rise, we expect it to lead to substantial gain for US equities in the coming year. If yields decline in the coming year on slower employment growth while corporate profits rise, we will raise our equities weighting further. 

Insights

Read some of our perspectives into the key issues for you and your wealth.

Insights

Read some of our perspectives into the key issues for you and your wealth.

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.