Ida Liu和John Davis探讨家族如何在瞬息万变的世界格局中乘风破浪砥砺前行

Ida Liu
私人银行全球主管
花旗私人银行
概览

成熟的高资产家族企业应该如何应对不断变化的代际动态,并保护自己的财富?花旗私人银行和剑桥家族企业集团近期发布的白皮书探索了这些重要话题,并就未来之路提供了一些可行的建议。


世界上许多最声名显赫的家族背后,往往有蓬勃发展的家族企业作为支撑。有的家族企业已经延续了几十年乃至更久的时间,而有的家族企业则是刚刚崛起。家族企业不仅是家族财富的来源,更是开展家族合作、表达价值观和为社会做出贡献所不可或缺的方式之一。因此,为这一代和子孙后代维持并发展家族企业至关重要。

创办成功的家族企业绝非易事,保持基业长青更是十分艰辛。为此,家族企业主需要采取转型策略,尤其是在当今这样的动荡时代。他们还需要通过审慎计划的流程来培养和储备未来的家族企业领军者。

花旗私人银行和剑桥家族企业集团已经携手合作二十余年,为企业家族提供支持。我们为家族企业管理保驾护航,指引他们应对不断变化的家族动态。我们两家组织还专注于帮助全球家族管理代际继任,帮助他们破解“富不过三代”的魔咒。

通过持续的合作,我们近期发布了最新白皮书——《家族企业的未来:2020年代的动荡与转型》(The Future of Family Enterprise:Turbulence and Transformation in the 2020s)。

这项研究就家族如何应对快速变化的世界提供了深刻洞见。白皮书发布后,花旗私人银行全球主管Ida Liu和剑桥家族企业集团创办人John Davis教授共同探讨了这一重要话题。

Ida Liu:作为全球家族和家族继任事务专家,您能否谈一下从我们最近的合作中有何收获?

John Davis:新冠疫情之前我们合作开启了一个项目,研究如何帮助家族进行家族企业继任规划。但世事变化,实难预料。我们无疑正处于一个挑战重重的新时代,对家族、家族企业,乃至整个社会都是如此。我们必须了解我们的客户对于世界及其中的挑战抱持怎样的观点,这样我们才能更了解客户,从而能够为其出谋划策,帮助他们在新的世界中抵御风浪。这个研究项目的成果就是《家族企业的未来》白皮书,这本白皮书具有里程碑式的指导意义,可指引这些家族度过这一时期,并为他们提供一些非常明确可行的建议。

John Davis:这本白皮书阐述了家族应该认真考虑的5个策略。每个策略都对应一个家族和家族企业所面临的问题。如果他们的企业、家族策略和全球展望中采用了这些新方法,我们非常有信心其家族企业在未来依然能够从其他形式的企业中脱颖而出。

Ida Liu:我对这本白皮书以及家族和家族企业可以从中学到的策略非常感兴趣。那么,这项研究得出了哪些要点?

John Davis:首先,我们询问受访者"对于当今的世界格局和其中的一些动荡形势有怎么样的看法?",80%以上的受访者认为世界“非常动荡”,85%的人表示为了安然度过新的时期,他们需要作出适度或大幅的调整。虽然听到他们意识到有必要作出改变令人欣慰,但只有不到三分之一的受访者表示他们做好了准备。还有三分之一表示他们“大致”为动荡做好了准备,但我们认为这对于当今这个时代是不够的。事实上,大致做好了准备和毫无准备没有太大区别。这实际上是告诉我们还有很多事情可以做,为这些家族找到方向、提供支持,学习他人之所长,并通过实践来加快步伐,从而在当前环境中更好地经营。我认为我们两家集团如此完美契合的原因之一是,花旗私人银行一直真正致力于推动家族的成功。能不能说说花旗是如何帮助和支持家族客户的?

Ida Liu:除了与贵司合作发布我们最出色的实践研究之外,我们的家族理财室团队还提供全球私人银行领域最全面的家族事务解决方案。从搭建结构和给出建议的思路,到投资和慈善事业,这些解决方案涵盖了非常全面的内容。此外,我们对咨询业务的所有不同领域均有涉猎,致力于成为世界各地家族的全面合作伙伴和解决方案提供商。

John Davis:我想再补充一点,就是贵司在下一代教育、人才培养、思维方式和能力培养方面所做出的努力。

Ida Liu:确实如此,我们在2021年底推出了Citi Latitude平台,旨在促进我们的下一代客户和千禧一代客户的教育以及参与。我们做的不仅仅是全球大学项目,这些项目固然很棒,但我们还在建立一个在线学习门户。我们每个月都会邀请专家为下一代和千禧一代客户授课,课程覆盖领导力、金融市场、地缘政治问题等很多重要主题。课程受到我们客户的继任者和千禧一代的高度评价,因为课程内容非常广泛。

John Davis:我很欣赏所有鼓励和赋能下一代参与家族企业事务的举措。这不必局限于业务或者流动资产管理,也可以涉及慈善事业、社区活动等,帮助家族团结一致,共同致力于一项使命。这些都对家族的成功至关重要。我们两家所从事工作的重要交集在于,我们不仅为这些家族提供可行之道,而且充分挖掘两代人的智慧——不仅仅是老一辈的观点——使代际合作发挥更强大的作用。我认为我们两家组织都有独特的方式来实现这一目标。

Ida Liu:所以,我们怀着同样的激情,为家族提供诸多支持、指导和建议。那么您认为在当今时代,家族的思想意识需要做出什么重要转变?他们需要适应些什么?

John Davis:我们认为他们真的需要对什么是好的尽责管理有新的认识。在过去,这意味着发展现有业务,将它传给下一代。但现如今,由于种种原因,这不再是一个非常可靠的策略。尽责管理的概念需要革新,因为通过现有业务可能无法在未来实现资产增值。最成功的家族都在通过不同途径实现资产增值。最好的管理者对通过不同途径实现资产增值的必要性有着更深刻的理解。我们的五个策略都是基于这种对家族企业的新思考方式。我们对从这项研究中获得的洞见,和这些见解将如何帮助家族发展感到激动不已。

Ida Liu:我们合作完成的这项出色研究所揭示的五大趋势值得家族客户思考,我们也完全有能力帮助他们应对这些挑战。花旗拥有最全球化的机构平台,来为世界各地的家族客户和他们的企业服务。在财富管理领域我们无所不包,能帮助满足他们的业务和现金管理需求。

John Davis:贵公司的家族企业业务组合都围绕整个家族的利益这一目标打造,能给家族提供极大帮助。与花旗一样,剑桥家族企业集团围绕这一根本原则建立了自己的实践,这条根本原则也就是为该家族集团内的所有人的利益服务。我们的合作如此融洽的众多原因之一就在于我们秉持同样的原则。

Ida Liu & John Davis discuss how families now navigate the rapidly changing world

Ida Liu
Head of Private Banking
Citi Private Bank
SUMMARY

How should worldly and wealthy family enterprises navigate changing intergenerational dynamics, and protect their wealth? Citi Private Bank and Cambridge Family Enterprise Group’s latest white paper explores these critical themes and offers actionable advice on the way forward. 


Behind many of the world’s most prominent families is a thriving family enterprise. Some have existed for many decades or longer while some are much newer creations. More than being just a source of family wealth, such enterprises are often an integral part of how families work together, express their values and contribute to society. Preserving and growing them for present and future generations is therefore of the highest importance.

While creating successful family enterprises is not easy, sustaining them over the long term is harder still. To do so, their owners need to embrace transformation strategies, particularly amid turbulent times such as those we are currently experiencing. They also need to prepare future family enterprise leaders via a carefully planned process.

Citi Private Bank and The Cambridge Family Enterprise Group have been working together for more than 20 years supporting enterprising families. We help them protect and evolve the management of their businesses and guide them in navigating changing family dynamics. Our two organizations also focus on helping global families manage succession across generations so that they do not fall into the trap of losing what they’ve achieved by the third generation and beyond.

This ongoing collaboration has resulted in the publication of our latest white paper titled - The future of family Enterprise: Turbulence and Transformation in the 2020s.

The study has delivered fascinating insight into how families now navigate the rapidly changing world. Following the publication of the paper, Ida Liu, Global Head of Private Banking at Citi and Professor John Davis, Founder of the Cambridge Family Enterprise Group discussed this critical subject.

Ida Liu: Given that you are the global experts in families and family succession please tell us what you’ve learned from our most recent collaboration?

John Davis: We embarked on a project together pre-pandemic to understand what can we do for families to help them plan for succession in their family businesses and what comes next? It’s very clear that the world has been morphing. We're in a decidedly new era with many new challenges facing families, family enterprises and society at large. We needed to figure out how our clients saw the world and its challenges so that we could better understand them to enable us to provide guidance on how they could better navigate this new world. The result is ‘The future of family enterprise' white paper which is a landmark in terms of guiding these families through this period and giving them some very clear actionable advice.

JD: The paper outlines five different strategies that families should really be considering. Each of these five strategies addresses a key vulnerability that we heard families and family enterprises are facing. If they adopt these new approaches for their businesses, family strategies and global outlook, we are very confident that the family enterprise can continue to outperform other forms of business in the future.

IL: I'm very excited about the whitepaper and the actionable strategies that families and family enterprises can take away from it. So, what are your key takeaways from the study?

JD: To begin with, we asked survey respondents 'What do you see out there and how would you rate the level of turbulence in the world?’ Over 80% of the respondents see the world as ‘highly turbulent’ and 85% say they’re going to need to make somewhere between moderate and radical adjustments to survive in this new age. Whilst it was comforting to hear they’re aware of the need for change less than a third of the respondents said that they were ready. Another third said they were ‘kind of ready’ for turbulence, but we believe that's not good enough in this day and age. In fact, it is very close to not being ready at all. It essentially indicates to us that we've got work to do to help these families chart a course, offer support, learnings from what other people that are doing well, and use practises to step up and play the game better and differently in current climate. I think one of the reasons that the fit between our two groups is so great is that Citi Private Bank has been really committed to the success of families. Tell us what is Citi doing to help and support its family clients?

IL: In addition to publishing our best practise research with you, our Family Office Group offers the most globally comprehensive family offering in the private banking industry. It encompasses everything from thinking about structuring and advice down to investments and philanthropy. Additionally, we are into all different areas under the advisory side to be a comprehensive partner and solutions provider to families around the world.

JD: I would add to that the efforts you're making in education, and helping to develop the talents, perspectives and capabilities of the next generation.

IL: Indeed, we launched a platform called Citi Latitude at the end of 2021 which is designed to further educate, engage with and get participation from not only our next generation of clients, but also our millennial clients. It's not just the global university programs that we do, which are wonderful, but we are also building an online learning portal. We have expert speakers come in each month to speak to the next generation and millennial clients on a variety of topics of importance; everything from leadership to financial markets, to geopolitical considerations, we cover it all. It's been extremely well received by both our clients’ successors and millennials as the variety of education is extremely broad.

JD: I really applaud all initiatives that encourage and enable the next generation to get excited about participating in their family enterprises. It doesn't have to be just in the business or management of the liquid assets; it can also be with philanthropy, community activity, helping the family stay together and stay committed to a mission. All of that is essential for family success. One of the great overlaps in our work is that we not only help provide these families with insights into what works in the world, but also help the partnership across generations to become stronger, utilizing the perspectives of both generations, as opposed to just the seniors. And I think that both of our organizations have our distinctive ways of helping that happen.

IL: And that's why we share this passion of making sure that we're providing so much support, guidance and advice to families. So, what is the one important mindset shift that you're seeing amongst families today? What do they need to adapt to?

JD: We think they really need to develop a new sense of what good stewardship means. It used to mean growing your existing business, developing it, and getting it into the next generation. That is for a variety of reasons, no longer a very reliable strategy. The notion of stewardship needs to evolve because that business may not be the right vehicle for growing value in the future. The most successful families are growing value in different ways. The best stewards have a more expansive understanding of their obligation to grow value in different ways. All of our five strategies are based on this new way of thinking about the family enterprise. We're excited about the insights gained from this study and how they can be used to help families grow.

IL: In addition to this amazing study we did together to unlock the five key trends for our families to consider, we are fully equipped to help them navigate these. At Citi, we have the most global institutional platform for families and their businesses around the world. We can do everything under the wealth management umbrella, and help their business and cash management needs as well.

JD: The combination of the things that you're doing are all so beneficial especially when built around the pivotal notion to focus on the interests of the whole family. Like Citi, The Cambridge Family Enterprise Group has built its practice around this founding principle that you need to serve the interests of all within that family group. One of the many reasons why our collaboration works so well is that we have the same focus.