为转变做好准备

概览

成功家族最显著的特征是能够迅速转变,以应对威胁和抓住机遇。


没有人能预测未来,但您可以,并且也必须,做好改变的准备。如何做好准备?

1. 高瞻远瞩,监测变革信号,构建未来观。

家族企业需要正式确定用于审视、跟踪和筛选潜在干扰因素的流程。他们还应该学习如何解读这些信息,设想和理解未来可能出现的情况,制定战略将可能的风险和威胁最小化并将机会和利益最大化。

2. 尝试新的想法、商业模式和创造价值的方法。

尝试是一种快速、低风险地探索和检验新机会的方法。做一些失败风险较高的事情可能会让人觉得有些冒险,但成功的家族企业会从明智的失败中学到很多。

3. 将敏捷性融入您的家族企业投资组合和组织。

富于进取的家族的财务稳定性为投资组合的灵活性提供支持,使主理人不会冒着股息风险、招致重大债务的风险或其他财务风险进入新的活动。然而,建立组织敏捷性可能会更加困难。敏捷的组织的内部层级很少,以团队为基础,并且已经实现数字化互联。他们有着容易渗透的边界,可以吸引外部的想法和人才。为了打造成更加敏捷的企业,组织可能需要从专制型领导风格转变为变革型领导风格。

您的疑问

敏捷的家族企业可以根据不断变化的情况迅速改变方向。

了解更多

敏捷的家族企业可以在威胁和机遇出现时应对威胁并抓住机遇,同时不会忽视家族的使命、价值观和愿景。

了解更多

实践战略远见并使之制度化。

了解更多

Get ready to pivot

SUMMARY

The ability to pivot to address threats and seize opportunities is the most defining characteristic of successful families.


No one can predict the future, but you can – and must – be change-ready. How?

1. Gain altitude, monitor signals of change and construct a view of the future.

Family enterprises need to formalize a process for scanning, tracking and filtering potential disruptors. They should also learn how to interpret that information to imagine and understand possible future scenarios, devising strategies that minimize probable risks and threats and maximizes opportunities and benefits.

2. Experiment with new ideas, business models and value-creation methods.

Experimentation is an approach that offers a fast, low-risk way to explore and test new opportunities. It can feel risky to do something with a high risk for failure but successful family enterprises learn a lot from intelligent failures.

3. Build agility into your family enterprise portfolio and organization.

Enterprising families’ financial stability supports portfolio agility by allowing owners to move into new activities without risking dividends or incurring significant debt or other financial risks. Building organizational agility, however, may prove more difficult. Agile organizations are flat, team-based and digitally connected. They have porous boundaries that invite in outside ideas and talents. Organizations may need to shift from an autocratic to a transformational style of leadership to create a more agile enterprise.

Your questions

An agile family enterprise can shift direction quickly in response to changing conditions.

Learn more

Agile family businesses can address threats and seize opportunities as they arise, without losing sight of the family’s mission, values, and vision.

Learn more

Practice and institutionalize strategic foresight.

Learn more

Meet our people

Global Head

Philip Watson

Chief Innovation Officer & Head of the Global Investment Lab

Philip heads the Private Bank’s Office of Innovation, which he helped to establish in 2018. He chairs the Growth Board, participates on accelerator programs and other initiatives designed to improve the client experience. 

He has more than 20 years of financial industry experience, mostly gained at Citi. Before joining the Private Bank, he held a variety of positions within Citi’s Institutional Clients Group. As well as leading the Global Investment Lab, Philip sits on the Global Investment Committee and Multi-Asset Class Committees, which inform the tactical market views and management of discretionary portfolios respectively.