慈善事業
2022年3月7日

女性慈善事業:從幕後走到台前

2022年3月7日
Karen Kardos
慈善事業諮詢全球主管
概覽

長久以來,和男性一樣,女性一直努力為意義深遠的慈善事業奔走。而她們所作出的重要貢獻卻鮮為人知,所幸這種情況如今開始發生變化。


有許多對人類具有崇高意義的事業往往無法得到應有的充分認可。而就女性慈善事業而言,則更像是一個默默存在的悠久傳統,歷來在很大程度上受到忽略。

從古至今,女性為人類生活的改善作出諸多無私的貢獻,可她們的善行歷來不受重視。最近幾十年,由於女性獲得前所未有的影響力和財富,推動女性慈善事業蓬勃發展,讚譽之聲隨之而來。

值此2022年國際婦女節之際,讓我們以此為契機,一起反思這一問題並展望未來。

女性在慈善事業中發揮著巨大且日益重要的作用,最新一期花旗《全球視野與解決方案》(GPS)報告對此進行量化分析,報告撰寫人認為,女性可極大地改變慈善事業格局。 

到2025年,預計女性將佔美國億萬富翁人數的60%;女性所擁有的資產已達11萬億美元;到2035年,隔代傳承的財富中有70%將由女性來繼承。

此外,慈善事業格局將會受到女性公益捐贈特徵的影響,而這一特徵與主要由男性創立的公益慈善傳統有所不同。

例如,女性更傾向於對與其女性身份有一定相關性的方面進行捐贈,尤其支持促進性別平等的事業。而且比起單純的捐贈,她們還會更加強調親身參與。1

另一個特徵則是青睞不受限捐贈。通常,女性對於所捐贈款項的用途方面要求更少。雖然精確數據仍在不斷湧現,但女性似乎更願意進行不受限慈善捐贈。

其中一個引人注目的例子是麥謹思·史葛(MacKenzie Scott),迄今為止,她已向數百個非牟利機構捐款約80億美元,用於成立不同用途的不受限基金。2

花旗GPS報告也提到,麥謹思·史葛很有可能為更多的慈善機構和行業進行捐贈。目前女性僅佔高淨值人士的10%,但慈善救助基金會(Charities Aid Foundation)的報告顯示,她們的捐贈額佔比為14%。3

志願者方面的情況也與此類似。在全球範圍內,有56%的志願者為女性,且她們在直接志願服務領域所作出的貢獻不斷增長。北美是志願者人數最多的地區,女性比男性更願意參加志願服務,就像她們更願意承擔無償家務一樣。

變革的催化劑

2021年6月15日《紐約時報》刊登的文章《女性正在改變慈善事業》(Women Are Changing the Philanthropy Game)分析道,這種傳統差異依然存在,儘管現如今女性擁有的財富達到了前所未有的水平,並且希望以自己的方式、以慈善家的特別身份獲得人們的關注和傾聽。

印第安納大學婦女慈善研究所慈善學教授黛博拉·梅斯(Debra Mesch)告訴《紐約時報》記者,過去從事慈善事業的女性被視為幕後的志願者,她們默默無聞地為此付出。男性則是慈善事業的門面。4

然而,這種情況逐漸成為了催化劑,推動著當代慈善文化的全面轉型。以洛克菲勒兄弟基金會(Rockefeller Brothers Fund)理事會主席兼洛克菲勒慈善顧問公司(Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors)董事會董事瓦萊麗•洛克菲勒(Valerie Rockefeller)為例。

正如洛克菲勒女士所說,憤怒不平也許會催人拼搏,但熱愛工作並關愛與您共事的人才能維持領導地位。

花旗GPS報告指出,洛克菲勒女士發現她所處的社會正分崩離析,種族主義和性別歧視甚囂塵上,她日益明顯地感受到社會氛圍中充斥著強烈的憤怒情緒。

對於斯坦福大學女性和性別研究中心(Feminist and Gender Studies)米歇爾·默瑟和布魯斯·金家族專業基金會(Michelle Mercer and Bruce Golden Family Professorship)主席米歇爾·默瑟(Michelle Mercer)而言,為婦女和女童事業奔走,從而呼籲性別公正是她推行慈善策略的動力。

她提到多元化捐贈組合的重要性,投資者可藉此擁有多元化的金融投資組合,資助追求性別公正、民主、新聞自由和移民權利的女性政治候選人、501(c)(4)類和501(c)(3)類組織

花旗GPS報告顯示,女性捐贈者網絡(WDN)是另一個以協作型捐贈、長期資本和催化型募資為主的平台,它激勵女性資助志同道合的機構,從而為其子女創造她們心目中的世界。首席執行官唐娜·霍爾(Donna Hall)表示,5年前WDN促成了價值500萬美元的捐贈,今年則為社會公平受贈人提供超過2,000萬美元。5

不斷前行

近年來,該事業取得顯著進步。2015年報告《女性捐贈的方式和原因:當前及未來研究方向》(How and Why Women Give: Current and Future Directions for Research)證實,女性對影響力投資的興趣比男性更加濃厚。其中一項重要發現是,女性明顯傾向於社會服務,包括醫療保健和教育。這份報告指出,整體公益活動主要關注的是婦女和女童的地位。6

如果這種趨勢得以延續,就會產生巨大的綜合影響。據波士頓諮詢公司(Boston Consulting Group)分析,到2023年,女性的全球財富將至少增至81萬億美元。720年前,女性捐贈者網絡擁有80名會員,如今會員人數增至270人,而女性籌款網絡(Women’s Funding Network)的會員人數從20人增至120人,每年為性別平等注資4.2億美元。4

展望女性慈善家的未來

洛克菲勒慈善顧問公司發現,女性傑出慈善家有五大特點,在提高公益捐贈成效方面值得借鑒:5

  • 其一,信任受贈人,透過長年提供一般營運支援捐贈來充分掌握情況
  • 其二,利用某人與待解決問題的聯繫(承認作為捐贈者您可以獲得公眾的關注,並且以此支持受贈夥伴的工作)
  • 其三,在信任和尊重的基礎上建立關係,因此當事情變得複雜時,受贈人可坦陳其工作操作和執行中需要作出改進之處
  • 其四,接受長期項目安排,以便評估成果
  • 最後,了解受贈夥伴對於其機構計劃中的多元化、平等和包容性有何看法

超高淨值女性慈善家證實,女性可在全球發揮強而有力的領導作用,創造一個更加公平的世界。雖然女性曾經遭受的不公正待遇不僅阻礙著其職業發展,還讓身為捐款人、捐贈者和慈善工作者的她們難以獲得認同,但她們仍激勵著全球各地依舊面臨相同境遇的人們戮力前行。展望未來,我們應當認可女性所取得的改變人們生活的成就,以此作為慶祝國際婦女節的最佳方式。

1 Debra Mesch等, “Where Do Men and Women Give? Gender Differences in the Motivations and Purposes for Charitable Giving”, 婦女慈善研究所, 印第安納大學莉莉家庭慈善學院, 2015年9月.

2 Alexander, Sophie等, “MacKenzie Scott’s Money Bombs Are Single Handedly Reshaping America,” 彭博, 2021年8月12日.

3 Mark Green, “The crucial, growing role of women in philanthropy,” 英國慈善救助基金會(CAF)

4 Valerie Safranova, “How Women Are Changing the Philanthropy Game,”  紐約時報, 2021年6月15日.

5 花旗《全球視野與解決方案》, “女性慈善事業:從幕後走到臺前, "慈善事業與全球經濟:全球變革中的機遇" 2021年11月.

6 “How and Why Women Give: Current and Future Directions for Research”, 婦女慈善研究所, 印第安納大學莉莉家庭慈善學院, 2015年5月.

7 Zakrzewski, Anna等 “Managing the next Decade of Women's Wealth,” 波士頓諮詢公司, 2021年7月5日.

Philanthropy
March 7, 2022
6 mins

Female philanthropy: Out of the shadows and into the spotlight

March 7, 2022
6 mins
Karen Kardos
Head of Philanthropic Advisory
SUMMARY

Women have engaged in life-changing philanthropy for as long as men. Recognition of their vital contribution has been woefully inadequate, but this is now beginning to change.


Great acts of humanity do not always gain the recognition they so richly deserve. When it comes to female philanthropy, however, it is more a case of an entire tradition that has gone largely unhailed.

Women have made selfless contributions to improving the lives of their fellow beings since the dawn of time, acts traditionally underappreciated. In recent decades, as women have gained more influence and wealth than at any time previously, female philanthropy has intensified and, with that, comes recognition.

As we mark International Women’s Day 2022, it is a fitting moment to reflect on this, while also looking to the future.

A recent Citi Global Perspectives and Solutions (GPS) report helps quantify the large and growing importance of women in this regard, one that the authors think could significantly change the philanthropic landscape. 

By 2025, 60% of US billionaires are forecast to be women; women already control $11 trillion in assets; and women will inherit 70% of the intergenerational wealth transfer by 2035.

What’s more, the philanthropic landscape will be influenced by a different character of charitable giving than the traditions established primarily by men.

For example, women are more likely to give to causes that have some bearing on their own identity as women, and particularly support causes that advance gender equality. There is also greater emphasis on direct involvement with chosen causes versus donations alone.1

Another feature is a preference for unrestricted giving. Typically, women place fewer requirements upon how money is used. While precise data is still emerging, women appear to be more prepared to make philanthropic donations without restrictions.

A high-profile example of this is MacKenzie Scott, who has to date, donated roughly $8 billion to hundreds of nonprofit organizations as unrestricted funds for a range of purposes.2

The Citi GPS report also states that women are more likely to spread their giving among a higher number of charities and sectors. Women currently make up just 10% of high-net-worth individuals, but a report from the Charities Aid Foundation calculates they account for 14% of donations. 3

The profile of volunteers is similar. Globally, women account for 56% of volunteer labor and their contribution only increases in direct volunteering. North America is home to the largest volunteer workforce and women are more likely to volunteer than men — just as they are more likely to perform unpaid work at home.

Catalysts for change

A New York Times article from 15 June 2021, How Women Are Changing the Philanthropy Game, analyzed this traditional discrepancy, which persists despite the fact that women have more money than ever before and wish to be seen and heard in their own right, with distinct identities as philanthropists.

Women who engaged in philanthropy were the behind-the-scenes volunteers, the unrecognized work, said Debra Mesch, a professor of philanthropy at the Women’s Philanthropy Institute at Indiana University, to the newspaper. The men were the faces.4

This situation has served as a catalyst, however, to secure what has become a comprehensive transformation of contemporary charitable culture. Take, for example, the work of Valerie Rockefeller, Chair of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund and Board Director at Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors.

As Ms. Rockefeller states, the anger may spur you to action, but joy for the work and loving the people you are working with is what sustains your leadership.

As the Citi GPS report details, Ms. Rockefeller observed a society crumbling around her, where racism and sexism were so blatant, and she felt an anger so intense, it was clarifying.

In the case of Michelle Mercer, the cause of women and girls as a calling for gender justice has driven her philanthropic strategies as chair of the Michelle Mercer and Bruce Golden Family Professorship in Feminist and Gender Studies at Stanford.

She has cited the importance of a diverse giving portfolio much the way investors aim to have a diversified financial portfolio and has funded female political candidates, 501(c)(4) organizations, and 501(c)(3) organizations focused on gender justice, democracy, freedom of the press, and immigrant rights

The Women Donors Network (WDN) is another place where collaboration, patient capital, and catalytic funding is inspiring women to fund organizations that reflect the world they want their daughters and sons to inherit, according to the Citi GPS report. Five years ago, CEO Donna Hall says WDN facilitated $5 million of giving; this year WDN moved over $20 million to social justice grantees.5

Making progress

Recent years have seen remarkable progress. A May 2015 report, How and Why Women Give: Current and Future Directions for Research affirms that women have greater interest in impact investing than men. One of the key findings is that there is a distinctive female tilt toward social services, including health care and education. The main charitable interest overall, according to this report, is that of the status of women and girls globally.6

If such trends continue, the compound impact will be considerable. By 2023, women’s global wealth will rise to at least $81 trillion according to a Boston Consulting Group analysis.7 Two decades ago, the Women’s Donor Network had 80 members and now has 270, while the Women’s Funding Network has grown from 20 to 120 over several decades and now invests $420 million annually in gender equity.4

A future of women in action

As Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors observes, there are five lessons to take away from the leading women in philanthropy that serve to accelerate the effectiveness of charitable giving:5

  • First, to trust grantees to know best by providing multi-year, general operating support
  • Secondly, to make use of one’s proximity to the issues being addressed (acknowledge the spotlight you can attract as a donor and shine it on your grantee partners’ work)
  • Thirdly, to build relationships on a bedrock of trust and respect so that when things become complex, grantees will be honest about necessary modifications to the operations and execution of their works
  • Fourthly, to get comfortable with longer timelines for evaluating results
  • Lastly, to ask grantee partners how they are thinking about diversity, equity, and inclusion in their organization’s planning

Ultra-high-net-worth female philanthropists are demonstrating that women can have powerful leadership roles in the world, making it a more thoroughly equitable place. Having suffered historical injustices that not only hindered their careers but also their recognition as givers, donors, and charitable workers, women are an ideal inspiration for those still facing such impediments globally. Looking ahead, what better way to honor International Women’s Day than to embrace such life-transforming achievement.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

1 Debra Mesch et al., “Where Do Men and Women Give? Gender Differences in the Motivations and Purposes for Charitable Giving”, The Women’s Philanthropy Institute, Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, Sep. 2015.

2 Alexander, Sophie, et al., “MacKenzie Scott’s Money Bombs Are Single Handedly Reshaping America,” Bloomberg, 12 Aug. 2021.

3 Mark Green, “The crucial, growing role of women in philanthropy,” Charities Aid Foundation (CAF)

4 Valerie Safranova, “How Women Are Changing the Philanthropy Game,”  The New York Times, 15 Jun 2021

5 Citi GPS: Global Perspectives & Solutions, “Women in Philanthropy: From Behind the Scenes to Leading the Way, "Philanthropy and the Global Economy: Opportunities in a World of Transition," Nov. 2021.

6 “How and Why Women Give: Current and Future Directions for Research”, The Women’s Philanthropy Institute, Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, May 2015.

7 Zakrzewski, Anna, et al. “Managing the next Decade of Women's Wealth,” Boston Consulting Group, 5 Jul 2021.