您是否忽视了市场的好消息?

概览

市场因市值被低估的好消息而上涨。 我们仍然倾向于保持投资,关注全球股票和固定收益领域的潜在机会。


“坏消息让报纸畅销”这句老话无论对于新旧媒体而言都是至理名言。遗憾的是,投资者却会为此付出代价。如果仅仅关注可能出现的问题,投资者就可能会错过利好消息,以及一系列情况的改善对于未来投资的意义。过去一周,不少重要的好消息共同表明,即使在美联储近期加息的背景下,美国经济前景亦呈现向好趋势。综合这些数据进行分析可以表明,经济将趋于“正常化”,而不是带来更多的冲击。市场自然会受此类消息推动而上涨。有鉴于此,我们继续看到保持投资的广泛机会。“好消息”是: 

越来越多的证据表明美国经济具备韧性。在企业资本支出增加的支持下,2023年第二季度美国实际国内生产总值(GDP)按年率计算增长2.4%。 

美国通胀继续好转。例如,除住房成本之外的美国服务业价格涨幅从峰值8%下行至3%。 

美联储主席鲍威尔表示,如果通胀下降、劳动力市场降温,就没有必要通过货币政策迫使经济陷入全面衰退。尽管我们认为美联储似乎低估了相关通胀指标所取得的进展,但鲍威尔表示,美联储可能会在未来一年内,在劳动力市场未崩溃的情况下,放弃推行限制性货币政策。 

由于投资者认为美联储的货币政策因过于紧缩而不可持续,市场正在忽略这一“限制性”货币政策周期。然而,高级别债券收益率接近20年来的高点。这为投资者提供了一个难得的机会来锁定“实际收益率”。 

几家美国科技巨头公布的季度利润好于预期,这彰显了其“传统经济”业务的韧性。大多数初步公布的第二季度盈利消息暗示股票市场潜藏着更好的机会。 

中国的政策制定者正开始着手解决经济失去动力的问题,放弃之前不够彻底的稳定房地产行业的措施。 

作为最后一个保持零短期利率政策的大型经济体,日本再次以非常渐进的方式收紧货币政策。日本央行将允许长期债券收益率小幅上升,最高不超过1%。尽管这一消息上周在全球债券市场引发了恐慌,但其影响还不足以扰乱全球市场或阻挡日本的代际变革。 

2022年股票/债券市场共同崩盘后,观望的投资者纷纷入场,推动市场走高。然而,直到现在,全球股票市场才将强劲表现“扩散”到少数大盘股之外。并非所有风险都已过去,但越来越多的迹象表明,世界经济可以从缓慢增长和高通胀时期过渡到更加可持续的扩张时期。

展望

2023年财富展望

2023年市况的发展将推动经济在2024年复苏。因此,我们预计,对于以市场先例情况为指引的投资者而言,2023年将最终为其带来一系列意义重大的机会。阅读我们的复苏之路:“由危转机”时的投资组合。

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的私人银行顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

您是私人银行现有客户吗?

请填写表格,以便我们与您联系。

我同意花旗私人银行可使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话和电子邮箱地址)与我联系,向我发送关于花旗私人银行财富管理产品及服务的市场推广信息。我了解我的个人信息将按照本人所在地的相关隐私声明加以使用。我亦了解我可以发送邮件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人银行不再通过电话向本人推介上述市场推广信息;或随时更改电子邮件偏好中心的设置,拒绝花旗私人银行通过电子邮件向本人推送该等信息。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

最符合您情况的描述是?

我想讨论的一项投资是关于

我想讨论的一项投资是关于

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,

我们服务的最低投资要求是500万美金

基于您提供的信息,我们相信Citigold的服务或许更加适合您的需求。

如需了解更多信息: 请访问Citigold

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,

我们服务的最低投资要求是500万美金

基于您提供的信息,我们相信Citigold的服务或许更加适合您的需求。

如需了解更多信息: 请访问Citigold

我关注的领域

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

职务与公司

职务与公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我们通过哪种方式与您联系?

您希望我们通过哪种方式与您联系?

请输入您的联系方式

请输入您的联系方式

您是从哪里得知花旗私人银行?

还有其他评论吗?

我同意花旗私人银行可使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话和电子邮箱地址)与我联系,向我发送关于花旗私人银行财富管理产品及服务的市场推广信息。我了解我的个人信息将按照本人所在地的相关隐私声明加以使用。我亦了解我可以发送邮件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人银行不再通过电话向本人推介上述市场推广信息;或随时更改电子邮件偏好中心的设置,拒绝花旗私人银行通过电子邮件向本人推送该等信息。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

您是从哪里得知花旗私人银行?

还有其他评论吗?

我同意花旗私人银行可使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话和电子邮箱地址)与我联系,向我发送关于花旗私人银行财富管理产品及服务的市场推广信息。我了解我的个人信息将按照本人所在地的相关隐私声明加以使用。我亦了解我可以发送邮件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人银行不再通过电话向本人推介上述市场推广信息;或随时更改电子邮件偏好中心的设置,拒绝花旗私人银行通过电子邮件向本人推送该等信息。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,我们的团队成员会尽快与您联系。

Are you overlooking the good news for investors?

SUMMARY

Markets are rallying on underappreciated good news. We continue to favor staying invested, with potential opportunities in global equities and fixed income.


The old adage “bad news sells newspapers” remains true across old and new media. Unfortunately, that comes at a cost for investors. By focusing on what may go wrong, investors may be missing what is going right and what an improving set of circumstances means for investing in the future. This past week, there were important pieces of good news that collectively indicate improving prospects for the US economy, even in the face of the Fed’s most recent rate hike. The balance of this data suggests “normalization” rather than more disruption. It is only natural for markets to rally on this news. With it, we continue to see broader opportunities in staying invested. The ”good news”: 

Evidence of US economic resilience is mounting. US real GDP growth accelerated to a 2.4% annualized pace in 2Q2023, led by a bounce-back in business capital spending. 

US inflation continues to fall. For example, the rate of growth in US services prices ex-shelter slowed from a peak of 8% to 3%. 

Fed Chairman Powell indicated that if inflation is falling and the labor market is cooling, there will be no need for monetary policy to force the economy into a full-blown recession. While we believe the progress on underlying inflation measures appears underrated by the Fed, Powell indicated the Fed could back off restrictive monetary policy in the coming year without a collapse in labor markets. 

Markets are looking past this period of “restrictive” monetary policy as the Fed is viewed as unsustainably tight. Yet, high-grade bond yields are near 20-year highs. This presents an unusual opportunity for investors to potentially capture and retain “real yields.” 

Several US tech titans reported better-than-expected quarterly profits, reflecting the resilience of their “old economy” businesses. Most of the initial 2Q earnings news supports an improving set of equity market opportunities. 

China’s policymakers are coming to grips with the loss of momentum in its economy and moving away from half-hearted measures to stabilize the property sector. 

Japan moved very incrementally again to tighten monetary policy in the last large economy to retain a zero short-term interest rate policy. The Bank of Japan will allow a small rise in long-term bond yields below a maximum of 1%. While the news created fear in global bond markets last week, it’s not significant enough to derail global markets or stem a generational change in Japan. 

After the joint stock/bond collapse of 2022, sidelined investors have chased markets higher. However, only now is the world equity market “broadening” its strong performance beyond a few mega-cap shares. Not every risk is behind us, but signs are building that the world economy can transition from a period of slow growth and high inflation to a more sustainable expansion.

OUTLOOK

Wealth Outlook 2024

Our global economic outlook for the year ahead

 

Growth will slow in early 2024, but we see no synchronized collapse across the global economy, as many fear. 

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.