信托和财富规划
2022年10月26日

维持巨大财富的经典原则

2022年10月26日
花旗全球财富投资
概览

一些家族为子孙后代成功实现了财富的保护和增长。我们认为,遵循某些强有力的原则对他们的成功起到了助益作用。


古往今来,众多极具才干的个人和家族成功创造了巨大的财富。他们所从事的领域千差万别。然而,他们获得成功的主要因素往往相同,比如不断创新、努力工作和敢于冒险。创业不易,守业更难,相比创造财富的能力而言,保持这种财富的能力更是弥足珍贵。每种文化几乎都有一句谚语,反映了巨大的财富往往会在几代人中消耗殆尽。

然而,巨大的财富并非必然会随着时间的推移而被消耗一空。一些家族企业在几代人和数百年的时间里成功实现了财富的增长和保护。他们的成功得益于对某些重要原则的应用。虽然这些原则成效卓著,但并非是什么难以洞悉的秘密。事实上,其中的许多原则早在金融市场形成之前就早已为人们所熟知。然而,直到今天,投资者仍然经常忽视这些原则,并付出了沉重的代价。通过理解这些古老的智慧并将其贯彻始终,我们相信当今最富有的家族可以帮助子孙后代维持他们的财富。

建立多元化的核心投资组合

集中力量深耕某个领域往往有助于创造巨大的财富。通常,这涉及单个杰出企业的成功,而该企业往往专注于世界某一地区的单个行业。然而,当涉及到将此类企业的财富再投资于金融资产时,集中投资就显得并不必要,且会带来风险。高度集中在某些资产类别、行业、公司或地区的投资组合持仓可能会对财富造成不可逆转的损害。

相比之下,多元化的概念长期以来一直与审慎和可持续性联系在一起。“智者懂得从长计议,而不会冒险把所有的鸡蛋都放在一个篮子里”,这是在17世纪西班牙经典小说《堂吉诃德》中,头脑冷静的农夫桑丘·潘沙对异想天开的骑士堂吉诃德的著名建议。五百多年前,中国商人也已经懂得将货物分几艘船装运,从而不至于因遇险而全部沉没。在中世纪的荷兰,许多成功人士做出了精明之举,他们将财富从房地产这个主要资产类别抽出一部分投资到贷款领域或是直接投资于商业。

现代资产类别数十年来的表现证明了分散化投资这个亘古不变的道理。但是,有太多极为富有的投资者,他们的投资组合集中于少数的资产类别和国家/地区。因此,我们向每位客户推荐全球多元化配置,其提炼自多达十种主要资产类别。我们会提供帮助,力求在每位客户的长期核心投资组合中实施这种配置,而客户的长期核心投资组合包含了每位客户的主要非商业财富(详见下文)。

保持充分投资

长久以来,各种文化都将懒惰视为一种恶习。也许不太为人所知的是在理财方面的怠惰所造成的不良后果。囤积过多的现金可能会造成持久的损害。大量财富以现金形式闲置的时间越久,就越有可能错失获得更高回报的机会,并且通胀对购买力的侵蚀就越严重。随着时间的推移,与那些将盈余现金进行投资的投资者相比,投资组合中现金占比较高的投资者的财富水平有所下降。

要将财富投入到更有回报的用途中去,这是数千年来人们一直都懂的道理。有一个古老的中东故事,讲述了有个人要出远门,而在此之前,他将他的财富分成不同比例的三份,分别托付给他的三个仆人。(这位主人显然也深知分散配置资产的潜在好处!)就在他出远门期间,其中有两位仆人使保管的财富翻了一番,而第三位仆人仅仅归还了所托付的金额,因为他只是将这笔财富以现金方式原封不动地放着,这让主人很是不快。

将盈余财富以具有流动性的形式闲置,这种想法一直持续至今。对此做法最常见的解释是希望日后能以较低的价格进行投资。但是,长期以来的经验知识(通过我们的研究得以进一步证实)强烈反对这种市场投机意向。因此,我们的建议是尽早建立一个全球多元化的核心投资组合,并长期保持充分投资。

但这并不意味着短期、投机性或非传统意义的投资完全不合时宜。出于此类目的,我们建议应建立一个规模较小的投机性投资组合作为核心投资组合的补充。该投资组合中的现金可用于尝试利用市场错位和其他导致价格和价值分化的事件而从中获利。这种投机性的投资在富裕家族中由来已久。“当市场上杀得鲜血淋漓时就是买入的好时机”这句谚语源自欧洲的拿破仑战争时期,当时一些大的家族通过抢购恐慌的卖家所抛售的股票赚得盆满钵满。

深思熟虑地构建财富

全球多元资产类别分散投资、持续投资和追求投机性投资都有助于长期维持巨额财富。然而,同样重要的是,我们必须清楚这些财富如何构建。在适当的结构之下,不仅可以进行金融投资,还可以进行房产、企业、珍贵收藏品、游艇和飞机领域的投资。这些投资可以帮助最大限度地减少税收,保护资产免受法律方面的严苛监管和主权风险的影响,并确保您的愿望在您在世及身后均得到遵循。

杰出的个人和家族运用财富构建的理念已有数百年甚至数千年的历史。在中世纪,英国贵族经常会将他们的土地转给受托人进行托管,以确保他们最终能顺畅地私自将土地传承给他们自己满意的继承人,而不用向君主支付不必要的税收。在贵族们的有生之年,托管的土地也会按照他们的意愿进行管理,这在贵族们需要离开属地多年从军征战的时期显得尤其具有价值。

近年来,许多涉及名人的案件都凸显了未能适当地构建财富管理机制的不幸后果。在他们去世后,他们的遗产常常成为头条新闻,且经常卷入激烈的法律纠纷,往往涉及多方法律主张且持续多年,耗费巨额法律费用和遗产税。为了避免此类问题以及其他后果,富裕人群应尽早寻求定制和综合的财富计划。

设立家族办公室

随着家族财富的增长,监督其管理和治理的责任也在增加。除了投资和财富规划,最富有的家族通常在会计、法律事务和慈善事业方面有广泛的需求。他们忙碌而繁琐的生活通常涉及繁忙的旅行和社交活动、众多私人员工、多处房产和宝贵的收藏品资产。所有这些事情——从实施前面讨论的其他永恒原则到监管私人飞机——都可以由家族办公室承担。

我们今天所知的家族办公室或许可以追溯到19世纪后期。然而,将一系列关键的家族、投资和个人职能正式委托给某些专责个人的做法甚至可以追溯到几千年前。例如,古埃及的法老依靠这类专员来管理他们的收入、贵重金属和珠宝,并记账。这些人还承担了重要的个人财产和继承计划职能,例如帮助筹备最为重要的陵墓和向先灵的祭祀。

今天,即使不需要监督金字塔的建设和庞大的战车大军,创建家族理财室的理由对富裕家族来说仍然很有吸引力。家族理财室可以全面了解家族财富和其他需求,增加机密性和效率,同时实施上述其他原则。我们的专业人员与全球1,500多家家族办公室合作,平均净资产为17亿美元。它们包括初创到大型成熟的多代家族办公室。他们的专长包括为在世界许多地方拥有家族成员、企业和基金会的客户制定跨境战略。

将经典原则结合到一起

虽然许多经典原则由来已久,且通俗易懂,但其实践程度却还远远不够。长期的经验证明,其中任何一条原则都能带来巨大的效益。我们相信,当将它们组合使用时,其价值应无可估量。因此,花旗全球财富投资将这些原则以及其他的惯例融汇到我们的投资理念和流程中,帮助您长期维持财富。

我们的服务

投资

我们运用在全球市场的专业知识和渠道领域可为您带来深刻见解和广泛的投资机会,以及我们的高水平服务。

了解更多
联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

Trust & wealth planning
October 26, 2022

Timeless principles for sustaining great wealth

October 26, 2022
Citi Global Wealth Investments
SUMMARY

Some families have managed to protect and grow their wealth for generations. We believe that following certain powerful principles has helped them to do so.


Throughout the ages, talented individuals and families have succeeded in creating great wealth. The fields in which they have done so have been varied hugely. However, the main elements of their success – inspiration, hard work, and taking risks – have tended to be the same. While the ability to generate great wealth is relatively rare, the ability to sustain such wealth over the long term is rarer still. Almost every culture has a proverb reflecting great wealth’s tendency to dissipate within a few generations.

Nevertheless, the dissipation of great wealth over time is far from inevitable. Some families have managed to protect and grow their wealth over many generations and hundreds of years. They have done so by applying certain vital principles. As powerful as these principles are, however, they are no closely guarded secret. Indeed, many of them were known long before financial markets existed. Nevertheless, investors have routinely overlooked these principles to this day and to heavy cost. By understanding these ancient pieces of wisdom and applying them consistently, we believe that the wealthiest families of today can help sustain their wealth for generations to come.

Building a diversified core portfolio

Concentrated exposure has often contributed to creating great wealth. Typically, this has involved the success of a single great business, often focused on an individual industry in just one region of the world. However, when it comes to reinvesting the wealth from such a business in financial assets, concentration is unnecessary and risky. Highly concentrated portfolio exposure to certain asset classes, industries, companies or regions can lead to irreversible damage to wealth.

By contrast, the concept of diversification has long been associated with prudence and sustainability. It is the part of a wise man to keep himself today for tomorrow, and not to venture all his eggs in one basket, was a famous piece of advice given by the hard-headed farmer Sancho Panza to the delusional knight Don Quixote in the classic 17th century Spanish novel of that name. More than five hundred years earlier, though, Chinese merchants had recognized the benefits of dividing cargoes between several ships lest one should sink. In Medieval Holland, many prominent citizens shrewdly spread their wealth away from the predominant asset class of real estate and into making loans or direct investments in business.

Decades of modern asset class performance have borne out the much older case for diversification. However, too many of the world’s wealthiest investors have portfolios that are concentrated in few asset classes and countries. We therefore recommend for every client a globally diversified allocation drawn from up to ten major asset classes. We then help implement this allocation in every client’s long-term core portfolio, which should contain the majority of every client’s non-business wealth.

Staying fully invested

Cultures throughout history have regarded slothfulness as a vice. Less widely appreciated, perhaps, are the undesirable consequences of slothfulness of wealth. Hoarding excessive amounts of cash can do lasting harm. The longer great wealth idles in the form of cash, the more the missed opportunities to earn higher returns and the harsher inflation’s erosion of purchasing power. Over time, investors with cash-heavy portfolios have therefore seen their level of wealth diminish compared to those who have put excess cash to work.

The need to put wealth to more productive use has been recognized for millennia. An ancient Middle Eastern story tells of a man who entrusted his wealth to his three servants in unequal shares before embarking upon a long journey. (The master plainly also understood the potential benefits of diversification!) After his extended absence, two of the servants had doubled the wealth they managed for him, while the third incurred his master’s wrath by merely returning the original investment, having kept it all in cash.

The temptation to keep excessive amounts of wealth idling in liquid form persists to the present day. Hopes of investing later on at lower prices is perhaps the commonest explanation that we hear. However, long established wisdom – reinforced by our studies – argue strongly against such market timing attempts. Our advice is thus to build a globally diversified core portfolio as early as possible and keep it fully invested for the long run.

Still, this isn’t to say that short-term, timed, or unconventional investments are never appropriate. For these purposes, we recommend having a much smaller opportunistic portfolio to complement the core portfolio. The cash in this portfolio can be used to try to exploit market dislocations and other flare-ups that cause price and value to diverge. Such opportunistic investing has a long history among wealthy families. The saying buy when there’s blood running in streets dates from Europe’s Napoleonic wars, when a few leading families profited by snapping up stocks discarded by panic sellers.

Structuring wealth thoughtfully

Global multi-asset class diversification, staying invested, and pursuing opportunistic investments can all assist with sustaining great wealth for the long term. Just as important, however, is how such wealth is structured. Appropriate structures can accommodate not only financial investments, but also homes, businesses, treasured collections, yachts and aircraft. They can help to minimize taxation, protect assets from legal challenges and sovereign risks, and ensure that your wishes are followed in your lifetime and beyond.

Prominent individuals and families have used wealth structuring for hundreds and perhaps even thousands of years. In the Middle Ages, English noblemen would often transfer their lands to trustees to ensure they ultimately passed privately and seamlessly to their desired heirs, and without paying unnecessary levies to the monarch. During the noblemen’s lifetime, the lands held in trust would also be managed according to their wishes, which was particularly valuable when the noblemen went away on multi-year military campaigns.

Numerous cases involving celebrities in recent years have highlighted the unfortunate consequences of failing to structure wealth appropriately. After their deaths, their estates have often become the subject of highly publicized and often bitter legal disputes, involving multiple claimants, lasting many years, and costing large amounts in legal fees and estate taxes. To shield against these and other consequences, wealthy individuals should seek a customized and integrated wealth plan at the earliest opportunity.

Establishing a family office

As family wealth grows, so do the responsibilities of overseeing its management and governance. Besides investments and wealth planning, the wealthiest families typically have extensive needs when it comes to accounting, legal matters, and philanthropy. Their busy and complex lives often involve hectic travel and social engagements, numerous personal staff, several homes, and valuable collections of assets. All these things – from implementing the other timeless principles discussed previously to overseeing a private aircraft – can be undertaken by a family office.

The family office as we know it today probably dates back to the late 19th century. However, the practice of formally entrusting a set of key family business, investment, and personal functions to certain dedicated individuals goes back thousands of years. The pharaohs of ancient Egypt, for example, relied upon such officers for managing their income, their precious metals and jewels, and keeping accounts of the same. The same individuals also undertook critical personal estate and succession planning functions, such as the preparation of their all-important tombs and making offerings to the spirits.

The case for creating a family office today remains compelling for wealthy families, even absent any need to oversee pyramid construction and vast armies of charioteers. A family office can take a holistic view of family wealth and other needs, add confidentiality and efficiency, while implementing the other principles discussed above. Our professionals work with more than 1,500 family offices globally with an average net worth of $1.7 billion. They range from newly created to large and established multi-generational family offices. Their specialities include creating cross-border strategies for clients with family members, businesses, and foundations in many parts of the world.

Combining these timeless principles

While they have existed since ancient times – and are readily understood – none of these timeless principles are practiced anything like as much as they ought to be. Long experience has proven each of them to be powerful. We believe they are more powerful still when applied in combination. Citi Global Wealth Investments therefore reflects these and other principles in our investment philosophy and process, when seeking to help you sustain your wealth for the long term.
We offer

Investments

Our expertise in and access to global markets provide you with insights and the broadest range of investment opportunities, which we accompany with the highest level of service.

Learn more
Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.