另类投资
2022年10月31日

对冲基金2022年第三季度回顾及未来展望

2022年10月31日
Michael Stein
对冲基金研究与管理全球主管
Michael Yannell
对冲基金研究主管
概览

由于全球央行收紧货币政策的举措在股票、固定收益和信贷等市场引发抛售,投资者在2022年第三季度依然面临重重利空。


尽管我们承认对冲基金并非单一的资产类别,而是拥有多种多样的目标,但整体而言,相较股票、固定收益和信贷指数,对冲基金在2022年第三季度对资本起到了更好的保护作用。

其原因何在?对冲基金板块2022年第三季度概要

充满挑战的市场

由于全球央行收紧货币政策的举措在股票、固定收益和信贷等市场引发抛售,投资者在2022年第三季度依然面临重重利空。事实上,第二和第三季度创造的跌幅可列入全球60/40指数(60%为MSCI世界指数/40%为彭博巴克莱综合债券指数)的前十大跌幅记录,美国高收益债券的回撤幅度目前仅次于2007至2008年全球金融危机时期的跌幅。1

尽管我们承认对冲基金并非单一的资产类别,而是拥有多种多样的目标,但整体而言,相较股票、固定收益和信贷指数,对冲基金在2022年第三季度对资本起到了更好的保护作用。这符合我们的整体预期,即对冲基金有潜力为传统市场带来多元化特征。

 
图1 | 2022年对冲基金对比长仓指数回报率
 
资料来源:彭博社、HFRI、MSCI,截至2022年9月30日;过往表现不代表未来回报。仅作说明之用。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明之用,不代表任何特定投资表现。实际结果可能不同。
 

动荡市场下的表现差异

我们有必要思考一下对冲基金策略在2022年第三季度的表现差异。

与预期一致,策略之间存在巨大的差异:与风险资产关联极少或无关联的典型多元化策略(如宏观和相对价值策略)表现持平或录得了正回报。与此同时,与风险资产有关联的方向性策略(如股票多空和事件驱动型策略)则表现出一定程度的下行。

 
图2 | 多种对冲基金策略2022年回报率(截至2022年9月30日)
 
资料来源:HFRI,截至2022年9月30日;过往表现不代表未来回报。仅作说明之用。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明之用,不代表任何特定投资表现。实际结果可能不同。
 

对冲基金策略细分(2022年年初至第三季度)

由于2022年年初至第三季度全球股市和高收益市场的颓势,方向性对冲基金策略也遭受了损失。此类方向性策略以往倾向于在达到对整体市场的特定beta(个股与大盘的相关度)时运行,同时寻求产生alpha(超额收益),并创造出色的风险调整回报。即使在更广泛的策略分组中,根据所采用的次级策略,今年也产生了截然不同的结果。

  • 股票多空 | 我们在期内看到许多市场中性策略帮助投资组合实现了资本保护,并且在某些情况下还产生了收益,而对于科技和生物技术等成长板块净敞口较大且配置比重偏高的策略则表现不佳。需要注意的是,科技和医疗保健对冲基金在过去5年都是表现稳健的股票策略,因为此类板块受益于长期的利好因素及板块内的较高离散度(被证明有利于选股)。
  • 事件驱动型 | 2022年年初至第三季度,并购套利策略通过从已公布并购交易中获取利差而实现获利,而在另一方面,股东积极主义策略则随股市一同经历了接连不断的下跌。考虑到积极主义策略内的净敞口较高,我们会通过股市来评估其回报,而且某些管理人还能通过管理集中的投资组合并促使企业释放价值,在长期内有效提升alpha。
  • 信贷 | 整体而言,信贷策略在不良信贷、可转债套利和结构化信贷等多个领域的表现都优于全球高收益市场。其中结构化信贷基金的表现尤为突出,因其可通过专注于稳妥且有浮息资产担保的证券来实施主动管理和信贷筛选,从而为资本提供保护。在以往,结构化信贷市场通常效率较低,因此具备熟练的交易和承销能力的管理人能够创造出色的表现。

另一方面,多元化对冲基金策略借助方向性和非方向性交易从金融市场波动性加剧中获益,因此同期的整体表现优于其他对冲基金策略。这为专注于某些绝对回报策略的投资者提供了支持。

  • 相对价值 | 此类基金通常会利用多种策略和资产类别中的短期定价不当以从中获利;而2022年的波动率上升创造了有吸引力的交易背景,也令该类基金受益。由于全球央行收紧货币政策的举措引发了市场动荡,这一点在固定收益市场体现得尤其显著。
  • 宏观/CTA | 自主宏观和CTA(大宗商品交易顾问)等追随趋势的策略在今年都保持着较高的回报率,原因在于宏观经济变化在各类市场引发了较大的方向性变动,包括固定收益和股票市场抛售,以及大宗商品和美元走强。对于CTA策略而言,央行干预及相应的市场逆转往往被认为是此类策略自2008年以来表现差强人意且起伏不定的一个原因。2 因此,CTA策略在缺乏长期趋势的时期可能面临更大挑战。

整体而言,尽管事件驱动型和股票多空等某些策略的表现落后于其他策略,但对冲基金行业内的各种策略在2022年极具挑战性的金融市场条件下通常取得了较好的相对业绩,甚至还实现了正绝对业绩。这进一步证明,建立包含各种对冲基金策略的有效多元化投资组合,并在构建投资组合时思虑周全,的确至关重要。

未来将如何演变?选债者市场

各种对冲基金策略在固定收益领域的潜在机会

支持主动管理的人士常常吹捧“选股者市场”这一概念——也就是从长期来看,基本面将决定个股的表现,而在高度关联期结束后,擅长选股的管理人将会利用胜出和落败个股之间的差异从中获利——但我们很少在固定收益市场听到这样的说法。

但是为什么呢?会不会是相比债券而言,股票在主动管理方面有更好的机会?

也许会有人认为,这是因为股市规模更大,而且比固定收益市场更活跃,因而就会产生更多机会。然而,情况并非如此——全球固定收益市场的规模与全球股市几乎可以相提并论,两者规模均超过120万亿美元,而且固定收益的年发行量通常达到股市的20倍。3

 
图3 | 全球固定收益与股票发行量
 
资料来源:证券业与金融市场协会(SIFMA),截至2021年12月31日,全球长期固定收益发行量,包括期限>13个月的证券;包括企业、市政和主权债券发行量,全球股票发行量包括可评级、不可转让的IPO和后续股票交易;不包括优先股、已发行权益、封闭式基金、商业发展公司和特殊目的收购公司。
 

如果与市场规模和发行量无关,那么波动性也许是原因所在。股票的波动性一直以来都比较大,为专业选股者提供了具有潜在吸引力的入场点。然而,虽然股票和债券在最近12个月期间都录得负回报,但固定收益产品的波动率却呈现出幅度更大且持续走高的上升态势。如图5所示,当股票表现为负时,股票波动率(以VIX指数计量)一直更为符合历史正常水平,而固定收益的波动率(以MOVE指数计量)则出现了超乎寻常的上升。

 
图4 | 总回报(最近12个月)
 
资料来源:彭博社,截至2022年9月30日;过往表现不代表未来回报。仅作说明之用。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明之用,不代表任何特定投资表现。实际结果可能不同。
 
 
图5 | 股票和固定收益的波动率(最近12个月)
 
资料来源:彭博社,截至2022年9月30日;过往表现不代表未来回报。仅作说明之用。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明之用,不代表任何特定投资表现。实际结果可能不同。
 

这些动向解释了为何我们认为,我们目前且未来一段时间内将会继续处于“选债者市场”,也证明了各种不同的对冲基金策略对于在这样的市场中寻找潜在机会具有重要意义。这些策略包括:

  • 固定收益相对价值 | 我们认为,擅长在具有流动性的固定收益市场(如主权债务和机构抵押担保证券)中分析潜在机会的策略,应该会继续觅得众多具有吸引力的机会。随着美联储和全球其他央行退出量化宽松和购债计划,价格发现将发挥重要作用,而且各板块及期限的波动率虽然曾因央行持续购债而受到抑制,但可能仍将保持较高水平 。
  • 对冲宏观 | 传统的全球宏观策略寻求针对特定经济主题进行有限数量的大额押注以从中获利,因而可能经历“大起大落”的周期。相反,依托宏观经济分析寻求对冲交易机会的对冲基金,长期以来都能创造持续一致的回报,同时避免因市场动荡引发较大波动。我们认为,考虑到当前的市场背景,特别是各国央行在平衡通胀和增长担忧方面所面临的挑战,此类策略能够较好地把握固定收益和货币市场中的交易机会。
  • 不良债务 | 由于各国央行的加息举措,加上因投资者预期2023年可能爆发经济衰退而导致的信贷利差扩大,全球债券收益率在2022年大幅上升。在这些因素的推动下,以较低价格交易的投资级以下债务显著增加。此类信贷追求更高的总回报潜力,包括“堕落天使”和BB/B评级的债务。与2021年同期相比,第三季度的高收益债券和贷款发行量分别下降78%和61%。4 资本市场活动放缓将为管理人创造干预机会,从而与企业就锚定融资和发起交易等策略开展合作,以满足资本需要或应对债务到期。此外,虽然在低利率环境和有利的经济背景下,企业违约率一直低于历史平均水平,但我们认为随着资本成本上涨及获取难度加大,违约率可能升高。由此,我们认为具有不良债务经验的管理人在来年可能获得更多机会,但重组方面的专业知识将会十分关键,毕竟可对此过程施加影响的管理人便能够避免违约债务回收率低的风险。
 
图6 | 高收益和贷款历史违约率
 
资料来源:花旗研究、穆迪,截至2022年9月30日
 
 
图7 | 高收益的困境正在加剧
 
资料来源:花旗研究、花旗杠杆贷款指数、富时指数,截至2022年9月30日
 
  • 多板块信贷 | 即使在市场波动率较低的时期,各种固定收益和信贷板块之间的离散度也相当可观。固定收益和信贷板块收益率上升或许会在各种子板块创造具有吸引力的入场点,但具备战术性专业知识的管理人有能力对其配置进行积极轮换,因此或将受益于受宏观经济政策和特定板块基本面影响而不断演化的诸多机会。
 
图8 | 固定收益子板块回报率,2012-2022年(截至2022年9月30日)

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
CLO债务
29.7%
CLO债务
10.8%
非机构RMBS
6.7%
非机构RMBS
3.3%
高收益
17.1%
非机构RMBS
9.6%
美国CMBS
4.6%
高收益
14.3%
高收益
7.1%
美国CMBS
6.5%
银行贷款
-3.3%
非机构RMBS
25.9%
非机构RMBS
8.9%
美国CMBS
6.3%
新兴市场债务
1.3%
CLO债务
11.2%
CLO债务
8.8%
非机构RMBS
3.0%
新兴市场债务
13.1%
新兴市场债务
6.5%
非机构RMBS
5.9%
非机构RMBS
-4.7%
美国CMBS
24.8%
高收益
7.4%
新兴市场债务
4.8%
美国CMBS
0.7%
银行贷款
10.2%
新兴市场债务
8.2%
银行贷款
0.4%
美国CMBS
11.3%
CLO债务
5.5%
高收益
5.3%
CLO债务
-7.2%
新兴市场债务
17.9%
银行贷款
5.3%
CLO债务
3.4%
CLO债务
0.0%
新兴市场债务
9.9%
美国CMBS
7.9%
CLO债务
-0.7%
CLO债务
8.9%
非机构RMBS
3.3%
银行贷款
5.2%
美国CMBS
-12.3%
高收益
15.8%
美国CMBS
4.0%
高收益
2.5%
银行贷款
-0.7%
非机构RMBS
5.4%
高收益
7.5%
高收益
-2.1%
银行贷款
8.6%
银行贷款
3.1%
CLO债务
4.3%
高收益
-14.7%
银行贷款
9.7%
新兴市场债务
-4.1%
银行贷款
1.6%
高收益
-4.5%
美国CMBS
3.8%
银行贷款
4.1%
新兴市场债务
-2.5%
非机构RMBS
5.4%
美国CMBS
-0.9%
新兴市场债务
-1.7%
新兴市场债务
-20.5%
 
 
 
资料来源:新兴市场债务以彭博新兴市场硬通货综合指数(Bloomberg Emerging Markets Hard Currency Aggregate Index)为代表。美国商业地产抵押贷款支持证券(CMBS)以洲际交易所美银BBB美国定息CMBS指数(ICE BofA BBB US Fixed Rate CMBS Index)为代表。高收益以彭博美国企业高收益债券指数(Bloomberg US Corporate High Yield Bond Index)为代表。银行贷款以标普/贷款银团交易协会杠杆贷款总回报指数(S&P/LSTA Leveraged Loan Total Return Index)为代表。非机构个人住房抵押贷款支持证券(RMBS)以花旗RMBS回报单据 - 整体市场 - 名义回报为代表。贷款抵押债券(CLO)债务以CLO BBB未对冲(美元)每日合计回报率(CLO BBB Unhedged (USD) DAILY TOTAL RETURN)为代表。过往业绩并非未来表现的保证。仅作说明之用。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明之用,不代表任何特定投资表现。实际结果可能不同。请参考术语表,了解所示指数的完整说明。
 

另类投资

花旗投资管理另类投资将全球专业知识与当地见解相结合,提供私募股权、房地产和对冲基金领域极具吸引力的机会。

了解更多
联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

1 彭博社,截至2022年9月30日

2 自2009年1月至2021年12月,HFRI宏观:系统性多元化指数,年化回报率1.4%。仅作说明之用。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。

3 SIFMA,截至2022年9月30日

4 资料来源:花旗研究、标普/杠杆评论与数据(LCD),截至2022年9月30日

术语表

多元化和方向性是由基金的策略和目标决定的内部描述用语,由对冲基金研究与管理团队(“HFRM”)开发并用于为对冲基金分类。此类描述未经以上所列的投资组合管理人核准。内部分类可能发生变更,恕不另行通知投资者。许多投资组合管理人提供多种产品,其目标或分类可能与以上所示的不同。以上引用的特定管理人所提供的基金仅可通过由花旗提供咨询的联接基金购买。如需了解更多详情,请参阅基金的特定保密发行备忘录。

此类内部分类基于HFRM的分析和主观看法。内部分类可能发生变更,恕不另行通知投资者,且无法保证基金将取得以上所述的表现。务必注意的是,以上所述的市场策略可能不会完全消除市场风险。我们无法保证分类为“多元化”和“方向性”的对冲基金将取得以上所述的表现。不应依据对冲基金的内部分类来进行投资,在投资前还应考虑客户整体投资组合内的其他资产。

对冲基金可能高度缺乏流动性,并不适合所有投资者。对另类投资产品的投资仅面向经验丰富、专业能力强且愿意承担此类投资所含的较高经济风险的投资者。在投资前,投资者应谨慎评估并考虑潜在风险。如需更多信息,可参考基金的保密私募配售备忘录。风险可能包括:

  • 因杠杆、卖空或其他投机性做法损失全部或相当部分的投资;
  • 缺少流动性,因为基金可能不存在二级市场,而且预期不会发展形成任何二级市场;
  • 回报波动性
  • 对于转让基金权益的限制;
  • 在使用单个顾问的情况下,由于交易授权集中,可能缺乏多元化并因此造成风险升高;
  • 缺少有关估值和定价的信息;
  • 税务结构复杂且税务申报存在延迟;
  • 相比共同基金监管较少且费用较高;及
  • 管理人风险。

各个基金的投资计划各不相同,都有着与其投资计划相关的特定风险。

Alternative investments
October 31, 2022

Hedge Funds: A look back at third quarter 2022 and what may happen next

October 31, 2022
Michael Stein
Global Head of Hedge Fund Research and Management
Michael Yannell
Head of Hedge Fund Research
SUMMARY

Investors faced continued headwinds during the third quarter of 2022 as global central bank tightening caused equity, fixed income, and credit markets to sell off.


While we recognize that hedge funds are not a uniform asset class and have a wide range of objectives, overall hedge funds during the third quarter of 2022 protected capital on a relative basis versus equity, fixed income, and credit indices.

What happened? A third quarter 2022 hedge fund sector summary

Challenging markets

Investors faced continued headwinds during the third quarter of 2022 as global central bank tightening caused equity, fixed income, and credit markets to sell off. In fact, the second and third quarters produced two of the ten largest declines for the global 60/40 index (60% MSCI World Index/40% Bloomberg Barclays Aggregate Bond Index) on record, and the drawdown in US high yield bonds is now second only to the 2007-2008 decline during the Global Financial Crisis.1

While we recognize that hedge funds are not a uniform asset class and have a wide range of objectives, overall hedge funds during the third quarter of 2022 preserved capital on a relative basis versus equity, fixed income, and credit indices. This aligns with our general expectation for the potential to provide diversification to traditional markets.

 
Figure 1 | 2022 hedge fund versus long-only index returns
 
Source: Bloomberg, HFRI, MSCI, as of September 30, 2022; Past performance is not indicative of future returns. For illustrative purposes only. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Real results may vary.
 

Performance dispersion in volatile markets

It’s important to consider how distinct hedge fund strategies performed during the third quarter 2022.

As expected, there has been significant dispersion between strategies, with flat to positive performance from typically diversifying strategies that have little to no correlation to risk assets, such as macro and relative value strategies. Meanwhile, directional strategies that are correlated to risk assets, such as equity long/short and event-driven, have displayed a degree of downside participation.

 
Figure 2 | 2022 returns of various hedge fund strategies (as of September 30, 2022)
 
Source: HFRI, as of September 30, 2022; Past performance is not indicative of future returns. For illustrative purposes only. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Real results may vary.
 

Hedge fund strategy breakdown (YTD through Q3 2022)

Given the declines in global equities and high yield markets so far in 2022 through the third quarter, directional hedge fund strategies have seen losses. These directional strategies have historically tended to operate with a certain amount of beta to broader markets while seeking to generate alpha and strong risk-adjusted returns. Even within broader strategy groupings, we have seen varying outcomes this year depending on the sub-strategies pursued.

  • EQUITY LONG/SHORT | For the period, we have seen market neutral strategies help preserve capital and, in some cases, generate gains while strategies with higher net exposures and a tilt toward growth sectors such as technology and biotechnology have underperformed. We would note that technology and healthcare hedge funds have been robust performing equity strategies over the past 5 years, as these sectors have benefitted from long-term secular tailwinds and elevated intra-sector dispersion that proved beneficial for stock picking.
  • EVENT-DRIVEN | Merger arbitrage strategies have been able to profit year to date through the end of the third quarter 2022 from capturing spreads in announced M&A transactions while, at the other end of the spectrum, shareholder activist strategies have experienced declines inline with equity markets. Given the high levels of net exposure within activist strategies, we evaluate these returns through the lens of the equity market, and certain managers have been able to add meaningful alpha over time through managing concentrated portfolios and engaging corporations to unlock value. 
  • CREDIT | Overall, credit strategies have broadly outperformed global high yield markets across a number of disciplines including distressed, convertible bond arbitrage, and structured credit. Structured credit funds have particularly stood out for seeking capital protection through active management and credit selection by focusing on seasoned, floating-rate asset-backed securities. Historically, structured credit markets tend to be less efficient, allowing managers with skilled trading and underwriting capabilities the ability to outperform.

Diversifying hedge fund strategies, on the other hand, have more uniformly outperformed other hedge fund strategies during this same time period by taking advantage of heightened market volatility across financial markets through both directional and non-directional trading. This has provided validation for investors focused on a range of absolute return strategies.  

  • RELATIVE VALUE | These funds, which typically take advantage of shorter term mispricings across a range of strategies and asset classes, have benefitted from higher levels of volatility in 2022 which has translated into an attractive trading backdrop. We have seen this particularly within the fixed income market given the volatility created by central bank tightening.
  • MACRO/CTA | Discretionary macro and CTA (Commodity Trading Advisor) trend-following funds have been high returning strategies this year as shifting macroeconomic policy has translated into large directional movements in various markets including selloffs in fixed income and equities and rallies in commodities and the US dollar. Performance of CTAs has suffered as central bank intervention and corresponding market reversals has often been pointed to as a reason why these strategies have seen limited and volatile performance since 2008.2 For his reason, CTAs may see more challenging periods where there are fewer sustained trends.

Overall, while certain strategies such as event-driven and equity-long short have underperformed others, in general we’ve seen various strategies within the hedge fund industry deliver relative outperformance and even positive absolute performance amidst very challenging financial markets in 2022. This has provided further evidence that having a well-diversified portfolio, that includes various hedge fund strategies, and thoughtful portfolio construction is critical.

What’s next? A bond picker’s market

Potential opportunities for various hedge fund strategies in the fixed income arena

Proponents of active management have frequently touted the idea of a “stock picker’s market” – that over the long term, fundamentals will dictate performance of individual equities, and that after periods of high correlation, managers with expertise in security selection will take advantage of differentiation between winners and losers – but we rarely hear the same in fixed income.

But why? Should it be the case that stocks present better opportunities for active management versus bonds?

One might assume that this is because the stock market is larger and more active than the fixed income markets that they simply afford more opportunity. This, however, is simply not the case – the global fixed income markets are nearly identical in size to the global equity markets with both over $120 trillion in size, but fixed income typically has annual issuance of 20x that of equity securities.3

 
Figure 3 | Global fixed income and equity issuance
 
Source: Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA), as of December 31, 2021 Global Long-Term Fixed Income Issuance includes securities with maturity >13 months; includes corporate, municipal and sovereign issuance, Global Equity Issuance includes rank eligible, non-convertible IPOs and follow-on equity deals; excludes preferred shares, rights issued, closed end funds, business development companies, and special purpose acquisition companies.
 
If not market size and issuance, perhaps it is volatility. Stocks have historically seen bigger swings, creating potentially attractive entry points for expert stock pickers. However, while stocks and bonds are both negative in the most recent 12-month period, fixed income volatility has seen a larger, and consistently higher, spike up. As shown in Figure 5, while equity performance has been negative, equity volatility (measured by the VIX index) has been more in-line with historical norms versus the outsized rise in volatility we’ve seen in fixed income (measured by the MOVE index).
 
Figure 4 | Total return (last 12 months)
 
Source: Bloomberg, as of September 30, 2022; Past performance is not indicative of future returns. For illustrative purposes only. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Real results may vary.
 
 
Figure 5 | Equity and fixed income volatility (last 12 months)
 
Source: Bloomberg, as of September 30, 2022; Past performance is not indicative of future returns. For illustrative purposes only. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Real results may vary.
 
These dynamics support why we believe that we are in, and will continue to see, a “bond picker’s market,” and that various hedge fund strategies may be key to finding potential opportunities therein. These include:
  • FIXED INCOME RELATIVE VALUE | We believe strategies that specialize in analyzing potential opportunities in the liquid fixed income markets such as sovereign debt and agency mortgage-backed securities should continue to see an attractive opportunity set. With the US Federal Reserve and other global central backs backing away from quantitative easing and bond buying programs, price discovery will be important and volatility, which had been more suppressed due consistent buying by central banks across sectors and maturities, may remain high.
  • HEDGED MACRO | Traditional global macro strategies can go through “boom and bust” cycles as they seek to identify and profit from a limited number of large bets on economic themes. Alternatively, hedge funds that seek hedged trading opportunities, informed by macroeconomic analysis, have historically been able to generate consistent returns without large swings in correlations to markets. We believe that such strategies are well positioned to take advantage of trading within fixed income and currencies given the current market backdrop, especially with the challenges faced by central banks in balancing inflation and growth concerns.
  • STRESSED AND DISTRESSED DEBT | Global bond yields have risen sharply in 2022, amidst rate hikes from central banks and credit spread widening, driven by investor speculation regarding the potential for recession in 2023. These dynamics have led to a significant increase in the universe of below investment grade debt trading at stressed prices. These credits seek higher total return potential, including fallen angels and BB/B-rated debt. High yield bond and loan issuance through Q3 are down -78% and -61% compared to the same period in 2021, respectively.4 The slowdown in capital markets activity is providing opportunity for managers to step in and work with companies on strategies such as anchoring financings and initiating exchanges to address either capital needs or debt maturities. Further, while corporate default rates have remained below historical averages given the low interest rate environment and positive economic backdrop, we believe it is likely that defaults increase as capital is more expensive and harder to access. As such, we believe there will be potential for increased opportunities for managers with distressed experience in the coming year, though restructuring expertise will likely be critical as managers who can influence the process can avoid the risk of low recoveries on defaulted debt.
 
Figure 6 | Historical high yield and loan default rates
 
Source: Citi Research, Moody, as of September 30, 2022
 
 
Figure 7 | High yield distress is accelerating
 
Source: Citi Research, Citi Leveraged Loan Tracker, FTSE Indices, as of September 30, 2022
 
  • MULTI-SECTOR CREDIT | Even during less volatile market periods, there has been significant dispersion between various fixed income and credit sectors. Increased yields across fixed income and credit sectors may present an attractive entry point across various sub-sectors, but managers with tactical expertise, who are able to actively rotate their allocations, may benefit from an evolving opportunity set impacted by both macroeconomic policies and sector-specific fundamentals.
 
Figure 8 | Fixed income sub-sector returns, 2012-2022 (as of September 30, 2022)

2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022
CLO Debt
29.7%
CLO Debt
10.8%
Non-Agency RMBS
6.7%
Non-Agency RMBS
3.3%
High Yield
17.1%
Non-Agency RMBS
9.6%
US CMBS
4.6%
High Yield
14.3%
High Yield
7.1%
US CMBS
6.5%
Bank Loans
-3.3%
Non-Agency RMBS
25.9%
Non-Agency RMBS
8.9%
US CMBS
6.3%
EM Debt
1.3%
CLO Debt
11.2%
CLO Debt
8.8%
Non-Agency RMBS
3.0%
EM Debt
13.1%
EM Debt
6.5%
Non-Agency RMBS
5.9%
Non-Agency RMBS
-4.7%
US CMBS
24.8%
High Yield
7.4%
EM Debt
4.8%
US CMBS
0.7%
Bank Loans
10.2%
EM Debt
8.2%
Bank Loans
0.4%
US CMBS
11.3%
CLO Debt
5.5%
High Yield
5.3%
CLO Debt
-7.2%
EM Debt
17.9%
Bank Loans
5.3%
CLO Debt
3.4%
CLO Debt
0.0%
EM Debt
9.9%
US CMBS
7.9%
CLO Debt
-0.7%
CLO Debt
8.9%
Non-Agency RMBS
3.3%
Bank Loans
5.2%
US CMBS
-12.3%
High Yield
15.8%
US CMBS
4.0%
High Yield
2.5%
Bank Loans
-0.7%
Non-Agency RMBS
5.4%
High Yield
7.5%
High Yield
-2.1%
Bank Loans
8.6%
Bank Loans
3.1%
CLO Debt
4.3%
High Yield
-14.7%
Bank Loans
9.7%
EM Debt
-4.1%
Bank Loans
1.6%
High Yield
-4.5%
US CMBS
3.8%
Bank Loans
4.1%
EM Debt
-2.5%
Non-Agency RMBS
5.4%
US CMBS
-0.9%
EM Debt
-1.7%
EM Debt
-20.5%
 
 
 
Source: EM Debt represented by Bloomberg Emerging Markets Hard Currency Aggregate Index. US CMBS represented by ICE BofA BBB US Fixed Rate CMBS Index. High Yield represented by Bloomberg US Corporate High Yield Bond Index. Bank Loans represented by S&P/LSTA Leveraged Loan Total Return Index. Non-Agency RMBS represented by Citi RMBS Returns Doc - Overall Market - Nominal returns. CLO Debt represented by CLO BBB Unhedged (USD) DAILY TOTAL RETURN. Past performance is not indicative of future returns. For illustrative purposes only. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Real results may vary. Please see glossary for a full description of indexes shown.
 

Alternative investments

Citi Investment Management Alternatives combines global expertise and local insight to deliver compelling opportunities in private equity, real estate and hedge funds.

Find out more
Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.

1 Bloomberg, as of September 30, 2022

2 From January 2009 to December 2021, the HFRI Macro: Systematic Diversified Index returned 1.4% annualized. For illustrative purposes only. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index.

3 SIFMA, as of September 30, 2022

4 Source: Citi Research, S&P/LCD, as of September 30, 2022

Glossary

Diversifying and Directional are internal descriptors based on a fund’s strategy and objective that the Hedge Fund Research and Management team (“HFRM”) has developed and uses to categorize hedge funds. Such descriptors have not been approved by the portfolio managers noted above. The internal classification is subject to change without notice to investors. Many of the portfolio managers offer multiple products that could have different objectives or classifications from those shown above. Certain of the above referenced managers offer funds that are only available through a Citi advised feeder. Please review the fund’s particular confidential offering memorandum for more details.

These internal classifications are based on the analysis and subjective views of HFRM. The internal classification is subject to change without notice to investors and there is no guarantee that the funds will perform as described above. It is important to note that the market strategies described above may not completely eliminate market risk. There is no guarantee that hedge funds classified as “Diversifying” and “Directional” will perform as described above. Hedge funds should not be invested in based on their internal classification and other assets in a client’s overall portfolio should be taken into consideration before an investment is made.

Hedge funds can be highly illiquid and are not suitable for all investors. Investing in Alternative Investments is intended for experienced and sophisticated investors only who are willing to bear the high economic risks of the investment. Investors should carefully review and consider potential risks before investing. Additional information can be found in a fund’s confidential private placement memorandum. These risks may include:

  • loss of all or a substantial portion of the investment due to leveraging, short-selling, or other speculative practices;
  • lack of liquidity in that there may be no secondary market for the fund and none is expected to develop;
  • volatility of returns
  • restrictions on transferring interests in the fund;
  • potential lack of diversification and resulting higher risk due to concentration of trading authority when a single advisor is utilized;
  • absence of information regarding valuations and pricing;
  • complex tax structures and delays in tax reporting;
  • less regulation and higher fees than mutual funds; and
  • manager risk.

Individual funds will have specific risks related to their investment programs that will vary from fund to fund.