家族辦公室
2022年7月22日

不明朗形勢下的機遇:動盪時期的家族辦公室

2022年7月22日
Alexandre Monnier
花旗家族辦公室集團家族辦公室服務與網絡全球主管
Ajay Kamath
花旗家族辦公室集團家族辦公室服務與網絡總監
概覽

以高通脹、市場波動、加息和地緣政治緊張局勢為特徵的當前經營環境給家族辦公室帶來了若干挑戰。最近完滿結束的「家族辦公室領導力計劃」為我們客戶面臨的一些最重要的問題提供了指導。


「家族辦公室領導力計劃」是由花旗私人銀行獨家推出、廣受歡迎的全球旗艦家族辦公室活動,2022年回歸核心話題,探究面對面客戶溝通和點對點網絡聯繫。今年6月6日至8日在美國華盛頓特區舉行的第七屆年會以「不明朗形勢下的機遇」為主題。

我們對在不確定環境中進行投資、週期性波動、家族辦公室模式發展、顛覆性技術和新興機會等一系列主題進行了深入探討。

 
 
自2016年首次舉辦以來,我們的活動已成為私人銀行業界的一大盛事,匯聚了來自世界各地近30個國家和地區超過125名參與者。三分之二以上的參與者代表的是淨資產達10億美元或以上的家族。「家族辦公室領導力計劃」為您提供以下9項活動心得,希望您能從中獲取感興趣且豐富的資訊。
要點

市場震盪提供了重新審視投資組合配置策略的機會,對耐心的家族辦公室資本而言也是機會

基於信託的慈善事業為影響力的加速形成提供機會,但需要嚴格謹慎的規劃

在地緣政治形勢不明朗的時期,兼顧跨境投資考量的深思熟慮的財富規劃至關重要

家族辦公室繼續青睞直接投資,且隨著新挑戰和機遇的顯現,需要採取嚴格的投資方法

家族企業需要採取五種轉型戰略以適應2020年代出現的動盪局面和轉型需求

人力資本和投資組合的多樣性力量強大,但仍未得到充分利用

俄烏衝突將對全球經濟產生深遠而長期的地緣政治影響

主動緩解物理、網絡和個人威脅極為重要,但只有定期重新審視方能奏效

憑藉其技術專長而受聘的家族辦公室首席執行官,通常會因為他們有能力擔當6種意料之外的職責而獲得成功

心得1:市場震盪提供了重新審視投資組合配置策略的機會,對耐心的家族辦公室資本而言也是機會

家族辦公室可將市場波動視為潛在機遇,集中注意力進行優質投資從而建立具有抗逆力的投資組合。

優質科技股公司並未大幅削減科研預算,因此當市場反彈時會有可觀的上漲潛力。以合理價格支付股息的公司值得考慮。包括貴金屬在內的大宗商品通常可維持價格水平,並且可以在稀缺性推動高通脹的情境中成為投資工具。由於持續不斷的供應鏈問題,去全球化引起擔憂。市場動盪時,房地產投資信託也許是一種可取的投資策略。中國作為投資領域仍是挑戰重重,但有跡象表明其國內營商環境可能會好轉。傳統能源和可再生能源市場之間的套利關係是一種機遇,但最終這種機遇會消失。醫療保健行業始終值得考慮,尤其是考慮到美國及全球的人口結構變化。1

心得2:基於信託的慈善事業為影響力的加速形成提供機會,但需要嚴格謹慎的規劃

基於信託的慈善事業可解決捐贈者和非牟利機構之間的權力平衡問題,並且可透過嚴格的方法加快速度取得成果。

這類慈善事業建基於一系列有助於促進公平和建立相互負責關係的價值觀。總而言之,基於信託的慈善事業也會將責任轉移到資助者身上,要求其更好地了解其受贈者,而不是讓受贈者證明慈善的效果。這一根本性轉變將提高資助的適配性,並提升非牟利機構的潛力,使其可更有效地履行使命擔當、留住人才和實施長期策略。

心得3:在地緣政治形勢不明朗的時期,兼顧跨境投資考量的深思熟慮的財富規劃至關重要

隨著全球不確定性日益增加且地緣政治風險越來越高,家族辦公室比以往任何時候都更加重視財富規劃和財富構建。

許多家族辦公室在多個國家或地區持有權益。家族成員或許在多個司法管轄區內生活、工作或求學,家族業務和投資組合同樣也是遍布全球。制定綜合財富規劃,聚焦如何構建持有的資產,以及在什麼情況下和如何動用這些資產,乃關鍵所在。沒有萬試萬靈的解決方案,我們需要的是由家族辦公室規模、營運範圍和全球覆蓋所決定的高度定制化方法。

 

看到來自世界各地的家族辦公室高管們齊聚一堂,把握他們所言獨特無二的教育和交流機會,令我們備感鼓舞。

 
Alexandre Monnier
花旗家族辦公室集團家族辦公室服務與網絡全球主管

心得4:家族辦公室繼續青睞直接投資,且隨著新挑戰和機遇的顯現,需要採取嚴格的投資方法。

直接投資與廣泛的投資目標保持一致,並且有能力部署公司發展和擴張所需的耐心資本,依然是明智的家族辦公室的必然選擇。在眾多可利用投資機會中,風險投資、成長型股權和上市前投資也可作考慮。

然而,就直接投資而言,家族辦公室必須始終重視盡職調查以及公司或投資工具的基本面,並須確定直接投資是否與其投資組合的其他部分具有高戰略契合度。在當前環境下,目前很有機會找到估值較低的優質公司。因此,務必要了解您的優勢並圍繞優勢執行策略。以謹慎的方式部署資本,以確保擁有可行的突破性理念的公司不斷發展壯大。縱觀各個行業,清潔能源、科技和醫療保健再次成為投資者關注的焦點。亞洲風險投資和初創企業頗具潛力。雖然中國是最大的區域市場,但如果您並非中國公民,則這仍是一個難以企及的市場。另一方面,其他亞洲新興市場也存在著值得注意的機會,新加坡的科技環境充滿活力。儘管當前市況如此,但估值仍然較高,預計會出現修正。盡量忽略炒作和新聞因素,物色擁有豐富經驗和穩健管理團隊、可靠商業模式及合理估值的優秀公司。 1  

心得5:家族企業需要採取五種轉型戰略以適應2020年代出現的動盪局面和轉型需求。

家族企業正面臨一場完美風暴,內外不利因素顯著。只有準備妥當、願意並能夠適應這種新環境的家族企業才有望蓬勃發展並取得成功。在動盪時期,必須重新定義財富管理。

家族企業正面臨外部變革力量的挑戰,這些力量包括環境退化和生態破壞、技術進步和數碼科技顛覆、全球化和去全球化,以及社會經濟和政治影響。此外,年輕一代也希望在變革時代中獲得發言權和一席之地,他們往往對正在發生的顛覆性變化有著深刻的了解,並且銳意創新。在日新月異的世界中,家族要何去何從,必然由變革決定。因此,了解自身及家族使命比以往更為重要。銳意進取的家族需要根據自身的價值觀創造價值。五種轉型戰略有助於家族企業適應和實施這種價值觀和價值觀驅動模式:(1)調整和重塑家族主理人;(2)為轉變做好準備;(3)加速數碼轉型;(4)優先考慮社會影響;(5)團結並振興您的家族。

 
 
 
 

心得6:人力資本和投資組合的多樣性力量強大,但仍未得到充分利用

金融和投資界將從進一步促進該領域人力和金融資本的多樣性中獲益良多。

「為善者諸事順」——績效和文化優勢源於多樣性。截至2021年9月,美國超過82萬億美元的資產管理規模中,由女性和少數族裔擁有的公司只佔其中的1.4%。2多元化的觀點可激發更廣泛深入的交流,從而帶來更理想的業務成果和更高的利潤回報。偏見可能是隱性的,並非故意為之,因此您需要有意識地組建多樣化的員工專業團隊,以識別隱性偏見並促進進一步的多樣性。哪怕是在與您合作的公司中,而非您所擁有的公司中,也要承擔責任,助力發起變革。樹立問責制並制定目標,以實現「能衡量,始能執行」為目標發起變革。

心得7:俄烏衝突將對全球經濟產生深遠而長期的地緣政治影響

全球大宗商品價格和供應鏈中斷將對依賴烏克蘭穀物的國家產生強烈影響,非洲國家首當其衝。

這場衝突再次顯示北約的重要性,也再次凸顯美國的主導地位。由於俄羅斯方面受到多層次國際制裁的打擊,俄羅斯民眾和整體國家經濟持續受到影響。若干跨國公司也撤出俄羅斯,幾乎沒有立即重返該市場的可能性。儘管當前存在此衝突,但中美戰略衝突仍然是全球經濟更加關注的問題。與投資中國(儘管具有潛力)相關的挑戰以及去全球化對供應鏈問題的影響使這種情況變得更加嚴峻。在當下的民族主義時代,美國持續不斷地促進創新是一個積極的現象。 1  

心得8:主動緩解物理、網絡和個人威脅極為重要,但只有定期重新審視方能奏效

威脅存在於家族企業的各個層面,需要採用以安全評估為主導的全局方針來量身定制方案。

其中可能包括保護企業免受網絡、物理、個人、健康和自然威脅,以及降低企業內部和外部產生的風險。很多家族辦公室一直存在安全盲點,在涉及內部威脅時尤其如此。通常,內部威脅是無意中產生的。例如,某位高管點擊了網絡釣魚電子郵件或沒有對員工進行定期背景調查。保持警惕並高度謹慎至關重要。當然,每個家族辦公室應對威脅的方法各有不同,應根據風險評估、家族情況、淨資產、所處位置以及潛在的區域和商業漏洞仔細制定計劃。

心得9:憑藉其技術專長而受聘的家族辦公室首席執行官,通常會因為他們有能力擔當6種意料之外的職責而獲得成功。

隨著時間的推移,受僱從事財富保值工作的家族辦公室首席執行官需要日益重視確保家族的團結和延續性。

在一個依然具有家庭式工業特徵的領域,資深的家族辦公室高管有著可供分享的豐富經驗,以助其同事成功履行職責。其中一項重要心得體會是他們受僱履行的職責與他們最終所擔當的重要職務之間存在差距。家族辦公室領導人必須準備好擔任風險管理者、過渡管理者、衝突管理者、教育者和人才管理者,包括確保自身福祉。這6項職責對於幫助一個家族實現財富增值並成功將財富代代相傳至關重要。

如需詳細了解花旗私人銀行的「家族辦公室領導力計劃」以及我們家族辦公室提供的服務範疇,請聯繫我們。

家族辦公室

家族辦公室諮詢服務

我們為全世界各類規模和架構的家族辦公室提供諮詢服務。無論您是已經擁有或管理著家族辦公室,還是正在考慮建立家族辦公室,我們團隊的專職專家團隊都會引導您順利完成每一步。

了解更多

1 本文僅供參考。所有觀點可能更改,恕不另行通知。本文所表達的觀點可能與花旗集團其他公司所表達的觀點有所不同,並非旨在預測未來事件,也並非對未來結果的保證。儘管本文件資訊均來自可靠來源,但花旗集團及其關聯機構並不保證數據的正確性及完整性,並毋須對因其使用所導致的任何直接損失或後果負責。

2 Bhakti Mirchandani。「投資女性及少數族裔所擁有和領導的資產管理公司——途徑指南」(Want to Invest in Asset Managers Owned and led By Women and Minorities? Here’s How)。《福布斯》。2022年1月12日。https://www.forbes.com/sites/bhaktimirchandani/2022/01/12/want-to-invest-in-asset-managers-owned-and-led-by-women-and-minorities-metoo-part-1-dei-governance/?sh=60065cbf1ebf

Family Office
July 22, 2022

Opportunity amid uncertainty: Family offices in turbulent times

July 22, 2022
Alexandre Monnier
Global Head of Family Office Advisory
Ajay Kamath
Director, Family Office Services & Network, Family Office Group
SUMMARY

The current operating climate, characterized by high inflation, market volatility, interest rate hikes and geopolitical tension, presents several challenges for family offices. Our recently concluded Family Office Leadership Program offered pointers on some of the most critical issues our clients are facing.


Citi Private Bank’s unique and sought-after global flagship family office event – The Family Office Leadership Program – returned once again to its roots of in-person client engagement and peer-to-peer networking in 2022. The theme for our seventh annual gathering, held in Washington D.C. from June 6 to 8, was “opportunity amid uncertainty.”

We explored our chosen theme through in-depth discussions on a range of topics including investing in an uncertain climate, cyclical volatility, evolving family office models, disruptive technologies and emerging opportunities.

 
 
Our event, which has become a standout fixture in the private banking industry since we first convened in 2016, saw over 125 participants from close to 30 countries spread across all corners of the world. Over two-thirds of the participants represented families with a net worth of $1 billion or above. We hope you find the nine key takeaways below from the Family Office Leadership Program to be engaging and informative.
Key takeaways

The dislocation of markets offers the opportunity to revisit portfolio allocation strategies even for patient family office capital

Trust based philanthropy provides an opportunity to accelerate impact but requires disciplined planning

Thoughtful wealth planning with cross border considerations is critical in times of geopolitical uncertainty

Direct investments are continuing to be sought after by family offices and requiring a disciplined approach as new challenges and opportunities arise

Family enterprises need to adopt five transformation strategies to adapt to turbulence and transformation in the 2020s

The power of diversity in human capital and portfolios is still greatly untapped

The war in Ukraine will have profound and long term geopolitical impacts on the global economy

Proactive mitigation of physical, cyber and personal threats is vital but only effective if revisited regularly

Family office CEOs, hired for their technical expertise, typically succeed based on their ability to play six unexpected roles

Takeaway 1: The dislocation of markets offers the opportunity to revisit portfolio allocation strategies even for patient family office capital

Family offices may view market volatility as a potential opportunity to build resilient portfolios by focusing on high-quality investments.

There has been no significant reduction in technology budgets within high-quality tech stocks so there is good potential for upside when the markets recover. Dividend paying companies at reasonable price levels are worthy of consideration. Commodities including precious metals generally hold price and can be a tool in high inflation scenarios driven by scarcity. Deglobalization is a worry for continuing supply chain issues. REITs can be a valuable strategy when dislocation occurs in the market. China continues to be a challenging area to invest, but there are indications it may shift back to a more business friendly environment. Arbitrage between traditional energy and renewable markets is an opportunity that will eventually close. The Healthcare sector is always worthy of consideration especially given the demographic changes in the US and globally.1

Takeaway 2: Trust based philanthropy provides an opportunity to accelerate impact but requires disciplined planning

Trust-based philanthropy addresses the power balance between donors and not-for-profits and, with a disciplined approach, can lead to accelerated outcomes.

It is based on a set of values that help advance equity and build mutually accountable relationships. Overall, trust-based philanthropy also shifts the onus onto funders to get a better understanding of their grantees, instead of having their grantees prove their efficacy. This fundamental shift is resulting in more appropriate funding provisions and is enhancing the potential of non-profit organization to be more effective in delivering their mission, retaining talent and implementing longer term strategies.

Takeaway 3: Thoughtful wealth planning with cross border considerations is critical in times of geopolitical uncertainty

With increasing global uncertainty and geopolitical risks, family offices are focused on wealth planning and structuring their wealth more than ever before.

Many family offices hold interests in more than one country or region. Their families may live, work, or attend school across multiple jurisdictions, and their businesses and portfolios are similarly global. Creating an integrated wealth plan, focused on how these holdings are structured, as well as where and how they can be called upon in times of need is crucial. There isn’t a one-size fits all solution and a highly customized approach dictated by the family office size, sphere of operations and global presence is needed.

 

It’s truly inspiring to see family office executives travel from all over the world for what they have described as a unique educational and networking opportunity.

 
Alexandre Monnier
Global Head of Family Office Services & Network, Family Office Group

Takeaway 4: Direct investments are continuing to be sought after by family offices and requiring a disciplined approach as new challenges and opportunities arise.

In tune with wide-ranging investment objectives, and the ability to deploy the patient capital necessary for companies to evolve and expand, direct investments are continuing to be a natural fit for well-advised family offices. Venture, growth equity and pre-IPO investing are some of the myriad opportunities that are available.

However, with direct investing it is always crucial for family offices to focus on due diligence as well as the fundamentals of a company or investment vehicle, and ascertain whether it is a good strategic fit with the rest of their portfolio. Solid opportunities currently exist for finding good companies at lower valuations in the current environment. So, know your strengths and execute strategy around it. Deploy capital but do so in a prudent way to ensure that companies with viable ground-breaking ideas keep growing. In terms of sectors, clean energy, technology and healthcare spring to mind again. Asian ventures and start-ups have plenty of potential. But the largest regional market – China – remains a tough one to crack if you are not a Chinese citizen. On the other hand, there are interesting opportunities in other Asian emerging markets, and a vibrant technology landscape in Singapore. Despite current market conditions, valuations remain high and corrections are to be expected. It is best to ignore the hype and headlines to seek out good companies with experienced and sound management, solid business models and reasonable valuations. 1  

Takeaway 5: Family enterprises need to adopt five transformation strategies to adapt to turbulence and transformation in the 2020s.

Family enterprises are facing a perfect storm, with significant internal and external headwinds. Only those ready, willing, and able to adapt to this new environment will flourish and succeed. Wealth stewardship must be redefined for turbulent times.

Family enterprises are weathering challenging external forces of change including: environmental degradation and ecological disruption, technological advances and digital disruption, globalization and deglobalization, and socioeconomic and political influences. Furthermore, younger generations also want a voice and a seat at the table in these transformative times as they often bring an insightful understanding of the disruption at play and a willingness to innovate. In a fast-evolving world, where families are going is bound to change. Therefore, knowing who they are and what they stand for is more critical than ever. Enterprising families need to build value according to their values. Five transformation strategies can help family enterprises adapt and implement this value and values-driven model: (1) reorient and retool your owners; (2) get ready to pivot; (3) accelerate your digital transformation; (4) make social impact a priority; (5) engage and revitalize your family.
 
 
 
 

Takeaway 6: The power of diversity in human capital and portfolios is still greatly untapped

The finance and investment community would reap great benefits from further promoting diversity in its human and financial capital.

“You can do well by doing good” – performance and cultural advantages result from diversity. As of September 2021, Women- and minority-owned firms managed only 1.4% of the over $82 trillion U.S.-based assets under management.2 Diverse viewpoints lead to more discussions, which can result in better business outcomes and more profitable returns. Biases may be implicit, not intentional, so you need to intentionally have a diverse group of professionals on staff to recognize implicit biases and promote further diversity. Take accountability, even if it is for a firm you work with instead of your own, to help initiate change. Believe in accountability and establish targets to help initiate change for “what gets measured gets done.”

Takeaway 7: The war in Ukraine will have profound and long term geopolitical impacts on the global economy

Global prices of commodities and supply chain distortions will be acutely felt in countries reliant on Ukrainian grains, primarily in Africa.

The war has revived the importance of NATO and re-emphasized the leadership role of the US. Ordinary Russians, and the economy as a whole, continue to suffer as Moscow is hit with multi-layered international sanctions. Several multinational corporations have also left Russia with little prospect of an immediate return. Despite this active conflict, the US-China strategic conflict remains a greater concern for the global economy. This situation is exacerbated by the challenges associated with investing in China, despite its potential, and the deglobalization impact on supply chain issues. One positive note in this age of nationalism lies in the consistency of the US to continue to foster innovation. 1  

Takeaway 8: Proactive mitigation of physical, cyber and personal threats is vital but only effective if revisited regularly

Threats exist at all levels of a family enterprise and there needs to be a holistic approach led by a security assessment to develop bespoke coverage.

This may include protection from cyber, physical, personal, health and natural threats, and mitigation of risks arising both externally and internally within the enterprise. Many family offices consistently have blind spots on security, particularly when it comes to internal threats. Oftentimes, the internal threats are unintentional. For example, an executive clicking on a phishing email or failing to do regular background checks on personnel. Being on your guard and exercising a high level of caution is crucial. Of course, approaches to countering threats are different for each family office, and plans should be drawn up diligently based on a risk assessment, family profile, net worth, location, and potential regional and commercial vulnerabilities.

Takeaway 9: Family office CEOs, hired for their technical expertise, typically succeed based on their ability to play six unexpected roles.

Family office CEOs, hired to preserve the wealth, need to focus increasingly over time on ensuring family unity and continuity.

In a field that still has the characteristics of a cottage industry, seasoned family office executives have rich experience to share to help their peers succeed in their role. A key lesson learned is the gap between the duties they were hired to execute and the key roles they end up playing. Family office leaders must be prepared to serve as risk managers, transition managers, conflict managers, educators, and talent managers, including ensuring their own well-being. These six responsibilities are critical to help a family thrive with their wealth and successfully transfer wealth across generations.

To learn more about Citi Private Bank’s Family Office Leadership Program and our range of services for family offices, please contact us.

FAMILY OFFICE

Family office advisory

We advise family offices of every size and structure and throughout the world. Whether you have or run a family office – or are thinking of establishing one – our dedicated specialists can guide you at every step.

Find out more

1 This document is for informational purposes only. All opinions are subject to change without notice. Opinions expressed herein may differ from the opinions expressed by other businesses of Citigroup Inc., are not intended to be a forecast of future events or a guarantee of future results. Although information in this document has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Citigroup Inc. and its affiliates do not guarantee its accuracy or completeness and accept no liability for any direct or consequential losses arising from its use.

2 Mirchandani, Bhakti. “Want to Invest in Asset Managers Owned and led By Women and Minorities? Here’s How. Forbes. January 12, 2022. https://www.forbes.com/sites/bhaktimirchandani/2022/01/12/want-to-invest-in-asset-managers-owned-and-led-by-women-and-minorities-metoo-part-1-dei-governance/?sh=60065cbf1ebf