套現的代價

概要

在反复无常的市场中,试图“选择市场时机”或等待明确复苏的想法可能很诱人。但历史经验表明,这种投资方式的长期表现还不如满仓策略。


坚定执行计划

投资的一条重要原则是坚定执行可靠的投资策略,而不是随着金融资产的价格波动反复作出反应。

自2022年初以来,高通胀和加息造就了颇具挑战性的市场环境,导致部分资产类别的价格大幅下跌。此类事件并不常见,因而当其发生时会促使部分投资者偏离自己的长期策略。但是,这样做可能不利于财富的长期积累。

市场择时并不奏效

当市场动荡时,试图“选择市场时机”且寄希望于降低资产成本的想法会很有诱惑力。但这种方法会使投资组合表现付出惨痛的代价。

下表显示了标普500交易所交易基金(“ETF”)投资者在2020年新冠疫情引发抛售期间的行为。ETF卖出最猛烈(流出)的情形在标普500触底时才出现。

随后,买入最猛烈(流入)的情形在已产生可观收益的情况下才出现,这意味着许多已退出的投资者重新进入市场但却“为时已晚”,错过了在满仓的情况下本可享受到的可观回报。

这种太晚退出和太晚重返市场的行为模式在市场下行期间很常见,但会导致长期投资表现不佳1。

新冠疫情初期的標普500指數回報和ETF資金流

 

资料来源:CPB全球投资实验室、彭博。数据范围从2019年4月1日至2021年4月30日。1上方深蓝线表示在ETF资金流出最猛烈之际(2020年4月)对标普500指数套现,并在随后的反弹期间ETF资金流入最猛烈之际(2020年11月)再投资所产生的回报。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明之用,不代表任何特定投资表现。指数回报率均未列计任何支出、费用与销售费,若计入上述项目将会降低收益率表现。以往表现或相关性并不保证未来业绩。实际结果可能不同。

试图对标普500指数“择时”

为此,我们观察了“坚定投资者”和“择时投资者”的假设投资表现,假设他们分别于1999年12月31日(互联网泡沫接近峰值时)对标普500指数投资100,000美元。坚定投资者随后一直保持满仓。

而择时投资者每逢标普500指数在单个季度跌幅达10%或更多时,就会全部套现(3个月美国国债),随后只会在指数连续两个季度取得正回报时才重返市场。

我们发现,因试图选择市场时机而错失的回报会随着时间的推移积少成多。自1999年以来,坚定投资者的表现比择时投资者高出175%2。

全身而退并等待明确复苏,可能意味着错失良机,长期表现尚不如保持满仓。

假设保持满仓对比“选择市场时机”自1999年以来的通胀后表现

 

资料来源:CPB全球投资实验室,使用彭博1999年12月31日至2022年12月31日的季度数据。所有表现按计算通胀后显示,即股票回报率减去美国通胀率。坚定投资者始终投资于股票。择时投资者一开始投资股票,但一旦股票在某个季度下跌10%或以上则转为现金,且只会在股票连续2个季度取得积极表现后才重新投资于股票。股票为标普500净总回报指数,假设股息扣除代扣税后再投资。现金为美国通用政府3个月期收益率指数。通胀率为美国CPI城市消费者指数。

转折点难以识别

选择市场时机可能产生高昂的代价,因为市场转折点很难识别。如以下标普500指数趋势图所示,资产回报的峰值时期通常非常接近于资产价格整体下行的低谷时期。

1970年以来,涨幅达4%或以上的标普500指数单日收益有超过90%3的几率发生在相比近期高点下跌超过10%之际。该图还显示,市场下行时期通常会多次出现这种强度的反弹,因而想抓住真正的转折点相当具有挑战性。

此外,错过在这种时期保持满仓所产生的收益,可能意味着不菲的代价。

标普500指数历史回报率

 

img1

资料来源:CPB全球投资实验室使用1970年1月2日至2023年1月25日的彭博数据。

 

要點

 


保持滿倉是在長期實現投資目標的一種方式。但是,充滿挑戰性的市場條件往往會導致投資者退出市場,直到市場看來明顯復甦後才重新投資。


ETF投資資金流表明,投資者選擇市場時機通常會遭遇失敗——往往等到下行和復甦趨勢都明顯確立之後才做出反應,因而在市場接近底部時「太晚」退出,隨後又「太晚」重新進入市場並因此錯過復甦帶來的大部分收益。


歷史經驗顯示這並不出人意料,畢竟市場表現最好和最壞的時期通常會結伴出現,而一些最猛烈的反彈就發生在市場整體下行時期。


隨著時間推移,這種錯失良機的機會成本(與保持滿倉相比)會逐漸累積,並導致投資績效嚴重低於保持投資的策略。


 

投资组合分析

全球投资实验室是一个独特的团队,旨在帮助您了解投资组合中真正重要的方面以及您所面临的机遇。

聯繫我們

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的私人銀行顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

請填寫表格,以便我們與您聯繫。

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款與條件以便繼續

最符合您情況的描述是?

我想討論的一項投資是關於

我想討論的一項投資是關於

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold Private Client

我關注的領域

Aircraft Finance
藝術品諮詢和融資
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

職務與公司

職務與公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

請輸入您的聯繫方式

請輸入您的聯繫方式

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,我們的團隊成員會盡快與您聯繫。

The cost of cashing out

SUMMARY

In volatile markets, it can be tempting to try to ‘time the market’ or wait for a clear recovery. However, history shows that investing in this manner can lead to long-term underperformance compared to a strategy of remaining invested.


Staying resolute to a plan

A key principle of investing is staying resolute to a robust investment strategy, rather than reacting to short-term swings in the prices of financial assets.

High inflation and rising interest rates created a challenging market environment from the start of 2022, leading to sharply lower prices in some asset classes. These events are not common, so when they happen, they can encourage some investors to deviate from their long-term strategy. However, doing so can be detrimental to building long-term wealth.

Timing the market doesn't work

When markets are volatile, it can be tempting to try to ‘time the market’ with the hope of lower asset prices later on. However, this approach can be costly in terms of performance.

The chart below shows the behaviour of S&P 500 Exchange Traded Fund (‘ETF’) investors during the Covid-19 selloff in 2020. The strongest selling (outflows) in ETFs only occurred around the time the S&P 500 was finding its lows.

The strongest buying (inflows) following this occurred only after significant gains had already occurred, suggesting that many of those who left the market re-entered but ‘too late’ and missed out on positive returns that they would have enjoyed had they stayed invested.

This pattern of getting both out of the market too late and getting back in too late is common during down markets, but is a recipe for long-term underperformance1.

S&P 500 returns and ETF flows at the start of Covid-19

Source: CPB Global Investment Lab, Bloomberg. Data from 1 April 2019 to 30 April 2021. The dark blue line above shows the returns from cashing out of the S&P 500 Index at the date of the greatest ETF outflows (April 2020) and reinvesting at the date of the greatest ETF inflows during the subsequent rally (November 2020). Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Index returns do not include any expenses, fees or sales charges, which would lower performance. Past performance or correlations are no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary.

Trying to 'time' the S&P 500 index

We show this by examining the hypothetical performance of a ‘Consistent Investor’ and a ‘Market Timer’ who each invest a hypothetical $100,000 into the S&P 500 index on 31st December 1999, near the peak of the dotcom bubble. The Consistent Investor then simply stays invested.

The Market Timer sells entirely into cash (3-month Treasury bills) whenever the S&P 500 index falls by 10% or more in a quarter and then re-enters only after two consecutive quarters of positive returns.

We see that the forgone returns from trying to time markets add up over time. The Consistent Investor has outperformed the Market Timer by 175%2 since 1999.

Sitting on the side-lines and waiting for clear recovery could mean missing opportunities and long-term underperformance compared to being invested.

Hypothetical performance after inflation of staying invested vs. ‘timing the market’ since 1999

Source: CPB Global Investment Lab using Bloomberg. Quarterly data 31 Dec 1999 to 31 Dec 2022. All performance is shown after Inflation, calculated by deducting the US inflation rate from Equities returns. The Consistent Investor is invested into Equities throughout. Market Timing Investor begins invested into Equities but switches into Cash if Equities fall by 10%or more in a quarter and invests back into Equities only after 2 successive quarters of positive performance by Equities. Equities is the S&P 500 net total return index, which assumes dividends are reinvested once withholding taxes are deducted. Cash is the US generic Government 3-month yield index. Inflation is the US CPI Urban Consumers index.

Turning points are hard to identify

Timing the market can be costly because identifying market turning points is difficult. The best days for asset returns often occur very close to the worst days during periods when prices are generally trending downwards, as the below chart illustrates for the S&P 500 index.

Since 1970, more than 90%3 of daily S&P 500 index gains of 4% or more occurred when the index was more than 10% below its most recent high. The chart below shows that there are often multiple rallies of this strength during down markets, which can make catching genuine turning points challenging.

Additionally, missing out on being invested during these days can be costly.

Historical returns of the S&P 500 Index

Source: CPB Global Investment Lab using. Bloomberg data 2nd Jan 1970 to 25 Jan 2023. 

 

KEY TAKEAWAYS

 


Being invested can be a way to meet investing goals over the long term. However, challenging market conditions often lead investors to exit the market and remain uninvested until a recovery appears to be clear.


ETF investment flows suggest that investors often fail at market timing – waiting until both downturns and then recoveries are clearly established, and in this way exiting the market ‘too late’ near the bottom, and also re-entering ‘too late’ and missing much of the recovery.


History shows that this isn’t surprising given that the best and worst days for market performance often occur close together, with some of the strongest performances occurring during overall market downturns.


Over time the opportunity costs (compared to remaining invested) of such mis-timing can compound and lead to significant underperformance compared to a strategy of staying invested.


 

Portfolio analytics

The Global Investment Lab is a unique team dedicated to helping you understand what really matters in your portfolio and the opportunities open to you.

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.