ZOE CHANCE
2022年10月6日

制胜心态带来耀眼改变

2022年10月6日
Citi Latitude
概览

畅销书作家、耶鲁大学教授Zoe Chance向我们展示了如何破除种种关于影响力的误解,比如“提出更多要求会让人不喜欢你”,从而让影响力成为你的“超能力”。


无所畏惧、强大而具有影响力是我们与生俱来的特性,但成长过程中,社会却教导我们抑制这种天性——教导我们别抢风头,别露锋芒,学会取悦他人。作家、耶鲁大学教授Zoe Chance表示,现在是时候重新拥抱影响力了,而谈判能力、个人魅力和灵感对于发挥影响力起着重要的作用。

Citi Latitude诚邀各位参加由Zoe带来的这场引人入胜的“制胜心态带来耀眼改变”的课程,并掌握五个颇具可行性的实践心得。

 

心得1

凡是想带来积极影响的人,都有必要学习、运用能产生人际影响的技巧,否则,我们就是把世界拱手让给了渴望权力的人。当我说发挥影响力时,我是建议大家代表自己或他人去争取想要获得的东西,不给自己设限。

例如,你可能非常重视教育、正义、成长、安全、金钱或爱情。无论潜在的价值观或情感是什么,你都需要先构建起影响力框架。之后,再去掌握从幽默到同理心、从魅力到挑衅等各种策略和技巧,从而以恰当的方式表达自己的观点。

 

心得2

从心理学上来说,要发挥影响力,其中一个基本条件是理解社会判断的两个维度:热情和能力。我们通常会根据这两个标准对我们遇到的每个人做出快速判断。我们还倾向于过于看重能力,想让人们看到、认为、深信我们能力突出,却忽视了热情这一品质。但热情的力量更为强大。

热情能够更加自然地表露出来。甚至在重要业务领域(例如在招聘员工时),我们认为我们会以他人的能力作为判断依据,但其实,对方展露的热情会对我们产生更快、更牢固的影响。在对面试的成功要素进行实地研究后,我们发现,热情是一种更强大、更重要的影响力品质。当然,要影响他人,能力是很重要的,但过度强调能力的重要性,而忽视热情的品质就误入歧途了。
 

 

心得3

我们的大脑中有两套系统在共同运作,这两套系统时而协作,时而互相冲突,但它们共同确定了我们所要采取、实施的每一项决策和行为。其中一套系统我称之为“鳄鱼”系统,另一套系统是“法官”系统。

先从后者说起吧,“法官”系统会让我们努力保持客观、做出妥当的决策。就像法官一样,你的大脑会考虑各种“证据”,权衡利弊,然后做出决定。我们倾向于认为自己和他人都像法官一样理性行事,因为这是一套有意识的系统。但是,我们忽略了这两套系统中更强大的系统——“鳄鱼”系统。之所以用鳄鱼作类比,是因为这套系统是非常原始的。它潜伏在我们的意识表面之下。它基本上是无意识的,反应速度极快。在你试图影响他人时,他们会立即做出判断,这种判断是出于本能和直觉,不假思索做出的。这是他们对你做出的最重要的反应,你需要做好充分的应对,使话题朝有利于你的方向演进,这样他们才有可能花费时间和精力来仔细考虑你提出的事实和数据。

 

心得4

始终记住,要想发挥影响力,还需具备“可影响性”。只有觉得自己的声音被倾听,人们才会去倾听他人。虽然你可能真的非常想表达自己的观点,想让人们倾听自己的看法,但你要意识到,如果对方并不认为并感到你理解他们的观点,那么你说话时,对方可能会心不在焉。

因此,无论关乎什么主题或问题,都要努力了解你试图去影响的人,了解他们的深层价值观和动机,然后在讨论过程中将此反映出来。当你了解了他们真正的关注点之后,也就获得了一个能够畅所欲言的氛围,便于你讨论你希望说服他们的事情。

心得5

最后,希望这一事实能让你感到释然:家人其实是我们最难影响到的人,因为我们与家人之间有着长期的动态关系,他们认为他们对我们知根知底,了解我们的喜怒哀乐与所作所为,同时他们也需要与我们保持界限。但是,无论是影响家人,还是影响态度勉强的员工或同事,影响的过程都是相同的。

关键之处在于倾听,了解他们的观点,向他们表明你已理解他们的观点,然后再向他们表达自己的观点。例如,有一种普遍情况是,我们持有一种观点,也知道对方持有不同的观点,因此我们会认为他们的观点与我们的大相径庭,但实际情况却远没有这么夸张。这被称为“两极分化假象”。想要有效地发挥影响力,你需要摆脱这种两极分化假象,找到彼此之间的共同点。

Zoe Chance
October 6, 2022

The science of winning hearts and sparking change

October 6, 2022
Citi Latitude
SUMMARY

Best-selling author and Yale academic Zoe chance demonstrates how to overcome misconceptions such as the idea that asking for more will make others dislike you and make influence your superpower.


We are born fearless, influential, and powerful, and then we are taught to suppress it all – to wait for our turns, not make waves, and to please others. According to author and Yale professor Zoe Chance, it’s time for us to tap back into that power of influence where negotiation, charisma, and inspiration can play a major part.

Citi Latitude invites you to learn the science of winning hearts and sparking change in an engaging session with Zoe and observe its five key actionable takeaways.

 

Takeaway 1

It is imperative for all of us who wish to make a positive impact to study and practice the tools of interpersonal influence because if we don’t, then we are just leaving our world in the hands of power-hungry people. By exercising influence, I am implying asking for what you want on behalf of yourself or other people without drawing any boundaries.

It may be that you care a lot about education, justice, growth, security, money or love for instance. Whatever the underlying value or emotion might be, you will need to first establish the frame of influence. Thereafter, master the art of using a range of tactics from humor to empathy, charisma to provocation the right way to get your point across.

 

Takeaway 2

A fundamental piece of the psychology of influence is an understanding of the two dimensions of social judgment – warmth and competence. We often make snap judgments instantaneously with every single person we meet based on the two. We also tend to have people see, believe, and understand that we’re competent often by neglecting the warmth aspect more than we should. The latter is much stronger and more powerful.

Warmth comes more naturally. It happens much faster and is stickier even in business-critical areas like hiring where we think we hire people for their competence. But actual field research looking at hiring successes finds that warmth is a much more powerful and important influencing quality. Of course, competence matters when it comes to influencing people but over indexing on it at the expense of warmth is a big mistake.
 

 

Takeaway 3

There are two systems in our brain that work together – sometimes in collaboration and at other times in conflict – to determine every decision and behavior that we take and engage in. System one is what I call the ‘gator’ and system two is the ‘judge.’

Starting with the latter – it’s about trying to be objective and making good decisions. Like a judge your brain considers evidence, weighs pros and cons, and decides. We tend to think that this is who we are and how other people are because this is the conscious part. However, what we’re neglecting is the far more powerful of these two systems – ‘the gator’, using the analogy of an alligator because it is primal. It lurks below the surface of our conscious mind. It’s largely unconscious and extremely fast. If you try to influence someone, the immediate judgment that they make is going to be visceral, intuitive, and automatic. This is going to be the most important reaction of theirs to you and needs to work out in your favor before they even take the time and the energy to carefully consider the facts and data that you might share with them.

 

Takeaway 4

Always remember that being influential also requires being ‘influence-able’. Nobody can listen until they feel heard. While you may really want to feel heard and express your point of view, remain cognizant that the other person may not be listening until they believe and feel that you understand their point of view.

So, regardless of the subject matter or issue, try to understand what the deeper values and motivations of those whom you are trying to influence might be, and reflect that back to them in your deliberations. And when you understand the things that they care deeply about, that in turn provides an opening frame to talk about whatever it is that you’re hoping to persuade them of.

Takeaway 5

Finally, take solace in the fact that our families are the hardest people for us to influence because we have this long-term dynamic where they think that they know who we are, how we are, what we’re going to be like, and they are needing to have boundaries with us. But there is no difference in the process between influencing family members and someone like a reluctant employee or colleague.

It all about listening to understand their point of view and showing them that you understand before you go in with your own point of view. For instance, in almost every situation where we have one point of view and we know the other person has a different point of view, we are thinking that their point of view is far removed from ours than how it actually is. It is called false polarization. To be an effective influencer, you need to ditch this false polarization effect and find common ground.