重新设计女性的成功

GINA DIEZ BARROSO

Gina Diez Barroso本能地知道,她的商业想法拥有巨大的潜力。但人们对她的推销最初的反应并不乐观。

一个别人看不到的机会

女孩杂志?对不起,这太荒谬了,根本行不通!有人直截了当地告诉她。在墨西哥,这个年龄的女孩读书不多,而且,她们肯定没钱买杂志。

虽然刚刚进入传媒业,但Gina并没有被吓倒。相反,她转头想出了一个名字、一个标志和她构思的新杂志的原型版本。

经过多次尝试,她的坚持终于得到了回报。尽管其他人几乎看不到,但对我来说,这个机会非常明显,Gina说。

他们有大约20种出版物,主要针对30岁以上的女性,但绝对没有针对女孩的。我知道女孩是最需要建议和指导的群体。

即使他们同意了我的想法,也没人指望它能撑过第一年。

40年过去了,经历了一场数字革命,Gina构想的这本杂志正变得越来越强大。每隔一周,TÚ都会为美洲各地说西班牙语的女孩们提供丰富多彩的生活小贴士、音乐和时尚。很多纸质出版物都半途而废,但这本书却赢得了读者,这本杂志的创造者自豪地说道,

gina

当我看到一些需要改进的地方时,我真的会兴奋起来。

远离家族生意

推动积极变化的决心成为Gina后来职业生涯的决定性特征。当我看到一些需要改进的地方时,我真的会兴奋起来,她说道,甚至在我很小的时候,我妈妈就常说我不会接受别人的拒绝。我一直认为这是一件好事。

虽然Gina喜欢在出版业开拓新领域,但她最初的成功给她带来了觉悟。

她不想继续在祖父几十年前创建的墨西哥媒体帝国工作,而是想靠自己的力量获得与祖父一样富有远见的成就。

她回忆说:我有一种越来越强烈的冲动,想离开Televisa,自己去闯。当时,Gina在房地产行业发现了能让她尽展所长的下一个机会。在我看来,建造和翻新房产的过程过于复杂,她说,你很可能需要与五家或更多不同的公司打交道。买一块地,设计一栋建筑,把它建出来,进行内部装修,购买家具,这些都涉及到不同的组织。通过一家公司完成所有这些工作不是简单多了吗?

自己创业

Gina的解决方案是建立Diarq,这是西班牙语中设计和建筑的缩写。

该公司是一家囊括建筑师、建造商、室内设计师、景观园丁和其他专业人员的一站式商店。我们一开始只是个小公司,团队只有五个人。除了简化流程外,我的另一个目标是鼓励重塑建筑物。当我看到非常古老的建筑为新建筑让路而被拆除时,我总是感到非常沮丧,因为它们是墨西哥遗产的一部分。

虽然一开始默默无闻,但Diarq很快取得成功。如今,该组织在墨西哥和美国设有办事处,拥有700多名员工,总共完成了850多个住宅和酒店项目。

Gina回忆说:我们一度发展得太快了。我学到的一件事是,规模大并不总是更好,所以我们放慢了发展的步伐,更加稳定地增长。

留下遗产

通过自己创建非常成功的企业,Gina实现了一个长期的抱负。然而,她觉得自己还有很多事情要做。她的祖父不仅以他的创业精神激励着她,还以他回馈社会的精神激励着她。

我走到了人生的转折点,Gina说,建立一家企业并完成数百个项目当然是一种成就,但这不是遗产。我曾问自己,我会为墨西哥人民留下什么遗产。

根据她自己早期的经历,Gina的答案是教育。我认为,我们应该从过去而不是未来寻找目标。我母亲认为女性教育没那么重要,但我不这么认为。

因此,我决定回馈社会,让其他人——尤其是女性——能够接受我没有接受过的教育。

助力他人

当Gina宣布她打算创办自己的大学时,人们的反应一定是这听起来很耳熟啊。许多怀疑论者指出,从无到有创建一所大学是一项艰巨的任务。更重要的是,Gina的背景并不是教育领域。与她签约的一位商业顾问也对该项目的可行性表示怀疑。然而,经过6年的紧张筹备,centro终于诞生了。

img

我们将它命名为‘centro’,因为它是一切的中心,Gina说,这是一个创新、创意和创业的中心。我们的理念是同时培养左右脑。传统上,教育只侧重于其中之一。但这意味着‘右脑型’的创意人才往往得不到他们所需的商业和金融方面的指导,同时‘左脑型’人才不会被鼓励进行创意思维。

因此,位于墨西哥城的centro在提供创意研究的同时也非常强调商业和企业家精神。因此,学生不仅要接受设计和电影等学科的培训,还要接受制定商业计划和电梯展示的培训。这个专门建造的校园本身就是进步的标志,它有露天走道、太阳能电池板和巨大的绿植覆盖的屋顶。约60%的centro学生是女性,Gina说,

在我们的3000名学生中,有1000人获得了我们资助的奖学金。

商业学校不会教你的东西

为了表彰她的创业成就,Gina受邀加入200人委员会。该组织由一些世界领先的商界女性组成,其使命是激励、支持和推动商界女性的发展。

Gina亲力亲为,经常为渴望成为企业家和企业领导者的女性MBA和博士学生演讲。与我交谈的女性都是志向远大的人,她们拥有世界上一些最好大学赋予的骄人资质,”Gina说,“但我注意到,许多人对自己的个人品牌推广、讲故事和谈判方式缺乏自信。更好地了解这些事情能让女性认识到自己内在的力量,实现自己的梦想。我不想看到女性坐在房间的后面保持沉默。

与女学生的接触使Gina相信,需要更多地帮助女性发挥她们的商业潜力。她还想接触更广泛的受众,而不是她在校园里面对面演讲时所能接触到的那些学术明星。因此,她决定成立Dalia Empower,这是一个继续教育项目,支持女性追求个人和职业目标。

img

改变世界,从一次改变一名女性的命运开始

我们选择‘Dalia’这个名字是因为它是一种非常有韧性的花——就像女人一样,Gina说,这种花有大约5000种不同的品种,就像我们女人有许多不同的类型一样。而且这个名字在世界上许多不同的语言中都有相似的发音。因此这是一个适合全球项目的全球通用名称。我想为增进世界范围内的性别平等和多样性出一份力。

Dalia Empower可提供面向所有人的充满活力的在线课程和大师班,从寻找第一份工作的女性到准备领导大公司的女性,不一而足。

学生们可以报名参加谈判艺术或高级女性领导力等课程以及韧性的力量等一次性研讨会。

除提供课程外,该组织还将其成员与一个由3万名女性组成的社区(其中包括教练和导师等专家)联系起来。

Gina现在的计划可能是她最雄心勃勃的计划。我希望通过Dalia Empower,在未来十年影响全球1亿女性的生活,她说,性别不平等在世界各地都是现实,但女性克服这种不平等的潜力也是现实。而这一切都始于个人的转变和释放自己内在的力量。

你必须成为环球公民。

Gina Diez Barroso: 我的人生

我在五个兄弟姐妹中排行第四。小时候,我和父亲的关系比和母亲的关系要亲密得多。

现在回想起来,我意识到我和母亲并不亲近,是因为我们太相似了。她总是给我贴上问题孩子的标签,因为我从不接受别人的拒绝。相比之下,我的父亲总是告诉我,我在任何事情上都是多么优秀,我可以完成任何我想要的事情。我们经常讨论我的未来以及他将如何永远在我身边。他真的是我的坚强后盾。

我11岁的时候,我的生活发生了天翻地覆的变化。那是一个周五,父亲周末要去阿卡普尔科参加一个会议,距离这里只有很短的飞行距离。他和我吻别,说我们将继续星期天的谈话。但是那天当我从学校回来的时候,我得知飞机坠毁了,他去世了。

在父亲去世之前,我并没有真正理解韧性的概念,但我很快就领悟了。我意识到这是一个成败在此一举的局面,我必须设法克服这个悲剧。我的外祖父为我们全家提供了庇护。从他身上,

我学到了为自己的墨西哥血统感到自豪、帮助有需要的人并留下遗产的重要性。

当时,教育对我来说堪称艰难。

父亲去世时,母亲38岁,有五个孩子,年龄从1岁到18岁不等。她不认为教育对女性特别重要。我知道我很有创意,但我从未想过自己会成为一名女商人。我多希望我当时能够多学些商科,但我选择了设计,这一直对我有帮助。通过教育帮助别人获得成功已经成为我最大的爱好。

我19岁结婚,27岁离婚,有了三个孩子。我30岁再婚,40岁又离婚。也正是这时,我的人生迎来快乐时光,因为我找到了我的人生伴侣。我们不需要丈夫和妻子,我们需要的是人生伴侣。我现在已经结婚22年了。

我的人生伴侣和我一起共事;他一直支持我、鼓励我。我的五个孩子都很有创造力,都开始了自己的事业。我为他们能够追求梦想并取得如此大的成就而感到自豪。

环球公民意识的重要性

我不相信边界。我认为当今世界需要环球公民意识。

你必须成为环球公民,这就是我对与我交谈的年轻女性——实际上还有年轻男性——所说的。作为企业家,了解不同的文化并尊重人与人之间的差异至关重要,因为这才是让世界丰富多彩的真正原因所在。我认为多元化的投资回报很高。

We noticed that you are based in . Would you like to view this page in ? Yes, take me to the page. No stay on this page.

Close MultiLang Selector Dialog

Redesigning female success

GINA DIEZ BARROSO

Gina Diez Barroso knew instinctively that her business idea had great potential. But the initial reaction to her pitch was somewhat less than encouraging.

An opportunity nobody else could see

A magazine for girls? Sorry, but that’s ridiculous, it would never work! she was told flatly. Girls of that age here in Mexico don’t read much, and besides, they certainly don’t have the money to spend on magazines.

Although only a recent recruit to the media industry, Gina was undeterred. Instead, she went away and came up with a name, a logo and a prototype edition of the new magazine she’d conceived.

It took her several more attempts, but her persistence finally paid off. To me, the opportunity was very clear, even if almost no one else could see it, says Gina.

They had a stable of around 20 publications, mainly aimed at women upwards of 30, but absolutely nothing for girls. I knew that girls were the group that most needed advice and guidance.

Even once they approved my idea, no one expected it to make it past the first year.

Four decades and one digital revolution later, the magazine that Gina conceived is going strong. Every other week, TÚ entertains Spanish- speaking girls right across the Americas with a colorful assortment of essential life tips, music and fashion. So many print publications have fallen by the wayside, but this one has actually gained readers, observes its proud creator.

 
 
When I see something that needs improvement, it really gets my mind going.
 

Stepping away from the family business

Sheer determination to drive positive change would become the defining feature of Gina’s subsequent career. When I see something that needs improvement, it really gets my mind going, she says. Even when I was a small child, my mother used to say that I wouldn’t take ‘no’ for an answer. And I’ve always thought that was a good thing.

While she enjoyed breaking new frontiers in publishing, her initial success gave Gina a realization.

Rather than continue working within the Mexican media empire her grandfather had founded several decades earlier, she wanted to emulate his visionary accomplishments by herself.

I had this increasingly powerful urge to step out from the Televisa organization and go it alone, she recalls. It was within the world of real estate that Gina identified her next opportunity to make things work better. Building and refurbishing properties always struck me as an overly complicated process, she says. It could easily require you to deal with five separate companies or more. Buying a strip of land, designing a building, constructing it, fitting out the interior, and buying the furniture each involved a different organization. Wouldn’t it be so much simpler going through just one company?

A start-up of her own

Gina’s solution was to establish Diarq, an abbreviation of the Spanish words for design and architecture.

The company is a one-stop shop that combines architects, builders, interior designers, landscape gardeners and others. We started off as a small business, with a team of just five people. As well as making the whole process easier, my other goal was to encourage remodeling of buildings. I always found it so frustrating when I saw very old buildings being demolished to make way for new ones, as they are part of Mexico’s heritage.

From its tiny beginnings, Diarq achieved rapid success. The organization today has offices across Mexico and the US and employs more than 700 people. In total, it has completed more than 850 residential and hospitality projects.

At one point, we were actually growing too fast, recalls Gina. One thing I learned is that big isn’t always better and so we eased back the pace of our development, growing more steadily.

Leaving a legacy

By creating her own highly successful venture, Gina had fulfilled a longstanding ambition. And yet, she felt she had much more still to do. Her grandfather had not only inspired her with his entrepreneurship but also with his service to society.

I had reached a turning point in my life, says Gina. Building a business and completing hundreds of projects is an accomplishment, sure, but it’s not a legacy. I asked myself what legacy I would leave behind for the people of Mexico.

Given her own early experiences, Gina’s answer was education. Finding a purpose comes from your past, I believe, rather than from your future. My mother had felt that female education wasn’t that important, but I knew differently.

So, I decided to give back by providing others – especially women – with the education that I hadn’t had.

Empowering others

When Gina announced her intention to start her own university, the response must have seemed familiar. Creating a university out of nothing was an enormous undertaking, the many skeptics pointed out. What’s more, Gina’s background was not in the field of education. A business consultant whom she contracted also cast doubt on the viability of the project. However, after six years of intense preparations, centro came into being.

We called it ‘centro’ because it’s the center of everything, says Gina. It’s a center for innovation, ideas and entrepreneurship. Our ethos is to nurture both the left and right sides of the brain. Traditionally, education has focused upon one or the other. But this means that ‘right-brain’ creatives often don’t receive the instruction in business and finance they need, while ‘left-brain’ types aren’t encouraged to think creatively.

Based in Mexico City, centro therefore offers creative studies but with a strong emphasis upon business and entrepreneurship. Students are thus trained both in subjects such as design and film but also in crafting business plans and elevator pitches. The purpose-built campus is itself a beacon of progress, with its open-air walkways, solar paneling and giant plant-covered roof. Around 60% of centro students are women, says Gina.

And of our 3,000 students, a thousand are on scholarships financed by us.

What business school doesn’t teach you

In recognition of her entrepreneurial achievements, Gina was invited to join the Committee of 200. Composed of some of the world’s leading businesswomen, the organization’s mission is to inspire, support and advance women in business.

As part of her contribution, Gina has spoken regularly to audiences of female MBA and PhD students who aspire to becoming entrepreneurs and corporate leaders. The women I speak to are high-fliers, with impressive qualifications from some of the world’s best colleges, says Gina. But I noticed that many were less confident than they should be about their personal branding, storytelling and how they negotiate. Understanding these things better can enable women to recognize their inner power and achieve what they want. I hate seeing women sitting at the back of the room and not speaking up.

These encounters with female students convinced Gina that more was needed to help women fulfill their business potential. She also wanted to reach a much wider audience than the academic stars she was able to address at in-person speaking engagements on campuses. She was thus inspired to establish Dalia Empower, a continuing education project that supports women as they pursue their personal and professional goals.

Changing the world, one woman at a time

We chose the name ‘Dalia’ because it is a very resilient flower – just like women, observes Gina. There are something like 5,000 different varieties of this flower, just as we women come in many different forms. And the name is pronounced similarly in so many different languages of the world. So it’s a global name for a global project. I want to help enhance gender equality and diversity worldwide.

Dalia Empower offers a vibrant mix of online courses and masterclasses aimed at everyone from women who are seeking their first job right up to those preparing to lead major companies.

Students can enroll for the likes of courses in the art of negotiation or advanced level female leadership as well as one-off workshops in the power of resilience.

In addition to courses, the organization connects its members to a community of 30,000 women, including experts such as coaches and mentors.

Gina’s plans now are perhaps her most ambitious yet. Through Dalia Empower, I want to impact the lives of a hundred million women globally in the next decade, she says. Gender inequality is a reality throughout the world, but so is the potential for women to overcome this injustice. And it all begins with a personal transformation and unleashing your own inner power.

 
 
You have to be a global citizen.
 

Gina Diez Barroso: My life

I’m the fourth of five siblings. As a child, I was much closer to my father than to my mother.

Looking back, I now realize I wasn’t close to my mother because we were so similar. She always labeled me a ‘problem child’ because I never took ‘no’ for an answer. By contrast, my father always told me how good I was at everything and that I could accomplish anything I wanted. We’d often discuss my future and how he’d always be there for me. He was truly my rock.

When I was 11, my world turned upside down. It was a Friday and my father was due to attend a convention over the weekend in Acapulco, a short flight away. He kissed me goodbye and said that we’d continue the conversation we were having on Sunday. But when I got back from school that day, I learned the plane hadcrashed and he had died.

I hadn’t really understood the concept of resilience before my father’s death, but I quickly discovered it. I realized that this was a make- or- break situation, in which I somehow needed to overcome the tragedy. My maternal grandfather took our family under his wing. From him,

I learned the importance of being proud of my Mexican roots, helping people in need and leaving a legacy.

My education was a difficult time for me.

When my father died, my mother was 38 years old with five children aged from one to 18. And she didn’t believe that education was particularly important for women. I knew I had a very creative side, but I never thought I was going to become a businesswoman. I wish I had studied business more at that time, however I studied design instead, which has always helped me. Enabling others to succeed through education has become my passion.

I got married at 19 and then divorced at 27, having had three children. I remarried at 30 and then divorced again at 40. That’s when the story becomes really beautiful, as I then found my life partner. We don’t need husbands and wives, we need life partners. I’ve now been married 22 years.

My life partner and I do many things together; he’s supported and encouraged me. My five children are all creative and have started businesses of their own. I am proud that they have pursued their dreams and accomplished so much.

The importance of global citizenship

I don’t believe in borders. I think the way the world is today really calls for global citizenship.

You have to be a global citizen and that’s what I tell the young women – and indeed the young men – whom I speak to. As entrepreneurs, it is vital to understand different cultures and respect what makes people different, as that’s what truly enriches the world. I think the return on investment from diversity is high.