建立商業帝國精神

吳聰滿(Andrew Tan)及其子吳克文(Kevin Tan)

吳聰滿的父親吳方奎(Tan Ha)臉上洋溢著自豪的笑容。吳聰滿的父親是一名無線電廠工人。小時候,由於父母經濟十分困難,他沒能完成自己的學業。但現在,兒子吳聰滿剛剛以優異的成績從馬尼拉東方大學(University of the East)工商管理專業畢業。

這是一個值得慶祝的時刻。因此,他買了三瓶西班牙芬德多(Fundador)白蘭地,招待前來祝賀的家人和朋友。當大家舉杯慶祝時,吳聰滿感受到的卻是杯中美酒所獨有的微妙香醇。他感到這其中蘊藏著不同尋常的意味。

拿到學位畢業後,吳聰滿開始了他的創業之路。雖然父親希望他能夠成為一名銀行家,但他卻另有想法。從兒時起,他就渴望擁有自己的事業。不過,首先,他需要一些資本。靠著早期成功經營的廚房電器進口銷售業務,他已積攢了一些積蓄,並產生了一個商業想法。一天,他正面試一位有酒類行業背景的新銷售經理候選人。此人的學識和人脈給吳聰滿留下了深刻的印象,最後他決定不僅要聘用此人,還要和他一起轉行。

吳聰滿成為了一名杜松子酒製造商,從而開始涉足烈酒行業。這項選擇似乎理所當然,因為此類飲品在菲律賓非常受歡迎。更重要的是,與其他烈酒相比,杜松子酒能更為輕鬆地快速推向市場。對於一個資源極其有限的初創企業來說,這條路更具有吸引力。但事實證明,這家新公司的早期經歷比預想要艱難得多。

 

 

吳聰滿回憶道:「一開始我們真的很艱難。我們在當地的競爭對手至少有四家酒類公司,他們其中有一些已超過百年歷史。相比之下,我們的業務規模太小。有兩三年時間我們都是處於虧損狀態。我甚至曾經一度問自己,是否值得繼續下去。」

吳聰滿和他的團隊沒有放棄事業,而是決定改變策略。杜松子酒市場競爭非常激烈,而威士忌代表了一個利基市場,不會與菲律賓的其他大型競爭對手形成競爭關係。於是,該公司推出了首款威士忌,結果比杜松子酒取得了更大的成功。但下一步要何去何從?吳聰滿很清楚菲律賓人非常喜歡喝白蘭地,但基本都是進口白蘭地。也許是時候推出本地品牌了。

皇勝(Emperador)的誕生

雖然法國的干邑地區是白蘭地的精髓之所在,但吳聰滿還是去了西班牙的赫雷斯市尋找靈感契機。畢竟,這是濃醇甘美的芬德多白蘭地酒的生產地,而在大約十年前,他曾用這美酒來慶祝自己畢業的重要時刻。這位年輕的企業家興奮不已地參觀了赫雷斯的酒窖,在這些歷史悠久的酒窖裡不僅生產了白蘭地,還生產了這座城市最著名的雪利酒。他仔細觀察著古老釀酒工藝,並傾聽釀酒師們的講解。

吳聰滿不僅需要了解白蘭地的製造過程,他還需要為自己未來的產品取一個名字。在到訪西維爾期間,他向一位西班牙朋友尋求意見,並提到他對芬德多白蘭地的喜愛。吳聰滿說,這位朋友想了一夜,然後提出了「Conquistador(武士)」這個建議,因為這個詞彙在西班牙語中表示「征服」。考慮到幾個世紀前西班牙曾佔領過菲律賓,我委婉地表示,在菲律賓用這個名字的話人們可能無法接受。我的這位朋友掉頭走開了,但回來的時候卻提出了「Emperador(皇勝)」這個名字,即代表「帝王君主」。我非常喜歡這個名字,所以我們兩個人就此一拍即合。

皇勝取得成功用了多年時間。直到1990年菲律賓人才第一次品嚐到了自己國內所生產的白蘭地。這款酒很快贏得了市場的青睞。這款酒對吳聰滿公司的發展意義深遠,以至於後來他決定將整個公司命名為「Emperador」(皇勝)股份有限公司(此前曾稱為遠東聯合蒸餾廠)。僅僅20多年後,這款同名的酒在亞洲各地的年銷量就超過了4億瓶。然而,商業帝國的擴張並沒有止步。

在一定程度上,菲律賓中產階級的迅速崛起,推動了皇勝在亞洲地區的發展,這與當時許多歐洲釀酒商的情況形成了鮮明對比。白蘭地等深色烈酒雖然需求不斷,但銷量卻停滯不前,難有增長。然而,吳聰滿卻看到了機會。2013年,他在西班牙收購了聖布魯諾酒窖和赫雷斯的葡萄園。兩年後,他又回來收購了一些家喻戶曉的雪利酒和白蘭地品牌,其中就包括芬德多白蘭地。吳聰滿的兒子吳克文表示,這次收購對一家菲律賓公司來說是一個真正的里程碑。芬德多白蘭地給予了我們最初的靈感。現在皇勝白蘭地的銷量超過了芬德多,不僅如此,歷史悠久、讓人驚嘆的芬德多實際上已成為了我們自有的品牌。我認為這筆交易確實有助於菲律賓在全球投資者版圖上佔有一席之地。

菲律賓國旗升起:收購和多元化

除了白蘭地以外,有品味要求的亞洲消費者越來越青睞威士忌。他們長期以來一直喜歡當地生產的品種,比如一些吳聰滿多年前就開始釀造的產品。但隨著可支配收入的快速增長,他們開始轉向更加昂貴的進口品種,尤其是來自威士忌發源地蘇格蘭的進口品種。正當歷史悠久的懷特馬凱(Whyte & Mackay)品牌於2014年在市場出售時,皇勝股份有限公司伸出了橄欖枝。

 
 
當我們所有海外公司升起菲律賓國旗時,確實令人欣慰。
 

對我來說,懷特馬凱項目簡直是一次千載難逢的機會,吳聰滿表示。他們倉庫裡的一些威士忌熟化已達六十年之久。顯然,這是無法輕易取代的。隨後公司又收購了包括塔木嶺(Tamnavulin)和大摩(Dalmore)在內的酒類品牌。大摩的歷史可以追溯到七百年前,最稀有的酒瓶在拍賣會上的售價約為每瓶27萬英鎊(37.3萬美元)。我不得不說收購懷特馬凱是我職業生涯中最感自豪的時刻之一。威士忌在亞洲是一種銷量幾乎每年都在增長的飲品,吳克文表示。我們決定收購懷特馬凱業務,是因為考慮到可以真正擴大公司在本地區的規模。我們確實對隨後的增長感到非常滿意。人們渴望學習如何鑑賞高品質的威士忌,亞洲年輕的一代更是如此。促成這種發展是一件很棒的事。

不過,吳氏家族的多元化發展已經遠遠超出了酒類範圍。皇勝等品牌的母公司已是菲律賓最大的企業集團之一。其業務涉及快餐店、房地產、綜合旅遊和基礎設施等。集團一半以上的收入來自這些其他業務。然而,正是皇勝將安德集團帶入全球,其分銷網絡遍布全球一百多個國家/地區。吳聰滿表示,當我們所有海外公司升起菲律賓國旗時,確實令人欣慰。但話說回來,知道我們的祖國每天有500萬人,而全世界還有更多的人在享用我們的白蘭地也是一件讓人開心的事。對於我們來說,這一切都歸結為一個基本準則,即盡最大努力讓客戶滿意。

 
 
我的出身非常貧寒。
 

吳聰滿博士:我的生活

我出生在中國南方的福建省。我的家非常貧寒。當我還是個小男孩時,就舉家搬到香港,在那裡,我們和另外四家人合租了一套只有一間浴室的廉價公寓。連公寓大樓的走廊都被出租作住宿之用。在我十幾歲的時候,我們又搬到了馬尼拉。

我記得那時我每天在上學的路上走邊看路邊那些商店:雜貨店、五金店,和我稱之為咖啡館的「梳打汽水小賣部」。當我發現生意興隆的小商舖中有一些是我同學家開的,我感到深受觸動。我告訴自己,有天我完成學業也要開一家雜貨店。雖然這一夢想從未實現,但成為一名企業家的想法卻一直伴隨著我。我的父親非常重視教育。由於他的家庭需要他出去工作賺錢,所以沒能接受正規教育。因此他一直下定決心讓我能完成學業,過上比他更好的生活。為了支付大學學費,我做過家庭教師。我竭盡所能節省各種開銷,為了節約公共交通車費每天步行數英里。

分享我的福報

教育對社會至關重要。它可以最大限度起到調節均衡的作用。來自貧困家庭的孩子受到正規教育後,會有很大的機會改變他們的命運。從我自身的經歷來看,就是最好的證明。因此,我為能幫助其他人而感到非常榮幸,他們與我當時的處境相似,都是在學業上有前途卻遭遇經濟上的困境。

在我們公司的贊助下,我們現已創建了美加基金會(Megaworld Foundation)。每年,基金會下的旗艦獎學金計劃均資助一千名優秀的學生完成小學到大學階段的正規教育。我們與馬尼拉大都會和周邊省份約50所知名學校合作,為學生支付學費和提供其他津貼。當他們大學畢業後,我們公司為他們提供就業機會。

獎學金項目只是我們基金會工作的其中一項。我們還修建和翻新學校,在一些極度貧困的農村地區開展掃盲計劃,並提供校船服務,幫助那些以前必須涉水或游泳過河才能上學的孩子正常入學。我們為營養不良的兒童提供食物,以及資助救災和植樹活動。基金會與許多其他組織攜手合作,以完成我們的目標。生活給予了我許多福報,我希望將這些福報分享給他人。提高其他菲律賓人的生活水平是一件美好的事,也是一件力所能及的事。我將致力於為我們國家的年輕人建立一個更美好的未來而努力,並持續推進幫助解決邊緣化問題。

 
 
接替我父親擔任安德集團的首席執行官是一項極大的榮譽,同時也是一項重大的責任。
 

吳克文:全球公民

我是在我父親創辦公司的第二年出生。在我成長的過程中,一直對這個行業很感興趣。在我還是孩子的時候,就常和他一起去參觀酒廠。我十幾歲的時候,利用幾個暑假在那裡體驗工作,這是學習業務的一個絕佳方式。我很幸運地見證了父親從酒類行業發展到房地產行業,然後又進軍到其他領域。

大學畢業後,我在公司的第一份工作是銷售公寓。透過這個職位,我接觸了各種各樣的人士,真正了解了商業活動的複雜過程。隨後,我又接到了建商場的任務。這個學習過程非常艱難,但在其中我卻找到了對房地產開發和創新的熱情。當看著一個大型房地產項目由概念轉變成現實,讓我覺得非常有成就感。

 
 
可持續發展對我們的公司至關重要。
 

接替我父親擔任安德集團的首席執行官是一項極大的榮譽,同時也是一項重大的責任。我們家族從來都不認同為家族企業工作或領導家族企業是與生俱來的權利。當我們還是孩子的時候,就經常被告知教育、技能和經驗是先決條件,但同時還要對公司和業務投入真正的熱情。我們贊同這一點,並相應地設定了自己的期望目標。

可持續發展對我們的公司至關重要。例如皇勝項目,我們會利用蒸餾過程中產生的沼氣垃圾進行發電。這能夠幫助滿足酒廠營運約三分之一的電力需求。氣候變化給菲律賓帶來的災害變得日益頻繁,其中包括破壞性極強的颱風和其他極端天氣事件。因此,安德集團制定了到2035年實現碳中和的目標。同時我們還計劃在2035年以前直接或間接幫助創造就業崗位500萬個。

新冠肺炎疫情確實給人類敲響了警鐘,使我們每個人都意識到人類的藐小和脆弱,以及為共同利益而更加緊密合作的必要性。對我來說,全球公民身份意味著要維護那些與我們福祉息息相關的價值觀。其中包括真誠、多元化、可持續性和團結。如果我們能夠將自己視為全球公民,我們就不僅可以共同戰勝疫情,而且還將在未來創造一個更美好的世界。

為您的財富提供全面的服務

我們為您定制服務,幫助您實現財富保值和增值。

We noticed that you are based in . Would you like to view this page in ? Yes, take me to the page. No stay on this page.

Close MultiLang Selector Dialog

The spirit of empire building

ANDREW & KEVIN TAN

Tan Ha was beaming with pride. As a child, the radio factory worker’s parents had been too poor for him to complete his own education. Now, though, his son Andrew had just graduated magna cum laude in business administration from the University of the East in Manila.

This called for a celebration. Tan Ha had therefore bought three bottles of Fundador, a Spanish brandy, which he poured out to his assembled family and friends. As they toasted his achievement, Andrew relished the subtle sweetness and spicy notes of the contents of his glass. He knew that this was something special.

With his freshly minted degree, Andrew set about building his career. Although his father had wanted him to become a banker, he had other ideas. Ever since childhood, he’d aspired to having a business of his own. First, though, he would need some capital. Some early success as an importer and seller of kitchen appliances helped generate both some savings and a business idea. One day, he was interviewing a potential new sales manager, whose background was in the liquor trade. Impressed by the man’s knowledge and network of contacts, Andrew decided not only to hire him but also to switch industries.

It was as a maker of gin that Andrew made his entry to the spirits business. This may have seemed an obvious choice, given the drink’s huge popularity in the Philippines. What’s more, it can be much quicker to bring a gin to market compared to certain other spirits. This too made it attractive to a start-up with very modest resources. But the new company’s early experiences proved rather tougher than expected.

We really struggled to begin with, recalls Andrew. We were up against at least four rival liquor companies locally, some of which had more than a hundred years of heritage. Our operations were tiny by comparison. For maybe two or three years, we lost money. At one point, I was even asking myself whether it was worth keeping going.

Rather than abandon distilling, Andrew and his team decided to change course. While the market for gin was fiercely competitive, whisky represented a niche where they would not be pitted against big Filipino competitors. The company thus launched its first whisky, which met with rather more success than its gins had. But what should be its next move? Andrew knew very well that his compatriots had a taste for brandy, but that it was all imported. Perhaps the time had come for a local variety.

The birth of Emperador

Although the Cognac region of France is brandy’s spiritual home, it was to the Spanish city of Jerez that Andrew traveled for inspiration. After all, this was where they made the delicious Fundador, with which he’d marked his graduation a decade or so earlier. The young entrepreneur delighted in visiting Jerez’s bodegas, the historic facilities that produce not just brandy but also the sherry for which the city is most famous. He watched and listened intently as the master distillers explained their age-old craft.

Not only did Andrew need to understand the brandy making process, he also needed a name for his future product. During a visit to Seville, he turned to a Spanish friend for advice, mentioning his admiration for Fundador. He thought about it overnight and suggested Conquistador, which means ‘conqueror’ in Spanish, says Andrew. Given that the Philippines had been conquered by Spain a few centuries earlier, I gently replied that this might not go down too well back home. He went away and returned with the name Emperador, meaning ‘emperor.’ I really liked it and so that’s what we settled on.

It took several years to bring Emperador to fruition. In 1990, though, Filipinos took their initial sips of their nation’s first locally produced brandy. And they quickly developed a liking for it. So much did the spirit shape the fortunes of Andrew’s company that he subsequently decided to rename the whole organization – then called Consolidated Distillers of the Far East – as Emperador Inc. Just over two decades later, the eponymous liquor was selling more than 400 million bottles a year across Asia. However, the imperial thirst for expansion was not nearly quenched.

Emperador’s Asian growth – driven partly by the rapid rise of the region’s middle class – contrasted with the experience of many European distillers at the time. While dark spirits such as brandy were still in demand, increasing sales were hard to come by. Andrew, however, saw opportunity. In 2013, he went to Spain to acquire the San Bruno bodega and vineyards in Jerez. Two years later, he returned to complete the purchase of a further selection of household name sherries and brandies, including Fundador. That acquisition was a real milestone for a Filipino company, says Andrew’s son Kevin. Fundador had inspired us from the very beginning. Not only had Emperador gone on to outsell that brand, here we were actually buying Fundador ourselves, along with its incredible heritage that went back over a century before ours. I think that deal really helped to put the Philippines on the map as a global investor.

Raising the Filipino flag: Acquisition & diversification

Besides brandy, aspirational Asian consumers were showing an increasing appetite for whisky. They had long enjoyed the locally produced varieties, such as that which Andrew had started out distilling many years before. But with their fast increasing disposable incomes, they were turning to more expensive imported varieties, especially from Scotland, the birthplace of whisky. When the historic Whyte & Mackay brand came up for sale in 2014, Emperador Inc. stepped forward.

 
 
It is a really satisfying feeling when we raise the Filipino flag on all our overseas ventures.
 
For me, Whyte & Mackay was simply a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, says Andrew Tan. Some of the whisky in their warehouses has been maturing for sixty years. Clearly, that is not something you can replicate easily. The brands that accompanied it included Tamnavulin and Dalmore. Dalmore’s history goes back seven hundred years, and the rarest bottles have sold at auction for around £270,000 ($373,000) each. I would have to say the acquisition of Whyte & Mackay was one of the proudest moments of my career. Whisky is a drink that’s been growing pretty much every year here in Asia, says Kevin. We decided to buy the Whyte & Mackay business because we felt we could really expand our footprint in our region. And we have indeed been very pleased with the subsequent growth. People are eager to learn how to appreciate a good whisky, especially the younger generations in Asia. Enabling this development has been great.

The Tans’ diversification has gone far beyond liquor, though. The parent company that includes Emperador is one of the Philippines’ biggest conglomerates. Its operations include quick-service restaurants, real estate, integrated tourism and infrastructure. More than half of the organization’s revenues come from these other businesses. However, it is Emperador that puts the global into Alliance Global, with its distribution network of more than a hundred countries worldwide. It is a really satisfying feeling when we raise the Filipino flag on all our overseas ventures, says Andrew. But then again, so is knowing that five million people in our homeland are enjoying our brandies every day – and many millions more around the world. For us, it all boils down to one basic principle: doing our best to make our customers happy.

 
 
My beginnings were extremely humble.
 

Dr. Andrew Tan: My life

I was born in Fujian province in Southern China. My beginnings were extremely humble. When I was still a young boy, the family moved to Hong Kong, where we shared a tenement apartment with only one bathroom with four other families. Even the corridors of the apartment block had been let out as accommodation. We then relocated to Manila when I was a teenager.

On my way to school every day, I remember taking in all the shops as I went: grocery stores, hardware outlets and ‘soda fountains,’ as I called the cafés. When I discovered that some of these thriving small businesses belonged to the families of classmates, I was really impressed. I told myself that after I finished my education, I would open a grocery store. Although that never happened, the dream of being an entrepreneur stayed with me. My father placed huge importance on education. He had not been able to have proper schooling himself because his family had needed him to go out to work. So he was always determined that I would be able to finish my studies and have a better life than he had had. To pay my way through university, I worked as a private tutor. I tried to save money however I could, walking for miles every day to avoid having to pay bus fares.

Sharing my blessings

Education is critical to society. It is probably the greatest equalizer of all. With the right education, a child from a poor family gets a big chance to transform their life. I know this better than almost anyone, given my own history. So I very much feel that it is my privilege now to be able to help others who find themselves in the same situation that I did, economically disadvantaged but academically promising.

Under the auspices of our company, we created the Megaworld Foundation. Every year, its flagship scholarship program assists a thousand deserving students to get access to good education from elementary to college level. In partnership with around 50 reputable schools in Metro Manila and the surrounding provinces, we pay students’ tuition fees and other allowances. When our scholars graduate from university, we offer them opportunities to join our companies.

The scholarship program is only one aspect of our foundation’s work. We also build and renovate schools, run literacy programs in some of the poorest rural areas, and provide school boats, which help children who previously had to wade or swim across rivers to get to school. We feed malnourished children, deliver disaster relief and plant trees. The foundation partners with many other organizations to accomplish what we do. Life has given me many blessings and I love to share them with others. Uplifting the lives of other Filipinos is a wonderful thing to be able to do. I will always go the extra mile when it comes to building a brighter future for the nation’s youth and empowering the marginalized.

 
 
Taking over from my father as CEO of Alliance Global was a great honor but also an enormous responsibility.
 

Kevin Tan: Global citizen

I was born the year after my father started our company. I always took an interest in the business as I was growing up. I’d accompany him on visits to the distillery as a child. In my teens, I spent a few of my summer vacations doing work experience there, which was a brilliant way of learning about the business. It was also great having a front-row seat as my father diversified from liquor into real estate and then into other areas.

After I graduated from college, my first job within our company was selling condominium units. Through this role, I encountered many kinds of people and really got to understand the ins and outs of our activities. Subsequently, I was tasked with establishing our mall business. This was a really steep learning curve, but I discovered my passion for property development and innovation in the process. Watching a major property go from concept to reality is something I find incredibly fulfilling.

 
 
Sustainability is critical to our organization.
 

Taking over from my father as CEO of Alliance Global was a great honor but also an enormous responsibility. Our family has never believed that working for or leading the family business is a birthright. As children, we were always told that education, skills and experience were prerequisites, but also a genuine passion for the company and what it does. We took this on board and set our expectations accordingly.

Sustainability is critical to our organization. At Emperador, for example, we use the biogas waste generated during the distillation process to create electricity. This helps to meet around one third of our distillery operations’ power needs. The Philippines is suffering the effects of climate change with increasing frequency, including more violent typhoons and other extreme weather events. Alliance Global has therefore set a goal of becoming carbon neutral by 2035. We’ve also got a target of helping to create five million jobs – directly and indirectly – by the same date.

The COVID pandemic has been a real wakeup call for humanity. It has made everyone realize our vulnerability and the need to work more closely together for the common good. For me, global citizenship is about upholding certain values that are intrinsic to our wellbeing. These include integrity, diversity, sustainability and unity. If we regard ourselves as global citizens, we will not only conquer the pandemic together but also create a better world thereafter.

Comprehensive services for your wealth

We customize our offering to help you protect and grow your wealth.