投资策略
2021年9月15日

2021年家族办公室调查报告

2021年9月15日
花旗私人资本业务团队
概要

私人银行2021年家族办公室领导力计划于2021年6月7日至10日实施,2021年家族办公室调查正是其中一个组成部分。虽然该计划是在上述一周内实施,但调查进行线上问答的时间更长,从2021年5月25日延续至6月12日。


调查报告亮点

调查涉及20多个问题,在全球新冠疫情导致宏观经济困境及后续的复苏之后,我们希望藉此机会以匿名调查的方式了解客户的投资情绪及投资组合动态。本次调查收集了来自近200名参与者的回复。在上述受访者人数中,约80%拥有家族办公室,其余则是没有家族办公室的超高净值人士。

从地域来看,在拥有家族办公室的主要受访者群体中,来自北美的调查回复占整个样本池的42%。而来自欧洲、中东和非洲的受访者在样本池中的占比为22%,其次是拉丁美洲占21%,亚太地区占15%。

 

我们询问受访者的问题包括他们对全球经济和金融市场的前景展望,以及他们在投资组合方面正在采取哪些行动。

 
 
 

整体而言,受访者的这种多元化地域分布使得调查结果更有价值,因为这与私人银行的整个全球客户群体相对应。我们的受访者总共来自100多个不同的国家/地区。

通过覆盖广泛的调查问卷,我们询问受访者对全球经济和金融市场前景的看法,以及他们在所管理的投资组合上正在采取哪些举措,包括面临的机遇和风险,以及他们预计将采取的行动。收到的答复非常耐人寻味。

 

近30%的受访者表示他们最担心的是通胀。对可持续投资的兴趣渐浓但仍低于预期,而对加密货币的态度则是兴趣和怀疑并存。

 
 
 

在对回复进行仔细审读后,我们发现有四大主题值得关注:

  • 日益加剧的通胀在受访者未来12个月的担忧事项中名列榜首,其中近30%表示他们在当前的环境中最担心通胀。
  • 在低收益率环境下大量持有现金同样是一个关注点,其中32%拥有家族办公室的受访者持有超过20%的现金和高流动性资产。
  • 投资组合对直接私募投资机会的配置不断增长,其中44%的家族办公室的配置比例超过其投资组合的25%。
  • 投资组合价值在具有高度不确定性的时期按年同比显著回升,超过一半受访者报告的回升幅度超过10%,而去年实现相同升幅的只有3%,相去甚远。

我们整理出的其他值得关注的调查结果还包括:

  • 受访者对可持续投资,以及使投资组合符合环境、社会和治理(ESG)原则的兴趣不断增强,但仍低于预期
  • 不出所料,对加密货币资产的态度则是兴趣和高度怀疑并存

花旗私人资本团队董事长Stephen Campbell及全球主管James Holder对调查结果进行了详细解读。与此同时,调查还随附由我们的首席投资官David Bailin及首席投资策略师Steven Wieting提供的分析和评述。

我们希望今年的调查报告能够给您带来启发和见解。一如既往,我们随时欢迎您提供宝贵意见。

展望

2022年中展望

2022年呈现在人们眼前的情形是世界秩序重新洗牌以及市场繁荣环境趋近尾声。尽管存在诸多不确定性,但我们仍然有诸多理由开展充分而明智的投资。我们的年中展望为全球投资者提供了一个重要的指引。

了解更多
联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

Alert iconWarning: Unsupported web browser

In View no longer supports your current web browser version, which means some functionality may be limited. Please update your browser for the best experience before you log in.

close icon
Citi Private Bank logo

Unsupported browser

Our website no longer supports your current web browser version, which means you are no longer able to access this website. Please update your browser to continue.

Continue
Investment strategy
September 21, 2021
3 mins

Family Office Survey 2021

September 21, 2021
3 mins
Citi Private Capital Group
SUMMARY

The Family Office Survey 2021 was conducted as part of the Private Bank’s 2021 Family Office Leadership Program, held from 7 to 10 June 2021. While the program ran during the said week, polling for the survey was conducted online over a longer period from 25 May to 12 June 2021.


Survey highlights

The survey included over 20 questions aimed at gauging investment sentiment and portfolio actions of clients anonymously in the wake of macroeconomic headwinds created by the COVID-19 global pandemic and the subsequent recovery. It drew responses from nearly 200 participants. Of the stated number of respondents, around 80% were those with family offices while the remaining were ultra-high net worth individuals who do not have a family office.

Geographically speaking, of the majority of family office respondents, the survey responses from North America accounted for 42% of the total sample pool. The percentage of respondents from Europe, Middle East and Africa came in at 22% of the sample pool, followed by Latin America with 21% and Asia Pacific with 15%.

 

We asked respondents about their outlook for the global economy and financial markets, as well as what they are doing with their portfolios.

 
 
 
Holistically speaking, the findings have been lent further weight by this diverse geographical spread of respondents that resonates with the Private Bank’s overall global client base. In total, the respondents hailed from over 100 different countries.

Via our wide-ranging survey questionnaire, we asked the respondents about their outlook for the global economy and financial markets, as well as what they are doing with the portfolios that they oversee, the opportunities and risks ahead, and the actions they expect to take. The responses we received make for fascinating reading.
 

Nearly 30% indicated inflation as their utmost concern. There was gradual but less than expected interest in sustainable investing and a mix of interest and skepticism in crypto.

 
 
 
We find four predominant themes worth mentioning following a close review of the responses:
  • Concern on rising Inflation topped the list of respondents’ worries over the next 12 months, with nearly 30% indicating that to be their utmost concern in the current climate.
  • High cash levels in the face of a low-yield environment were also noted, with 32% of family office respondents holding over 20% in cash and highly liquid assets.
  • Continued growth in portfolio allocation to direct private investment opportunities was observed with 44% of family offices allocating over 25% of their portfolio.
  • A remarkable comeback in portfolio values year over year in a period of high degree of uncertainty with over half reporting an increase greater than 10% a far cry from last year where only 3% reported similar gains.

Other notable observations made by us also include:

  • Gradual but less than expected interest in sustainable investing and portfolio alignment with ESG or ‘Environmental, Social and Governance’ principles
  • An expected mix of interest coupled a high degree of skepticism in crypto assets

The findings have been elaborated upon by Stephen Campbell, Chairman, and James Holder, Global Head, of Citi Private Capital Group. Their observations are accompanied by analysis and commentary from our Chief Investment Officer David Bailin and Chief Investment Strategist Steven Wieting.

We hope this year’s survey report proves to be an insightful read. As ever, we welcome your feedback.

FAMILY OFFICE

Family office advisory

We advise family offices of every size and structure and throughout the world. Whether you have or run a family office – or are thinking of establishing one – Citi Private Capital Group’s dedicated specialists can guide you at every step.

Find out more

Contact us

To help us put you in touch with the right advisor or team, please answer the following questions.