寻求最可预见的回报来源

seeking-most-predictable-returns

概览

花旗全球财富投资的全球投资委员会在2023年3月1日决定维持其资产配置不变:全球固定收益+2%,全球股票-1%,而现金维持1%的低配。


我们继续看好具有最可预见回报来源的资产:美国投资级债券息票支付(特别是美国国债)和最具持续成长性的股票股息。

全球市场在1月份强势飙升,这得益于通胀放缓,以及空头回补反弹提振了未能盈利公司和信贷市场上较差资质借款人(CCC评级债券)的市值。随后,强劲的1月份经济数据出炉后,出于对通胀仅会缓慢下降的合理担忧,市场对加息的忧虑重燃。

我们认为,美国1月份的经济数据极具误导性,它们反映的是一年中最极端的季节性波动期间对季节性变动的艰难调整。尽管如此,我们认为当前经济环境并不能够支撑经济已经“摆脱危险”的论断。通胀放缓可能会以经济增长停滞为代价。

美国1月份就业和零售销售数据强劲增长——这可能表明疲弱程度较此前两个月有所下降。然而,2022年零售、批发业务和住房库存急剧上升,预示2023年劳动力需求将降低。

2022年最后一个季度的企业利润低于我们的预期,这表明我们对2023年标准普尔500指数每股盈利下降约10%的估计并不过分悲观。在继续下调预期的同时,行业分析师预测2023年第二季度每股盈利将出现难以置信的大幅反弹,此外他们还预测,到2023年第四季度,美国每股盈利将创历史新高。就目前而言,此预测似乎尚未有充分依据。由于我们预计春季季度周期性活动将随着企业减产而下降,每股盈利预期可能会在年中合理化下调。

如果未来几个月经济敏感型股票回调走低,我们将考虑增加配置。但就目前而言,我们看好美国固定收益和高质量股息股带来的强劲而稳定的收入机会。美国之外的市场由于估值偏低,在货币兑美元升值的情况下应当尤其能够提供更高的回报。然而,这可能要在比我们12-18个月的战术回报窗口期更长的时间内才能实现。

固定收益市场方面,我们预计10年期美国国债收益率在2023年年底将达到3.0%。然而,长期债券波动性较大,作为回报来源,对债券价格上涨的预测远不如息票支付那样确定。两年期美国国债收益率为4.7%,收益更高且波动性也小得多。

鉴于美联储迅速收紧政策,短期收益率近几个月来大幅上升,我们因此在投资组合中扩大了短期债券超配头寸。然而,短期债券的高收益率未必能够持续。美联储预计其长期政策利率平均线为2.5%,而本月晚些时候利率可能会达到5.0%。规避超低收益率债券(如日本政府债券)和极低质量的信用债使我们有能力大量超配不同到期日的高收益和高质量的固定收益资产。

总体而言,在2022年债券和股票出现两位数亏损后,我们对股票和固定收益的长期战略收益预期有所增加。即使市场依然在经受过度宏观经济刺激和紧缩的后效应影响,我们依旧强烈建议投资者不要放弃多元化的投资组合方法。创新推动经济增长,随着时间的推移,创新带来的价值甚至将远远超过预知市场先机的价值(请参阅我们的展望了解此方面的讨论)。

is-the-rapid-rise-of-esg-sustainable

展望

2024年财富展望

以下是我们对未来一年的全球经济展望。

经济增长将于2024年年初有所放缓,但我们认为并不会出现许多人所担心的全球经济同步崩溃的情况。 

联系我们

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的私人银行顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

您是私人银行现有客户吗?

您是私人银行现有客户吗?

请填写表格,以便我们与您联系。

我同意花旗私人银行可使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话和电子邮箱地址)与我联系,向我发送关于花旗私人银行财富管理产品及服务的市场推广信息。我了解我的个人信息将按照本人所在地的相关隐私声明加以使用。我亦了解我可以发送邮件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人银行不再通过电话向本人推介上述市场推广信息;或随时更改电子邮件偏好中心的设置,拒绝花旗私人银行通过电子邮件向本人推送该等信息。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

最符合您情况的描述是?

我想讨论的一项投资是关于

我想讨论的一项投资是关于

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,

我们服务的最低投资要求是500万美金

基于您提供的信息,我们相信Citigold的服务或许更加适合您的需求。

如需了解更多信息: 请访问Citigold

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,

我们服务的最低投资要求是500万美金

基于您提供的信息,我们相信Citigold的服务或许更加适合您的需求。

如需了解更多信息: 请访问Citigold Private Client

我关注的领域

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

职务与公司

职务与公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我们通过哪种方式与您联系?

您希望我们通过哪种方式与您联系?

请输入您的联系方式

请输入您的联系方式

您是从哪里得知花旗私人银行?

还有其他评论吗?

我同意花旗私人银行可使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话和电子邮箱地址)与我联系,向我发送关于花旗私人银行财富管理产品及服务的市场推广信息。我了解我的个人信息将按照本人所在地的相关隐私声明加以使用。我亦了解我可以发送邮件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人银行不再通过电话向本人推介上述市场推广信息;或随时更改电子邮件偏好中心的设置,拒绝花旗私人银行通过电子邮件向本人推送该等信息。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

您是从哪里得知花旗私人银行?

还有其他评论吗?

我同意花旗私人银行可使用我的个人信息(姓名、电话和电子邮箱地址)与我联系,向我发送关于花旗私人银行财富管理产品及服务的市场推广信息。我了解我的个人信息将按照本人所在地的相关隐私声明加以使用。我亦了解我可以发送邮件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人银行不再通过电话向本人推介上述市场推广信息;或随时更改电子邮件偏好中心的设置,拒绝花旗私人银行通过电子邮件向本人推送该等信息。

请同意条款和条件以便继续

感谢您关注花旗私人银行,我们的团队成员会尽快与您联系。

Seeking the most predictable source of returns

SUMMARY

The Citi Global Wealth Investments’ Global Investment Committee (GIC) left its asset allocation unchanged on March 1, 2023, with global Fixed Income +2% and Global Equities to -1%, while cash remains 1% underweight.


We continue to favor assets with the most predictable source of returns, US investment grade coupon payments (especially US Treasuries) and dividends from the most consistent growers.

Global markets surged in January as inflation eased and a short covering rally boosted the value of unprofitable firms and weak borrowers in credit markets (CCC-rated issues). Subsequently, strong January economic data reignited interest rate fears on legitimate concerns that inflation will only decelerate slowly.

We believe January economic data for the US are highly misleading, reflecting difficult adjustments for seasonal variation during the most extreme seasonal swings of the year. Nonetheless, we don’t believe the economic environment justifies “all clear views” for the economy. Reduced inflation will likely come at the price of stalled economic growth.

US jobs and retail sales data showed dramatic strength in January – likely signaling less weakness than reported during the prior two months. However, the sharp rise in inventories in 2022 – across retail, wholesale business and housing – points to reduced labor demand in the year ahead.

Corporate profits have fallen below our estimates in the final quarter of 2022, suggesting that our estimate for a roughly 10% EPS decline for the S&P 500 in 2023 is not excessively pessimistic. While continuing to cut estimates, industry analysts forecast an implausibly large EPS rebound during the second quarter of 2023. Their estimates also show a new record high for US EPS by 4Q 2023. This appears far too premature. As we expect declines in cyclical activity in the spring quarter as firms slash production, EPS estimates seem likely to be rationalized lower by midyear.

If economically sensitive equities correct lower in coming months, we would consider raising our allocation. For now, however, we favor strong and stable income opportunities in US fixed income and high quality dividend-oriented equities. Non-US markets in particular are more cheaply valued and should provide stronger returns as currencies appreciate against the US dollar. However, this could be realized in a period longer than our 12-18 month tactical return window.

In fixed income markets, we expect 10-year US Treasury yields to reach 3.0% at year-end 2023. However, longer-duration bonds are volatile and forecasts for bond price appreciation are not nearly as certain a source of return as coupon payments. Two-year US Treasury yields of 4.7% are higher and far less volatile.

With shorter-term yields rising most sharply in recent months as the Fed tightened rapidly, we have added larger overweight positions in short-term bonds within portfolios. However, these high short-term rates are likely unsustainable. The Fed expects its long-term policy rate to average 2.5%, with the rate likely reaching 5.0% later this month. Avoiding ultra-low yields such as Japan government bonds and very low quality credit has given us the capacity to hold large overweights in high-yielding, high-quality fixed income across maturities.

Overall, our long-term strategic return estimates in both equities and fixed income have increased following the double-digit losses in both bonds and stocks in 2022. Even as markets still suffer from the after-effects of excessive macroeconomic stimulus and restraint, we urge investors to avoid abandoning a diversified portfolio approach. Innovation drives economic growth, and over time far exceeds the value of even prescient market timing (see our Outlook for 2023 for discussion).

OUTLOOK

Wealth Outlook 2024

Our global economic outlook for the year ahead

 

Growth will slow in early 2024, but we see no synchronized collapse across the global economy, as many fear. 

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.