電池技術的不斷發展將促進電動汽車的新一波推廣應用

概要

對有志於推動電動汽車成為汽車市場主流的創新者而言,提升安全性、可負擔性、續航里程和充電性能仍將是其關注的重點。正極技術的進步能否成為解決之道?


電池技術的創新歷來是推動電動汽車革命的關鍵所在。僅僅經過十年的發展,該技術便使電動汽車單次充電的平均續航里程從100英里提高到250英里。

這一行業背後的發展動能顯而易見。十年前,還只有寥寥幾家電車企業進行商業宣傳,而現今,各大汽車製造商都在競相爭奪潛在的電動汽車客戶。地域方面,中國在2022年以30%的估計市場滲透率居於榜首。其後是歐洲和美國,滲透率分別為15%和10%。

能量密度的增加能夠延長續航里程,而電池成本下降可提高消費者的負擔能力,這兩方面的需求持續推動著相關創新。Citi Global Insights最近發布的一份報告指出,電動汽車的發展與電池息息相關,因此電池領域的持續改進對於電動汽車成為汽車市場的主流至關重要。

要掌握產業所需,需要簡單了解電池的基本化學原理。電池由三個部分組成——負極(或正電極)、正極(或負電極)和電解質,而電解質是連接正負極並維持正負極之間離子流動(並完成發電和充電過程)的液體。

創新者和投資者歷來廣泛關注與鋰離子電池相關的電池設計以及負極材料改進。而且負極化學組成在短期內仍將十分重要,特別是在原料價格出現空前波動的情況下。

然而,該報告指出,電池的下一個前沿領域可能在於電池正極材料的進步,即透過開發高性能合成材料,替代目前使用的石墨材料。這一領域的進步可能會對電池的充電速度、容量及最終使用壽命產生積極影響。

與之相輔相成的,是「固態電池系統」的發展。說得通俗一點,即用固體電解質取代電池中的液體電解質。根據電池化學理論,相比液態系統,固態系統的電池空間浪費為零,或者可忽略不計,並且理論上可提供無限的能量密度。

報告還補充道,如果能夠實現從(目前使用的)石墨材料轉換為高性能合成石墨,再到高含量矽,最終到鋰金屬的重大轉變,並以此推動電池向固態系統邁進,那麼電動汽車便可能實現「500瓦時/公斤的能量密度,從而可能達到500英里以上的續航里程」。

這將使電動汽車能夠更好地與現今的內燃機汽車競爭,許多內燃機汽車在加滿油時能行駛450英里。然而,目前這種電池在實驗室外的應用似乎很昂貴。此外,「樹突」或在固體電解質中隨著時間形成的龜裂會引起固態電池短路,在這一問題上目前也缺乏進展。

這些技術商業化道路上的障礙頗具挑戰性。「但能夠擴大現有製造技術規模和實現成本平價的公司將成為贏家」,該報告指出。這些公司可能需要支持者富於耐心的投資,花旗全球財富投資在《2023年財富展望》中稱此類投資者為「不可阻擋的構建綠色世界趨勢」的擁護者。

當然,對電動汽車發展前景的展望也帶來了另一個重要問題——是否有其他材料可打破鋰作為業界首選的遠程電池化學元素的地位?答案有些複雜,因為許多新一代電池(如固態系統電池)將來可能會使用更多的鋰。

報告指出,混合了磷酸鋰鐵(LFP)電池和鈉離子電池的組合電池可以提升快速充電能力並提供低溫性能。然而,這可能會以進一步降低系統能量密度為代價,這樣的代價可能令汽車製造商難以接受。

其他變革性技術,例如鋰空氣電池、鋰硫電池、多價電池,可能需要幾十年才能實現創新。因此,中期來看,打破鋰的首選電池元素地位似乎不太可能。

然而,未來電池安全性的提升可能帶來長遠變化。鋰離子電池因使用易燃的液體電解質,往往容易發生熱失控。這會引致電池發生嚴重故障,並引發難以撲滅的火災。雖然此類事件鮮少發生,但仍會威脅到乘客的安全。

迄今為止,電池製造商一直力求透過隔離膜技術、防碰撞和防火電池外殼等方式提升安全性,並已取得了相當大的成功。然而,焦點正逐漸轉到易燃的液體電解質本身。有商家已經開始使用專有的不易燃或阻燃電解質,並採用可抑制電池短路的主要成因——「樹突」形成的隔離膜。

簡而言之,對於致力促進電動汽車長遠普及的創新者和投資者來說,安全性、可負擔性、續航里程和快速充電性能的提升將繼續成為關注的重點。不過,這兩類電車擁護者都應注意,這四個方面的重大進步歸根究底將取決於供電的電池。

展望

2023年財富展望

2023年市況的發展將推動經濟在2024年復甦。因此,我們預計,對於以市場先例情況爲指引的投資者而言,2023年將最終爲其帶來一系列意義重大的機會。閱讀我們的復甦之路:“由危轉機”時的投資組合。

聯繫我們

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的私人銀行顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

請填寫表格,以便我們與您聯繫。

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款與條件以便繼續

最符合您情況的描述是?

我想討論的一項投資是關於

我想討論的一項投資是關於

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold Private Client

我關注的領域

Aircraft Finance
藝術品諮詢和融資
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

職務與公司

職務與公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

請輸入您的聯繫方式

請輸入您的聯繫方式

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,我們的團隊成員會盡快與您聯繫。

Evolving battery technology will drive the next wave of electric vehicle adoption

EV revolution to be boosted by improving battery power

SUMMARY

Better safety, affordability, range and charging times will remain the focus of innovators hoping to make electric vehicles go mainstream. Could advanced anode technology be the answer?


Innovation in battery technology has been a key driver of the electric vehicle (EV) revolution. A mere decade’s worth of progress has taken EVs from a range of a 100 miles to an average of 250 miles on a single battery charge.

The momentum behind the industry is palpable. Those looking to buy EVs now have every major automaker vying for their custom compared to a handful of hopefuls making their business pitches a decade ago. Geographically, China leads the way with an estimated 30% market penetration rate for 2022. Europe and the US follow with 15% and 10% penetration rates respectively.

The twin demands for increased energy density enabling longer journeys, and lower battery cell costs leading to an improvement in consumer affordability, continue to fuel the latest innovations. But the link of battery power with progress makes continual advancements on this front crucial for making EVs go mainstream, notes a recent report published by Citi Global Insights.

Grasping what’s needed demands a short lesson in the rudiments of battery chemistry. A battery comprises three things – a cathode (or positive electrode), an anode (or negative electrode), and electrolyte – the liquid that maintains the flow of ions between the cathode and anode connecting the two (and completing the power generation and charging circuit).

Innovators and investors have been focusing broadly on improvements in cell design and cathode materials using Lithium-ion batteries. And cathode chemistry will remain important near-term, especially as raw material prices experience unprecedented volatility.

However, the report suggests the next frontier for batteries will likely be in the advanced anodes of a battery via the development of high-performance synthetic materials versus the graphite materials currently in use. Progress here could positively impact a battery’s charging speed, capacity and ultimately its life cycle.

A related move involves the development of “solid-state battery systems.” In layman’s terms, that’s simply replacing the liquid electrolyte in a battery with a solid. According to battery chemistry theories, such a system has zero to negligible wasted battery space compared to its liquid counterpart, and can hypothetically provide infinite energy density.

Should a meaningful shift - from graphite materials (currently in use) to high-performance synthetic graphite to high-content silicon to eventually lithium metal - take batteries closer to a solid-state system, EVs may have “energy densities of 500 Wh/kg, likely enabling vehicle ranges over 500 miles,” the report adds.

EVs could then compete better with the internal combustion engine (ICE) vehicles of today many of which are capable of running 450 miles on a tank full of petrol. However, at present, such a battery appears expensive to replicate beyond the laboratory. There is also a lack of progress on solid-state battery short-circuits caused by dendrites, or small cracks in the solid electrolyte that form over time.

Such obstacles on the road to commercialization for these technologies are challenging. “But companies that can scale-up with existing manufacturing techniques and achieve cost parity would be the winners,” the report notes. They would potentially require patient investment from backers supportive of what Citi Global Wealth Investments described in its 2023 Wealth Outlook as an Unstoppable Trend of Greening the World.

Of course, envisioning progress in electric mobility also raises another important question – can anything disrupt Lithium as the industry’s preferred chemical element for long-range batteries? The answer is a complex one since many next generation batteries, e.g., solid-state systems, will likely use even more lithium in the future.

Combination batteries blending Lithium Ferro Phosphate (LFP) and Na-ion batteries may improve fast charging and provide low temperature performance, according to the report. However, this may come at the cost of reduction in system energy density even further – a compromise that may be hard for auto manufacturers to stomach.

Other transformative technologies – for e.g., Lithium-air, Lithium-sulfur, multi-valent batteries – will likely take several decades of innovation. Therefore, a medium-term dethroning of Lithium as a preferred battery element appears unlikely.

However, future battery safety enhancements could bring long-term changes. For context, due to the use of flammable liquid electrolyte, Lithium-ion batteries are prone to thermal runaway. It leads to batteries failing catastrophically and creating fires that are difficult to extinguish. Such events, though rare, threaten passenger safety.

To date, battery makers have focused on safety enhancements based on separator technology, impact resistant and fire suppressing battery housings with considerable success. But focus is gradually turning to the flammable liquid electrolyte. Some have begun working with proprietary non-flammable or self-extinguishing electrolytes and interfaces that suppress dendrite formation, one of the leading causes of a battery short circuit.

Overall, better safety, affordability, range and fast charging will continue to be the focus of innovators and investors looking to encourage long-term EV adoption. But both sets of enthusiasts should note that much of the progress on these four fronts will come down to the battery powering it.

OUTLOOK

Wealth Outlook 2024

Our global economic outlook for the year ahead

 

Growth will slow in early 2024, but we see no synchronized collapse across the global economy, as many fear. 

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.