2022年亚洲市场展望——亚洲崛起

David Bailin
全球投资主管兼首席投资官
Ligang Liu
亚洲经济分析主管
Ken Peng
亚洲投资策略主管

俄乌冲突进一步展现出美国和中国之间的分歧。我们认为,两国战略竞争加剧将带来潜在投资机会。

要点

尽管言语交锋激烈,但我们认为2022年中美关系仍将保持稳定

在亚洲崛起的背景下,中美两个超级大国之间愈演愈烈的紧张关系将使东南亚经济体和市场受益

随着2022年晚些时候中国经济复苏,低迷的中国金融市场将出现反弹

我们发现最具吸引力的领域是与经济重启、绿色能源和科技关联更为广泛的领域

在整个东南亚,我们看好与旅游业、自然资源和从中国转移出去的行业有关的投资

2022年,中美两个世界经济超级大国之间的紧张关系加剧。俄乌冲突凸显出中美两国在地缘政治和意识形态方面的分歧。双方都发出强硬措辞和制裁威胁,中国国家主席习近平表示,各国在乌克兰冲突中的结盟问题上的僵局可能比战争本身对世界和平的损害更大。

中美在乌克兰问题上的分歧只是两国较量的最新动态。中国寻求成为亚洲乃至更大地区的主导力量。我们把这种对美国霸权的挑战所导致的僵局称为“G2双强分道扬镳”。这场较量在许多不同的领域进行,包括贸易、金融市场、技术、军事能力和外交影响力。

我们长期以来一直认为,这种竞争将继续加剧,竞争双方都试图在努力提升各自利益,并为对方设置障碍——参阅《2019年中期展望》中“您的投资组合是否已做好迎接两极化世界的准备?(英文)”一文。而且我们仍然认为,它对全球经济和投资者的投资组合有着重大影响。

关于中美关系需要了解的方面

中美目前的言辞针锋相对。4月底,美国众议院通过了AXIS(评估习近平的干预和破坏)法案。该法案要求美国国务院向国会提供关于中国在乌克兰问题上对俄罗斯提供支持的最新情况。作为对美国加强与东南亚国家关系的回应,中国警告美国不要挑起争端。

尽管中美关系紧张,但我们预计近期内美国和中国的关系将维持稳定而不会产生冲突。我们认为中国不会因继续与俄罗斯开展贸易而受到制裁,至少在通胀回落之前如此。面对供应冲击和物价迅速上涨,对美国等国家而言,避免贸易关系进一步中断非常关键。就中国而言,中国意识到自己的经济利益与西方的联系远大于与俄罗斯的联系,因此中国在俄乌冲突中为俄罗斯提供援助的可能性有限。

同样,我们也不认为美国与中国的关系将在短期内有任何重大改善。中美在多个问题上可能取得进展,包括减少关税和放宽中国进入美国资本市场的限制。对美国消费者和投资者来说,降低中国进口商品的关税都是受欢迎的。然而,这也可能成为执政的民主党在11月选举中的政治负担。虽然仍有协议有待达成,但这可能不得不等到2022年之后。

显然,台湾问题仍是中美两国之间潜在的问题爆发点。习近平表示,“必须实现”两岸统一,如果台湾一意孤行,中国不排除使用武力。然而,看到俄罗斯在乌克兰遇到的阻力和大规模国际制裁的反弹,中国政府可能会三思而后行。

目前,中国忙于应对新冠疫情、封锁带来的经济困难和即将召开的中国共产党第二十次全国代表大会。有鉴于此,近期不太可能发生任何关于台湾问题的冲突。

总而言之,俄乌冲突确已加速了中美两国的分道扬镳。但我们同时也认为,这种日益加剧的竞争并不意味着中美间的全面冲突全然不可避免。我们的基本预测情境仍然是,激烈但和平的战略竞争仍然是最有可能的走向。

中国股市或将大幅上行

“G2双强分道扬镳”与我们所描述的亚洲崛起这一不可阻挡的趋势密切相关。亚洲崛起是指全球经济力量从西方向东方的长期转移,这是由该地区的城市化、中产阶级的增长和本土技术的进步推动的。作为该地区最大的经济体,中国是这一趋势的核心。

中国的目标是让国内消费成为未来几十年经济增长的主要引擎,而不是迄今为止依赖的外部需求。新冠疫情和中国政府实施的严格封锁阻碍了这一转变。我们认为中国市场的消费潜力巨大,但释放这一潜力的前提是经济的进一步增长以及对三个主要领域进行艰难的政策改革,尽管每个领域都已取得了参差不齐的进展。

  • 扩大和深化全民医疗保险,以及对养老金制度的彻底改革,这样家庭就可以减少预防性储蓄,增加支出——见图1
  • 农村土地改革,为金融交易和农业生产力增加创造条件,也可以使农村人口更加富裕,带来更多的消费。但我们看到,在全国范围内扩大目前试点项目的政治意愿有限。
  • 中国金融市场进一步对外开放,可能有助于产生创新的金融产品,这些产品可能有助于释放原本投资于房地产的大量财富,并能使更多人有底气超前消费。
 
图1.高储蓄率=潜在消费
 
图表显示家庭净储蓄占家庭可支配净收入的百分比。资料来源:Haver Analytics,截至2021年5月。
 

从短期来看,中国严厉的疫情防控措施可能会导致2022年第二季度经济收缩。为了抵消这一影响,政府正在采取宽松措施,信贷增长和财政刺激已经超过2020年的水平。我们认为,在2022年下半年,放松疫情封锁措施和额外刺激可能会带来强劲反弹。这一前景可能会推动中国股市复苏,而目前中国股市估值低迷——见图2

 
图2.信贷增长可能导致股票估值复苏
 
资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月17日。过往业绩并非未来回报的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。所示数据仅作说明之用。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。
 

2022年东南亚经济展望

中国的严格封锁强化了我们的“G2双强分道扬镳”论题的另一个维度。我们认为中美两极化将使东南亚经济体受益。随着许多发达国家将其供应链从中国分散出去,东南亚经济体将赢得更多业务。与此同时,我们看到东南亚国家与中国的业务往来也在增多。

在中国封锁期间,工厂关闭和运输限制凸显了对中国的严重依赖可能导致的供应链脆弱性,尤其是在中国政策可预测性降低的情况下。比如,为减轻与中国有关的风险,领先科技公司和电动汽车制造商的一些零部件供应商正扩大在东南亚和印度的产能。

与中国不同,东南亚经济从疫情中的复苏正在稳步推进。由于对旅游业的依赖,东南亚放松了对外国游客的限制,因此该地区服务业也可能进一步复苏。菲律宾和泰国是最早重启边境的国家,其次是新加坡、越南、印度尼西亚和马来西亚。尽管游客数量从接近零的水平反弹,但仍低于2019年水平的10%,进一步复苏潜力巨大。

最后,印度尼西亚和马来西亚等主要大宗商品出口国受益于俄乌冲突导致的大宗商品价格上涨。印度尼西亚拥有世界上最大的镍储量,镍是电动汽车电池的关键材料,并正在吸引领先电池制造商的投资。

与新冠疫情之前的水平相比,制造业出口飙升了60%以上。与此同时,马来西亚是亚洲主要的石油出口国,而新加坡是主要的炼油国。

中国长期前景面临的挑战日益增多

我们观察到,全球投资者的投资组合中对亚洲的投资一般很少,甚至根本没有。随着经济实力继续东移,我们认为这最终可能是一个代价越来越高的错误。我们还认为,目前的市场状况可以提供一个潜在的机会来纠正这一点。

鉴于中国股市估值低迷,我们认为今年有反弹的潜力。我们发现最具吸引力的领域是与经济重启、绿色能源和科技更广泛相关联的领域。在整个东南亚,我们看好与旅游业、自然资源和从中国转移出去的行业有关的投资。亚洲崛起必将继续您的投资组合是否顺应这一不可阻挡的趋势?


下载完整报告

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

1 Bloomberg, 数据截至2022年5月1日

Asian market outlook 2022 - The rise of Asia

David Bailin
Chief Investment Officer
Ligang Liu
Head, Asia Economic Analysis
Ken Peng
Head, Asia Investment Strategy

The Russia-Ukraine war has further underlined deep differences between the US and China. We believe their escalating strategic competition will create potential investment opportunities.

Key takeaways

Despite tough rhetoric, we see US-China relations remaining steady for the rest of 2022

Against the backdrop of Asia’s rise, the increasing struggle between the G2 powers may benefit Southeast Asian economies and markets

A Chinese economic recovery later in 2022 could see a bounce in its depressed financial markets

Among the areas we find most attractive are those linked to economic reopening, green energy and technology more broadly

Across Southeast Asia, we favor investments linked to tourism, natural resources and industrial diversification away from China

Tensions between the world’s two economic superpowers – the US and China – have increased in 2022. The Russia-Ukraine war has highlighted the “G2” nations’ geopolitical and ideological differences. Amid strong words and sanction threats from both sides, China’s President Xi has said the standoff between countries over their alignment in the Ukraine conflict could be more damaging to world peace than the war itself.

The US-China divergence over Ukraine is merely the latest development in their momentous struggle. China is seeking to become the dominant power in its home region and beyond. We call the standoff resulting from this challenge to US hegemony “G2 polarization.” The struggle is playing out in many different spheres, including in trade, financial markets, technology, military capabilities and diplomatic influence.

We have long argued this rivalry would continue to intensify with each side trying to advance its own interests and block the other – see Is your portfolio ready for a G2 world? in Mid-Year Outlook 2019. And we continue to believe it has important implications for the global economy and for investors’ portfolios.

What to know about the US-China relationship

The G2 powers’ current rhetoric is harsh. At the end of April, the US House of Representatives passed the AXIS (Assessing Xi’s Interference and Subversion) Act. This requires the US State Department to provide updates to Congress on China’s backing of Russia over Ukraine. In response to US attempts to strengthen ties with Southeast Asian nations, China has warned the US not to provoke confrontation.

Despite the prevailing mood, we expect near-team stability in US-China relations rather than strife. We do not believe China will suffer sanctions for continuing to trade with Russia, at least until inflation settles down. Amid the supply shock and rapidly rising prices, avoiding further disruption to trade relations is key for the US and others. For its part, China realizes that its economic interests are much more tied to those of the West than to Russia, so will probably limit aiding Russia in the conflict.  

By the same token, we do not expect any major near-term improvement in US-China relations. There is potential for progress on various issues, including reducing tariffs and easing Chinese access to US capital markets. A lowering of tariffs on Chinese imports would be welcome for both US consumers and investors alike. However, it could also be a political liability for the ruling Democratic Party in November’s elections. So while there are deals to be done, they may have to wait until after 2022.

Taiwan remains an obvious potential flashpoint between the G2 powers. President Xi has stated reunification “must be fulfilled” and has not ruled out using force against what China considers a wayward province. However, the resistance Russia has encountered in Ukraine and the massive international sanctions backlash may have given China’s authorities pause for reflection.

Currently, China is preoccupied with COVID, the economic hardship from lockdowns and the upcoming 20th National Congress of the Chinese Communist Party. Given all this, any near-term conflict over Taiwan is unlikely.

Ultimately, the Ukraine conflict has accelerated G2 polarization. However, we also believe that this intensifying rivalry does not make a full-blown conflict between the US and China inevitable. Our base case remains that tough but peaceful strategic competition remains the likeliest outcome.

Chinese equities could see meaningful upside

G2 polarization is closely related to what we describe as the unstoppable trend of the rise of Asia. This describes the long-term shift in global economic power from West to East, driven by the region’s urbanization, growth of the middle class and advancements in homegrown technologies. As the region’s largest economy, China is central to this trend.

China’s aim is for domestic consumption to become its key driver of economic growth for the coming decades, rather than the external demand it has relied upon hitherto. COVID – and the strict lockdowns imposed by the Chinese authorities – have hindered this shift. We believe consumption’s potential is huge but realizing it will require further growth and difficult policy reforms mainly in three areas, although each have seen patchy progress.

  • Broadening and deepening universal medical coverage, as well as an overhaul of the pension system, so that households may amass less precautionary savings and spend more – figure 1.
  • Rural land reform to enable more financial transactions and agricultural productivity could also enrich rural populations, triggering more consumption. However, we see limited political will to expand the current pilot project nationwide.
  • Further opening-up of Chinese financial markets to outsiders could help bring about innovative financial products that could help unlock the substantial wealth invested in property and allow more people to spend beyond their current incomes.
 
Figure 1. Lofty savings rate = potential consumption
 
Chart shows net household saving as a percentage of household net disposable income. Source: Haver Analytics, as of May 2021.
 

Near term, China’s draconian anti-COVID measures will likely produce economic contraction for the second quarter of 2022. To try to offset this, the authorities are in easing mode, with credit expansion and fiscal stimulus already exceeding 2020’s levels. In the second half of 2022, we believe relaxing lockdowns and additional stimulus could produce a strong rebound. This prospect could drive a recovery in Chinese equities, which are currently trading on distressed valuations – figure 2.

 
Figure 2. Credit expansion may lead equity valuation recovery
 
Source: Bloomberg, as of 17 May 2022. Past performance is no guarantee of future returns. Real results may vary. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.
 

Southeast Asia - economic outlook 2022

China’s tough lockdowns have reinforced another key dimension of our G2 polarization thesis. We believe US-China polarization will benefit Southeast Asian (SEA) economies, as they stand to win more business from many developed nations diversifying their supply chains away from China. At the same, time we see SEA doing more business with China.

Factory shutdowns and transport restrictions amid China’s lockdowns have highlighted the supply chain vulnerability that heavy reliance on China can cause, especially if Chinese policy becomes less predictable. Some parts suppliers to leading tech companies and electric vehicle makers, for example, are adding more capacity in SEA and India to mitigate China-related risks.

Unlike in China, SEA’s economic recovery from COVID shutdowns is well underway. Given its reliance on tourism, SEA may see further recovery in services, as restrictions on foreign visitors relax. Philippines and Thailand were among the earliest to reopen their borders, followed by Singapore, Vietnam, Indonesia and Malaysia. Despite bouncing from near zero, visitor numbers are still below 10% of 2019 levels, indicating further recovery potential.

Lastly, major commodity exporters such as Indonesia and Malaysia are benefiting from higher commodity prices induced by Russia-Ukraine conflict. Indonesia has the world’s largest nickel reserves, a key material for electric vehicle batteries, and is attracting investments from leading battery makers.

Manufacturing exports have surged more than 60% versus pre-COVID levels. Meanwhile, Malaysia is the main oil exporter in Asia, while Singapore is the major refiner.

Rising challenges to China’s long-term prospects

We observe that global investors frequently have too little portfolio exposure to Asia – or none. As economic power continues to shift eastwards, we think this can prove an increasingly expensive mistake. We also believe that today’s market conditions may offer a potential opportunity to rectify this.

Given Chinese equities’ distressed valuations, we see rebound potential this year. Among the areas we find attractive are those linked to economic reopening, green energy and technology more broadly. Across Southeast Asia, we favor investments linked to tourism, natural resources and industrial diversification away from China. The rise of Asia is set to continue. Is your portfolio oriented to this unstoppable trend?


Download the full report

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.

1Bloomberg, as of 1 May 2022