我們將擴大美國中小型股持倉,原因如下。

概要

由於經濟衰退持續引發恐慌,我們增加了美國小型股和美元計價新興市場債券的持倉。


全球投資委員會(GIC)在6月29日的會議上,對股票和債券配置均進行了調整,以利用受衰退恐慌推動而不斷擴大的估值偏差。

我們將美國中小型股的配置增加了2.5個百分點,並將新興市場硬貨幣債券配置增加2.0個百分點。新興市場債券主要由投資級債券構成,而且在地理上分散配置,收益率約為7.5%,接近相應美國國債收益率的兩倍。

為完成上述變動,我們將不同到期日的美國國債減持了3.0%。美國國債依然維持5.5%的超配水平。我們還將部分美國和非美國大型股減持1.5%。通過這些調整,我們的全球股票權重從-1%提升為中性,固定收益權重從+2.0%降至+1.0%。

我們還調整了美股風格偏好,以減少對防禦性、股息增長股的超配。在今天做出變動後,我們的GIC 3級固定收益投資組合收益率增至約5.25%,而全球基準為4.6%。儘管如此,其信用評級仍高於基準。

雖然美國中小型股通常僅在新一輪經濟復甦過程中表現最為強勁,但鑑於其年初至今的表現已大幅落後大市約10個百分點,我們結束了對其的低配。

羅素2000指數從2021年的峰值起已下跌約25%,而相較之下,標普500的跌幅為9%。我們認為,這樣的表現已消化了聯儲局收緊貨幣政策和衰退恐慌蔓延的嚴重影響。由於我們預期經濟增長和信貸狀況將繼續承壓,因此我們看好盈利能力較好的美國中小型股(即標普400和600基準),此類股票在本年度的預期市盈率為14.2倍,而標普500的市盈率為19.9倍。

隨著美國經濟受到的束縛在未來兩年逐漸解除,我們預計將進一步增持中小型股。我們預計還會結束對非美國中小型股的低配。然而,撇開今日的調整不計,我們今年已將非美國股票的持倉增加了3.5%。

在2022年經歷深度估值修正(尤其是針對固定收益的修正)後,投資者面臨高度不確定的金融市場前景。重要指標持續發出衰退預警,而且即便通脹趨緩,各央行也仍在收緊貨幣政策。

大多數數據表明投資者預期經濟將表現疲軟,投資組合中現金配置激增,短倉持倉逼近紀錄高位。

儘管我們認為全球經濟不會在今明兩年急劇增長,但我們也認為經濟不會像2020年年初或2008年年末那樣出現「異常崩盤」。試圖洞察崩盤/復甦模式、擇時而動的投資者已陷入困惑之中,因為全球股票年初至今已上漲11%,同時現金回報錄得2.2%。

人工智能發展的推動下,對美國科技股的樂觀情緒也隨之高漲,而且此類發展趨勢獨立於商業周期或宏觀政策。我們樂觀認為,人工智能將在未來提高生產力,並且對美國經濟增長帶來的利好或將超過其他地方。

正如我們在《2023年年中展望》中所述,股票估值影響目前僅在少數人工智能基礎設施開發公司有所體現。因此,未來的估值和增長紅利將在其他領域,即人工智能消費企業中顯現。此影響和人工智能效果展現的時間並不明確,但或將持續多年。在近期,經濟的演變趨勢仍然存疑。

我們依然將中國在長期防疫封控後的復甦視為利好,但利好程度有限。美國方面,我們觀察到「滾動衰退」的跡象:住房建設、製造業和貿易出現萎縮,而服務業則持續復甦。2023年到2024年,這種局面應會轉化為緩慢的經濟增長率,並對美國勞動力市場產生越來越大的影響。

雖然美國企業利潤保持在較高水平,但已有所下滑,且表現不及勞工收入。在逐步反彈的同時,我們預計美國企業利潤在2024年到2025年都會有更強勁的表現。隨著聯儲局的緊縮政策觸頂且美元自2022年達到峰值後走弱,新興市場未來數年的整體表現將會走強。

美國債券收益率——尤其是短期債券——仍處於高位,我們繼續將其納入投資組合並從中獲益。但是,短期債券無法實現核心投資組合在長期可帶來的增長和收益。聯儲局的長期政策利率預計將處於平均2.5%的水平,而現金平均收益率通常會低於此政策指標。

我們未來對投資組合配置所做的變更將基於現金收益率到達此類較低水平的預期,並隨著時間推移轉向我們預計回報較高的機會。

展望

2023年財富展望

2023年市況的發展將推動經濟在2024年復甦。因此,我們預計,對於以市場先例情況爲指引的投資者而言,2023年將最終爲其帶來一系列意義重大的機會。閱讀我們的復甦之路:“由危轉機”時的投資組合。

聯繫我們

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的私人銀行顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

請填寫表格,以便我們與您聯繫。

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款與條件以便繼續

最符合您情況的描述是?

我想討論的一項投資是關於

我想討論的一項投資是關於

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold Private Client

我關注的領域

Aircraft Finance
藝術品諮詢和融資
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

職務與公司

職務與公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

請輸入您的聯繫方式

請輸入您的聯繫方式

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,我們的團隊成員會盡快與您聯繫。

We’re adding to our US small- and mid-cap holdings. Here’s why.

us-small-mid-cap-holdings

SUMMARY

Amid ongoing recession fears, we have added to our positions in smaller cap US equities and dollar denominated emerging market debt.


The Global Investment Committee shifted both equity and bond allocations at its 29 June meeting to take advantage of widening valuation disparities driven by recession fears.

We raised our allocation to US small and mid-cap equities by 2.5 percentage points and increased our EM hard currency debt allocation by 2.0 percentage points. Mostly investment grade and geographically diversified, EM debt yields are about 7.5%, or nearly double the comparable US Treasury yield.

To make these changes, we reduced US Treasuries across maturities by 3.0%. This still maintains a 5.5% overweight. We also cut some US and non-US large cap equities by 1.5%. These shifts pushed our global equities weighting to neutral from minus 1%, and fixed income to +1.0% from +2.0%.

We also shifted our US equity style preference to neutralize a defensive, dividend growth overweight. With today’s changes, our GIC level-3 FI portfolio yield rises to about 5.25% compared to the global benchmark 4.6%. This is despite a higher than benchmark credit rating.

While US SMID shares typically perform most strongly only in new economic recoveries, our move to close an underweight comes after significant underperformance of almost 10 percentage points in the year-to-date.

The Russell 2000 index has fallen about 25% from its 2021 peak compared to 9% for the S&P 500. We believe the performance has already suffered significant impact from Fed tightening and widespread recession fears. As we expect growth and credit to remain constrained, we favor profitable US SMID shares (i.e. S&P 400 and 600 benchmarks) which trade at 14.2X expected EPS this year vs 19.9X for the S&P 500.

We would expect to add further to the SMID position as constraints on the US economy diminish in the coming two years. We would also expect to close our underweight in non-US SMID. However, we have already raised non-US equities this year by 3.5% net of today’s adjustments.

Investors have faced a highly uncertain path for financial markets after a deep valuation correction in 2022, particularly for fixed income. Leading indicators continue to warn of recession, and central banks continue to tighten monetary policy even as inflation slows.

The preponderance of data suggests investors are positioned anticipating economic weakness, with a surge in portfolio cash and near record high short positions.

While we do not expect a sharply growing world economy this year or next, we also do not expect a “singular collapse” akin to early 2020 or late 2008. Investors attempting to time a collapse/recovery pattern have been confounded as global equities have rallied 11% and cash returned 2.2% in the year-to-date.

A surge in optimism for US tech shares has been led by AI developments and these are independent of any business cycle or macro policy issues. We are optimistic that AI will be productivity-enhancing in the future and may benefit US economic growth more than elsewhere.

As we discuss in our Mid-Year Outlook, the equity valuation impact has been narrowly felt in a few builders of AI infrastructure. This leaves future valuation and growth benefits elsewhere among AI users. The timing of this impact and AI’s efficacy is uncertain but will likely be felt over many years. In the nearer term, questions remain over how the economy will evolve.

We continue to see China’s recovery from extended COVID lockdowns as positive but constrained. In the US, we see “rolling recessions” as residential construction, manufacturing and trade contract, but services continue to recover. This should net out at a slow growth rate in 2023-2024 with increasing impact US labor markets.

While US corporate profits have remained at a high level, they have fallen somewhat and underperformed labor income. While rebounding gradually, we expect somewhat stronger US corporate profits in both 2024-2025. Emerging markets generally appear poised for stronger performance in the years to come as the Fed reaches peak restraint and the US dollar weakens from 2022’s peak.

US bond yields – particularly short maturities – remain high and we continue to take advantage of this as a portfolio component. However, short maturity bonds cannot provide the growth and income that core portfolios deliver over time. The Fed expects a 2.5% average for its policy rate over the long term and cash yields typically average lower levels than this policy measure.

Our future portfolio changes will seek to anticipate this lower level of cash yields and shift through time toward what we expect are higher returning opportunities.

OUTLOOK

Wealth Outlook 2024

Our global economic outlook for the year ahead

 

Growth will slow in early 2024, but we see no synchronized collapse across the global economy, as many fear. 

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone or email at any time by emailing donotspam@citi.com

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.