可持续投资
2021年8月9日
4分钟

近期代理投票中,可续投资者一展实力

2021年8月9日
4分钟
Leah Moehlig
ESG股票研究高级分析师
概览

随着股东越来越多地参与环境、社会和治理(ESG)问题,他们正在通过代理投票来追究公司的责任。


对于关注环境、社会和治理(ESG)问题的投资者而言,债券和私募股权基金等资产类别提供了一个清晰的影响力投资机会,因为这些资产类别所募集的资金使用方式相对透明。而对于在二级市场上购买的股票来说,情况并非如此,因为所募集的资金不能直接与特定的商业活动挂钩。然而,作为上市公司的持股人,股东可以通过参与代理投票,对管理层和董事会施加实质性影响。

代理投票赋予股东在通常由公司董事会提出的重大公司问题上的发言权,如任命新董事和高管薪酬。股东也可以提交自己的提案,他们越来越通过这种方式将环境和社会问题提上议程。

在2021年代理投票季,股东的环境和社会提案获得了大量多数票。这反映出投资者越来越认识到这些问题具有财务和社会意义。例如,气候变化和多样性是近年来提案增多的两个领域。鉴于现实情况和气候转型风险与长期财务风险的关系,以及大量的研究表明多样化对商业的作用,气候变化和多样性都与公司的长期战略目标有明确的联系。1

根据彭博的代理追踪(Proxy Tracker),2021年,35项股东提案赢得了多数票支持,占到环境和社会提案总数的20%。由此可见,自去年的代理投票季以来,对环境和社会问题的支持度有所增加。去年的代理投票季有20个环境和社会提案获得多数票,约占环境和社会提案总数的12%。环境和社会提案在2021年代理投票季平均获得32%的支持,高于2020年的28%。2

有几个多数票案例值得注意,这些公司和董事会鼓励投资者支持由股东提交的与可持续性有关的提案。在这些案例中,董事会认识到了解决可持续性问题对长期财务状况的益处。例如,得到董事会支持的通用电气股东提议公司规划展开与实现《巴黎协定》(一项关于气候变化的国际协定)目标有关的全球性工作,这项提案获得了98%的投资者支持。IBM一项呼吁编写多样性报告的提案也获得了董事会支持,并获得了94%的股东支持票。2

表达自己的主张

对于希望将可持续目标纳入其公共股权战略的人而言,一个关键的考虑因素是,投资组合经理是否能运用其影响力,鼓励公司董事会采取符合环境、社会和治理原则的做法。

虽然乍一看来,融合了ESG分析的投资组合中的持股可能与不考虑ESG因素的策略中的持股相似,但通过分析经理人的投票历史,或能发现其可持续性议程颇具意义。这突显出深入尽职调查的重要性——它能确保策略符合投资者的可持续性目标。

在花旗选择符合客户可持续目标的基金时,我们不仅仅关注投资组合持仓和往绩等传统指标。我们也会考虑经理人积极参与代理投票及以其他形式与公司接触的记录。

埃克森美孚循序渐进的变化

不幸的是,公司董事会和管理层并不总是愿意积极支持可持续性问题。这使得投票代理更为重要。另一个股东支持环境问题的案例出现在去年5月下旬石油和天然气巨头埃克森美孚的年会上。

一个名为Engine No.1的小型激进投资机构对埃克森美孚专注于增加石油产量和产能下降问题,以及未能为能源转型做好准备公开表示担忧。在对公司不愿参与能源转型感到沮丧后,Engine No.1动员大股东投票选举三名新董事进入埃克森美孚董事会。这三人分别是:炼油和营销公司Neste的前执行副总裁、可再生能源专家Kaisa Hietala;另一家炼油和营销公司Andeavor的前首席执行官Gregory Goff;一位有清洁能源技术经验的私人股本投资者Alexander Karsner。3

这三位新董事会成员将帮助埃克森美孚更好地向可再生能源转型。Engine No.1的主要动机是财务表现,比如它对埃克森美孚过去十年的股价低于同行表示不满。这是所有投资者的胜利,而不仅仅是关注气候的投资者的胜利。

代理投票的逐渐普及正在进一步提高人们对可持续投资的认识,并增强可持续投资的势头。最近的股东投票清楚地表明了代理投票推动积极变革的力量。通过代理投票,投资者可以对上市公司的董事会施加实质性影响,而这些公司的大规模经营无疑具有重大的环境和社会影响。

1 https://www.mckinsey.com/featured-insights/diversity-and-inclusion/diversity-wins-how-inclusion-matters. 数据截至2020年5月19日
2彭博行业研究代理追踪数据,数据截至2021年7月6日
3 https://reenergizexom.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Investor-Presentation-May-2021-v2.pdf. 数据截至2021年8月3日

Alert iconWarning: Unsupported web browser

In View no longer supports your current web browser version, which means some functionality may be limited. Please update your browser for the best experience before you log in.

close icon
Citi Private Bank logo

Unsupported browser

Our website no longer supports your current web browser version, which means you are no longer able to access this website. Please update your browser to continue.

Continue
Sustainable investing
August 9, 2021
4 mins

Sustainable investors show their power in recent proxy votes

August 9, 2021
4 mins
Leah Moehlig
Senior ESG Equity Research Analyst
SUMMARY

As shareholders become increasingly engaged in environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues, they are using proxy votes to hold companies to account.


For investors concerned about environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues, asset classes such as bonds and private equity funds offer a clear opportunity to invest with impact due to transparency on how the proceeds will be used. The same cannot be said, however, for equities purchased on the secondary market, given that the proceeds cannot be directly linked to specific business activities. Nevertheless, as the owners of publicly traded companies, shareholders can exert meaningful influence on management and boards by participating in proxy votes.

Proxy votes allow shareholders to have a voice on material company issues typically presented by a company’s board, such as the appointment of new directors and executive compensation. Shareholders are also allowed to submit their own proposals, which they are increasingly using to bring environmental and social issues to the table.

In the 2021 proxy season, there were a number of majority votes in favor of environmental and social proposals from shareholders. These reflect growing investor appreciation that these issues have financial as well as societal significance. For example, climate change and diversity are two areas that have seen a growing number of proposals in recent years. Both have clear ties to the companies’ long-term strategic objectives given long-term financial risks relating to physical and transition climate risks and ample research supporting the business case for diversity1.

According to Bloomberg’s Proxy Tracker, 35 shareholder proposals – representing nearly 20% of total environmental and social proposals – won majority support in 2021. Support has thus grown since last year’s proxy season, where there were 20 environmental and social majority votes, amounting to roughly 12% of total environmental and social proposals. Environmental and social proposals received an average of 32% support during the 2021 proxy season, an increase from 28% in 2020.2

Notable majority votes include several instances where the company and board encouraged investors to support sustainability related proposals submitted by shareholders. In those cases, the board recognized the long-term financial merit of addressing sustainability issues. At GE, for example, a board-backed shareholder proposal requesting the company to outline how it will support global efforts to achieve the goals of the Paris Agreement, an international treaty on climate change, won the backing of 98% of investors. A proposal requesting diversity reporting at IBM also received board support and garnered 94% of shareholder votes.2

Advocating on your behalf

For those who would like to incorporate sustainable objectives in their public equity strategies, a key consideration is whether the portfolio manager uses their influence to encourage company boards to adopt practices aligned with ESG principles.

While holdings in a portfolio that integrates ESG analysis might look similar to those in a strategy that does not consider ESG factors at first glance, analysis of the manager’s voting history may unveil a meaningful sustainability agenda. This emphasizes the importance of deep due diligence to ensure the strategy aligns with the investor’s sustainability goals.

When Citi selects funds to align with clients’ sustainability goals, we do not just focus on traditional attributes such as portfolio holdings and historical performance. We also take into consideration the manager’s record in actively participating in proxy votes and other forms of engagement with companies.

Catalyzing change at Exxon

Unfortunately, it is not always the case that a company board and management are willing to lend proactive support to sustainability issues. This makes voting proxies even more important. Another example of shareholders’ support for environmental issues came in late May at the annual meeting of Exxon, a major oil & gas producer.

A small activist investor called Engine No. 1 publicized its concern over Exxon’s focus on increasing oil production, its declining productive capacity and its failure to prepare for the energy transition. After becoming frustrated with the company’s unwillingness to engage, Engine No.1 mobilized large shareholders to vote three new directors onto Exxon’s board. They were Kaisa Hietala, a former executive vice president at oil refining and marketing company Neste with expertise in renewable energy; Gregory Goff, former CEO of Andeavor, another refining and marketing company; and Alexander Karsner, a private equity investor with cleantech experience.3

Those new board members are positioned to help Exxon better navigate a pivot towards renewable energy. Engine No.1’s primary motivation was financial, such as its dissatisfaction with the underperformance of Exxon’s stock price versus peers over the last decade. This is a victory for all investors, not just for those with a climate focus.

Increased publicity around proxy voting is creating further awareness and momentum in sustainable investing. Recent shareholder votes have clearly shown proxy voting’s power to drive positive change. Through proxy voting, investors can meaningfully influence the boards of publicly traded companies whose large-scale operations undoubtedly have significant environmental and social impact.

Public equity strategies that deeply integrate ESG into every aspect of the investment process, including company engagements and proxy voting are effective ways to invest sustainably, while also benefiting from the liquidity and diversification benefits that public equities offer.

1 https://www.mckinsey.com/featured-insights/diversity-and-inclusion/diversity-wins-how-inclusion-matters. As of May 19, 2020
2 Bloomberg Intelligence Proxy Tracker as of July 6, 2021
3 https://reenergizexom.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Investor-Presentation-May-2021-v2.pdf. As of August 3, 2021
Close Modal

You're about to leave the Citi Private Bank website

By clicking continue, you will visit a third-party website that is not owned or managed by us.

We have no control of the content, privacy or security beyond this point.

Continue

Stay on this page