Close MultiLang Selector Dialog
可持续投资
2021年10月28日
5分钟

可持续投资:过程至关重要

2021年10月28日
5分钟
Leah Moehlig
花旗投资管理环境、社会和治理(ESG)股票研究高级分析师
概要

近年来,可持续投资项目数量激增,但这些项目可能不尽相同。环境、社会和治理(ESG)评分并不能反映全部情况;因此,对一家企业或投资组合经理的投资过程进行深入的基本面分析至关重要。


可持续性是投资者日益重视的关键考虑因素之一。2020年,全球可持续投资资产增至35.3万亿美元。事实上,全球可持续投资联盟(Global Sustainable Investment Alliance[1]的数据显示,目前每3美元中就有将近1美元是以可持续方式进行管理的。急于从投资者日益增长的兴趣中获利的投资管理人会开发大量产品,为其贴上“可持续”、“社会责任”或“ESG”等标签。由于这些投资各不相同,面对众多选择,必须分析每项此类投资的可持续发展主张是否真实可信。

监管审查有助于提高对“漂绿”的认知和意识,“漂绿”是指企业和投资管理人夸大其环境或其他可持续资质,以使其产品对消费者和投资者更具吸引力。 因此,许多投资者和监管机构现在有充分的理由对误导性营销保持高度警惕。在欧盟公布《可持续金融披露规定》(SFDR)之后,被贴上“可持续”标签的管理资产减少了2万亿美元,原因可能是资产管理人担心他们的投资策略经不起审查[2]

孤立看待ESG评分造成危机重重

因此,选择可靠的可持续投资策略需要深思熟虑的方法。虽然总体ESG评分或碳排放数据是理想的评估起点,但投资管理人的整个过程是得出结论的必要条件。 我们的研究旨在全面了解整个可持续投资策略所涉及的整个范畴,以帮助客户将可持续投资与其目标保持一致。

除了越来越多管理资产符合可持续发展原则外,还出现了很多提供ESG评分框架的公司。 其中既有知名和成立多年的综合公司,也有专注于温室气体排放等利基领域的公司。保守估计,现在有超过100个ESG数据和评级提供商。

值得注意的是,估计不同提供商评级之间的相关性相当低,不到50%[2]。其中原因众多。 例如,数据提供商可以对不同的问题赋予差异很大的权重,例如员工流失或温室气体排放等。其他数据提供商可能会在较长时间内根据以往的争议问题评估企业。因此,由于所用的数据提供商不同,同一家公司在ESG特征方面的得分会出现很大差异,这种情况并不少见。相比之下,被市场用作可靠的信用风险指标的标准普尔、穆迪和惠誉债券评级相关性较高,超过90%。因此,ESG评级明显带有主观性,不应单独使用,或像债券评级一样用作权威指标。

作为经验丰富的ESG数据用户,花旗将所得出的观点纳入到整体投资分析当中。我们认为,更加深入地了解与我们投资相关的ESG风险和潜在机会,能够使我们成为更好的投资者。了解每家公司ESG数据点的背景非常重要。就其本身而言,评分并不能反映全部情况。

了解过程是关键

ESG评分也可能无法捕捉公司策略方面的近期相关变化。例如,一家公司对其可持续发展实践的披露程度,对其得分的影响大于这些实践实际质量的影响。资源充足的大型公司相比规模较小的竞争对手,能够在ESG报告中投入更多的时间。他们可能会因为这种更全面的披露而获得更好的评级,即使其可持续性资质并不如那些全面报告能力较差的公司。例如,一家服装零售商可为其供应链落实稳健的人权政策和程序,从而获得较好的ESG评分。但是,如果该零售商扩张速度过快,并且没有条件充分实施其程序,那么它就有可能会受到未来供应链问题的影响。只有深入了解企业才能形成前瞻性和独特的洞察力,这些洞察力可以应用于各种可持续发展投资方法。

同样值得注意的是,优质的可持续投资策略也可能会获得较低的ESG评分。例如,如果投资策略的被投公司准备改进其可持续发展实践,且该策略积极接触这些公司的管理团队并鼓励其进行积极改变,那么有可能发生评分较低的情况。这种策略非常适合有意支持可持续改进的投资者。然而,一味依赖其ESG评分而不考虑投资过程,会错误地将有潜力的适当策略方案排除在考虑之外。

另一个常见的例子是能源转型投资策略,这涉及设法从使用化石燃料向使用可再生能源转型的公司。 如果此类策略的碳足迹高于整体股指的碳足迹,则投资者可能会断定投资管理人正在对该策略的资质进行漂绿。然而,对管理人的投资过程进行深入分析后可能会发现这其实是一个全面投资策略,该策略投资于对能源转型成功至关重要的创新能源和公用事业公司。虽然能源和公用事业所报告的碳足迹高于大多数其他行业,但如果没有这些领域的创新公司,就不可能实现能源转型。

同样,科技公司所报告的碳排放量可能较低。然而,仅凭这一点无法证明适合将其纳入称为“实现能源转型”的基金。事实上,在称为“气候战略基金”的基金中,如果所处行业碳排放量较低,对气候问题影响不大的企业所占比重过高,那么管理人可能是在试图通过操纵基金的高得分来进行漂绿。因此,深入了解管理人的流程对于作出明智的投资决策来说至关重要。

在花旗,我们力求了解每位客户的可持续发展目标,是旨在完全避开某些行业,还是想要发掘正在积极改善其可持续发展特征的公司。这种了解及我们对可持续投资过程的分析,使我们能够帮助客户构建能反映其世界观,又能反映其投资目标和风险承受能力的投资组合。

[1] https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-08-18/-35-trillion-in-sustainability-funds-does-it-do-any-good

[2] https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-07-18/european-esg-assets-shrank-by-2-trillion-after-greenwash-rules

[3] https://practicalesg.com/2021/08/reliance-on-esg-data-providers-better-as-opinions-than-ratings-part-1/#:~:text=Depending%20on%20which%20source%20you,reach%20%241%20billion%20for%202021.

[4] https://www.unpri.org/pri-blog/esg-rating-disagreement-and-stock-returns/5625.article

Alert iconWarning: Unsupported web browser

In View no longer supports your current web browser version, which means some functionality may be limited. Please update your browser for the best experience before you log in.

close icon
Citi Private Bank logo

Unsupported browser

Our website no longer supports your current web browser version, which means you are no longer able to access this website. Please update your browser to continue.

Continue
Sustainable investing
October 28, 2021
5 mins

Sustainable investing: Process is paramount

October 28, 2021
5 mins
Leah Moehlig
Senior ESG Equity Research Analyst, Citi Investment Management
SUMMARY

Sustainable investment options have proliferated in recent years, but not all are created equal. ESG scores do not tell the full story; a deep fundamental analysis of a company or a portfolio manager’s investment processes is therefore essential.


Sustainability is increasingly a key consideration for investors. Sustainable investment assets grew to $35.3 trillion globally in 2020.1 In fact, nearly $1 of every $3 is now managed sustainably according to the Global Sustainable Investment Alliance.[1] Eager to benefit from investors’ growing appetite, investment managers have developed large numbers of products billed as “sustainable,” “socially responsible,” or “ESG,” among other descriptors. Given the plethora of options, it is essential to analyze the integrity of every such investment’s sustainability claims, as not all are created equal.

Regulatory scrutiny has helped to raise awareness of “greenwashing,” whereby companies and investment managers overstate their environmental or other sustainability credentials to make their offerings more attractive to consumers and investors. Many investors and regulators are thus now on high alert for misleading marketing, and with good reason. After the announcement of the EU’s Sustainable Finance Disclosure Regulation (SFDR), managed assets labeled as “sustainable” declined by $2 trillion, likely because managers worried about their strategies’ ability to withstand scrutiny.[2]

The danger of ESG scores in isolation

Selecting credible sustainable strategies thus requires a thoughtful approach. While headline environmental, social and governance (ESG) scores or carbon emission data can be a good place to begin an evaluation, an investment manager’s entire process is necessary to draw conclusions. Our research seeks to gain an understanding across the universe of sustainable strategies to help clients align sustainable investments with their purpose.

Alongside growth in assets under management aligned to sustainable principles, numerous companies providing ESG scoring frameworks have emerged. They range from well-known and established generalists to those focused on niches such as greenhouse gas emissions. At a conservative estimate, there are now over 100 ESG data and ratings providers in existence.[1]

Interestingly, the correlation among different providers’ ratings is estimated to be quite low, at less than 50%[2]. There are numerous reasons for this. For example, data providers can attach very different weights to certain issues, such as employee turnover or greenhouse gas emissions. Others may hold past controversies against companies for much longer. As such, it is not uncommon for the same firm to score very differently for ESG characteristics according to which data provider is used. By contrast, bond ratings from S&P, Moody’s and Fitch – used by the market as reliable indicators of credit risk – are highly correlated at over 90%. So, it is it clear that ESG ratings are subjective and should not be used in isolation or in the same definitive manner as bond ratings.

As experienced users of ESG data, Citi develops insights that we incorporate into our overall investment analysis. We feel that deeper awareness of ESG-related risks and potential opportunities in relation to our investments can make us better investors. Understanding the context of the ESG data points for each company is crucial. On its own, a score does not tell the whole story.

Understanding the process is key

An ESG score may also fail to capture recent relevant changes to a company’s strategy. For example, how much a company reveals about its sustainability practices can have a greater bearing on its score than the actual quality of those practices. Large and better resourced corporations may be able to devote more time to ESG reporting than smaller rivals. They may be rewarded for this fuller disclosure with better ratings, even if their sustainability credentials are inferior to those of firms with less capacity for thorough reporting.

For example, a clothing retailer may have robust human rights policies and procedures for its supply chain that result in an attractive ESG score. However, if the retailer is expanding so rapidly and is ill-equipped to implement its procedures adequately, it could be susceptible to future supply chain issues. It is this deeper understanding of a business that unlocks forward-looking and unique insights, which can be applied for the various sustainability investing approaches. 

It is also important to note that a sustainable investment strategy of good quality might nevertheless have a low ESG score. For example, this could occur in the case of a strategy that targets companies that are poised to improve their sustainability practices and actively engages with those companies’ management teams to encourage positive change. Such a strategy would be an ideal fit for an investor seeking to support improvements in sustainability. However, relying on its ESG score in isolation and not taking into account the investment process would have erroneously removed the strategy as a potentially suitable option.

Another common example would be an energy transition strategy, involving companies that are seeking to move away from fossil fuels and towards renewable energy. If such a strategy’s carbon footprint were higher than that of a broad equity index, an investor might infer that the investment manager was greenwashing the strategy’s credentials. However, a deeper analysis of the manager’s investment process may reveal a thorough strategy that invests in innovative energy and utility companies that are essential to a successful energy transition. While energy and utilities have a higher reported carbon footprint than most other sectors, the energy transition cannot occur without innovative companies from these areas.

Likewise, technology companies may have lower reported emissions. However, this alone would not make them appropriate for inclusion in a fund marketed as “enabling an energy transition.” In fact, if a fund marketed as a “climate strategy fund” was overly reliant on low emitters in sectors with little influence on climate-related matters, it may be that the manager is greenwashing by attempting to manipulate the fund’s score higher. A deeper look into the manager’s process is thus essential to make an informed investment decision.

At Citi, we seek to understand each client’s sustainability objectives, whether complete avoidance of certain industries or seeking out companies that are actively improving their sustainability characteristics. That understanding coupled with our analysis of sustainable investment processes allows us to help clients who seek to create a portfolio that reflects their own worldview in addition to their investment objectives and risk tolerance.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

[1] https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-08-18/-35-trillion-in-sustainability-funds-does-it-do-any-good

[2] https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-07-18/european-esg-assets-shrank-by-2-trillion-after-greenwash-rules

[3] https://practicalesg.com/2021/08/reliance-on-esg-data-providers-better-as-opinions-than-ratings-part-1/#:~:text=Depending%20on%20which%20source%20you,reach%20%241%20billion%20for%202021.

[4] https://www.unpri.org/pri-blog/esg-rating-disagreement-and-stock-returns/5625.article

Close Modal

You're about to leave the Citi Private Bank website

By clicking continue, you will visit a third-party website that is not owned or managed by us.

We have no control of the content, privacy or security beyond this point.

Continue

Stay on this page