花旗
2022年7月27日

供應鏈復甦?預期進一步延遲...

2022年7月27日
花旗私人銀行
概覽

供應鏈衝擊一直持續到2022年。隨著時間的推移,科技進步和結構調整或將有助於降低相關風險。


當全球供應鏈運行良好時,幾乎沒人關心這些。

多年來,我們將原材料運輸,轉化為成品以後出售給客戶這一系列複雜的供應網絡關係視作理所當然。 

但是這些無憂無慮的日子已經一去不返(至少現在正是這樣),我們現在不得不應對一個陌生世界,其中充斥著供應鏈中斷、延遲和不暢。

碼頭擠滿集裝箱船,消費者可選擇的商品越來越少而且價格上漲等等,都是顯而易見的後果。

當前的大部分供應鏈中斷源於2020年爆發的新冠肺炎疫情。

造成供應鏈困局的因素很多,其中包括對商品的需求多於對服務的需求、造成破壞的變異病毒相繼出現、勞動力短缺以及大宗商品衝擊等等。

有一段時間,人們以為情況也許會在今年好轉。

然而,大半年過去了,經濟迅速復甦的希望已成為泡影。

一連串因素加深了供應鏈的堵塞——中國收緊疫情防控措施以及俄羅斯對烏克蘭採取軍事行動帶來的進一步挑戰。

俄烏衝突對供應鏈的全面影響尚未完全顯現,但可以明確的是,我們正處於供應鏈進程中的一個重要新篇章。

這一新篇章有一個顯見的主題:事實上供應鏈壓力甚至比幾個月前預期的更為頑固且曠日持久。

這些新的壓力使得全球供應鏈即將恢復的希望破滅。

事實上,只要俄烏衝突持續存在,就很難想像整體供應條件會有任何重大改善。

情況是如何發展到這一步的?

讓我們稍作回顧。

正如花旗全球觀點與解決方案(GPS)關於全球供應鏈的新一期報告所指出,根據2021年12月的早期報告,至少有5個驅動因素。

第一,供應鏈的複雜性有所增加,壓力已經從中美之間的貿易路線延伸至俄烏之間的貿易關係,最終蔓延到整個歐洲。

這也剛好發生在幾十年來向準時制庫存管理模式轉型之後。  

然而這種疫情之前佔據主流的準時制方法,為整個體系留下了脆弱隱患,使其容易受到此前所忽視的一系列衝擊的影響。

公司過去在全球範圍內尋找成本最低和最為靈活變通的供應商。

只要跨境交易可靠且高效,這種方法就是行之有效的。

但接二連三的衝擊——美國前總統特朗普發起的貿易戰、疫情、大宗商品價格飆升,以及現在的俄烏衝突——正在日益破壞這個體系。

第二,疫情引起消費模式的大規模再平衡,消費從服務轉向商品,給全球生產鏈造成壓力。服務業支出現已回升至疫情前的水平,但與商品支出相比仍顯得疲軟。

第三,貨幣刺激舉措,而且是大量的貨幣刺激舉措。這在經濟最低迷時期為支出提供支撐,增強商品支出的力度,進而放大了供應鏈的壓力。然而,這種情況現在已經發生了變化,因為各經濟體在疫情期間實施的宏觀刺激措施已普遍取消,或正逐步取消。

第四,疫情持續發展,不斷出現新的變種病毒。雖然家庭、企業和公共部門普遍漸漸適應疫情挑戰且變得游刃有餘,但要從其經濟影響中完全恢復,需要在管理疫情和減少病例數方面取得進一步的實質性進展。  

最後,勞動力短缺阻礙產能的提高。

值得注意的是,主要經濟體的失業率現已回落到與疫情前大致持平,而許多國家和地區陸續出現勞動力市場壓力。

即使卡車運輸方面的就業人數目前已略高於疫情前的峰值,但運輸行業的勞動力短缺情況仍然很嚴峻。

為了衡量供應鏈狀況的持續緊張程度,花旗研究編制了花旗全球供應鏈壓力指數。

該指數追蹤的一系列數據反映了全球航運和物流、庫存以及全球採購經理指數(PMI)或採購經理指數的表現,特別是生產積壓和供應商交貨時間。

儘管比去年秋天的峰值略有回落,但該指數繼續顯示全球供應鏈十分緊張,明確表明困擾2021年的壓力仍然非常顯著。該全球指數的三個基本組成部分——運輸成本、採購經理指數和庫存壓力——最近各自呈現出不同的軌跡。值得注意的是,運輸成本在最近數月有所上升,而庫存看起來基本上在橫向移動。全球採購經理指數在2021年12月和2022年1月略有回落,但隨後幾個月又再上升。

顯而易見的結論是,去年造成供應鏈壓力的因素依然揮之不去。

烏克蘭的影響

更糟糕的是,俄烏衝突爆發催生新的壓力,使得全球供應鏈即將恢復的希望破滅。事實上,只要俄烏衝突持續存在,就很難想像整體供應條件會有任何重大改善。

當2月份爆發衝突時,全球市場最初以為只會對能源供應造成衝擊。但供應鏈面臨的風險和壓力遠不止於能源範疇。 

例如,烏克蘭是氖氣的重要出口國,而氖氣用於製造半導體。

大型製造商可能有足夠的庫存來緩衝衝擊,但小型生產商的情況則不太明朗。烏克蘭也是汽車電纜(特別是線束)的重要生產國。隨著這些電纜的出口中斷,德國的汽車生產也受到了衝擊。

俄羅斯和烏克蘭也是最大的小麥、加工鎳和化肥出口國,木材、精煉銅、鋼鐵、氨和鈦的第二大出口國,以及鋁、煤炭和燃氣渦輪的第三大出口國。由於來自該地區的此類關鍵產品的出貨量有限或受到壓力,未來幾個月供應嚴重中斷的可能性頗高。

吸取的教訓

在疫情前幾年裡盛行的供應鏈管理方法基於兩個假設。

第一個是全球供應鏈結構(特別是航運和物流)是強健、具成本效益和可靠的。第二個是對商品的需求將是相對平穩和可預測的。

顯然,該系統沒有意料到疫情帶來的挑戰,更不用提俄烏衝突了。

封鎖措施導致關鍵製造輸入產品短缺,而由於生產商難以跟上需求,造成了對航運和運輸服務的過度需求。結果造成交貨時間無法預測,以及運輸貨物的價格急劇上升。

過去兩年,對最終產品的需求激增,而生產這些產品所需的輸入品的供應也偶有中斷。在許多情況下,公司已經積累了部分(但非全部)生產所需的輸入品。傳聞很多產品都在等安裝最後一個重要部件才能完成生產。

花旗GPS報告的作者認為,由於這種情況,公司可能作出各種應對措施。這些措施包括對庫存和物流採用數碼化和電子追縱;加強與供應商的合作和長期聯盟;以及改變庫存管理,允許持有更多緩衝庫存,特別是對於關鍵部件來說。

對於庫存管理,大型公司已經開始明確表示他們打算重新審視其供應鏈結構。

此前,他們監控的是一線供應商——即那些直接向他們供貨的供應商。但現在,公司越來越關注二級甚至三級聯繫——也就是其供應商的供應商。

這應會促使製造業的供應鏈變得更加強韌,同時讓公司對其供應鏈帶來的挑戰和風險——以及機會和潛在效率獲得更多的了解。

這其中有幾個方面的影響。

首先,隨著公司投入資源以更多地了解他們的二級和三級供應商,他們將開始對這些關係作出長期承諾,而這是基於對整個週期的可靠表現的期望,而不僅僅是短期的成本考慮。

這反過來應能夠支持追求可持續發展目標,特別是公司了解其碳足跡總和的工作。而這也可能是一個時機,促使公司考慮採取相關解決方案,以支持深層供應商的融資,或獎勵注重治理的供應商。

公司還可能繼續採取措施,使其供應鍊和庫存管理系統數碼化和自動化,以便更好地將資訊納入商業決策。

未來的格局如何?

也許上述新的現實情況將對供應鏈的地理範圍分佈,以及其可能發生的轉變造成最大影響。

對於許多公司來說,重要的經驗是遠距離供應鏈存在以前沒有考慮過的風險。鑑於目前的地緣政治現實情況,這對依賴中國供應商的美國公司來說可能尤其如此。事實上,烏克蘭衝突可能會產生長尾效應。例如,這可能加快全球供應鏈的結構調整,遠離被認為對西方不友好的國家。

花旗GPS報告的作者預計,部分美國公司(可能還有其他國家的公司),將尋求將其供應鏈從中國分散到其他地方。更普遍的是,一些企業可能也會加倍努力,從「準時制」模式轉向「未雨綢繆」模式。

花旗全球財富投資贊同這一觀點,並認為東南亞經濟體是主要的潛在受益者之一——請參見我們的《亞洲崛起》主題。

最終,也可以合理認為,增加的生產份額將全部被帶回本國——或回流。

就對特定行業的影響而言,有一些積極因素。鈀金等貴金屬應該能夠迅速復甦,因為其運輸可以透過空運方式運往中國。重新調整這個供應鏈可能只需要一到兩個季度的時間。然而,要重新調整鋼鐵等大宗商品的供應鏈就困難多了。

在工業行業,當回顧過去因中斷和通脹造成的情況時,很明顯,市場往往會找到解決方案。如果製造過程中某個部件的供應受到限制,就會出現較少使用這些產品的新技術。為了抵消中斷情況,供應鏈也可以進行再平衡——他們可以改變路線,選擇從其他地區進行採購。對大多數地區來說,這種再平衡可以在幾個季度的時間內發生。

科技行業方面,GPS報告的作者認為,到2022年底,智能手機和個人電腦等部分終端應用的供需可能會重新達到平衡。然而,在汽車供應鏈中,至少在2023年前不太可能實現供需平衡。

但在這種不確定性中,有些事情是明確的。似乎可能會有一段長期波動和不可預測的時期。利率上升也將影響市場動態。如果地緣政治緊張局勢依然存在,全球供應鏈的重新調整將變得變幻莫測。

這意味著不可能為每一種可能出現的情況進行規劃。但是,增強供應鏈的韌性是關鍵所在——而銀行可以在幫助支援公司開展這項工作方面發揮關鍵作用。

在花旗全球財富投資,我們認為所有這些都有重大影響。大宗商品短缺和價格波動加深了投資者在2022年所面臨的不確定性。無論是俄烏衝突還是其他方面,情況惡化的可能性依然很大。

取決於行業的不同,市場力量可能需要兩年或更長時間才能緩解供應鏈壓力。

俄烏衝突導致全球大宗商品短缺,供應鏈中斷加劇。

其他大宗商品生產國不得不彌補缺口。投資於這類挑戰的應對措施,可能會為投資組合提供對沖。花旗全球財富投資在《克服供應短缺》中探討了應對的方式。

展望

2022年中期展望

2022年呈現在人們眼前的情形是世界秩序重新洗牌以及市場繁榮環境趨近尾聲。儘管存在諸多不確定性,但我們仍然有諸多理由開展充分而明智的投資。我們的年中展望爲全球投資者提供了一個重要的指引。

了解更多

Citi
July 27, 2022
10 mins

Supply chain healing? Expect further delays...

July 27, 2022
10 mins
Citi Private Bank
SUMMARY

Supply chain shocks have persisted deep into 2022. Over time, technological advances and restructuring may help reduce such risks.


When they’re working well, global supply chains are largely out of sight and mind.

For years, we took for granted the complex network of relationships that saw raw materials shifted, transformed into finished goods and then distributed to consumers. 

But those carefree days are behind us – at least for now – and we are having to navigate an unfamiliar world of snarl-ups, delays and frustration.

Offshore parking lots jammed with container ships, a shrinking selection of goods for consumers and rising prices have been among the all-too-visible results.

Much of the current disruption originated with the arrival  of the COVID pandemic in 2020.

Increased demand for goods over services, a succession of disruptive virus variants, worker shortages and commodity shocks were among the forces that caused  supply chain gridlock.

For a time, it appeared as if things might be poised to improve this year.

With more than half the year gone, however, hopes for a quick recovery have been dashed.

A succession of factors have deepened the supply chain snarl-up — with China’s tough COVID containment efforts and Russia’s invasion of Ukraine presenting further challenges.

While the full implications of the Ukraine conflict for supply chains are not yet apparent, what is clear is that we are in a significant new chapter in the supply chain saga.

And that chapter has a distinct theme: supply chain pressures have proved to be more persistent and deep-rooted than expected even a few months ago.

These new pressures have shattered any hopes of an imminent healing in global supply chains.

Indeed, as long as the Ukraine conflict persists, it is difficult to envision any meaningful improvement in overall supply conditions.

How did we get here?

Let’s recap on how we got here.

As a new Citi Global Perspectives & Solutions (GPS) report on global supply chains notes, building on an earlier report in December 2021, there have been at least  five drivers.

First, increased supply chain complexity has seen stresses ripple out from trade routes between China and the US to trade ties between Russia and Ukraine and, ultimately, all of Europe.

That has come on top of a decades-long shift towards just-in-time inventory management.  

Yet the just-in-time practices that predominated before the pandemic left the system vulnerable to a set of shocks that had previously been discounted or not fully considered.

Companies had scoured the globe to find the cheapest and most flexible suppliers.

This approach worked well as long as transactions across borders were reliable and efficient.

But a succession of shocks — former US President Trump’s trade war, the pandemic, surging commodity prices, and now the Russia-Ukraine conflict — have increasingly undermined the system.

Second, the pandemic brought about a massive rebalancing in consumption towards goods and away from services, leading to pressure on global production chains. Services spending has now climbed back to pre-pandemic levels, but still looks weak compared with spending on goods.

Third, we had monetary stimulus — lots of it. This supported spending through the worst of the downturn, reinforcing the strength of goods spending and, in turn, amplifying pressures on supply chains. This situation has now shifted, however, as the macro stimulus that was put in place during the pandemic has generally been removed, or is in the process of being removed, in various economies.

Fourth, the pandemic has continued to evolve with new variants emerging. Although households, businesses and the public sector have generally become more adept at managing the challenges of the pandemic, a full recovery from its economic effects will require substantial further progress in managing the pandemic and reducing case counts.  

Finally, worker shortages have hampered a ramp up in production capacity.

Notably, the unemployment rate in major economies is now back down to readings roughly similar to those before the pandemic, and labor market pressures are emerging in a range of countries.

This shortage remains acute in the transportation sector, even as employment in truck transportation has now moved slightly above its pre-pandemic peak.

To gauge the ongoing tightness of supply chain conditions, Citi Research has developed the Citi Global Supply Chain Pressure Index.

This looks at a range of data that capture conditions in global shipping and logistics, inventories, and the performance of global purchasing managers’ indexes (PMIs) or purchasing manager indices, in particular production backlogs and supplier delivery times.

In spite of retreating slightly from its peak last autumn, the index continues to signal remarkable tensions in global supply chains, making clear that the stresses of 2021 are still very much present. The three underlying components of the global index — transport costs, PMIs, and inventory pressures — have each shown a distinct trajectory of late. Notably, the transport cost component has moved up in recent months, while inventories look to have essentially moved sideways. Global purchasing managers indices eased somewhat in December 2021 and January 2022, but then rose in subsequent months.

The unavoidable conclusion is that the factors that were driving supply chain pressure last year are very much still with us.

The Ukraine effect

Worse, Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has unleashed new pressures that have shattered any hopes of an imminent healing in global supply chains. In fact, as long as the conflict persists, it’s difficult to envision any meaningful improvement in overall supply conditions.

When the conflict erupted in February, global markets initially framed things as a shock to energy supplies. But the risks and pressures on supply chains extend well beyond energy. 

For example, Ukraine is a significant exporter of neon gas, which is used to make semiconductors.

Big manufacturers may have enough inventory to buffer the shock, but the picture for smaller producers is less clear. Ukraine also is an important producer of automobile cables, in particular wire harnesses. With exports of these cables disrupted, auto production in Germany has been hit.

Russia and Ukraine are also the largest exporters of wheat, processed nickel, and fertilizers; the second largest exporters of lumber, refined copper, steel, ammonia, and titanium; and the third largest for aluminum, coal, and gas turbines. With shipments from the region of such key products limited or under stress, the possibility of meaningful supply disruptions in the months ahead seems high.

The lessons companies can now learn

The supply chain management practices that prevailed in the years before the pandemic were based on two assumptions.

The first was that global supply chain structures — particularly shipping and logistics — were robust, cost-effective, and reliable. The second was that demand for goods would be relatively smooth and predictable.

Clearly, the system was not designed for the challenges that the pandemic threw up — let alone the Ukraine conflict.

Lockdowns resulted in shortages of key manufactured inputs and then, as producers struggled to catch up, created excess demand for shipping and transport services. The result has been unpredictable delivery schedules, as well as sharply higher prices for shipped goods.

The past two years have also seen surging demand for final goods coupled with episodic disruptions in the availability of the inputs required to produce those goods. In many cases, companies have accumulated some, but not all, of the inputs needed to produce. There are plenty of anecdotal stories of goods awaiting that final essential component to be installed before production can be completed.

The authors of the Citi GPS report believe that, as a result of this, companies are likely to respond in various ways. These include embracing digitization and electronic tracking of inventory and logistics; emphasizing partnerships with suppliers and long-term alliances; and changing inventory management to allow the holding of larger buffers, especially for critical components.

When it comes to inventory management, the largest companies have already started making clear they intend to re-examine the structure of their supply chains.

Previously, they had monitored front-line suppliers – that is, those supplying directly to them. But now, companies are increasingly focused on second- and even third-tier linkages — that is, their suppliers’ suppliers.

This should make manufacturing supply chains more resilient, while giving companies greater visibility into the challenges and risks — as well as the opportunities and potential efficiencies — that their supply chains provide.

There are several implications here.

First, as companies invest in knowing more about their second- and third-tier suppliers, we will start to see longer-term commitments baked into those relationships based on an expectation of reliable performance through the cycle, rather than just short-term cost considerations.

This should in turn have the effect of supporting the pursuit of sustainability objectives, especially companies’ efforts to understand the totality of their carbon footprint. It also may be a time to consider solutions that support financing of deep-tier suppliers or reward governance-focused suppliers.

Companies are also likely to continue to take steps to digitize and automate their supply chain and inventory management systems, in order to better incorporate information into business decisions.

What does the future landscape look like?

Perhaps the biggest effect of the new reality described above will be on the geographical contours of supply chains, and how they may shift.

The big takeaway for many companies has been that far-flung supply chains carry previously uncontemplated risks. Given current geopolitical realities, this may be particularly true for US companies relying on suppliers in China. Indeed, there may be long-tail consequences resulting from the Ukraine conflict. For instance, the reconfiguration of global supply chains away from nations deemed to be unfriendly to the West could be accelerated.

The Citi GPS report’s authors anticipate that some US companies and possibly those from other countries, will seek to diversify their supply chains away from China. Some corporates more widely may also redouble efforts to move from a just-in-time to just-in-case model.

Citi Global Wealth Investments shares this view and believes that southeast Asian economies are among the leading potential beneficiaries – see our Rise of Asia theme.

Ultimately, it is also plausible that an increased share of production will be brought home — or re-shored — entirely.

In terms of the effect on specific sectors, there are some positives. Precious metals like palladium should be able to recover quickly as its shipment can be routed to China by air. It could take just one to two quarters to readjust this supply chain. However, it would be much harder to readjust bulk commodities like steel.

In the industrials sector, it is noticeable when looking back to past situations defined by both disruption and inflation, that the market tends to find a solution. If there are supply constraints on a certain component in the manufacturing process, new technologies that use less of these products come around. To offset disruptions, supply chains can also rebalance — they can reroute and choose to purchase from other regions. This can happen in the space of a few quarters for most areas.

In technology, the GPS report’s authors believe that by the end of 2022, supply and demand could come back into balance for some end applications like smartphones and personal computers. However, in the automotive supply chain, a balance in terms of supply and demand is unlikely to be achieved before 2023 at the earliest.

Amid the uncertainty, however, some things are clear. A prolonged period of volatility and unpredictability seems likely. Rising interest rates will also affect market dynamics. If geopolitical tensions remain, the reshaping of global supply chains will be a fluid affair.

This means that planning for every eventuality is impossible. But building greater resilience into supply chains is key – and banks can play a key role in helping to support companies as they embark on this task.

At Citi Global Wealth Investments, we believe that all of this has significant implications. Commodity shortages and price volatility have deepened the uncertainty facing investors in 2022. The potential for further dislocation – be it from the Russia-Ukraine conflict or elsewhere – remains significant.

Market forces may take two years or more to ease supply chain pressures, depending on the sector.

The Russia-Ukraine war has generated shortages in global commodities and further dislocations in supply chains.

Other producers will have to fill the gap. Investing to address this challenging situation may offer a portfolio hedge. Citi Global Wealth Investments explores how in Overcoming supply shortages.

OUTLOOK

Mid-Year Outlook 2022

2022 has seen a reset of the international world order and the end of boom conditions in markets. Despite uncertainties, we see many reasons to be fully, but wisely invested. Our Mid-Year Outlook is a critical guide for investors around the globe.

Find out more