慈善事業
2022年2月23日

慈善事業:可持續增長的新支柱

2022年2月23日
Karen Kardos
慈善事業諮詢主管
概覽

人們日益認識到慈善事業在推動經濟增長和積極社會變革方面的力量。


花旗私人銀行慈善事業諮詢主管近期接受了AdvisorPrivate的採訪,探討了慈善事業、可持續發展和經濟增長之間的關係。我們經AdvisorPrivate許可,將原文翻譯成了意大利語。

現在,慈善事業、影響力投資和企業社會責任比以往任何時候都更為緊密地聯繫在一起。這是花旗私人銀行慈善事業諮詢主管、研究報告《慈善事業與全球經濟:轉型世界中的機遇》(Philanthropy and the Global Economy: Opportunities in a World of Transition)撰稿人Karen Kardos(如圖)的觀點。AdvisorPrivate向她講述了慈善事業的主要趨勢,以及慈善事業在構建更具包容性和可持續發展的世界方面可以發揮的作用。  

近年來,慈善事業的概念是如何變化和發展的?

從以往來看,慈善事業由時間、財富和人才組成,並主要採取捐贈和志願服務的形式。雖然今天仍然如此,但我們已經看到年輕一代的態度已經拓寬了這一概念,他們將生活方式的選擇視為幫助他人的一種途徑。對於投身某些組織工作、向其投資和購買其產品,年輕一代對此作出的決定,只是他們視為「向上」與「向善」且作出積極變革的一些渠道。

環境、社會和治理(ESG)因素是衡量組織價值觀的指標,其旨在對社會產生積極影響。對於許多人來說,與一家幫助創造積極變革的組織合作,意味著他們也在為世界創造積極的改變。因此,慈善事業、影響力投資和企業社會責任之間的界限變得更加深入交織。

慈善事業在全球經濟增長中可以發揮什麼作用?

政府在推動經濟發展方面發揮著主導作用,但他們無法獨自解決緊迫的社會問題。與政府不同,慈善事業可以靈活地幫助彌補解決方案的不足,並承擔風險找到合適的解決方法。透過與政府的長期合作,慈善事業可以指導可擴展的系統性的解決方案。對非牟利組織的支援往往可促進原本不會發生的活動。

慈善事業產生的下游經濟價值也可能是巨大的。例如,僅在就業方面,非牟利部門不僅是一個重要的僱主,而且非牟利組織為減輕支援或培訓及發展方面的負擔而提供的服務,使勞動力參與度更高。

它可以在哪些領域具有戰略意義?教育、醫療保健、賦予婦女權力等?

無論慈善事業的重點領域是什麼,各層面的合作及夥伴關係都可以具有戰略意義,從而創造有意義的變革。在提供資金層面,與志同道合的出資人合作是一個相互學習、降低風險、避免重複工作的機會,並增加對非牟利組織的支援,使得這些組織擁有共享資源,更深思熟慮的決策過程,有更多出資人的經驗可以借鑑,並形成規模經濟。

從方案層面來看,與非牟利夥伴的合作,包括共同決策和其他基於信任的慈善理念,可以帶來更好的結果。

我們經常聽到慈善事業在綠色轉型和淨零排放中發揮重要作用。對此,您怎麼看?

我完全同意。目前,相對於其他利益相關的領域,支援環境事業的資金相對較少。慈善事業發揮重要作用的最簡單方法是,增加對相關非牟利組織的捐贈,這些組織可直接致力於解決與氣候危機有關的方面,如污染、生物多樣性喪失、廢物與排放處理等問題。

關於向淨零排放的過渡,對社會負責的投資旨在確保與環境價值相衝突的證券或行業被排除在投資組合之外。同時,ESG整合使用數據為決策提供資訊,以納入那些在環境方面處於領先地位或積極致力於環境改善的公司證券。影響力投資旨在提供雙重基準,在衡量財務回報的同時,還要對環境進行明確的評分。

慈善事業與科技之間有什麼關係?科技可以被視為慈善事業增長的驅動力嗎?

科技是影響未來許多方面的關鍵趨勢,慈善事業的未來增長也不例外。我們確定了四個重點關注的主要機會:

  1. 升級用戶服務體驗以過渡到數碼化,這可以提供支援或擴大相關群體規模,從而拓展非牟利組織的覆蓋範圍和影響力。
  2. 將志願者體驗數碼化,以納入可以透過網上應用程式存取的短期機會,從而提高參與度,尤其是年輕志願者的參與度。
  3. 數碼化募資,正日益成為捐贈者的首選捐贈方式,而提供相關基礎設施可輕鬆接收來自更廣泛捐贈人群的小額捐贈。
  4. 更多地利用數據,包括在衡量影響時,為捐助者提供更大的透明度。

還有哪些其他因素可促進慈善事業發展?

在慈善事業方面,我們已經看到了女性的力量和領導力。到2035年,她們將繼承70%隔代間財富的傳承。鑑於女性比男性更有可能支持平等,向更多的慈善機構和行業捐贈,以及進行不受限制的捐款,她們可能會繼續推動慈善事業的未來發展。

企業慈善事業也可能成為未來經濟增長的驅動力。隨著慈善事業和企業社會責任的進一步交織,企業慈善事業可以提升品牌知名度,贏得客戶和人才對企業的青睞。全球跨國公司更有能力提供國際支援。

新冠疫情本身可能成為慈善事業短期增長的推動力。慈善捐贈與不平等問題的解決呈正相關性。疫情凸顯了其對少數民族和低收入家庭的影響。再加上氣候變化對這些人群所造成的不同程度的影響,以及目前美國湧現出的對種族和社會公正的需求,慈善事業有可能得到顯著發展。

慈善事業

慈善諮詢

我們設計個性化策略,旨在產生有意義的影響,從而助您踐行慈善使命和延續傳統。

了解更多

Philanthropy
February 23, 2022
5 mins

Philanthropy: The new pillar of sustainable growth

February 23, 2022
5 mins
Karen Kardos
Head of Philanthropic Advisory
SUMMARY

Recognition of the power of philanthropy to drive growth and positive social change is growing.


Citi Private Bank’s Head of Philanthropy was recently interviewed by AdvisorPrivate on the relationships between philanthropy, sustainability and growth. We reproduce a translation of the original article in Italian with kind permission from AdvisorPrivate.

Philanthropy, impact investments and corporate social responsibility are now more interconnected than ever before. This is the view of Karen Kardos(pictured), Head of Philanthropic Advisory at Citi Private Bank and contributor to the research report "Philanthropy and the Global Economy: Opportunities in a World of Transition". AdvisorPrivate spoke to her about key trends in philanthropy and the role it could play in building a more inclusive and sustainable world.  

How has the concept of philanthropy changed and evolved over the years?

Historically, philanthropy has consisted of time, treasure and talent, mainly taking the form of grantmaking and volunteerism. While this is still true today, we have seen how younger generations' attitudes have broadened this concept, considering their lifestyle choices as a way to help others. Decisions about the organizations they will work for, invest in and buy from are just some of the tools that the younger generation sees as a way of doing good and making positive change.

Environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors are measures of an organisation's values designed to have a positive impact on society. For many people, engaging with an organisation that is helping to create positive change means that they too are creating positive change for the world. The lines between philanthropy, impact investment and corporate social responsibility have therefore become much more intertwined.

What role can philanthropy play in global economic growth?

Governments play a dominant role in driving economic development, but they cannot solve pressing social issues on their own. Philanthropy, unlike governments, can be nimble to help bridge solutions and take risks to find them. Through long-term partnerships with government, philanthropy can thus guide scalable systemic solutions. Support for non-profit organisations often promotes activities that would not otherwise have taken place.

The downstream economic value generated by philanthropy can also be material. For example, just in terms of jobs, the non-profit sector is not only a significant employer, but the services provided by non-profit organisations to alleviate the burden of support or training and development allow for greater workforce participation.

In which areas can it be strategic? Education, health care, female empowerment etc.?

Regardless of the focus area of philanthropy, collaborations and partnerships at all levels can be strategic to create meaningful change. At the funding level, working with like-minded funders is an opportunity to learn from each other, mitigate risk, avoid duplicating efforts and increase support for non-profit organisations with shared resources, a more thoughtful decision-making process with more funder experiences to draw from and economies of scale.

From a programmatic level, collaboration with non-profit partners, including shared decision-making and other trust-based philanthropic ideas, can lead to better results.

We often hear about how philanthropy can play an important role in the green transition and net zero. What do you think about this?

I fully agree. At the moment, there is relatively little funding to support environmental causes relative to other areas of interest. The easiest way for philanthropy to play an important role is by increasing grants to non-profit organizations that are working directly to address aspects relating to the climate crisis, such as pollution, loss of biodiversity, waste and emissions.

Regarding the transition to net zero, socially responsible investment is designed to ensure that securities or sectors that conflict with environmental values are excluded from the investment portfolio. Meanwhile, ESG integration uses data to inform decisions to include securities that are leading the way in terms of the environment or that are strongly directed towards improvement. Impact investment is designed to provide a double baseline, with clear environmental scores measured alongside financial return.

What is the relationship between philanthropy and technology? Can technology be considered a driver of growth for philanthropy?

Technology is a key trend that will impact many aspects of the future, and the future growth of philanthropy is no exception. We have identified four key opportunities to focus on:

  1. Upgrade the user experience of the service to transition to digital, which can offer support or a broader group to extend the reach and impact of non-profits.
  2. Digitize the volunteer experience to include short-term opportunities that can be accessed via online apps to increase engagement, especially among younger volunteers.
  3. Digitize fundraising, which is increasingly becoming the preferred method of donation by donors and provides the infrastructure to easily receive small donations from a larger donor population.
  4. Make greater use of data, including when measuring impact, to provide more transparency to donors.
 
 
 
 
 

What other factors could enable philanthropy to grow?

We are already seeing the power and leadership of women when it comes to philanthropy. They are set to inherit 70% of the intergenerational wealth transfer by 2035. Given that women are more likely than men to support equality, donate to more charities and sectors and make unrestricted donations, they will likely continue to drive the future growth of philanthropy.

Corporate philanthropy could also be a driver of future growth. With the intertwining of philanthropy and corporate social responsibility, corporate philanthropy could enhance brands and attract customers and talent to the workforce. Global multinational corporations are better positioned to provide international support.

The Covid pandemic itself could be a catalyst for the short-term growth of philanthropy. Charitable donations correlate positively to inequality. The pandemic has highlighted its impact on minorities and low-income families. Coupled with the disproportionate impact that climate change has on those same populations and the demands for racial and social justice here in the US, there is the potential for a marked increase in philanthropy.

Philanthropy

Philanthropy

We help bring your philanthropic mission and legacy to life by designing a personalized strategy that aims to create meaningful impact.

Learn more