中東策略:2023年有何展望?

概要

儘管歐美今年可能受衰退所累,但我們認為,海灣阿拉伯國家合作委員會(GCC)地區的最大經濟體或能避免衰退。但仍需關注地緣政治風險及油價波動。


  • 2022年全球資產類別普遍下跌,但GCC經濟體的情況卻有所不同。與標普500指數大跌19%相比,綜合GCC股市指數2022年僅收跌6.4%。
  • 俄烏衝突爆發導致油價在2022年上半年飆升,隨後油價在下半年因全球經濟增長放緩而有所回落。
  • 高企的油價和碳氫化合物生產仍支撐著GCC的經濟增長。我們預計,2022年GCC經濟合計增長7.7%,為2011年以來的最快增速。
  • 在全球經濟放緩以及10月的OPEC+產量協議的共同影響下,該地區GDP增長或將在2023年放緩至約3%,但仍領先於全球大部分經濟體。

行業/市場偏好

  • 對於GCC經濟體和市場而言,持續上漲的油價(高於財政盈虧平衡水平)使其前景更為明朗,同時財政盈餘可支持其開展多元化措施和改革。我們認為,阿聯酋和沙特阿拉伯必將在這方面受益,這得益於其持續進行的社會經濟改革,此番改革最終將滲透到更為強勁的私營部門活動中,推動經濟體的非石油行業取得發展。
  • 在眼下的高利率環境中,我們看好GCC銀行的前景,其盈利能力可能會在2023年有所改善。
  • 我們在《2023年財富展望》中將醫療保健作為了一項關鍵主題,而由於多項政府改革計劃,醫療保健也仍是GCC地區的關鍵增長行業。
  • GCC持續加快向可再生能源的轉型,定下了遠大的綠色能源目標,該地區在全球能源系統中的地位或將得以鞏固和提升。

2023年有何展望?

2022年對於大多數投資者而言是不堪回首的一年。這一年中,全球市場和地緣政治突發事件頻現,金融市場震盪不已,導致各資產類別普遍下跌。然而,GCC經濟體的情況卻截然不同,在全球獨樹一幟。俄烏衝突為去年的地緣政治衝擊拉開序幕,導致上半年油價飆升46%,布倫特原油現貨價格在2022年3月盤中觸及139美元/桶的峰值。石油供應之憂持續推高價格,引起全球通脹急升,同時促使各國央行收緊貨幣政策。

2022年3月以來,美聯儲聯邦公開市場委員會(FOMC)累計將聯邦基金利率目標區間上調450個基點,GCC各國央行也緊跟加息步伐。俄烏危機潛在結果存在重大不確定性,初期導致大宗商品價格急升。為應對該市場狀況,OPEC+產油國集團首先進行增產,然後在臨近年底時減產。在全球增長前景放緩環境下,油價在6月至9月期間暴跌超過25%。

俄烏衝突除了引發一系列人道問題之外,也使得俄羅斯作為世界最大大宗商品出口國的地位出現顛覆性的下降,同時也對全球地緣政治格局產生了多方面影響。俄羅斯跌出能源和非能源超級大國的行列,全球投資和貿易模式也因而急劇轉變,俄可能再也無法恢復其昔日作為諸多重要原材料的全球第一出口國的地位。

中國方面,最初為應對新冠疫情的持續影響採取了嚴格的封控措施,在年底時則徹底取消了多項嚴苛政策以期加快經濟復甦。由於市場持續看好中國經濟重新開放和美國經濟可能實現軟著陸,油價在最近幾週小幅上升。

油價高企和碳氫化合物生產對GCC的經濟增長帶來支撐,預計總體經濟在2022年增長7.7%,為2011年以來的最快增速。在全球經濟放緩以及10月的OPEC+產量協議的共同影響下,該地區GDP增長或將在2023年放緩至約3%,但仍領先於全球大部分經濟體。GCC的石油GDP增長預計將從2022年的約12%大幅放緩至2023年的2.6%。同時,非石油GDP預計將從2022年的5.5%放緩至2023年的約3%。

在週期性收入增長和持續財政改革措施的共同影響下,該地區的預算餘額預計將從2021年佔GDP 2.7%的財政赤字變為2022年4.2%的財政盈餘,預計盈餘在2023年會減少約2%。較高的能源價格和產量可能將增加該地區的經常賬戶盈餘,從2021年佔GDP的9.1%增至2022年估值16%,然後在2023年減至13%。

經濟背景似有不同,大宗商品前景至關重要

儘管2020年以來空前的衝擊令全球經濟擺脫了低通脹環境,但海灣國家的物價壓力仍然較低,在2022年的總體通脹率為3.5%。

進入2023年,該地區最大的經濟體應能夠避免陷入衰退。國際貨幣基金組織(IMF)最近在2023年1月發布《世界經濟展望》更新報告,預計2023年GDP增長儘管增速放緩,但仍將保持正增長,「主要是由於根據OPEC+協議石油產量減少,而非石油增長預計保持強勁」。

OPEC+在2022年10月達成的協議約定每天整體減產200萬桶,這將對2023年的GDP增長帶來影響。沙特阿拉伯、阿聯酋和科威特的產量目標分別下調52.6萬桶/天、16萬桶/天和13.5萬桶/天。

這種觀點的相關風險包括2022年美元走強的不確定性因素(該地區掛鉤貨幣面臨挑戰)、地緣政治風險(使能源供應方式發生調整)和油價波動,所有這些因素都可能為該地區的增長前景帶來重大變化。花旗的大宗商品策略師認為,2023年油價平均為80美元/桶。他們的看跌預測情境可能導致油價到2023年底跌至65美元/桶,略低於沙特阿拉伯的財政盈虧平衡水平(估計為約67美元)。

該地區的採購經理人指數(PMI)調查數據(可洞察企業在訂單、擴張計劃、招聘等方面的動向)保持強勁,沙特阿拉伯的整體數據從2022年12月的56.9升至2023年1月的58.2,而阿聯酋從2022年12月的54.2略降至2023年1月的54.1。卡塔爾的整體PMI指數從2022年12月的49.6降至2023年1月的45.7(對比2022年1月為57.6),為連續第四個月錄得收縮。數據高於50.0表明上個月企業有所擴張,而低於50.0則表明出現收縮。

究其原因,阿聯酋的企業在1月的新訂單顯著增長,同時招聘人數也多於前幾個月。由於全球經濟環境低迷,阿聯酋的出口下降。沙特阿拉伯的非石油私營部門在1月錄得增長,產量、新訂單和採購活動在2022年12月後強勁反彈。

然而,下行風險仍然較高。多項因素對該地區構成嚴重壓力,包括隨著歐美預計將陷入衰退,全球經濟放緩範圍擴大,以及關於供應鏈衝擊、通脹和央行進一步加息(特別是美聯儲)的持續擔憂(但已有所緩解)。當前的整體形勢十分複雜,全球經濟面臨的嚴峻挑戰、俄烏危機後地緣政治引發的持續能源供應調整、OPEC+減產可能產生的政治反應,在這樣的背景下,我們的觀點面臨著高度的不確定性。

股票

GCC股市在2022年跑贏轉差的全球股市。最初由油價上漲帶動,綜合GCC股票市場指數雖在2022年收跌,但仍跑贏其他主要指數。

去年前四個月錄得22%的升幅,隨後跟隨油價下跌,升幅被跌幅抵消有餘。展望未來,儘管GCC的利潤仍容易受經濟放緩和波動的大宗商品市場影響,但該地區的估值似乎處於合理水平。

與標普500指數大跌19%相比,綜合GCC股市指數2022年僅收跌-6.4%。GCC中,阿布扎比表現最為出色,全年上升20.3%,其次是上升17.6%的阿曼。卡塔爾的跌幅最大,為7.6%,而沙特阿拉伯的Tadawul指數出現六年來的首次下跌。

GCC的估值符合長期中值

估值變得更為合理,GCC的12個月追蹤市盈率從2021年的峰值26倍降至15倍,符合長期中值。個別國家/地區的表現方面,從12個月追蹤基準看,阿布扎比估值最昂貴(21倍),而巴林最便宜(8.1倍)。沙特阿拉伯(11.6倍)的交易價格低於其長期中值,而卡塔爾和巴林的交易價格基本符合其長期中值。

大宗商品價格上漲導致2022年的盈利預測上升。全球來看,我們預測盈利將出現下滑,盈利在2023年將收縮約10%(請參閱《2023年財富展望》)。儘管如此,未來一年的盈利風險可能會下降,特別是因為GCC的利潤集中在週期性行業,而這些行業的利潤在全球增長放緩期間往往會下降。

然而,供應增加和全球需求放緩的滯後影響可能對布倫特原油價格構成壓力,截至年底徘徊在70美元上下。石油價格大跌幅度有所緩解,對比典型經濟衰退中的現象來看,可能意味著下一年的週期性盈利收縮較為溫和。

展望

2023年財富展望

2023年市況的發展將推動經濟在2024年復甦。因此,我們預計,對於以市場先例情況爲指引的投資者而言,2023年將最終爲其帶來一系列意義重大的機會。閱讀我們的復甦之路:“由危轉機”時的投資組合。

聯繫我們

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的私人銀行顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

請填寫表格,以便我們與您聯繫。

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款與條件以便繼續

最符合您情況的描述是?

我想討論的一項投資是關於

我想討論的一項投資是關於

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold Private Client

我關注的領域

Aircraft Finance
藝術品諮詢和融資
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

職務與公司

職務與公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

請輸入您的聯繫方式

請輸入您的聯繫方式

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行可使用我的個人資料(姓名、電話和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送關於花旗私人銀行財富管理產品及服務的市場推廣資訊。我了解我的個人資料將按照本人所在地的相關隱私聲明加以使用。我亦了解我可以發送郵件至donotcall@citi.com,要求花旗私人銀行不再透過電話向本人推介上述市場推廣資訊;或隨時更改電子郵件偏好中心的設置,拒絕花旗私人銀行透過電子郵件向本人推送該等資訊。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,我們的團隊成員會盡快與您聯繫。

Middle East strategy: What can we expect in 2023?

Leading Middle Eastern economies on track for growth in 2023

SUMMARY

Even though a recession is likely to hit the EU and US this year, we believe the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) region’s largest economies may be able to avoid it. However, geopolitical risks and oil price volatility are factors to watch.


  • Global asset classes saw broad-based declines in 2022, but it was a different story for GCC economies. The aggregate GCC equity market index ended 2022 down 6.4%, compared with -19% for the S&P 500 index.
  • The outbreak of the Russia-Ukraine war sent oil prices soaring in the first half of 2022, then dropped in the second half of the year amid slowing global growth.
  • Still, elevated oil prices and hydrocarbon production support GCC economic growth. We expect aggregated GCC economic growth to rise by 7.7% in 2022, the fastest rate since 2011.
  • The combined effect of a slowing global economy and the October OPEC+ production agreement will likely see regional GDP growth decelerate to around 3% in 2023, albeit still ahead of most global peers.

Market preferences

  • Sustainably higher oil prices (above fiscal breakeven levels) provide better visibility for GCC economies and markets with fiscal surpluses supporting diversification efforts and reforms. We believe the UAE and Saudi Arabia are set to benefit in this aspect as they continue socio-economic reforms, which will ultimately filter through into stronger private sector activity driving non-oil sectors of the economy.
  • In this higher interest rate environment, our outlook on GCC banks is positive, with profitability likely to improve over the course of 2023.
  • Healthcare, a key theme in our Wealth Outlook 2023, remains a vital growth sector in the GCC given the various government transformation plans.
  • The accelerating shift to renewables, and ambitious green energy targets in the region, will likely see the GCC strengthen its foothold on the global energy system.

What to expect in 2023

For most investors 2022 was a year to forget. It was a year that witnessed unprecedented events in global markets and geopolitics, rattling financial markets and leading to broad-based declines across all asset classes. However, GCC economies fared quite differently, outperforming on the global stage. The first geopolitical shock of the year was the Russia/Ukraine conflict, which sent oil prices soaring 46% higher in the first half of the year, with Brent spot prices reaching a peak of $139/barrel in intraday pricing in March 2022. Oil supply fears kept prices elevated, which contributed to a global surge in inflation and prompted central banks to tighten monetary policy.

Since March 2022, the US Federal Reserve’s Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) has raised the Fed funds target range by a cumulative total of 450 basis points (bps), and GCC central banks have followed suit with matching interest rate hikes. Critical uncertainties over the potential outcome of the Russia/Ukraine crisis initially led to a surge in commodity prices. The OPEC+ group of oil producers responded to market conditions by first expanding production levels, followed by cuts towards the end of the year. Oil prices plunged more than 25% in the June to September period amid slower global growth prospects.

The Russia/Ukraine war, beyond its humanitarian consequences, is setting the stage for a radically reduced global role for Russia, the world’s largest commodity-exporting country, with multiple impacts for global geopolitics. Russia leaving the ranks of energy and non-energy superpowers shifted global investment and trade patterns and may potentially never regain its position as the world’s number one exporter of so many critical materials.

China responded to the continuing effects of the COVID pandemic initially by imposing strict lockdowns and curbs before abandoning its draconian policies late in the year on hopes of accelerating economic recovery. Oil prices have edged higher in recent weeks amid continued optimism about China’s reopening and the potential for a soft landing for the US economy.

Elevated oil prices and hydrocarbon production supported GCC economic growth, with the aggregate economy projected to expand by 7.7% in 2022, the fastest growth since 2011. The combined effect of a slowing global economy and the October OPEC+ production agreement will likely see regional GDP growth decelerate to around 3% in 2023, albeit still ahead of most global peers. GCC oil GDP growth is expected to slow markedly from about 12% in 2022 to 2.6% in 2023. In parallel, non-oil GDP is estimated to soften to around 3% in 2023, from 5.5% in 2022.

Because of the combination of cyclical revenue growth and ongoing fiscal reform efforts, the region’s budget balance is expected to swing into a surplus of 4.2% of GDP in 2022, from a deficit of 2.7% in 2021, with a view to a narrower surplus of approximately 2% in 2023. Higher energy prices and production will likely widen the region’s current account surplus to an estimated 16% of GDP in 2022 from 9.1% in 2021 before moderating to 13% in 2023.

Economic backdrop looks different

While unprecedented shocks since 2020 steered the global economy away from a low-inflation environment, price pressures in the Gulf states remained relatively subdued with the aggregate inflation rate for the region at 3.5% for 2022.

Heading into 2023, the region’s largest economies should avoid recession. The International Monetary Fund’s (IMF) recent World Economic Outlook Update, January 2023, expected GDP growth to remain positive in 2023, albeit at a slower pace, reflecting ‘mainly lower oil production in line with an agreement through OPEC+, while non-oil growth is expected to remain robust.’

The OPEC+ October 2022 agreement outlining a 2-million barrel per day headline cut will have implications for GDP growth in 2023. The production targets of Saudi Arabia, the UAE and Kuwait have been reduced by 526,000 b/d, 160,000 b/d and 135,000 b/d, respectively.

Commodity outlook

Risks associated with this view are uncertainty around 2022’s dollar strength (a challenge for the region’s pegged currencies), geopolitical risks (via a re-alignment of energy supplies) and oil price volatility – all of which could significantly alter the region’s growth outlook. Citi commodity strategists see oil prices averaging $80/barrel for 2023. Their bear case could see oil fall to $65/barrel by end of 2023, slightly below Saudi Arabia’s fiscal breakeven (estimated at around $67).

Purchasing Managers’ Index (PMI) survey data (which provides insights into what businesses are doing in terms of orders, expansion plans, hiring, etc.) for the region remain robust, with headline data for Saudi Arabia rising from 56.9 in December to 58.2 in January, while the UAE was down marginally to 54.1 in January from 54.2 in December. Qatar’s headline PMI index fell to 45.7 in January from 49.6 in December (vs 57.6 in January 2022), marking the fourth consecutive month of contraction. A reading above 50.0 signals an expansion in business conditions on the previous month, whereas readings below 50.0 mark a contraction.

Beneath the surface, UAE businesses recorded a significant increase in new orders during January while also hiring more than in previous months. The UAE saw declines on the export side, attributed to weaker global conditions. Saudi Arabia’s non-oil private sector rose in January, with output, new orders and purchasing activity rebounding strongly from December 2022.

However, downside risks remain elevated. Weighing heavily on the region are an expanding global slowdown with an expected recession in the US and Europe, continued (but reduced) concerns about supply chain shocks, inflation and further central bank rate hikes (especially from the US Fed). On the back of stiff challenges clouding the global economy, the ongoing geopolitical re-alignment of energy supplies in the wake of the Russia-Ukraine crisis, and the possibility of political reactions to the OPEC+ cut, our views are subject to a high degree of uncertainty.

Equities

GCC equity markets outperformed weaker global markets in 2022 (Figure 9). Aided initially by higher oil prices, the aggregate GCC equity market index nevertheless ended 2022 lower but still outperformed other key indices.

Gains of 22% made in the first four months of the year were more than offset by declines thereafter, tracking the oil price lower. Going forward, GCC valuations look reasonable though profits remain sensitive to economic slowdown and volatile commodity markets.

The aggregate GCC equity market index ended 2022 down -6.4%, compared with -19% for the S&P 500 index. Within the GCC, Abu Dhabi was the best performer reporting a 20.3% gain on the year, followed by Oman at 17.6%. Qatar posted the biggest decline of -7.6%, while Saudi Arabia’s Tadawul Index posted its first decline in six years.

GCC valuations are in line with long-term median

Valuations have become more reasonable, with the GCC 12-month trailing P/E ratio falling from 2021’s peak of 26x to 15x, in line with the long-run median. Looking at individual country performance, Abu Dhabi is the most expensive (21x) on a 12m trailing basis, while Bahrain is cheapest (8.1x). Saudi Arabia (11.6x) is trading below its long-run median, and Qatar and Bahrain are trading roughly in line with their long-term medians.

Elevated commodity prices boosted earnings forecasts for 2022. Globally we are forecasting an earnings recession, with earnings contracting by roughly 10% in 2023 (see Wealth Outlook 2023). Nevertheless, earnings risks are likely to be the downside this coming year, particularly as GCC profits are concentrated in cyclical sectors which tend to see profits fall during periods of global growth scarcity.

However, the lagged impact of supply gains and global demand moderation could pressure Brent crude oil prices around the $70 range by year-end. A less severe drawdown in oil would likely mean a more modest retrenchment in cyclical earnings this coming year than we've seen in typical recessions.

OUTLOOK

Wealth Outlook 2024

Our global economic outlook for the year ahead

 

Growth will slow in early 2024, but we see no synchronized collapse across the global economy, as many fear. 

Contact us

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right Private Bank team, please answer the following questions.

Are you an existing Private Bank client?

Are you an existing client?

Please fill out the form, so we can contact you.

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant  privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone by emailing donotcall@citi.com, or email by visiting the email preference center at any time.

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

What profile best describes you?

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

I would like to discuss an investment (USD) of

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank.

Our services have a minimum investment level of $5 million.

Based on the information provided, we believe that a Citigold relationship may be most appropriate for your needs.

To find out more: Visit Citigold Private Client

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
inerested_in
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

I am interested in

Aircraft Finance
Art Advisory & Finance
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Lending
Real Estate
Trust

Please select at least one.

Job title & Company

Job title & Company

Location

Location

How would you like us to contact you?

How would you like us to contact you?

Please enter your contact details

Please enter your contact details

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone by emailing donotcall@citi.com, or email by visiting the email preference center at any time.

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

How did you hear about us?

How can we help you?

I consent to the use of my personal information (name, telephone number and email address) by Citi Private Bank for the purpose of contacting me to send me marketing information about Citi Private Bank's wealth management products and services. I understand that my information will be used in accordance with the relevant privacy statement for my location. I also understand I can withdraw this consent to be contacted by phone by emailing donotcall@citi.com, or email by visiting the email preference center at any time.

Please consent to the terms and conditions to continue

Thank you for your interest in Citi Private Bank. A member of our team will be in touch with you shortly.