花旗
2022年6月20日

畅想未来:元宇宙如何成为变局者

2022年6月20日
花旗私人银行
概览

一个起源于科幻小说领域的概念正在成为现实。花旗GPS最近的一份报告阐述了一些可能性。


想象您置身于一个音乐会,身边围坐的不仅有三五好友,还另有2000万人,他们在与您一起互动和交流。或者想象一下与潜在雇主人力资源部门人员的虚拟化身讨论公司招聘流程。再或者想象一下在一个虚拟购物中心试穿服装。

元宇宙的发展使这些沉浸式数字体验都并非遥不可及。元宇宙这一概念可能成为互联网新一代趋势,沉浸式地将物理世界和数字世界相结合,除了虚拟现实(VR)和增强现实(AR)之外,移动设备也可以成为媒介。换言之,元宇宙是一个既可以浏览又可以参与其中的互联网。

元宇宙正在成为下一个潜在的大技术平台,吸引着人们的注意力和投资。现在对潜在市场总规模做出十分精准的预测还为时尚早,因为这在很大程度上取决于元宇宙的定义。但从广义定义来看,花旗《全球视角与解决方案》(GPS)最近一份报告的作者认为,用户规模可能多达50亿人,到2030年,潜在市场总量将达到8万亿至13万亿之间。

然而,正如这份报告所指出的那样,设计、建设和使用元宇宙引起了一系列关于科技、商业模式、监管乃至全社会的问题。

起源与定义

首先,元宇宙始于何处?更基本的问题是,元宇宙究竟是什么?这一概念首次出现在20世纪90年代的科幻小说中。这部小说描述了一个拟真的3D数字会议空间,由可编程的虚拟化身代表的人类在此互动。21世纪初,“第二人生”这款游戏提供了一个虚拟世界,用户可以在这里一起闲逛并交易虚拟物品。

但直到2021年底,围绕元宇宙的讨论才开始真正火热。此前,非同质化代币(NFT)的销售额大幅增加,大型科技公司也宣布对该领域感兴趣并进行投资。

在美国公司提交的文件和财报电话会议上,提及这个词的次数迅速增加。在企业层面,兴趣激增是由里程碑式的公告引发的,比如将Facebook更名为Meta Platforms。

然而,元宇宙一直没有确切的定义。它一部分是对于未来互联网的畅想,一部分是对包括实时3D世界在内的数字基础设施当前趋势的概括。但并没有固定的、行业广泛认同的定义。

花旗GPS认为,元宇宙是一个“互联网的下一次概念迭代”,支持跨设备的实时应用和体验,由四部分组成。

首先是空间。它是一个共享的开放式虚拟世界环境,人们可以通过互联网进入,进行丰富的多层次交互。这需要实时连接、高带宽网络和交换中心,以及其他创造沉浸式数字体验的设备。

其次是接入设备。这是指帮助用户接入元宇宙的硬件,包括VR和AR耳机、移动设备、PC和游戏机、智能眼镜等感官工具。

第三个组成部分是货币基础设施。货币基础设施为数字支付流程提供支撑,允许用户在元宇宙中交易数字资产,其中可能包括加密货币。 

最后是GPS报告作者所称的“计算”,指的是支持元宇宙结构的计算能力的支撑和供应。这是将对象带入3D世界,并允许用户与之交互的软件。

元宇宙有何用处?

当然,想到元宇宙时,我们大多数人会想到游戏。未来几年将是试验、冒险和试错的几年。

但正如花旗GPS报告借鉴外部专家的观点所得出的结论,元宇宙最终将帮助我们找到新的、更好的方法来执行我们目前的所有活动,包括商业、娱乐和媒体、教育和培训以及“智能”制造。

例如,工业界已经在探索数字孪生技术的机会,通过这种技术进行模拟,有助于减少项目成本、时间和资源浪费。此外,波音公司正在探索数字孪生技术,在元宇宙制造飞机。

这项技术也可能对医疗保健和零售行业产生重大积极影响。虽然外科手术已经使用机器人技术,但复杂的手术和训练可能受益于AR和VR。远程医疗和在大型医疗中心以外提供服务应会得到改善,从而大大减轻距离带来的挑战。对于零售和时尚界来说,元宇宙是“电商2.0”。

虚拟环境用来举办虚拟音乐会、电影首映式、启动派对和活动,涵盖众多行业垂直领域,并为NFT等粉丝收藏品提供市场。元宇宙的博物馆体验已经在建立:在线团体Pixlr Genesis的目标是建立“元宇宙的卢浮宫”,NFT是连接全球艺术家和艺术品鉴赏家的一种方式。

建造它并为此付费

要想在2030年前实现花旗预测的元宇宙市场规模,将需要基础设施投资——而且是大量的投资。

到2025年,鉴于全球只有四分之一的人口有望获得5G移动网络接入,网络带宽需要增加和交付。事实上,由于当今的网络不可靠,基础设施的当前状态不适合构建设想的元宇宙体验。实现元宇宙的内容流环境可能需要将计算效率提高1000倍以上。

这意味着无数新技术和基础设施汇集在一起,包括围绕Web3的应用程序、分散金融(DeFi)、NFT和挖矿协议。这使得很难准确量化元宇宙所需的资本支出,但GPS报告的作者预计需要大笔支出。

设计的选择也引起了很多争论。它应该是“开放式的”,建立在无许可和开放协议的Web3构建块上,还是“封闭式的”,建立在资本高效、易于使用的Web2平台上?

大型科技公司正在进行一场虚拟军备竞赛,以构建下一代占主导地位的VR和AR平台。这引发了一些人的担忧,担心元宇宙将类似于我们的Web2体验,拥有多重登录、平台把关系统、用户数据货币化和嵌入式广告。或者,我们能否拥有一个概念上乌托邦式的、由社区拥有和管理的、自由互操作的、由Web3支持的“开放元宇宙”?然而,在该报告的作者看来,可能的未来不是Web3或Web2,而是共存。

担忧的问题

无论何种模式,如果元宇宙会成为新一代互联网,那它很可能会吸引全球监管机构、政策制定者、学术机构和政府更严密的审查。

花旗GPS报告的作者认为,其中一个令人担忧的领域是内容审核,并试图确保有害和非法的内容不进入元宇宙。另一个担忧是如何保护用户的隐私和收集的数据。然后是所有权和权利问题,以及竞争和反垄断问题。

所有这些都需要重新审视监管法规。花旗GPS报告认为,政策制定者有机会与行业参与者合作,在元宇宙建立的过程中建立一个监管框架,而不是在未充分理解潜在风险和机会的情况下制定预防性监管措施,来应对领先技术和创新的可能风险。

但无论元宇宙采取何种形式,建造它的成本大小,以及如何监管,有一点似乎很明确:它可能会改变我们的生活和工作方式,无论是以数字方式还是物理方式。欢迎一起畅想未来!

Citi
June 20, 2022
7 mins

A dream of the future: how the Metaverse could be a game changer

June 20, 2022
7 mins
Citi Private Bank
SUMMARY

A concept that originated in the realms of science fiction is now becoming a reality. A recent Citi GPS report considers some of the possibilities.


Imagine being at a concert where you are not only with a group of friends but also 20 million other people, interacting and socializing. Or imagine talking to an avatar from a prospective employer’s human resources department about the company’s recruitment process. Or picture digitally trying out clothing in a virtual shopping mall.

None of these immersive digital experiences are far-fetched, thanks to developments in the Metaverse. The Metaverse is a concept that may be the next generation of the internet, combining the physical and digital world in an immersive manner, possibly intermediated via mobile phones in addition to virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR). Or, to put it another way, the Metaverse is an internet that you don’t simply view but participate in.

The Metaverse is emerging as the next potential big technology platform, attracting both attention and investments. It’s still early to make overly precise predictions around the size of the total addressable market as a lot depends on how the Metaverse is defined. Taking a broad definition, however, the authors of a recent Citi Global Perspectives & Solutions (GPS) report believe the user base could be up to five billion people, giving a total addressable market of between $8 trillion and $13 trillion by 2030.

However, as the report sets out, designing, building and using the Metaverse raises a host of questions around technology, business models, regulation and society more broadly.

Origins and definitions

First, though, where did the Metaverse start? And more fundamentally, what is it? The term was first coined in the world of 1990s science fiction. It described a 3D, photorealistic, digital meeting space in which humans, represented by programmable avatars, interacted with one another. In the early 2000s, Second Life offered a virtual world for users to hang out together and trade virtual items.

However, it wasn’t until late 2021 when popular discussion around the Metaverse really took off. This followed a dramatic rise in sales of non-fungible tokens (NFTs) as well as announcements from Big Tech players indicating their interest and investment in the space.

Mentions of the term took off in US company filings and earnings calls. At a corporate level, the spike in interest was led by landmark announcements such as the rebranding of Facebook as Meta Platforms.

However, an exact definition of the Metaverse is lacking. It is partly a dream of what the future of the internet could be and partly a way to encapsulate the current trends in online infrastructure, including the growth of real-time 3D worlds. There is no set, industry-wide definition.

Citi GPS thinks of the Metaverse as a conceptual next iteration of the internet, supporting a collection of real-time applications and experiences across devices, made up of four components.

First is the space. It is a shared, open, virtual world environment which people can access via the internet with rich, multi-layered interactions. This calls for real-time connections, high-bandwidth networks and exchange centers, among other items that create an immersive digital experience.

Next comes the interface. This refers to the hardware that helps users access the Metaverse, which includes VR and AR headsets, mobile devices, PC and game consoles, smart glasses and other sensory tools.

Third, we have the monetary infrastructure. This is what supports digital payment processes, allowing users to trade digital assets in the Metaverse, which could include cryptocurrencies. 

Finally, we have what the GPS report authors term the compute, referring to the enablement and supply of computing power to support the Metaverse structure. This is the software that brings objects into 3D and allows users to interact with them.

What could the Metaverse be used for?

Of course, gaming is what comes to mind for most of us when we think of the Metaverse. And the next few years will be ones of experimentation, adventure, trial and error.

But as the Citi GPS report explains, drawing on the views of external experts, the Metaverse will eventually help us find new and enhanced ways to perform all our current activities, including commerce, entertainment and media, education and training, and smart manufacturing.

Industry, for example, is already exploring opportunities with digital twin technology, whereby simulations can help cut project costs, time and wasted resources. What is more, Boeing is exploring digital twin technology to build aircraft in the Metaverse.

The technology is also likely to have a significant positive impact on the healthcare and retail sectors. While surgical procedures already use robotics, complex surgeries and training may benefit from AR and VR. Telemedicine and the delivery of services outside large hubs should improve, thereby significantly flattening the challenge of distance. For the retail and fashion sectors, the Metaverse is e-commerce 2.0.

The virtual environment could help host virtual concerts, movie premieres, launch parties and events spanning numerous industry verticals, as well as offering a marketplace for fan collectibles such as NFTs. Museum experiences in the Metaverse are already being built: online group Pixlr Genesis is aiming to build the Louvre of the Metaverse, with NFTs as a way of connecting artists and art connoisseurs globally.

Building it and paying for it

Getting to a Metaverse market of the size Citi predicts by 2030 will require infrastructure investment – and lots of it.

With only one quarter of the global population expected to have fifth-generation (5G) mobile access by 2025, network bandwidth needs to be increased and delivered. In fact, today’s network unreliability makes the current state of the infrastructure unsuitable for building an envisioned Metaverse experience. The content streaming environment of the Metaverse will likely require a computational efficiency improvement of over 1,000 times today’s levels.

That means countless new technologies and infrastructure coming together, including applications around Web3, decentralized finance (DeFi), NFTs and mining protocols. This makes it difficult to exactly quantify the capital expenditure needed for the Metaverse, but the GPS report authors expect it to be substantial.

And design choices are the topic of much debate. Should it be open, built on Web3 building blocks of permissionless and open protocols, or closed, built by the capital-efficient, easy-to-use Web2 platforms?

Big Tech is in a virtual arms race to build the next generation of dominant VR and AR platforms, raising concerns among some that the Metaverse will resemble our Web2 experience of having multiple logins, platform gatekeepers, user data monetization and embedded advertising. Or can we have a conceptually utopian, community-owned and governed, freely interoperable open Metaverse version championed by Web3? In the view of the report’s authors, though, the likely future is not Web3 versus Web2, but coexistence.

Areas of concern

Regardless of model, if the Metaverse is to be the new iteration of the internet, it will most likely attract greater scrutiny from global regulators, policymakers, academic institutions and governments.

One of those areas of concern will be around content moderation, the Citi GPS report’s authors believe, and trying to ensure no harmful and illegal content enters the Metaverse. Another is how to protect the privacy of the users and data collected. Then there are ownership and rights issues, as well as competition and antitrust.

All of this will require a fresh look at regulation. The Citi GPS report believes that policymakers have an opportunity to work together with industry participants to establish a regulatory framework while the Metaverse is in the process of being created – as opposed to the possible risk of front-running technology and innovation by putting in preventative regulations without a full understanding of the potential risks and opportunities.

But whatever form the Metaverse takes, what it costs to build it and how it’s overseen, one thing seems clear: it will likely change the way we live and work, both digitally and physically. Welcome to the dream of the future!

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights