托管服务
2021年2月3日

在变化环境中选择全球托管人的关键考虑因素

2021年2月3日
Michael Grippo
美洲托管销售主管
Mooring boats together
概要

随着富裕人士和家族理财室的需求日益复杂和全球化,能够帮助他们做出明智决策并减轻其资产管理行政负担的托管人需要满足的要求也更趋复杂和全球化。


由于超高净值人士和家族的财富、眼界和投资范围的全球化程度不断提高,选择合适的托管人比以往更加重要。新冠疫情使生活和企业发生深远的变化,给2020年带来前所未有的发展情势,这凸显出拥有全面托管服务提供商的价值。

我们一直认为,个人和家族应审视广泛的考虑因素,以确定最佳托管人类型,从而在稳定和富有挑战性的投资环境中助其实现特定目标,并处理优先事项。其中包括:

1. 利用全球托管人进行资产整合

富裕人士和家族以及为其服务的家族理财室,通常会建立由遍布全球不同司法管辖区的多家私人银行、经纪商和其他机构组成的网络。虽然拥有多家提供商确实具备优势,但由于每家提供商的托管人都可能有自己的报告流程和周期,难以对持有的所有资产形成统一观点。

然而,还有另一种选择经常被忽视——利用全球托管人进行资产整合。全球托管需要财富所有者将所有资产转移给单一托管人。然后,该全球托管人负责集中保管客户的资产,而财富所有者则能继续获取多家投资组合经理和经纪商的建议和交易执行服务。

2. 资产安全

在考虑资产安全性时,我们首先想到的通常是特定投资所涉及的风险。我们的股票是否会剧烈波动?某债券的发行人是否会违约?然而,除了这些问题外,持有资产而采用的托管关系类型(无论是银行托管人还是经纪交易商)也可能会影响这些资产的安全性。

投资者通常并不了解其托管安排的差异或细微差别。随着投资组合变得越来越复杂,可能涉及多个账户和提供商,了解在何处保管资产至关重要,以及集中资产以确保安全的需求也很重要。

3. 实时资讯和报告功能

我们相信托管4.0时代已经来临。在全球托管领域内,支持额外中后台服务的风险、资金和抵押工具越来越先进。数据服务和市场分析可以满足客户不断增长的需求,为其报告需求提供支持。虽然一些客户可能只需要在报告期结束时通过简单的门户网站浏览基本报告就可获得满足,但其复杂投资组合涉及多个提供商、地区和货币的客户可能需要获得实时资讯和定制报告功能。

拥有实时报告能力的托管人,允许他们的客户随时随地查看和获取有关其财富的详细信息。最终,那些以自动化方式发送和接收交易数据以及投资组合持仓信息的托管人会有助于降低人工干预的风险,并协助以电子方式转换和处理交易,这将有利于考虑使用此类定制服务。

4. 全球覆盖

最后,如果托管人全球覆盖能力或在世界各地持有资产的能力有限,则上述服务敏捷性便几乎没有意义。显然,当拥有国际资产需求的客户在寻求可合作的托管人时,这是一个重要因素。即使客户的最终要求本质上以国内为主,我们依然认为国际事件会影响多种资产类别,因此需要具备全球专业知识的托管人。

与全球托管人合作的好处包括通过使用全球托管人的专有网络或与顶级第三方本地银行建立关系,进入世界各地的许多国家和地区,使客户能够在全球范围内整合资产。

此外,抗疫封锁措施使金融机构不知不觉地证明了制定可靠业务连续性计划(BCP)的托管人也同样重要。为了在疫情期间保持服务水平,全球托管人的敏捷性和韧性在2020年有所突破,2021年选择合适托管合作伙伴时,这一点值得仔细审查。

花旗私人银行的托管团队为有意合并账户和简化证券记账和保管流程的客户提供专业的投资组合管理服务。花旗是全球最大的机构托管人之一1,资产托管规模达23.7万亿美元,并拥有覆盖100多个海外市场的全球托管网络,其中63个市场由花旗分行或关联机构提供服务。

我们的专属私人银行团队和托管专家通过高度个性化的服务提供机构级专业知识。如需了解更多信息,请联系您的私人银行理财顾问,他们将非常乐意安排您与托管专家会面。

1截至2020年3月

Alert iconWarning: Unsupported web browser

In View no longer supports your current web browser version, which means some functionality may be limited. Please update your browser for the best experience before you log in.

close icon
Citi Private Bank logo

Unsupported browser

Our website no longer supports your current web browser version, which means you are no longer able to access this website. Please update your browser to continue.

Continue
Custody services
February 3, 2021
4 mins

Key considerations for choosing a global custodian in an evolving landscape

February 3, 2021
4 mins
Michael Grippo
Head of Custody Sales - Americas
Mooring boats together
SUMMARY

As the needs of wealthy individuals and family offices become more complex and global, so does the requirement for custodians who can help them make informed choices and reduce the administrative burden of managing their assets.


As the wealth, outlook and investment scope of ultra-high net worth individuals and families becomes increasingly global, choosing the right custodian becomes ever more crucial. Unprecedented developments in 2020 resulting in profound changes to lives and businesses caused by the COVID-19 pandemic underscore the value of having a holistic custody services provider at hand.

We have always maintained that individuals and families should examine a wide spectrum of considerations to determine the type of custodian that is best suited to achieve their specific goals and address their priorities in stable as well as challenging investment climates. These include:

  1. Asset consolidation using a global custodian

Wealthy individuals and families – as well as the family offices that serve them – often build networks consisting of multiple private banks, brokers, and other institutions across a variety of jurisdictions globally. While having multiple providers does have its advantages, creating a consolidated view of all assets held can be very challenging as each provider’s custodian may have its own reporting process and periodicity.

However, there is another choice that is frequently overlooked – asset consolidation using a global custodian. Global custodianship involves the wealth owner transferring all assets to a single custodian. That global custodian then safeguards clients’ assets in one centralized place, while the wealth owner continues to receive advice and trade execution from multiple portfolio managers and brokers.

  1. Safety of assets

When considering the safety of assets, our first thoughts are usually about the risks involved with particular investments. How much volatility might our equities suffer? Might the issuer of a certain bond default? However, alongside such concerns, the safety of such assets can also be affected by the type of custody relationship under which they are held – either with a bank custodian or a broker-dealer.

Investors often don’t understand the differences or nuances of their custody arrangements. As the portfolio grows more complex, perhaps spanning multiple accounts and providers, understanding where assets are held is pivotal, and the need to centralize assets for safety benefits matters.

  1. Real-time information and reporting capabilities

We believe the age of Custody 4.0 is well and truly here. Across the global custody sphere, risk, treasury and collateral tools to support additional middle and back office services are getting more and more advanced. Data services and market analytics are here to meet increasing requirements from clients to support their reporting needs. While some clients may be content with accessing basic reports at the end of reporting periods via a simple portal, those with complex portfolios spanning multiple providers, regions and currencies may require access to live information and tailored reporting capabilities.

Custodians with real-time reporting allow their clients to view and access detailed information on their wealth in one place wherever and whenever they need it. Ultimately, those who provide automated ways to send and receive trade data, and portfolio holding information can help reduce the risk of manual intervention and help convert and process trades electronically and it would be advantageous to consider such bespoke services.

  1. Global reach

Finally, the aforementioned service agility could count for little if the custodian is limited by its global reach or ability to hold assets around the world. Obviously, this is a significant factor when clients with international asset needs seek a custodian to work with. But even if a client’s end requirements are predominantly domestic in nature, we believe the influence of international events on multiple asset classes demands a custodian with global expertise.

The benefits of working with a global custodian include access to a large number of countries around the world, by using either their proprietary network or creating relationships with top tier third-party local banks, allowing clients to consolidate assets globally.

Furthermore, lockdowns in the wake of COVID-19 have made financial institutions unwittingly demonstrate why a custodian with a solid business continuity plan (BCP) matters just as much. The agility and resilience of global custodians cut through in 2020 when it came to maintaining service levels during the pandemic, something that deserves scrutiny when it comes to choosing the right custody partner in 2021.

Citi Private Bank’s Custody team provides professional portfolio administration to clients seeking to consolidate accounts and simplify securities recordkeeping and safekeeping. With $23.7 trillion in assets under custody and administration,1 and a global custody network spanning 100+ foreign markets – 63 of which are Citi branches or affiliates, Citi is one of the largest institutional custodians in the world.

Our dedicated private banking team and custody specialists provide institutional-level expertise through a highly personalized service. To find out more, please contact your Private Banker, who will be more than happy to set up a meeting with a Custody Specialist.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

Contact us

To help us put you in touch with the right advisor or team, please answer the following questions.

1 As of March 2020
Close Contact Form
Close Modal

You're about to leave the Citi Private Bank website

By clicking continue, you will visit a third-party website that is not owned or managed by us.

We have no control of the content, privacy or security beyond this point.

Continue

Stay on this page