飛機融資
2022年5月11日

公務航空:關於私人飛機市場的專家見解

2022年5月11日
花旗私人銀行
概覽

在過去半年至一年的時間,私人飛機市場經歷了前所未有的復甦,使得二手飛機庫存量處於歷史低位,初購者興趣高漲。


為了幫助您洞悉當前的市場情況,花旗私人銀行召集專家小組(成員包括花旗家族辦公室北美地區負責人Paul Barrett、花旗私人銀行飛機融資和諮詢全球主管Ford von Weise以及Boston JetSearch總裁John Beveridge)討論了一系列主題,其中包括二手飛機和全新飛機的估值、管理和人員配備。   

我們誠邀您觀看會議影片了解會議要點,相信一定能引起您的興趣。

要點1

我們認為,在過去半年至一年的時間,私人飛機市場經歷了前所未有的復甦,並且這一趨勢可能會持續下去。

隨著2020年初新冠疫情來襲,私人飛機成交量有所下降。但到2020年7月,該市場又開始回暖,此後成交量一直在攀升。目前,成交量處於40年來的最高水平。這與財富創造趨勢向好、低利率環境以及超級富豪希望盡可能避開商業航空公司轉而乘坐私人飛機出行有很大的關係。

要點2

當前市場的一個重要特徵是二手私人飛機明顯供應不足。

這在二手飛機的價格上得以反映。在過去的四至六個月,高需求加上低庫存量使得報價以每月10%的比率上漲。庫存量情況轉好需要漫長的等待,現在幾乎與等待新飛機的時間相當。如果人們願意等待,那些新飛機顯然更具價值。較少的二手飛機庫存量加上不斷攀升的價格,縮小了新飛機和二手飛機之間的價差,助力新飛機訂單量創下新高。

要點3

儘管出現了空前的訂單積壓和創紀錄的需求,但製造商仍對提高飛機生產率猶豫不決。

這主要源於供應鏈的限制,以及對宏觀經濟環境的擔憂。此外,由於有意義的產量增長通常需要幾年時間才能實現,因此製造商對潛在的未售出庫存或「白尾」飛機持不確定態度並存在擔憂,從而不願意投入大量資本。

要點4

許多飛機初購者的入市增加了市場的庫存壓力。

由於初購者尚未擁有飛機,因而他們不會在購買飛機的同時向市場進行出售。因此,許多願意出高價購買飛機的初購者在過去12個月讓庫存見底。

要點5

初購者進入市場還導致了對私人飛機管理公司的需求增加。

私人飛機管理公司實際上受聘處理飛機營運的各個方面。這些公司參與進來,從所有者手中接管飛機並按合同營運。其服務內容通常包括管理合規性和安全系統,以及僱用和監督機組人員。對於初購者來說,整個啟動業務都可能會外包給私人飛機管理公司。此外,在這個航空燃料價格居高不下的時代,航班所需的燃料是以管理公司具有競爭力的批量採購價格購買的,因為這些公司在任何特定時間都有200至300架飛機在世界各地飛行。

要點6

除非每年至少飛行200小時或更長時間,否則擁有私人飛機並不具備太高的經濟效益。

如果您每年的使用時間不超過100小時,那麼租一架飛機會更具經濟效益。您雖然沒有飛機的所有權和控制權,但這種方式的成本更低,且通常能解決問題。當然,我們確實有很多客戶,他們一年只有100小時的使用時間,同時了解有比擁有私人飛機更具經濟性的方式可以解決當前需求,並且也欣然接受了這樣的方式。對於許多此類客戶,一個關鍵的激勵因素是,商業航空公司不再飛往它們在新冠疫情爆發之前所飛的許多二三線城市。隨時/隨地按需出行是一個強大的激勵因素,這吸引了許多人進入私人飛機市場,尤其是那些遠離大都市的人。

要點7

我們認為,由於製造業生產率受到限制,與全球金融危機剛剛結束時相比,公務機價格將再次與整個市場趨勢更為密切相關並與需求更為同步。

整體經濟環境和相關風險表明,在經濟低迷的情況下,公務機所遭遇的衝擊可能會更小,也就是我們通常認為的「軟著陸」。然而,我們確信,在軟著陸時,公務機將出現機齡方面的分歧,也就是有的機型面臨的不利因素很小,而有的機型則會有相對的「硬著陸」。總的來說,我們認為12至15年機齡的較新飛機表現會好得多。

要點8

我們已經從保險價格較低的疲軟市場轉變為最近的緊縮市場。

航空風險通常涉及的面很廣,包括常規科技、公務機和商務機。當航空公司有大額理賠時,保費會全面上漲。由於俄烏衝突,保險市場舉步維艱,因為所有尚未歸還的飛機資產都滯留在那裡。保險市場的這種艱難局面將會持續,而且可能會每況愈下。但是,如果您在相對基礎上看待總營運成本,保險費用仍相當低廉,我們只是從一個很低的水平略有提高。

要點9 飛機融資

我們正處於公務機的黃金時代,競爭激烈的飛機採購融資就反映了這一點。

相對較低的利率吸引了許多貸款方進入市場,競爭異常激烈。我們看到貸款價值比(LTV)通常為90%。目前的貸款條款和契約比幾個月至幾年前更有吸引力。儘管信貸標準比全球金融危機前要嚴格得多,融資也很容易獲得。如果您想買一架飛機,現在可能是融資購買的好時機。

我們的服務

飛機融資

我們將廣泛的航空行業經驗與私人銀行服務相結合,助您進行商務飛機物色、購置和融資。

了解更多
聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

Aircraft financing
May 11, 2022

Executive aviation: Expert insights on the private aircraft market

May 11, 2022
Citi Private Bank
SUMMARY

The private aircraft market has experienced an unprecedented recovery over the past six to twelve months, resulting in historically low pre-owned aircraft inventories and significant levels of interest from first-time buyers.


To help you navigate the current market conditions, Citi Private Bank convened an expert panel – comprising of Paul Barrett, North America Head of the Family Office Group, Ford von Weise, Global Head of Aircraft Finance and Advisory, Citi Private Bank, and John Beveridge, President, Boston JetSearch – to discuss a range of subjects including valuations of pre-owned and new aircraft, management and staffing.   

We invite you to view this engaging session and observe its key takeaways.

Takeaway 1

We believe the private aircraft market has experienced an unprecedented recovery over the past six to twelve months, and the trend is likely to continue.

As COVID hit early in 2020, private aircraft transactions fell off. But by July 2020, the market began to pick up again and has been climbing ever since. At present, activity is at its highest in 40 years. That has a lot to do with positive wealth creation, the low interest rate environment, and a desire of the ultrawealthy to avoid commercial airlines in favor of private flying, if they can.

Takeaway 2

A key feature of the current market is the clear lack of availability of used private aircraft.

This is reflected in used aircraft prices. High demand coupled with low inventory have triggered a rise in asking rates of close to 10% per month over the past four to six months. Waiting times for good inventory have also become painfully high and are now comparable to waiting for new aircraft. If people are willing to wait, the real value now is in new aircraft straight. Lower used aircraft inventories combined with their rising prices have closed the value gap between new and used aircraft, resulting in record new aircraft orders.

Takeaway 3

Despite unprecedented backlogs and record demand, manufacturers have been hesitant to raise aircraft production rates.

This is due to supply chain constraints, along with concerns over the macroeconomic climate. Additionally, as meaningful production increases normally take a few years to realize, manufacturers are reluctant to invest substantial capital in the face of uncertainty and concerns relative to potential unsold inventory or white tails.

Takeaway 4

The entry of many first-time aircraft buyers has increased inventory pressures on the market.

As first-time buyers are not existing owners, they're not selling an aircraft into the market while buying one out of it. Consequently, many first-time buyers, who have been willing to pay premium prices, have hoovered up the inventory over the last 12 months.

Takeaway 5

First-time buyers have also increased the demand for private aircraft management companies.

A private aircraft management company is literally hired to handle every facet of the operation. It comes in, takes over from the owners and operates their jet on contract. The package often includes handling regulatory compliance and safety systems, along with hiring and monitoring of the crew. For first-time buyers, the entire startup can be outsourced to a private aircraft management company. Additionally, in the age of high aviation fuel prices, the fuel for flights is bought at the management companies’ competitive bulk rate as they have 200 to 300 aircraft flying around the world at any given time.

Takeaway 6

Owning your own aircraft does not make much financial sense unless usage is at least 200 hours or more per year.

If you have zero to 100 hours of usage per year, chartering an aircraft is always going to be more financially efficient. You don't own or control the asset, but it's less expensive and generally works. Of course, we do have plenty of clients who have only 100 hours a year of usage and are comfortable in the knowledge that there are cheaper ways to do what they're doing without owning a private aircraft. A key motivating factor for many such clients is the fact that commercial airlines aren't flying to a lot of secondary and tertiary cities which they flew to before COVID hit. Travel connectivity on your terms anytime / anywhere is a powerful motivator that has brought many to the private aircraft market, especially those located away from big metropolitan areas.

Takeaway 7

We believe that business aviation will once again be more correlated to the broad market indices now that manufacturing rates are constrained and more in line with demand than in the immediate post global financial crisis era.

The overall economic environment and correlated risks indicate that business aviation is more likely to experience what we believe is a soft landing in the event of a downturn. However, we do believe that upon a soft landing, there will be a bifurcation on business aviation with respect to aircraft age, or what aircraft land the softest and what aircraft land harder. More generally, we feel that newer aircraft up to 12 to 15 years old will fare much better.

Takeaway 8

We've gone from what's called a very soft market where insurance is cheap, to a very hard market of late.

Aviation risk is typically one big segment including general, business and commercial aviation. When the airlines have a big claim, premiums go up across the board. We are in this hard insurance market because of the Russia-Ukraine conflict, as all the stranded aircraft assets are there right now. It’s going to be a difficult insurance market going forward that is going to get even worse. However, if you look at the overall cost of operations on a relative basis, insurance is still cheap and we're coming off a pretty low floor after many years.

Takeaway 9 Aircraft finance

We are in a golden era of business aviation and competitive aircraft purchase financing reflects that.

Relatively low interest rates have attracted a lot of lenders into the market and it's extraordinarily competitive. We're seeing loan-to-values customarily of 90% LTV. Terms of the loan and covenants are more attractive today than they were even a few months to a few years ago. Yet, the credit standards are much tighter than they were pre-global financial crisis and financing is readily available. If you want to buy an aircraft, now may be the time to finance one.

WE OFFER

Aircraft financing

We combine extensive aviation industry experience with private banking service to help you identify, acquire, and finance an executive aircraft.

Learn more
Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.