托管服务
2022年6月16日
3分钟

托管服务如何为私人银行客户带来更多益处

2022年6月16日
3分钟
Michael Grippo
美洲托管服务销售主管
概览

随着传统托管服务变得商品化,加强与托管银行的金融关系能为客户带来大部分增值,帮助建立、管理和增长客户财富。


表面看来,托管似乎是一项基础服务。大多数人会把该业务与资产管理和能够综合查看投资组合的集中式报告联系在一起。对证券、文件、珠宝和艺术品等实物资产的估值和保管等相关业务也为人们所熟知。但关于全球托管人能如何发挥作用从而进一步扩展对私人银行客户的增值服务,这一方面却尚未有足够的认识。

近年来,托管人所进行的一系列服务改进,意味着此前主要依靠人工操作的基本服务已经转变为数字化服务。虽然一些客户可能只需在报告期结束时通过简单的门户网站浏览基本报告就感到满足,但拥有涉及多个提供商、地区和货币的复杂投资组合客户可能会选择按需访问实时信息和定制的报告能力。  

数字投资组合分析已得到大幅提升,能够为您的财富管理提供深度见解,得益于此,现在托管银行能够与您的私人银行客户关系团队合作,实现托管业务之外的更多服务。

这些服务可能包括为进入本地或全球市场提供便利,或两者兼而有之,取决于您的经营需要。服务还可以包括通过贷款解决方案以及基于我们所持资产的具有竞争力的存款利率获得具有成本效益的流动性。如果与您的银行并未建立专门的托管关系,那么这在一定程度上就很难实现。  

我们曾将这种转变描述为“托管4.0”;我们认为托管人已经真正进入了这一服务领域。此外,有了这些丰富的数据,您的资产由他们全权处置,托管人也可以解决您的许多业务需求。

例如,对所持资产进行评估并就此为您的企业提供一系列财务协助,其中可能包括风险、财务和抵押品工具,从而支持额外的中后台职能(例如支付和资源管理)。随着这些职能数字化程度的逐渐提高,人工操作逐步减少,业务抵押品管理(即客户和交易对手/托管银行交换资产,以降低双方之间任何无担保金融交易相关信贷风险的流程)的数字化程度也得以提高,进一步提升其中的速度和效率。

最近部署的新基础设施能够以数字方式报告和评估资产类别,例如另类投资(如私募股权、收藏品和不动产),也能够支持这些服务(比如为传统资产提供报告等被认为是例行公事的工作)得以改进。

与同一服务提供商建立托管和私人银行关系也有助于实现更具成本效益的管理流程,以及我们在此概述的其他优势。对于像花旗私人银行这样拥有全球网络的托管银行而言,为客户提供增强托管服务的同时还能让客户接触到世界许多市场的私人银行业务,这主要通过现有分行和子公司或与这些市场的顶级第三方本地银行的关系来实现。

总而言之,我们认为如果客户想要开展其他业务,而不仅仅只是托管,那么私人银行托管可能会更具优势。当然,托管人将继续履行其传统的职责,保护和管理客户的资产。虽然这方面的服务内容并没有改变,但托管人还可以提供额外的服务和帮助,具体取决于客户所选择的服务项目。

我们的专业私人银行团队为复杂的财富需求提供全面的策略。请与我们联系,获取更多信息。

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

Custody services
June 16, 2022

How custody can open doors to additional private banking benefits

June 16, 2022
Michael Grippo
Head of Custody Sales – Americas
SUMMARY

As traditional custody services become commoditized, much of the value addition comes from enhancing the financial relationship with your custodian bank to help build, manage and grow your wealth.


On the surface, custody appears to be a basic service. Most people associate it with asset administration and centralized reporting for a consolidated view of your portfolio. The valuation and safekeeping aspects of physical assets ranging from securities to documents, jewelry and works of art are also well recognized. But what may be less evident is the versatile role global custodians can play in opening up value-added services from your private bank.

In recent years, service enhancements by custodians have meant that a hitherto largely manual and basic service has been transformed into a digitized one. While some may be content with accessing basic reports at the end of their reporting periods via a simple portal, those with complex portfolios spanning multiple providers, regions and currencies may choose to have on-demand access to real-time information and tailored reporting capabilities.  

Thanks to vastly improved digital portfolio analytics that give insights into your wealth, custodian banks can now collaborate with your private banking relationship team to enable additional services going beyond a custody-only engagement.

These services may include facilitating local or global market access – or both – depending on your operating needs. They can also include cost-effective liquidity via lending solutions and competitive deposit rates based on the assets held with us. This is true to an extent that would not be possible in the absence of a dedicated custody relationship with your bank.  

We’ve described this shift as Custody 4.0; a service segment where we believe custodians have really come into their element. Furthermore, with this wealth of data on your assets at their disposal, custodians can also address many of your business needs.

For instance, against an assessment of assets held, financial assistance for you or your businesses may include risk, treasury and collateral tools to support additional middle and back-office functions (e.g., payments and resources management). As these functions also get more digitally advanced and less manual, speed and efficiencies improve in-step with a more digitally aligned business collateral management, i.e., the process of you and counterparty/custodian banks exchanging assets to reduce credit risk associated with any unsecured financial transactions between both parties.

The relatively recent deployment of new infrastructure capable of digitally reporting and assessing asset classes such as alternative investments (e.g., private equity, collectibles and real estate holdings), also supports these service enhancements, akin to the reporting of conventional assets under custody that is considered routine.

Having a custody and private banking relationship with same provider also has the potential for more cost-effective processing, among the other advantages that we have outlined here. For custodian banks with a global network like Citi Private Bank – your enhanced custody offering includes private banking access to many countries around the world, using existing branches and subsidiaries, or relationships with top tier third-party local banks in those countries.

Ultimately, we believe that custody with a private bank could be of further advantage should you choose to move beyond a mere custody-only arrangement. Of course, custodians will always continue performing their traditional duties of safeguarding and the administration of your assets. While that aspect of their service does not change, the extent of value-added banking services custodians can now facilitate depends on the level of engagement you choose to have with them.

Our dedicated private banking team provides comprehensive strategies for sophisticated wealth needs. Please contact us for more information.

Custody services

Citi Private Bank’s Custody team provides professional portfolio administration to clients seeking to consolidate accounts and simplify securities recordkeeping and safekeeping. With $24 trillion in assets under custody and administration, and a global custody network spanning over 100 international markets – 63 of which are Citi branches or affiliates, Citi is one of the largest institutional custodians in the world.

Learn more
Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.