可持续投资
2021年8月31日
4分钟

生物多样性丧失——企业面临的无声威胁

2021年8月31日
4分钟
花旗全球视角与解决方案
概览

地球生物的种类和数量正在缩减。企业及其投资者需要发挥作用,阻止这一危险趋势。


2019年,每六秒钟就有一个足球场那么大面积的雨林从地球上消失。短短46年间,全球野生动物种群的动物数量平均下降了68%。

这仅仅是生物多样性(地球上生物的种类和数量)所受到威胁的两个例子。

气候变化加剧的统计数据令人感到不寒而栗,当我们许多人还在努力理解这些数据背后的含义时,关于雨林覆盖率恶化和野生动物数量锐减的数据似乎很难纳入考虑范围。

而现实情况是,新冠疫情暴露了与气候危机一样重大的自然危机,而这种危机是紧急但难以察觉的。

正如花旗全球视角与解决方案(GPS)关于生物多样性的一份最新报告所阐述的一样,这并不是一种不切实际的担忧。

该报告的作者称,生物多样性支撑着我们的日常生活,关系到社会、人类健康、商业经营、供应链和经济增长。

 

有44万亿美元经济价值的产生或多或少地依赖于自然。

 
 
 

企业依靠自然和生态系统获取资源,以生产其产品和提供服务。企业经营也对自然产生直接和间接的影响,最终可能影响其业务。

花旗GPS报告提到一个预测:大约有44万亿美元经济价值的产生或多或少地依赖于自然。这充分表明了自然对企业经营、企业投资者和社会的影响。

然而,根据英国政府委托编制的2020年《达斯古普塔报告》(第一个针对生物多样性的全面经济框架),目前的物种灭绝率正在破坏自然的生产力、复原力和适应力。这最终将给我们的经济和福祉带来极大的风险和不确定性。

如果从与我们日常生活息息相关的方面对此加以解读,我们了解到,全球粮食系统是世界上造成生物多样性丧失的最主要原因,农业会导致最广泛的土地用途变化,其中大部分涉及工业规模的森林砍伐。仅农业活动一项就消耗了生物可栖息土地的一半,同时有数量庞大的农业土地(有77%)用于畜牧,但仅能提供全球18%的卡路里。近75%的热带森林砍伐是为了生产四种毁林风险类商品,分别是牛产品、大豆、棕榈油和林业产品。

 

被评估的500家公司和金融机构中,有43%并未做出不毁林承诺。

 
 
 

毁林风险类商品在各行业和供应链中被普遍使用。此类商品的贸易量仍在增加,富裕国家促使较贫穷经济体砍伐森林,而这些经济体往往在生物多样性方面极具重要性。

正如花旗GPS报告所述,所有这些“给消费品、服装、能源和公用事业以及工业企业带来了重大的商业风险”。

尽管如此,对毁林风险类商品供应链中最有影响力的公司进行年度评估后发现,500家被评估的公司和金融机构中有43%并未做出不毁林承诺。

不幸的是,这引起了更大的问题。

报告表示,“市场价格并未体现自然价值,许多机构未能管理自然资产的使用。”此外,政府继续加大资金投入开发自然而非保护自然,加剧了生物多样性危机,每年的有害补贴估计为4-6万亿美元。

 

84%的受访者非常关注生物多样性的丧失,但多达91%的受访者没有可衡量的生物多样性相关目标。

 
 
 

由于未分析对自然和生物多样性的依赖性和影响,企业“让自己面临着业务和股东盈利能力的重大风险”。

Responsible Investor最近进行的一项调查发现,投资者越来越关注生物多样性,84%的受访者非常关注生物多样性的丧失,但这还没有反映在他们的行动中。高达91%的受访者没有可衡量的生物多样性相关目标。

科学家们正在呼吁必须扭转生物多样性丧失问题。简而言之,我们需要阻止和扭转生物多样性的下降。

一种方法是将资金从造成生物多样性丧失和其他负面影响的有害活动中转移出来。由于政府每年用于损害自然的补贴支出比用于保护自然的支出高出六倍,我们还需要引导资金投入,用于对自然有恢复和再生作用的活动。

具体而言,在毁林风险类商品和食品方面,解决关键供应链问题将大大有助于解决森林砍伐问题。企业和投资者有能力改善商品生产、交易和消费环节的可持续性。

此外,目前的经济分析指标尚未考虑到自然资产的贬值,因此现在迫切需要制定除GDP以外的全新经济产出衡量标准。例如,《达斯古普塔报告》呼吁将自然资本纳入会计系统。

花旗GPS的报告直观地总结了这一挑战:

“我们的经济发展是以牺牲自然世界为代价的,我们需要认识和重视自然的真正价值及其赋予我们的宝贵资源。”

个人、企业、政府和国际组织都通过支出和投资决策管理自然资产。然而,它们都未能以可持续的方式管理全球资产组合。

2021年被称为可持续发展的“超级年”。这不仅是气候行动的关键一年,对于包括生物多样性在内的更广泛的可持续发展议程而言,也同样是关键的一年。只有以同样的紧迫性应对这两大问题,才能找到真正的应对和解决之道。正如《达斯古普塔报告》所说,“现在我们都是资产管理人”。

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多

Alert iconWarning: Unsupported web browser

In View no longer supports your current web browser version, which means some functionality may be limited. Please update your browser for the best experience before you log in.

close icon
Citi Private Bank logo

Unsupported browser

Our website no longer supports your current web browser version, which means you are no longer able to access this website. Please update your browser to continue.

Continue
Sustainable investing
August 31, 2021
4 mins

Biodiversity loss: the silent threat to business

August 31, 2021
4 mins
Citi GPS: Global Perspectives & Solutions
SUMMARY

The variety and number of living species on Earth is shrinking. Businesses and their investors need to play their part in stopping this alarming trend.


In 2019, an area of primary rainforest equivalent to a soccer field was lost to the world every six seconds. Global wildlife population sizes have fallen by an average of 68% in just 46 years.

These developments are just two examples of how biodiversity – the variety and number of living things on Earth – is under threat.

At a time when many of us have been digesting the chilling statistical reality of accelerating climate change, data on deteriorating rainforest cover and depleting wildlife may seem difficult to take on board.

However, the reality is that the COVID-19 pandemic has exposed an urgent but silent crisis of nature as large as the climate emergency.

This is not an abstract concern, as a new Citi Global Perspectives & Solutions (GPS) report on biodiversity sets out.

Biodiversity underpins our daily lives and matters to society, human health, business operations, supply chains, and economic growth, say the report’s authors.

 

$44 trillion of economic value generation is either moderately or highly dependent on nature.

 
 
 

Businesses rely on nature for resources and ecosystems to produce their products and services. Their operations also create direct and indirect impacts upon nature that could ultimately affect their business.

The Citi GPS report cites an estimate that about $44 trillion of economic value generation is either moderately or highly dependent on nature, underscoring the importance of nature to business operations, their investors, and to society.

However, according to the UK government-commissioned Dasgupta Review of 2020, the first comprehensive economic framework of its kind for biodiversity, current species extinction rates are undermining nature’s productivity, resilience, and adaptability. In turn, this is fueling extreme risk and uncertainty for our economies and well-being.

To illustrate this in terms relatable to daily life, the global food system is the world’s largest driver of biodiversity loss, and agriculture is the most widespread form of land use change – much of this involving deforestation on an industrial scale. Agricultural practices alone use up half of the total habitable land, while a staggering 77% of agricultural land is used for producing livestock – only supplying 18% of global calories. Almost 75% of tropical deforestation is driven by four forest-risk commodities: cattle products, soybean, palm oil, and forestry products.

 

43% of the 500 assessed companies and financial institutions do not have a commitment to deforestation.

 
 
 

The use of forest-risk commodities is widespread across industries and supply chains. Their trade is only on the rise too with richer countries driving deforestation in poorer economies, often where vital biodiversity hotspots are present.

As the Citi GPS report reveals, all of this presents material business risks for corporates in consumer goods, apparel, energy and utilities, and industrials.

Still, an annual assessment of the most influential companies in forest-risk commodity supply chains found that 43% of the 500 assessed companies and financial institutions do not have a commitment to deforestation.

Unfortunately, this has triggered an even larger problem.

Nature’s value is not reflected in market prices and many institutions have failed to manage the use of natural assets, the report outlines. Moreover, governments continue to aggregate the biodiversity crisis by paying people more money to exploit nature than to protect it, with annual harmful subsidies estimated at $4-6 trillion.

 

84% of respondents are very concerned about biodiversity loss, but as many as 91% of respondents did not have measurable biodiversity-linked targets.

 
 
 

By not analyzing dependencies and the impact on nature and biodiversity, corporates open themselves up to material risk of the profitability of their businesses and shareholders.

While a recent survey carried out by Responsible Investor found that investors are becoming increasingly concerned about biodiversity – with 84% of respondents very concerned about biodiversity loss – this is not yet reflected in their actions. As many as 91% of respondents did not have measurable biodiversity-linked targets.

Scientists are now calling for the need to bend the curve on biodiversity loss. Put simply, we need to halt and reverse the decline of biodiversity.

One approach is to shift financing away from harmful activities responsible for driving biodiversity loss and other negative impacts. With annual government spending on subsidies that harm nature up to six times higher than spending on conservation, we also need to direct capital toward activities that are restorative and regenerative to nature.

Specifically, on forest-risk commodities and food, addressing key supply chains will go a long way toward tackling deforestation. Corporates and investors have the ability to improve the sustainability of how commodities are produced, traded, and consumed.

What’s more, current economic analysis does not account for the depreciation of natural assets, so there is now a pressing need for new measures of economic output beyond GDP. For example, the Dasgupta Review calls for the inclusion of natural capital into accounting systems.

The Citi GPS report sums up the challenge bluntly:

Our economic development has come at the expense of the natural world, and we need to recognize and value its true worth and what it provides.

Individuals, businesses, governments, and international organizations all manage natural assets through spending and investment decisions. However, there has been a collective failure to manage that global portfolio of assets in a sustainable way.

The year 2021 is being referred to as the super year for sustainability. It is a crucial year for not only climate action but also the wider sustainability agenda, including biodiversity. Neither will be successfully resolved unless both are tackled with the same sense of urgency. As the Dasgupta Review puts it, we are all asset managers now.

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth

View all insights

Insights

See our insights and the issues that matter for your wealth

View all insights
Close Modal

You're about to leave the Citi Private Bank website

By clicking continue, you will visit a third-party website that is not owned or managed by us.

We have no control of the content, privacy or security beyond this point.

Continue

Stay on this page