花旗
2022年9月20日

太空领域新时代:花旗《全球视野与解决方案》(GPS)报告

2022年9月20日
花旗私人银行
概览

随着成本的下降和私营部门参与程度的提高,外太空行业在未来几年甚至数十年可能越来越具有影响力。


长期以来,太空一直被视为人类最后的边际。

但是,如果这个边际慢慢离我们的地球越来越近,开辟出包括矿产开采、太空物流、卫星收集太阳能、太空旅行(甚至是火星殖民)等在内的诱人前景,那会怎样?

这些都并非天方夜谭(也许火星殖民依然还不太现实)。

正如近期花旗GPS报告的作者所生动叙述的那样,多种因素的共同作用使得此类活动在商业上逐渐更具可行性。

其中最主要的原因是卫星发射成本降低,与美国国家航空航天局(NASA)1981年发射第一架航天飞机时相比,现在的发射成本已降低约30倍。

GPS报告的作者测算,到2040年,太空领域有望成为一个万亿美元的产业,相比之下,2020年该领域规模约为3,700亿美元,同期复合年增长率将达到5%。这一增长的推动因素包括卫星行业的整体发展、政府空间预算的增加以及新应用和新行业的激增。后文将进一步讨论这一点。

私营部门成本驱动

在火箭和运载火箭的可复用性方面,太空探索技术公司(SpaceX)走在了前列,现已成为太空经济领域的行业变革者。当SpaceX公司在2010年推出猎鹰9号(Falcon 9)时,成本压力感觉已明显开始减轻,时隔8年之后,该公司再次推出猎鹰重型运载火箭(Falcon Heavy)。

花旗GPS报告的作者测算,在可重复利用性提高、规模化扩大、投入成本降低和成本效益改善的生产工艺的推动下,目前每公斤1,500美元(1,500美元/公斤)的发射成本,到2040年可能会下降约95%至100美元/公斤。 

在花旗最佳情境预测下,受材料和运营成本降低以及燃料效率革命的推动,2040年的发射成本可能进一步降至每公斤33美元左右。

而在最差情境预测下,假设到2040年,火箭仍然只能重复使用10次左右,发射成本估计约为300美元/公斤。

材料差异

材料成本将有所降低。钢铁、碳复合材料和3D打印等材料将进一步降低火箭制造成本。数十年来,带有煤油燃料发动机的铝-钛(Alu-Ti)火箭一直是市场标准,

但目前的新进入者正在使用不锈钢、碳复合材料和液态甲烷燃料等材料,以推动可重复使用性和经济可负担性的更好结合。钢的价格比铝-钛合金便宜60%-70%,比碳复合材料便宜95%,从而能够降低火箭发射载具的初步生产成本。

燃料选择范围更广。长期以来,甲烷火箭燃料一直被认为是运载火箭的“中间地带”燃料——它不像煤油那样容易使用,也不像氢气那样高能。但行业领先者越来越多地考虑将甲烷作为煤油的替代品,主要考虑到:甲烷能量密度高,能够比煤油产生更大的推力;燃烧更清洁,允许发动机在不翻新的情况下重复使用。

从“太空即服务”到小行星开采

那么,这些发展会带来哪些新的应用?

卫星市场目前在太空领域所占份额超过70%,预计将继续成为主要增长焦点。

但是,该领域预计将经历范式转变,从视频广播等传统应用转向更广泛的应用(例如消费宽带;流动性;卫星大数据;在解决温室气体排放(GHG)、森林砍伐和生物多样性丧失等问题方面的日益增长的应用),其中某些领域甚至将演变成一种“空间即服务”的商业模式。

例如在帮助国家\地区和企业实现联合国的众多可持续发展目标(特别是监测温室气体排放量、森林砍伐和生物多样性)方面,卫星图像和更出色的大数据分析工具将至关重要。

然而,最快的增长速度预计将出现在新的太空应用和行业,如天基太阳能、太空物流以及月球和小行星采矿。花旗GPS报告的作者认为,到2040年,这些领域可能产生1,000亿美元左右的年销售额。

通过低地球轨道飞行的货运火箭将有望满足远距离超高速运输的需求。随着太空旅游的日益广泛和普及,商业乘客对于城际火箭旅行舒适性的满意程度也将提高。

采矿方面,据NASA估计,小行星带中的小行星拥有的矿物价值可为地球上60亿人口提供人均超过1,000亿美元的财富。花旗GPS报告的作者认为,到2040年,月球采矿可能产生约120亿美元的年销售额。

历经上述发展,我们这代人正在迎来一个全新的太空时代,这是一个影响深远、包容广泛和更具颠覆性的时代。

虽然上一次太空竞赛是由冷战超级大国推动形成的,但新的太空时代看上去大不相同——私营公司更多,渗入其它行业更广泛,颠覆性更强,改变我们日常生活的潜力巨大。

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

Citi
September 20, 2022

A New Age for Space: Citi GPS report

September 20, 2022
Citi Private Bank
SUMMARY

With falling costs and rising private sector involvement, the outer space industry could become increasingly influential over the coming years and decades.


Space has long been seen as the final frontier.

But what if that frontier is moving ever closer to Earth, opening up tantalizing prospects for mineral mining, space logistics, harnessing solar power collected from satellites, space travel – even the colonization of Mars?

None of this is far-fetched (except maybe the Mars part).

That’s because, as the authors of a recent Citi Global Perspectives & Solutions (GPS) report spell out in intriguing detail, a combination of factors is bringing such activities within touching distance of being commercially much more feasible.

Chief among them is lower launch costs, which are now about 30 times lower than they were in 1981, when NASA launched its first Space Shuttle.

This holds out the prospect of transforming space into a trillion-dollar industry by 2040, compared with about $370 billion in 2020, the GPS report’s authors estimate, with growth running at a compound annual rate of 5% over the period. This will be propelled by growth across the satellite industry, government space budgets and a proliferation of new applications and industries. More on that later.

Private sector cost drive

But SpaceX has pioneered rocket and vehicle launch reusability to the point that it is now the game changer in space economics. Downward pressure on costs really started to be felt in 2010 with launch by SpaceX of Falcon 9, and Falcon Heavy eight years later.

The Citi GPS authors estimate that current launch costs, at $1,500 per kilogram ($1,500/kg), could come down another roughly 95 percent to about $100/kg by 2040, driven by reusability, scale, lower input costs, and cost-efficient production methods. 

In a best-case scenario, driven by a revolution in materials and operating costs along with fuel efficiency, Citi estimates launch costs in 2040 could fall further to around $33/kg.

In a bear case scenario of rockets still only being reused around 10 times by 2040, the estimate is about $300/kg.

Material difference

It gets better. Materials such as steel, carbon composites and 3D printing will drive costs down further still. Aluminum-titanium (Alu-Ti) rockets with kerosene-fueled engines have been the market standard for several decades.

But new entrants are using materials like stainless steel, carbon composites and liquid methane fuel to drive a better combination of reusability and affordability. Steel is 60–70 percent cheaper than Alu-Ti alloys and 95 percent cheaper than carbon composites, lowering the cost of initial vehicle production.

Then there is fuel. Methane rocket fuel has long been considered a middle ground fuel for launch vehicles: it’s not as easy to work with as kerosene and not as energetic as hydrogen. But industry leaders are increasingly considering it as an alternative to kerosene, for several reasons, such as the fact that it generates greater thrust thanks to its energy density, and burns cleaner, allowing greater engine re-use without refurbishment.

From space-as-a-service to asteroid mining

So, what new applications will these developments open up?

Most of the focus of growth will continue to be in the satellite market, which currently makes up over 70 percent of the space industry.

But it is expected to undergo a paradigm shift away from traditional applications such as video broadcast, toward a broader range of applications such as consumer broadband; mobility; big data from satellites; and the growing applications to tackle greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, deforestation and biodiversity loss – with some of these even morphing into a kind of space-as-a-service business model.

For example, satellite imagery and better analysis tools for large amounts of data could be crucial in helping nations and companies address many of the UN Sustainable Development Goals, particularly monitoring GHG emissions, deforestation and biodiversity.

But the fastest growth is expected to come from new space applications and industries, such as space-based solar power, space logistics and Moon and asteroid mining. These areas could generate around $100bn in annual sales by 2040, the GPS report authors believe.

Cargo rockets traveling through low-Earth orbit have the potential to meet the demand for extremely fast shipping over long distances. As space tourism becomes more widespread and accessible, commercial passengers will become increasingly comfortable with the prospect of inter-city space travel.

When it comes to mining, NASA has estimated that the mineral wealth of the asteroids in the asteroid belt might exceed $100 billion for each of the six billion people on Earth. The report’s authors believe that mining the Moon could be worth about $12 billion in annual sales by 2040.

The result of these developments is that today’s generation is at the forefront of a new space era – one that will be far-reaching, inclusive and potentially more disruptive.

Indeed, while the last space race was driven by the Cold War superpowers, the new space age looks quite different – more private companies, wider access to other industries, more disruption and significant potential to change our everyday lives.

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.