可持续投资
2022年6月16日
7分钟

点燃农业革命的星星之火

2022年6月16日
7分钟
Harlin Singh
可持续投资全球主管
Malcolm Spittler
高级美国经济学家兼全球策略师
Catherine Turullols
北美可持续投资专家
概览

对技术创新的投资是建立更可持续农业生产的关键所在,在不污染环境的情况下,优化投入,最大限度地提高产量。俄乌冲突造成大宗商品价格震荡,或将推动一场革新。


俄乌冲突扰乱了燃料、化肥、农业生产和物价,这场危机席卷世界许多易受影响的地区,使其粮食安全受到了威胁。一场迫在眉睫的全球粮食危机正反映出化肥生产和化肥使用这两个最严重的问题。

现代农业在很大程度上受到化肥供应的限制,而化肥往往来自世界上有限的氮供应,其中的形式包括堆肥、灰肥以及化学合成的氨肥。当今世界氮问题还没有完美的解决方案(只有尚可的选择),各国正在努力研究如何能够实现自给自足。这一问题困扰依旧,而解决的希望一直如微弱星光。(见PDF中图1:俄乌冲突前和截至2022年6月13日的普通小麦期货价格,图2:国际货币基金组织全球化肥价格指数

虽然肥料可在短期内提高作物产量,但有时在不确定时期化肥会加剧粮食不安全的情况。俄罗斯和乌克兰是世界上两个重要的农业生产中心,两国之间的冲突正在对全球农业和粮食安全构成迄今为止最严重的一大威胁。由于各国努力提高农作物产量,化肥价格达到记录高位。

对粮食和农业可持续解决方案的投资不仅有机会从世界粮食供应方式的必然变化中获益,而且有可能减轻会导致未来冲突的一些压力。我们必须采取革命性措施来应对当前全球的粮食安全危机。

人类文明面临的持久挑战

从农业起源之初一直到1905年,可用于农业的氮的数量一直受到地球表面植物和矿物质中所含氮数量的限制。增加氮含量一直是一个挑战,因为我们吃的粮食会大量消耗土壤中的氮,如果不补充土壤的氮含量,土壤就会变得贫瘠。

归根结底,地球上的所有生命都依赖于可用的氮气,而氮的获取却是一项污糟、危险、不受欢迎的工作。随着时代的发展,人类用来获取和施用氮肥的方法已经发生了变化,而最早的方法是燃烧森林从而在暂时富含氮(来自燃烧后的灰烬)的土壤中种植作物(糟糕的是,这种方法至今仍在破坏几个世纪以来生长积累的雨林以换取几年的丰产,最后留下毫无生机的贫瘠土地)。但是早期的农民总是迫不得已不断迁徙,因为土壤的肥力很快就枯竭。

历史时间线

(参阅PDF - 资料来源: Leigh. G.J. 《世界上最伟大的解决方案:氮与农业的历史》。牛津大学出版社,2004年8月19日。)

在19世纪初,有一项发现极大地增加了世界人口,同时重塑了未来。被堆积数千年的鸟粪所覆盖的太平洋岛屿似乎是取之不尽的氮肥来源,随着相同面积的土地上的粮食产量超过以往任何时期,世界人口大增。但不幸的是,鸟粪只是看起来无穷无尽罢了。到了19世纪末,为控制日渐减少的鸟粪爆发了多次战争,因为鸟粪对于保持农田肥沃以养活更多的人口至关重要。

事情的走向本应以灾难性的全球饥饿结束,但20世纪初出现了一种神奇的解决方案,即工业氨基肥料生产工艺,而这种高耗能工艺以天然气为燃料捕获空气中的氮(空气78%的成分是氮,但以植物无法吸收的N3的形式存在)。从工业化肥时代发端以来,坊间就流传着“面包由空气制成”的传闻。时至今日,“哈伯博施法”已经广泛使用并占据主导地位,该工艺消耗世界上大约1%的电力,制造了大约1%的温室气体,但同时也维持了地球上约一半人类的生计。1

但是,任何解决方案都是优缺点并存,由于廉价和肥力强的优点,这种肥料经常被大量施用,以避免种植土壤肥力不足的问题。但是雨季冲刷使河流氮含量超标,导致藻类大量繁殖,生态系统遭到破坏。因为藻类从水中吸取氧气,造成缺氧水域并直接毒害无脊椎动物。同时,氨本身也会造成空气污染。由于肥料的大量使用,人们可以在一片土地上年复一年地种植同样的作物,也意味着杂草和害虫得以生存并逐步进化和强大,在本质上就好比是开始了一场“军备竞赛”,因为需要更强或更有针对性的除草剂和杀虫剂来保护粮食作物。

20世纪中叶,再次出现了有关饥荒的预测,《人口大爆炸》(The Population Bomb)等书籍中预言饥饿将再次来袭。但是,人类培育出了单位产量更高的新作物,研制出了除草剂和杀虫剂,让农民打赢了与杂草和害虫之间的战争。但这些解决方案造成了无数问题,因为单一作物有其自身的风险,对除草剂和杀虫剂的严重依赖加剧了农业污染,影响了生态系统的健康。

正是因为这个原因,让我们想要介绍神奇的新技术,一种能够淘汰“哈伯博施法”的技术,也是一种可以养活数十亿人的有机农业技术。但是,虽然有许多研究人员在寻找一种低温/低能耗的方法来制造生物有效氮,但目前还没有一种可大规模采用和成本合理的方法。

目前看来,在可预见的未来,“哈伯博施法”仍将是主流,但存在非常令人为之振奋的解决方案,能提高肥料、除草剂、杀虫剂和水的使用效率。农业总是“面朝黄土背朝天”,一边需要了解土地的情况,一边需要预测未来的气候并尝试做出正确的选择。但是随着农场的增加和农民数量的减少,每个农民要负责的土地面积大量增加,普适性解决方案成为唯一的可行之道。

未来农业

一百年来,大多数农民提升土壤肥力的方法未曾有改变,肥料及其生产方式并没有随着时间的推移而发展。在这一本该有技术突破的领域,我们却全然滞后。正如电动汽车行业一样,行业和政府联合主导的措施以及生物技术的进步可能会在不久的将来引发一场植物养分输送技术的革命。对技术创新的投资是建立更可持续农业生产的关键所在,在不污染环境的情况下,优化投入,最大限度地提高产量。

今天,我们相信精准农业正在引领潮流。传感器精度越来越高、计算设备价格低廉和强大的卫星系统,加上大数据驱动的高度本地化的天气预报,意味着能够对每种作物采取不同的处理方式,而不是对一块土地采取相同的处理方式。

土壤中的营养传感器可以告诉农民何时需要施肥,以及需要多少肥料从而可避免浪费和被水冲走,水传感器可以告诉农民何时进行灌溉以及需要多少水;很快,传感器或许还可以识别何时和是否施用除草剂和杀虫剂(大大减少使用的总量)。所有这些都可以减少对下游的影响,减少农场附近自然区域一直以来受到的生物危害。

此外,新的农业技术包括垂直农业、水栽培、覆盖作物和在土壤中自身积累氮的生产性作物轮作,能够减少土地、水和化肥的使用量。与绿色供应链的许多追求一样,智慧农业将努力以更低成本提供更多的食物。所需的化肥、除草剂、杀虫剂、水、劳动力,乃至土地都更少了。智慧农业解决方案有望生产出满足世界人口所需的粮食,并保护和重新开发更多的边缘土地。

目前的农业大宗商品价格冲击可能会刺激人们努力克服地球自然资源的制约、促进减缓环境退化所需的技术突破,并使我们走上生产和保障全球粮食供应的道路,从而保障人类的未来。

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多

财富洞见

欢迎查阅与您和您的财富相关的焦点话题以及我们的独到见解。

查看更多
1数据来源: Erisman等人(2008); Smil (2002); Steward; 2005.

Sustainable investing
June 16, 2022
7 mins

The spark that ignites an agriculture revolution

June 16, 2022
7 mins
Harlin Singh
Global Head of Sustainable Investing
Malcolm Spittler
Senior US Economist and Global Strategist
Catherine Turullols
Sustainable Investing Specialist for North America
SUMMARY

Investment in technological innovation is the key to establishing more sustainable agriculture production that optimizes inputs and maximizes yield without polluting the environment. The commodity price shocks we are witnessing in the wake of the war in Ukraine may well provide a much needed spark in innovation.


The war in the Ukraine has disrupted fuel, fertilizer, and agriculture production and prices – threatening food security in many of the most vulnerable locations around the world. A looming global food crisis is shining light on the messiest of businesses – fertilizer production and use.

To a large degree modern agriculture is constrained by the availability of fertilizer which is most often derived from the world’s limited supply of nitrogen whether in the form of compost, ash or chemically created ammonia. As the world exists today, there are no perfect solutions for the nitrogen problem – only less bad options – and countries are taking a hard look at how they feed themselves. Increasingly there are glimmers of hope for a millennia old problem. (Figure 1: Generic wheat futures price before the Ukraine conflict and as of June 13, 2022, Figure 2: IMF global fertilizer price index in PDF)

Fertilizer may increase crop yield in the short term; however, it intensifies food insecurity in an uncertain world over time. The conflict between Russia and Ukraine – two of the world’s essential agricultural production hubs – is posing one of the most serious threats to global agriculture and food security to date. The price of fertilizer is at a record high while countries scramble to boost agriculture productivity.

Investments in sustainable food and agriculture solutions have the potential opportunity to not merely profit from the inevitable changes in how the world produces food and feeds itself, but also remove some of the pressure that could contribute to future conflicts. Our response to today’s global food security crisis can be nothing less than revolutionary.

An enduring challenge for human civilization

From the dawn of agriculture until 1905 the quantity of nitrogen available for agriculture has been limited by the amount that is available in plants and minerals on the earth’s surface. Additional nitrogen has always been a challenge as the crops we eat rapidly deplete the nitrogen from the soil leaving barren wastes if the land is not fed nitrogen in turn.

Ultimately all life on earth is dependent on available nitrogen – and getting it has always been an ugly, dangerous, smelly, and generally unpleasant task. The methods humans have used to acquire and fertilize land with nitrogen have shifted over our history, with burning forests to plant crops in temporarily nitrogen rich (from the ash) soil being the earliest method (and one that still is unfortunately destroying centuries of rainforest growth in exchange for a few good years of crops before leaving barren lifeless soil). But the early farmers always had to move to new land as the soil was soon depleted.

A Historic Timeline

(See PDF - Source: Leigh. G.J. The World’s Greatest Fix: A history of Nitrogen and Agriculture. Oxford University Press, 19 August 2004.)

At the beginning of the 19th century a discovery was made that would drastically increase the world population and reshape the future. Islands in the Pacific covered with millennia of bird droppings were a seemingly limitless source of nitrogen, and the world population surged higher as more food than ever before could be produced on the same amount of land. Unfortunately, the supply was only seemingly limitless, and by the end of the 19th century wars were breaking out to control the diminishing supply of guano that was crucial for keeping farmland sufficiently productive to feed the now larger populations.

While the story could have ended with a catastrophic global starvation, instead the beginning of the 20th century had a miracle solution in the form of industrial ammonia-based fertilizer that used natural gas in a high energy process to capture nitrogen from the air (78% of the air is nitrogen, though in a form that is inaccessible to plants N3). Headlines from the dawn of the age of industrial fertilizer were filled with breathless announcements of bread made from air. The Haber-Bosch process has become so dominant and widespread that it now uses roughly 1% of all the power generated in the world, and produces roughly 1% of the greenhouse gases, but in exchange supports roughly half of all human life on Earth1.

But as with any solution there are drawbacks as well as benefits, inexpensive and abundant fertilizer has meant that it is often applied in vast quantities to avoid the risk of under fertilizing crop lands. The result is rainy season run off that fills our rivers with hyper abundant nitrogen driving algae blooms that devastate eco-systems as they pull the oxygen from the water creating dead zones, and directly poisoning invertebrates. Ammonia itself can contribute to air-pollution. And the ability to grow the same crops year after year on a single piece of land due to the abundant fertilizer means that weeds and pests can take strong hold, essentially kicking off an arms race with evolution as stronger or more targeted herbicides and pesticides are needed to protect food crops.

By the middle of the 20th century famine was again being forecast with books like “The Population Bomb” warning of immanent starvation. Instead, humans developed new crops that could produce more food per acre, and herbicides and pesticides that shifted the war between farmers and weeds and pests decidedly in the direction of farmers. These same solutions have created countless problems as monocrops have their own risks, and heavy reliance on herbicides and pesticides have contributed to agricultural pollution and reduced the health of ecosystems.

This is where we would love to tell you about the miraculous new technique that will eliminate the Haber-Bosch process, or a version of organic farming that could feed billions. But while there are many researchers searching for a low temperature / low energy method to make bio-available nitrogen, there are none that currently work at scale and reasonable cost.

For now, the world is stuck with the Haber-Bosch process for the currently foreseeable future, but there are very exciting solutions that are making the way we use fertilizer, herbicides, pesticides and water more efficient. Farming has always involved looking at the conditions on the ground and expectations of the future and attempting to make the right decisions. But as farms grew and the number of farmers fell, the amount of land covered per farmer swelled to the point that one size fits all solutions were the only possibilities available.

Agriculture of the Future

Most farmers are fertilizing in the same way today as they did 100 years ago, and fertilizer along with how it is produced, has not evolved much over time. We are well overdue for a technological breakthrough in this space. Like the electric vehicle industry, combined industry- and government-led measures along with advancements in biotechnology may spark a revolution in how nutrients are delivered to plants in the near future. Investment in technological innovation is the key to establishing more sustainable agriculture production that optimizes inputs and maximizes yield without polluting the environment.

Today, we believe precision agriculture is leading the way. Increasingly high precession sensors, inexpensive computing devices and robust satellite systems, along with big data driven highly localized weather forecasts means that once more decisions about the correct treatment for a piece of land can shift from being decided at the scale of fields and instead be brought back down to the scale of individual plants.

Nutrition sensors in the soil can tell when and how much fertilizer is needed preventing waste and runoff, water sensors can tell the farm when to water and how much, soon sensors may be able to identify when and if to apply herbicides and pesticides (greatly reducing the total amount used) and all of this can reduce the downstream effects that has been making biohazards of farms for nearby natural areas.

Additionally new farming techniques show the promise of using less land, water and fertilizer with novel strategies of vertical agriculture, aqua culture, cover crops, and productive crop rotations that build nitrogen in the soil itself. As with so much of the quest to green the supply chain, smart agriculture will be hard at work to make more food available with less. Less fertilizer, fewer herbicides and pesticides, less water, less labor and even less land. Smarter agricultural solutions have the potential to produce the food the world’s population needs and protect and rewild more marginal lands.

Today’s agricultural commodity price shocks could spur the technological breakthroughs required to overcome Earth’s natural resource constraints, mitigate environmental degradation, and set us on a path to producing and safeguarding a global food supply that can secure humanity’s future.

Insights

See our investments insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights

Insights

See our investments insights and the issues that matter for your wealth.

View all insights
1Source: Erisman et al. (2008); Smil (2002); Steward; 2005.