克服供應短缺

STEVEN WIETING
首席投資策略師兼首席經濟學家

俄烏衝突導致全球大宗商品短缺,供應鏈中斷加劇。其他大宗商品生產國不得不彌補缺口。投資於這類挑戰的應對措施,可能會為投資組合提供對沖。

要點

自2020年以來,連續的衝擊推動大宗商品價格大幅上漲

由此產生的經濟、地緣政治和社會不穩定局勢可能會持續一段時間

必須重新分配資金來幫助解決這一問題。我們看到的潛在機會包括大宗商品生產商和石油服務股票

不要等到錯失機會才追悔莫及。在過去十年的大部分時間裡,世界大宗商品價格溫和且經常下跌——見圖1。但這已成過去。自2020年初以來,國際貨幣基金組織(IMF)的主要大宗商品指數(追蹤一系列食品、工業投入和能源產品價格的指數)上漲了170%。這對全球消費者、企業和投資者有著深遠的影響。

 
圖1.大宗商品價格迅速飆升
 
圖表顯示非燃料主要大宗商品價格和能源價格指數。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月20日。
 

大宗商品短缺的新世界

造成目前大宗商品短缺局面的最初起源在於新冠疫情期間的經濟封鎖。由於政府出台經濟刺激性舉措,但釋出資金卻無法用於服務性消費,因而導致消費者對商品的需求膨脹。與此同時,由於封鎖限制,幾乎所有商品的供應都受到影響。雖然這兩個矛盾現在都有所緩解,但遠未實現正常化。而俄烏衝突持續造成新的大規模中斷。

俄羅斯和烏克蘭都是主要大宗商品供應國。兩國的農業產出合計佔世界市場糧食交易量的約十分之一。烏克蘭目前有數百萬噸待售穀物因戰爭而未能出口,而新糧又收割在即。作為世界最大化肥生產國的俄羅斯暫停了化肥出口,其他地區農民彌補糧食缺口的能力受到威脅。

俄烏衝突和由此產生的制裁對能源供應造成了極大程度的干擾和破壞。歐盟表示,將於今年年底前停止從俄羅斯進口石油。歐盟還計劃在相似的時間段內將天然氣進口量削減三分之二。在能源價格飛漲的情況下,多國政府不得不進行干預,以補貼的方式幫助陷入困境的家庭。

這對經濟的影響與日俱增。大宗商品短缺已經拖累增長並使投入成本升高。人們在食品、家庭供暖供冷和汽車燃料上的支出增加。這自然會導致外出就餐、海外旅行等非必需消費減少。通脹的影響幾乎無處不在,許多發達經濟體的消費價格通脹率達到一代人或更長時間都未見過的水平。如果美聯儲和其他國家央行透過大幅提高利率來應對,衰退將成為實際威脅。

大宗商品供應中斷或將持續

通脹加速和衰退均非我們的基準情境預測。我們看到世界最大經濟體的供需有所穩定——見圖2。全球來看,供應鏈中斷似乎正在緩解——見圖3。我們認為經濟擴張可以持續,2023年美國通脹率將降至3.5%——參閱「在繁榮的餘暉中投資」。然而,這並不意味著我們預計大宗商品供應中斷將在2022年或2023年結束。

 
圖2.消費需求減少,供應增加
 
資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月20日。
 
 
圖3.嚴峻的供應鏈壓力正在消退
 
圖表顯示全球供應鏈壓力指數。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月25日。
 

簡而言之,我們認為大宗商品短缺可能是未來一段時間內經濟和其他方面不穩定的根源。5月底,俄羅斯總統普京提出解除對烏克蘭食品和化肥出口的封鎖,以換取放寬對俄羅斯的制裁。全球家庭遭受高糧食和能源價格的時間越長,這種談判的籌碼就越有力。

2011年的糧食短缺引發了名為「阿拉伯之春」的暴力起義和政權更迭。持續的生活成本危機還可能使發達經濟體的選民變得激進,使民粹主義政客的影響力增強。普京以及那些主要物資生產國的獨裁者們更是會牢牢把握這一點。

新冠疫情和俄烏衝突都突顯出世界面對供應衝擊的脆弱性。企業和政府開始重新審視其對於那些他們幾乎沒有控制權的材料、產品和物流的依賴性。雖然我們預計不會出現大規模經濟上的閉關自守,但生產和供應鏈多樣化的趨勢(參閱「亞洲崛起:G2雙強分道揚鑣」(The rise of Asia: G2 polarization))或將持續。例如,世界應該深刻反思對中國台灣半導體或中國稀土金屬生產的依賴。

大宗商品短缺雖然令人痛苦,但也潛藏著益處。例如,20世紀70年代的石油衝擊帶來了對石油依賴較少的工業和更節能的汽車。這對於各行業的公司來說是一個機會,就像日本汽車製造商佔領並保留了美國市場的份額一樣。我們認為,現在高昂的化石燃料價格將加快向可持續替代能源的轉型——參閱「創建綠色世界」(Greening the world)。挑戰持續的時間越長,對創新的促進作用也就越大。

2022年大宗商品相關股票投資指南

大宗商品短缺和價格波動加深了投資者在2022年所面臨的不確定性。無論是俄烏衝突還是其他方面,情況惡化的可能性依然很大。與此同時,我們強調大宗商品短缺並非不可阻擋的趨勢。市場力量最終將有助於使形勢重新平衡。然而,這可能需要一兩年以上的時間。

我們認為投資組合需要反映這一時期持續短缺的可能性。大宗商品生產商和石油服務股票為抵禦通脹提供了潛在的對沖,而石油等自然資源的產出增長是世界穩定的必要因素。這些公司有潛力在這種環境下創造更強勁的盈收——見圖4。因此,我們已經戰術性增持該領域倉位。 正如您在我們詳細的主題戰術性資產配置中所見——參閱「我們的倉位配置」(Our positioning),我們持有一些基本的通脹對沖投資,形式是黃金和與通脹掛鉤的美國國債。 然而我們認為,更大的機會是投資於全球大宗商品生產商和油田服務公司的擴大產量,我們在這兩個領域增持4%。 這些公司一般隨著產量增長支付股息並實現盈利增長。隨著時間的推移,我們認為這比簡單地投資大宗商品期貨更好,因為投資大宗商品期貨無法從大宗商品產量增長中獲益。

 
圖4.原油價格高企使勘探商和生產商受益
 
資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月31日。投資者不能直接投資指數。指數僅供說明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投資績效。過往業績並非未來結果的保證。實際結果可能發生變化。
 


聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

Overcoming supply shortages

STEVEN WIETING
CHIEF INVESTMENT STRATEGIST AND CHIEF ECONOMIST

The Russia-Ukraine war has generated shortages in global commodities and further dislocations in supply chains. Other producers will have to fill the gap. Investing to address this challenging situation may offer a portfolio hedge.

Key takeaways

Successive shocks have driven commodity prices sharply higher since 2020

The resulting economic, geopolitical and social instability may linger for some time

Capital will have to be reallocated to help solve for this. Among the potential opportunities we see are commodity producer and oil services equities

You don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone. For much of the last decade, the world enjoyed moderate and often falling commodity prices – figure 1. No longer, though. Since early 2020, the IMF’s Index of Primary Commodities – which tracks the prices of a broad range of food, industrial inputs and energy products – has risen by 170%. This has far-reaching implications for consumers, businesses and investors globally.

 
Figure 1. The rapid run-up in commodity prices
 
Chart shows index of non-fuel primary commodity prices and energy prices. Source: Haver, as of 20 May 2022.
 

The new world of shortages

Today’s commodity shortages have their origins in the Covid economic shutdowns. Flush with government stimulus cash and unable to spend it on many services, consumers’ demand for goods ballooned. At the same time, supplies of almost everything suffered owing to lockdown restrictions. While both these distortions have now eased, full normalization is a far way off. Russia’s ongoing invasion of Ukraine has caused a major new disruption.

Both Russia and Ukraine are major commodity suppliers. Together, their agricultural output accounts for around one-tenth of calories traded on world markets. Ukraine currently has millions of tons of unsold grain that the war is preventing it from exporting, while a new harvest is about to begin. The ability of farmers elsewhere to make up the shortfall is under threat from the suspension of fertilizer exports from Russia, the world’s largest fertilizer producer.

The war and the resulting sanctions’ disruption to energy supplies is also causing intense pain. The European Union has committed to cease taking Russian oil exports by the end of this year. It is also aiming to cut natural gas imports by two-thirds within a similar timeframe. Amid soaring energy prices, many governments are having to intervene to help struggling households by way of subsidies.  

The economic impact is mounting. Already, commodity shortages have dampened growth and raised input costs. More spending power is going toward putting food on the table, heating and cooling homes and fueling cars. Naturally, this means less to spare for discretionary items from meals out to gadgets to overseas trips. Most apparent day-to-day are the inflationary effects, with rates of consumer price inflation in many advanced economies not seen for a generation or more. If the US Federal Reserve and other central banks raise interest rates excessively in response, recession becomes a real danger.

Commodity disruption may persist

Neither accelerating inflation nor recession are our base-case scenario. And we see some stabilization in supply and demand in the world’s largest economy – figure 2. Globally, supply chain disruption appears to be easing – figure 3. We believe that the economic expansion can be sustained, with US inflation falling toward 3.5% in 2023 – see Investing in the afterglow of a boom. However, none of this is say that we necessarily expect an end to commodity disruption either in 2022 or 2023.   

 
Figure 2. Consumer demand decelerating, supply accelerating
 
Source: Haver, as of 20 May 2022.
 
 
Figure 3. Severe supply chain pressures coming off the boil
 
Chart shows the Global Supply Chain Pressure Index. Source: Haver, as of 25 May 2022.
 

Put simply, we see commodity shortages as a likely source of instability – economic and otherwise – for some time to come. In late May, Russia’s President Putin offered to unblock Ukrainian food and fertilizer exports in return for an easing of sanctions on his country. The longer that households globally suffer high food and energy prices, the more potent this bargaining chip becomes.

Food scarcity in 2011 set off the violent uprisings and regime change of the Arab Spring. A sustained cost-of-living crisis could also radicalize voters in advanced economies, strengthening the hand of populist politicians. This will not have been lost on Putin and other autocrats whose domestic industries are key producers. 

Both the Covid pandemic and the Russia-Ukraine conflict have highlighted the world’s vulnerability to supply shocks. Companies and governments alike are reconsidering their dependency on materials, products and logistics over which they have little or no control. While we do not expect a wholesale drive toward autarky, the trend toward onshoring production and supply chain diversification – see The rise of Asia: G2 polarization – is likely to continue. The world’s reliance on Taiwanese semiconductors or Chinese rare earth metal production should prompt deep reflection, for example.

As painful as commodity shortages are, they can sometimes yield benefits too. The oil shocks of the 1970s, for example, led to less oil-dependent industries and more fuel-efficient vehicles. For versatile companies, this proved an opportunity, as in the case of Japanese carmakers who captured and then retained a share of the US market. We believe today’s high fossil fuel prices will intensify the shift toward sustainable alternatives – see Greening the world. The longer challenging conditions persist, the more it may spur innovation.

Guide on how to invest in commodity-linked equities in 2022

Commodity shortages and price volatility have deepened the uncertainty facing investors in 2022. The potential for further dislocation – be it from the Russia-Ukraine conflict or elsewhere – remains significant. At the same time, we stress that commodity shortages do not represent an unstoppable trend. Market forces should ultimately help to rebalance the situation. However, this may take longer than a year or two. 

We believe portfolios need to reflect the potential for ongoing shortages over this period. Commodity producers and oil services equities offer a potential hedge against inflation while their output growth is a needed contributor for world stability. Such firms have the potential to generate stronger earnings in this environment – figure 4. We therefore have established a tactical overweight in this area.  As you can see in our detailed thematic, tactical asset allocation – see Our positioning – we hold some basic inflation hedges in the form of gold and inflation-linked US Treasuries.  However, the larger opportunity we believe is to be gained from investing in the expanded output of global commodity producers and oilfield services firms, where we have a 4% overweight.  These firms generally pay dividends and grow their profits with rising production. Over time, we believe this is superior than simply investing in commodities futures that don’t reflect gains in the volume of commodities produced.

 
Figure 4. High crude prices can benefit explorers and producers
 
Source: Haver, as of 31 May 2022. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary.
 


Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.