不確定時期的投資 - 構建高質量的投資組合

STEVEN WIETING
首席投資策略師兼首席經濟學家

2021年的繁榮景象已經結束,但這並不意味著衰退即將到來。面對經濟不確定性,我們建議對投資組合採取積極的行動。

要點

在新冠疫情造成經濟崩潰以及隨後的繁榮之後,我們現在面臨著地緣政治緊張、通脹上升和增長放緩所帶來的經濟不確定性

如果美聯儲及時停止緊縮,我們認為經濟擴張可以持續,從而避免衰退

儘管部分科技股大跌,但與21世紀初不同的是,技術開支似乎不太可能收縮

構建具有韌性的投資組合恰逢其時,投資者應關注各個資產類別,進行高品質投資

那場在2020年重創世界經濟的「地震」及其餘震尚未平息。在前所未有的崩潰之後,經濟活動、金融資產和消費價格出現一片繁榮的景象。這種迅速的外源性發展趨勢,在2022年給投資者帶來的卻是一片混亂。

正如David Bailin在「世界新秩序」(A new world order)一文中所述:我現在應該如何投資?俄烏衝突讓本就飽受疫情創傷的全球經濟愈發面臨嚴峻挑戰,物資短缺和供應鏈中斷問題更是讓情況雪上加霜。在去年繁榮的餘暉即將退去之際,面對全球大宗商品短缺,現在的情況要求我們採取不同的資產配置方法。

2022年上半年,利率驟升使投資者更難以確定金融資產應當如何估值。政府債券收益率在過去12個月大約翻了一倍,高品質固定收益的收益率多年來首次回到較為適宜的水平。

在經濟週期放緩的背景下,我們認為從整個投資組合構建和從冗餘現金中賺取收益的角度來看,固定收益資產都提供了更具吸引力的機會——參閱「擊敗現金竊賊:債券歸來!」(Beat the cash thief:Bonds are Back!)以及「我們的倉位配置」(Our positioning)。

2021年經濟繁榮後令人意外的副作用

到目前為止,美聯儲的宏觀經濟戰略未能將一系列大規模外源性衝擊與經濟的正常景氣週期區分開來。政策制定者用過度刺激來應對疫情造成的崩潰後,現在又「換湯不換藥」地用過度緊縮來應對經濟復甦。我們認為,美聯儲官員目前正在反向實施2020-2021年的巨量貨幣刺激。經濟增長放緩在美聯儲今年夏天再次加息之前就已經拉開序幕。我們將我們的2022年及2023年實際全球GDP預測下調了約1個百分點——見圖1。大宗商品短缺已經限制增長並推高通脹,這種情況還將繼續。但也有抵消因素在發揮作用。

 
圖1.當時與現在:我們的實際GDP預測(%)
 
  2020 2021 2022 2023
      PREV. REVIS. PREV. REVIS.
CHINA 2.4 8.0 4.5 4.0 5.0 5.0
US -3.4 5.5 3.5 1.9 2.6 2.0
EU -5/9 4.8 3.9 2.3 2.4 1.8
UK -9.7 6.0 4.2 3.0 2.5 2.0
GLOBAL -3.2 5.6 3.8 2.6 3.5 2.7
資料來源:Haver與首席投資策略師辦公室,截至2022年5月18日。所有預測均為觀點的表達,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非對未來事件的保證。

我們認為,供應的持續復甦以及需求開始放緩,將導致通脹在未來一年逐漸減弱。隨著時間的推移,消費需求、通脹和就業放緩,會逐步讓央行從導致衰退的過度緊縮道路上調轉方向。考慮到重大風險,我們在過去一年改變了投資組合配置,注重產生收益的高品質資產以及對經濟不可或缺的資產——參閱「我們的倉位配置」(Our positioning)與圖2。

 
圖2.耐用品需求與股票韌性
 
圖表顯示「非必需品」和「耐用品」行業的表現。非必需品行業包括家庭耐用品、專業零售、紡織品、服飾與奢侈品、住宅地產投資信託(REIT)、酒店、餐飲、休閒、金融和航空。耐用品行業包括食品、飲料與煙草、能源、公用事業、醫療、通訊服務。資料來源:Haver Analytics與彭博,截至2022年5月15日。過往業績並非未來回報的保證。實際結果可能發生變化。指數未經管理。投資者不能直接投資指數。所示數據僅作說明之用。
 

2020-2021年刺激過度,現在出現「戒斷反應」

在應對疫情對經濟造成的深入但短暫的影響時,財政和貨幣政策制定者採取了前所未有的刺激。比如說,針對性的財政支持(比如說針對航空公司和酒店業及其員工的支持)不會像針對幾乎所有消費者的大規模支持那樣,產生不可持續的需求繁榮。現在,在應對疫情影響帶來的物資短缺(需要在行業層面解決的供需不匹配)時,政策制定者正在實施宏觀經濟限制——見圖3。

 
圖3.刺激減少,繁榮消退
 
圖表顯示美國政府收入和零售銷售轉移支付(政府或企業無償地支付給個人以增加其收入和購買力的費用)的月度環比變化。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月15日。
 

歷史經驗顯示,貨幣政策從來沒能成功解決過供應衝擊。美聯儲可以調節需求,但沒法生產商品和服務。2020-2021年為經濟提供的需求支援正在迅速減弱。2022年一季度,美國聯邦支出減少33%。將抵押貸款利率上調250個基點,只是美聯儲為給房地產行業降溫採取的笨辦法中的一個例子——見圖4。

 
圖4.抵押貸款利率飆升,房貸申請減少
 
圖表顯示倒掛的30年期美國抵押貸款利率和住房貸款申請。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月15日。
 

第一季度消費者支出也在減速。隨著時間推移,我們預計這將使就業和通脹放緩——見圖5。

 
圖5.勞動力隨消費支出變化
 
圖表顯示了私營部門就業的百分比變化與向前推進了六個月的消費者支出實際百分比變化。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月15日。
 

此前對於2021年經濟興旺期貨幣寬鬆措施過度的相關論調,美聯儲並不以為然。但在2022年,美聯儲的觀點發生了大幅轉變。隨著美聯儲開啟了更迅速的貨幣緊縮期,我們會想起鮑威爾在去年8月份所說的:貨幣政策對通脹的主要影響可能滯後一年或在更長時間後顯現。如果一家央行是為了應對暫時性的因素而收緊政策,那麼主要的政策效果很可能在這種需求過去之後才會顯現。

我們希望美聯儲在某個時候(理想情況下是在2022年)會認識到加息和減少貸款(量化緊縮)對未來造成的影響。如果認識到這一點的時間足夠早,經濟仍有機會持續增長,也許並不需要美聯儲逆轉政策。相反,如果美聯儲執意要將其計劃中的迅速貨幣緊縮政策持續到2023年,美國和全球經濟增長可能持續不到下一年。

一旦衰退開始,美聯儲將無法懸崖勒馬。然而,美聯儲確實有頻繁逆轉政策的先例。過去45年中,美聯儲平均維持最高政策利率僅7個月後就開始降息。2019年,美聯儲在預期當年加息75個基點的情況下降息75個基點。(美聯儲還在一次緊急會議上提前結束了量化緊縮。)

如果美聯儲能夠很快在2021年的過度寬鬆和2022年口頭表示的快速收緊之間取得平衡,則可能會避免助長金融和經濟過熱。與此同時,隨著美國債券市場幾乎所有期限和類別債券的收益率上升近200個基點,我們認為債券投資者的風險/回報潛力顯著改善——參閱「擊敗現金竊賊:債券歸來!」(Beat the cash thief:Bonds are back!)

2022年初,美國長期國債從之前的高點一度下跌35%,價值損失創歷史紀錄。由於我們認為未來通脹不會每年上升2%,自2020年收益率觸底以來,我們首次增持了長期美國政府債券。價格更低的高品質債券現在理應在許多類型的投資組合中得到更大比例的配置。

工資在後疫情時代的通脹飆升中所佔比例很小——見圖6。這就是為甚麼2023年的衰退導致數百萬人失業將是一個巨大且無謂的犧牲,對減緩通脹幾乎無濟於事。

 
圖6.通脹飆升的主要原因在於商品短缺,而非工資上漲
 
圖表顯示了僱用成本的同比百分比變動(以僱用成本指數計算):普通勞動者,以及城市CPI的同比百分比變動;所有項目通貨膨脹指數。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月15日。
 

請保持耐心!/h2>

幸運的是,全球生產的迅速增長超過了需求的增長。商業庫存已經從創紀錄的低點恢復,恰恰證明了這一點。我們認為,隨著目前商品進口激增以滿足需求,這有望在不導致就業崩潰的情況下降低通脹。換言之,市場力量(而非緊縮)正在逐步發揮平衡供需所必需的作用。 央行所需要做的是為此種復甦延續一整年創造條件。

2022年迄今,美聯儲已經加息75個基點。量化緊縮將緊隨其後。這對金融市場來說是痛苦的,但還不足以對經濟擴張造成很大影響。不過,外界普遍預計美聯儲將在未來18個月內再收緊250個基點。如果美聯儲執意等待滯後的經濟指標出現疲弱跡象,而不展望政策對未來一年或以上的影響,衰退的可能性只會增加。我們認為出現衰退的可能性是35%。

人為衰退

對1980和1982年的回憶可能是黯淡的。以當時的標準來衡量,1982年的經濟衰退尤為令人痛苦。然而,面對美聯儲人為造成的衰退,經濟迅速恢復全部潛力的能力是強大的——見圖7。從某些角度而言,這種影響是經過謀劃的,儘管沒有為遏制新冠疫情在2020年第二季度所採取的短暫經濟封鎖的影響那麼溫和。同樣,我們預計當疫情限制解除時,中國的經濟復甦將會繼續——參閱「亞洲崛起:兩強勢頭加速」(The rise of Asia – G2 world accelerated)。

 
圖7.美國經濟增長總是從衰退中迅速反彈
 
圖表顯示衰退和後衰退期間美國實際GDP的季度變化(週期0=衰退開始)。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月18日。
 

這種衰退明顯不同於收縮,在收縮期間,大部分經濟部門呈現繁榮態勢,只是需要消除巨大的失衡。整個經濟領域最明顯的例子是2008-2009年的住房過剩。

迄今為止,在全球金融危機後,銀行業的槓桿率保持在歷史上的溫和水平。即便如此,傳統銀行之外還存在一些系統性風險——見圖8。

 
圖8.美國增長股估值漲跌
 
圖表顯示美國增長股、價值股和非美國股票的歷史市盈率。資料來源:Haver,截至2022年5月15日。過往業績並非未來回報的保證。實際結果可能發生變化。指數未經管理。投資者不能直接投資指數。所示數據僅作說明之用。
 

這是政策大幅收緊之際一個尚存的經濟力量。儘管如此,2020-2021年投機性科技股估值的繁榮,確實與1995-1999年期間以及隨後的估值回落有些相似之處——見圖9。

 
圖9.現在技術支出似乎更具韌性
 
圖表顯示私人非住宅支出在資訊處理設備上的實際投資的同比變動。灰色陰影區表示美國出現的衰退。資料來源:Haver Analytics,截至2022年3月30日
 

科技股將再次上漲。

近年來科技股的估值可能有點類似於20世紀90年代末,但盈利能力卻不可同日而語。如今,技術支出不似當年那樣集中。20世紀90年代末處於互聯網繁榮時期的公司都有一些共同點,但在今天,像特斯拉和Facebook母公司Meta這樣的公司幾乎沒有業務共同點。

時間會證明一切,但我們並不認為技術支出會減少——見圖9。在2000-2002年,技術領域的基本面過剩(例如暗光纖通訊網路的大規模建設)導致了產能過剩和技術主導的經濟收縮。現在,在高通脹持續的情況下,非必需消費支出可能是經濟最脆弱的環節。

緊缺時期的投資策略

我們改變了戰術資產配置,以反映不利的緊缺市場環境——參閱「我們的倉位配置」(Our positioning)。在不預測俄烏衝突如何以及何時結束的情況下,俄羅斯和烏克蘭出口的眾多自然資源的期貨價格將在未來兩年的交割期內大幅上漲——見圖10。

 
圖10.價格走高但可能回落:部分能源、金屬和糧食大宗商品
 
圖表顯示布倫特原油、小麥、德國天然氣和鋼鐵期貨等一籃子期貨,由交割期至2024年的期貨合約組成,同等權重,索引編至2023年2月;戰爭開始的前一天,每項資產的值被設定為100。資料來源:Haver Analytics,截至2022年4月15日。注:所有預測均為觀點的表達,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非對未來事件的保證。過往業績並非未來表現的保證。僅作說明之用。.
 

該地區主要農業投入和產出的損失將對許多新興國家產生巨大負面後果,在這些國家,糧食在家庭預算中所佔比例要大得多。解決這個問題的辦法是盡可能提高產量。我們對全球自然資源公司進行了大量配置,減持了其他股票板塊和歐洲等地區。

幸運的是,大宗商品價格也遠遠算不上決定最終消費價格的最重要因素,即使是關係密切的產品——見圖11。在我們所預測的需求放緩的情況下,大宗商品價格高企只會影響利潤和更多非必需品的銷售。儘管我們對大宗商品股票和優質美國固定收益的增持似乎自相矛盾,但俄羅斯和烏克蘭出口減少造成的供應衝擊是全球增長放緩的一個因素。如果供應恢復,大宗商品價格下跌,我們預計經濟前景將更加強勁,並對更廣泛的全球股市產生潛在利好。

 
圖11.生產者價格:消費價格的唯一成因
 
圖表顯示CPI和核心原油同規模同比百分比變動。資料來源:Haver Analytics,截至2022年5月18日。
 

刺激減少並不意味著創新減少

儘管創新的市場價值承壓,但我們認為當前與過去的情況有著關鍵的不同。尤其是,我們認為全球將不會減少網絡安全和綠色技術等領域的支出——參閱「不可阻擋的趨勢」(Unstoppable trends)。這與21世紀初互聯網泡沫結束時形成鮮明對比,當時估值和基本面同時回落。

正如過去一年一些最具投機性的投資一樣,納斯達克綜合指數在截至2002年年中的兩年多時間裡大跌78%。隨後,納指在後來20年漲逾1000%。原因何在?因為即使在2000-2002年的科技股崩潰期間,創造增長的技術進步也已經形成——見圖12。

 
圖12.科技股與發明創新蓬勃發展
 
圖表顯示了自1971年以來經通脹調整後的納斯達克綜合指數價格與美國專利授權。資料來源:Haver Analytics,截至2022年5月18日。過往業績並非未來回報的保證。實際結果可能發生變化。指數未經管理。投資者不能直接投資指數。所示數據僅作說明之用。

 

熊市時期的創新包括iPhone的前身和今天的電動汽車、人類基因組測序和今天私人航太業的發端。

在崩潰之前10年經濟擴張的頂峰時,股市泡沫時期最大型公司的市盈率為78倍。其中有的被競爭對手蠶食,有的則再也沒能回到巔峰。但如果一名投資者在接近1999年的峰值時買入這些股票,並持有這些股票到今天為止,每年的回報仍會比持有現金高290個基點——見圖14。

 
圖14.在泡沫時期的峰值買入大型科技股並一直持有仍比持有現金的回報高
 
圖表顯示了1999年底至2022年3月期間「科技泡沫股票」、標準普爾500指數、MSCI全球指數和現金的總回報。過往業績並非未來回報的保證。實際結果可能發生變化。指數未經管理。投資者不能直接投資指數。所示數據僅作說明之用。參閱詞彙表了解定義。
 

我們並不主張迫切增持增長股。然而,在市場不會立即帶來正回報的時候,至少已經奠定未來回報的基礎。

不確定時期如何投資

在不確定性加劇的情況下,投資者往往因為恐慌而無所適從。因此而消極對待投資組合可能要承擔沉重代價。最常見的兩個錯誤舉動是,維持根據過去市況配置的投資組合不變和持有冗餘現金。

我們的目標是根據現在的市場環境構建有韌性的高品質投資組合。花旗全球財富投資已經在2022年的戰術資產配置中作出了重要調整。其中包括增持自然資源和石油服務股票——參閱「我們的倉位配置」(Our positioning)。

在商品短缺和供應衝擊的情況下,我們認為這些資產或將有助於加強投資組合——參閱「克服供應短缺」(Overcoming supply shortages)。

我們重申對廣泛優質資產的信念。在股票中,這包括長期領導者,即具有各種優質特徵的公司,參閱《2022年展望》中「追隨長期龍頭股恰逢其時」(Time to follow the long-term leaders)一文。具體例子包括股息增長型股票——參閱「擊敗現金竊賊!」(Beat the cash thief!)——以及很多與不可阻擋的趨勢相關的股票——參閱「數碼化與亞洲崛起」(Digitalization and the Rise of Asia)。我們的另一個重點投資對象是高品質固定收益。隨著2022年收益率大幅上升,我們認為這一資產類別有更大的潛力——參閱「擊敗現金竊賊:債券歸來」(Beat the cash thief: Bonds are back)。

不過,您應該考慮的第一個積極行動是與您的客戶關係團隊聯繫,獲取您的個人化「展望關注列表」。此報告將對您的投資組合與配置建議進行比較。然後,我們可以再討論如何彌合兩者間的差異。


下載完整報告

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

Malcolm Spittler與Joseph Fiorica爲此文亦有貢獻。

Investing amid uncertainty - building high quality portfolios

STEVEN WIETING
Chief Investment Strategist and Chief Economist

The boom conditions of 2021 are over, but this does not mean a recession will be forthcoming. Amid economic uncertainty, positive actions for portfolios are recommended.

Key takeaways

Following a the COVID economic collapse and boom, we now face economic uncertainties amid geopolitical tensions, rising inflation and slowing growth

If the US Federal Reserve ceases tightening in time, we believe economic expansion can be sustained, forestalling a recession

Despite heavy declines in some technology equities, contracting capital expenditure on technology seems improbable, unlike in the early 2000s

It is time to build resilient portfolios, with a focus on high-quality investments across asset classes

The earthquake and aftershocks that struck the world economy in 2020 have yet to pass. An unprecedented collapse was followed by a boom in economic activity, financial assets and consumer prices. These rapid and exogenous developments have left a confusing picture for investors in 2022. 

As David Bailin discusses in A new world order: How should I invest now?, the tragedy of war in Ukraine has intensified the challenges of a pandemic-scarred global economy, particularly shortages and supply chain disruption. Amid the fading afterglow of last year’s boom, today’s situation requires us to allocate capital differently in a world of commodity and goods scarcity.  

During the first half of 2022, rapidly rising interest rates left investors more uncertain as to how to value financial assets. The rough doubling in government bond yields in the past twelve months has restored higher quality fixed income to a more appropriate yield level for the first time in several years.

Given a slowing cyclical backdrop, we see a much more compelling opportunity in fixed income assets for both overall portfolio construction and to earn income on surplus cash – see Beat the cash thief: Bonds are Back! and Our positioning.

Unintended side-effects after the 2021 economic boom

The Federal Reserve's macroeconomic strategy has, so far, failed to differentiate a series of large exogenous shocks from the economy’s normal business cycle. Policymakers have treated both the COVID collapse and recovery with the same medicine, excessive stimulus and potentially excessive tightening. In our view, central bankers are now running their enormous monetary stimulus of 2020-2021 in reverse. Slower growth is upon us even before the Fed raises rates again this summer. We have revised our real global GDP forecast about a full percentage point lower for both 2022 and 2023 – figure 1. Commodity shortages have – and will – restrain growth and raise inflation. But there are countervailing factors at play, too.

 
Figure 1. Then and now: Our real GDP forecasts (%)
 
  2020 2021 2022 2023
      PREV. REVIS. PREV. REVIS.
CHINA 2.4 8.0 4.5 4.0 5.0 5.0
US -3.4 5.5 3.5 1.9 2.6 2.0
EU -5/9 4.8 3.9 2.3 2.4 1.8
UK -9.7 6.0 4.2 3.0 2.5 2.0
GLOBAL -3.2 5.6 3.8 2.6 3.5 2.7
Source: Haver and Office of the Chief Investment Strategist, as of 18 May 2022. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events.

We see an ongoing supply recovery and incipient demand slowdown leading to a gradual deceleration of inflation over the coming year. In time, slowing consumer demand, inflation and employment argue for central banks to swerve from a path of excessive tightening that leads to recession. With significant risks in mind, we have altered portfolio allocations over the past year to focus on higher quality income-generating assets and the economy’s essential needs – see Our positioning and figure 2.

 
Figure 2. Durable demand, equity resilience
 
Chart shows performance of “discretionary” and “durable” demand industries. Discretionary demand industries are household durables, specialty retail, textiles, apparel & luxury goods, residential REITs, hotels, restaurants & leisure, financials and airlines. Durable demand industries are food, beverage & tobacco, energy, utilities, healthcare, telecommunication services. Source: Haver Analytics and Bloomberg as of 15 May 2022. Past performance is no guarantee of future returns. Real results may vary. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only.
 

Too much 2020-21 stimulus, withdrawal symptoms now

In response to the deep but short-lived economic effects of the pandemic, fiscal and monetary policymakers applied unprecedented stimulus. Targeted financial support, say, for the airline and hospitality industry and its workers would not have generated the unsustainable demand boom that the massive support for nearly all consumers did. Now, in fighting pandemic-impacted shortages – mismatches in supply or demand that need to be resolved at a sectoral level – policymakers are applying macro-level economic restraints – figure 3.

 
Figure 3. Declining stimulus, fading boom
 
Chart shows month-on-month changes in US government transfer payments of income and retail sales. Source: Haver, as of 15 May 2022.
 

History suggests monetary policy has never resolved supply shocks. The Fed regulates demand, but does not produce goods and services. The demand support provided to economies in 2020-2021 is waning fast. In the first quarter 2022, US federal spending fell 33%. A 250-basis point rise in mortgage rates is just one example of the Fed’s blunt force to slow the housing sector – figure 4.

 
Figure 4. Surging mortgage rates, sinking home loan applications
 
Chart shows the inverted 30-year US mortgage rate and home loan applications. Source: Haver, as of 15 May 2022.
 

Consumer spending is likewise decelerating over the course of the first quarter. In time, we expect this to slow employment and inflation – figure 5.

 
Figure 5. Where consumer spending goes, labor follows
 
Chart real percentage change in consumer spending pushed forward six months, with percentage change in private employment. Source: Haver, as of 15 May 2022.
 

The Fed was previously unmoved by the argument that monetary easing was excessive in the boom year of 2021. But, the central bank’s views have changed markedly in 2022. As the Fed begins a period of more rapid monetary tightening, we recall Chairman Powell’s words of last August: The main influence of monetary policy on inflation can come after a lag of a year or more. If a central bank tightens policy in response to factors that turn out to be temporary, the main policy effects are likely to arrive after the need has passed.

At some point – ideally during 2022 – we would hope the Fed will recognize the future impact of its rate hikes and reduced lending (quantitative tightening). If recognized early enough, this would preserve the chance of continued expansion and perhaps not require a policy reversal from the Fed. Conversely, the US and global economy are unlikely to sustain growth through another year if the Fed continues with its projected rapid monetary tightening deep into 2023.

The Fed has not managed to end recessions quickly once underway. However, it does have a history of frequent policy reversals. In the past 45 years, the Fed has sustained its maximum policy rate for only seven months on average before cutting rates. In 2019, the Fed cut rates 75 basis points when it expected to raise rates 75 basis points that year. (It also ended quantitative tightening early at an emergency meeting.) 

If the Fed can soon strike a balance between the excessive easing of 2021 and the rapid tightening it has rhetorically encouraged in 2022, it might avoid amplifying financial and economic excesses. In the meantime, with the US bond market seeing yields rise nearly 200 basis points across nearly all maturities and categories, we believe the risk/reward potential for bond investors has improved markedly – see Beat the cash thief: Bonds are back!

In early 2022, US long-term Treasury returns have fallen as much as 35% from their previous high, an historic record loss of value. As we do not believe inflation will rise 2% per year every year into the future, we have added an overweight to long-duration US government bonds for the first time since yields bottomed in 2020. Cheaper, high-quality bonds now deserve a larger allocation in many types of portfolios.

Wages accounted for very little of the post-COVID inflation spike – figure 6. That’s why a recession causing millions of job losses in 2023 would be a massive sacrifice that would do very little to slow inflation.

 
Figure 6. Inflation surged largely on goods shortages, not wages
 
Chart shows the year-on-year percentage change in employment costs as measured by the Employment Cost Index: Civilian Workers, and the year-on-year percentage change in the CPI-U; All Items inflation index. Source: Haver, as of 15 May 2022.
 

Patience, please!

Fortunately, rapidly growing global production is outstripping demand growth. This can be seen in the recovery of business inventories from record low levels. We believe this is sowing the seeds of lower inflation without an employment collapse, with goods imports now surging to meet demand. In other words, market forces – rather than tightening – are gradually doing what is needed to rebalance supply and demand.  What central banks need to do is allow for a full year of such recovery.

To date, the Fed has raised rates a mere 75 basis points in 2022. Quantitative tightening is soon to come. This has been painful for financial markets, but not yet too much for the expansion to bear. However, the Fed is widely expected to tighten another 250 basis points in the next 18 months. If the Fed must wait for lagging economic indicators to weaken – instead of looking ahead to policy’s impact a year or more into the future – the probability of a new recession will only increase. We place a 35% likelihood on this.

Engineered recessions

Recollections of 1980 and 1982 may be dim. The recession of 1982 was particularly painful by the standards of the time. However, when the Fed has deliberately engineered recession, the economy’s ability to return swiftly to full potential has been notable – figure 7. In some ways, the impact is engineered, although not as benignly as the very temporary economic shutdown of the second quarter of 2020 to stem the pandemic. Similarly, we would expect China’s economic recovery to resume when COVID restrictions are lifted – see The rise of Asia – G2 world accelerated.

 
Figure 7. US growth has often rebounded rapidly from recessions
 
Chart shows quarterly changes US real GDP in recessionary and post-recessionary periods (Period 0= recession start). Source: Haver, as 18 May 2022.
 

Such recessions differ markedly from contractions where large parts of the economy have been booming, with big imbalances to work off. The clearest economy-wide example was the housing excesses in 2008-2009. 

To date, banking sector leverage has remained historically moderate in the aftermath of the Global Financial Crisis. That said, there are some systemic risks beyond traditional banks – figure 8.

 
Figure 8. The rise and fall of US growth equity valuations
 
Chart shows US growth, value and non-US equity trailing price/earnings multiples. Source: Haver as of 15 May 2022. Past performance is no guarantee of future returns. Real results may vary. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only.
 

This is one remaining strength for the economy facing sharp policy tightening. Still, the boom in speculative tech valuations in 2020-2021 does bear some resemblance to the 1995-1999 period, and the unwind that followed – figure 9.

 
Figure 9. Tech spending looks more resilient today
 
Chart shows year-on-year real private nonresidential investment in information processing equipment. Gray shaded zones denote US recessions. Source: Haver Analytics, as of 30 Mar 2022
 

Technology shares will rise again

Technology valuations in recent years may somewhat resemble those of the late 1990s, tech profitability does not. There is less concentration in tech spending today. While late 1990s firms had the internet boom in common, firms such as Tesla and Meta today have very little business in common. 

While time will tell, we do not see technology spending as about to retreat – figure 9. In 2000-2002, fundamental excesses in technology – such as the massive buildout in dark fiber communications networks – resulted in excess capacity and a tech-led economic contraction. Today, discretionary consumer spending is likely the economy’s most vulnerable component, and only while rapid inflation lasts.

Investment strategies amid scarcity

We have shifted our tactical asset allocation to reflect a tragic new world of scarcity – see Our positioning. Without speculating as to how and when hostilities might end, the futures prices of a widespread basket of natural resources exported by Russia and Ukraine have risen sharply over the two-year delivery period ahead – figure 10.

 
Figure 10. High but potentially easing: Select energy, metals and food commodities
 
Chart shows a basket of Brent crude oil, wheat, German natural gas and steel futures, comprised of futures contracts with delivery through 2024, are equal weighted and indexed to Feb 2023; the day before the start of the war was set to 100 for each asset. Source: Haver Analytics and as of 15 Apr 2022. Note: All forecasts are expressions of opinion and are subject to change without notice and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. Past performance is not indicative of future returns. For illustrative purposes only.
 

The loss of key agricultural inputs and outputs from the region will have painful consequences for much of the emerging world, where foods comprise much larger shares of household budgets. The answer to this is higher production everywhere possible. We have made significant allocations to global natural resources firms at the expense of other equity sectors and regions such as Europe.

Fortunately, commodities are far from the most powerful determinant of end-consumer prices even for closely aligned products – figure 11. In the slowing demand environment we expect, high commodity prices will simply displace profits and sales of more discretionary merchandise. While our commodity equity and quality US fixed income overweights seem contradictory, the supply shock of lost Russian and Ukrainian exports is a source of slower global growth. If supplies recover and commodity prices fall, we would expect a stronger economic outlook and potential benefits for broader global equity markets.

 
Figure 11. Producer prices: Only one ingredient of consumer prices
 
Chart shows CPI and Core Crude Materials same scale year-on-year %. Source: Haver Analytics, as of 18 May 2022.
 

Less stimulus does not mean less innovation

Despite the market value of innovation being under pressure, we think there are key differences with past episodes. In particular, we do not believe the world is about to reduce expenditures in such areas as cybersecurity and green tech – see Unstoppable trends. This contrasts with the end of the dot-com bubble in the early 2000s, when both valuations and fundamentals unwound together.

Like some the most speculative ventures of the past year, the Nasdaq Composite Index lost 78% of its value in just over two years through mid-2002. Subsequently, it returned more than 1000% in the next 20 years. Why? Because even during the tech collapse of 2000-2002, growth-creating technological progress took shape – figure 12

 
Figure 12. Tech-oriented equities and inventions’ upward march
 
Chart shows the inflation-adjusted Nasdaq Composite Index price and US patent grants since 1971. Source: Haver Analytics, as of 18 May 2022. Past performance is no guarantee of future returns. Real results may vary. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only.

 

Innovations of that bear market period included predecessor of the iPhone and today’s electric vehicles, the sequencing of the human genome and the establishment of today’s private space industry.

The largest firms of the equity bubble period traded at 78 times earnings at the peak of the 10-year economic expansion before the collapse. Some were absorbed by competitors, while others never recovered their peak value. But an investor who had bought them all near their 1999 peak and held them through today would have still beaten cash by 290 basis points per year – figure 14.

 
Figure 14. Buying big tech at the bubble peak still beat holding cash over time
 
Chart shows the total returns from “tech bubble equities,” the S&P 500 Index, the MSCI Global AC World Index and cash between the end of 1999 and March 2022. Past performance is no guarantee of future returns. Real results may vary. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only. See Glossary for definitions.
 

We are not arguing for some imminent new concentration holding in growth shares. However, at a time when markets are not delivering immediate positive returns, the foundations of future returns are at least being laid.

How to invest amid uncertainty

Amid heightened uncertainty, investors often find themselves frozen with fear. The resulting portfolio inaction can prove costly. Two of the most common mistakes are retaining a portfolio positioned for conditions past and holding excess cash.

Our goal is to build quality, resilient portfolios for today’s environment. Citi Global Wealth Investments has already made important adaptations in our tactical asset allocation in 2022. These include an overweight position in natural resources and oil services equities – see Our positioning.

Amid scarcity and supply shocks, we think these assets may help reinforce portfolios – see also Overcoming supply shortages.

We reiterate our conviction in a broad range of high-quality assets. Among equities, these include long-term leaders – companies with a variety of quality characteristics – see Time to follow the long-term leaders in Outlook 2022. Examples include dividend growers – see Beat the cash thief! – and many equities related to our Unstoppable trends – see Digitalization and the Rise of Asia. Another of our key calls focuses on high quality fixed income. With yields having risen significantly in 2022, we see greater potential in this asset class – see Beat the cash thief: Bonds are back.

The first positive action you should consider though, is to request your personalized Outlook Watchlist from your relationship team. This report compares your portfolio to suggested allocations. We can then discuss ways for you to bring the two into alignment.


Download the full report

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.

Malcolm Spittler and Joseph Fiorica contributed to this article.