展望
2021年12月9日

不可阻挡的趋势 | 构建绿色世界

2021年12月9日
Harlin Singh
全球可持续投资主管
Charlie Reinhard
北美投资策略主管
Malcolm Spittler
全球投资策略师
概要

应对气候变化是人类面临的重要挑战。我们认为,向更加可持续世界的转变也将为投资者带来潜在的机遇。


要点

科学共识表明,为了在未来数十年避免气候灾难,亟需在温室气体排放方面采取具有深远意义的行动

我们认为,向清洁能源转型以及向更加可持续世界的更广泛转变是一个不可阻挡的趋势

许多行业的企业需要调整经营方式,否则可能面临被取代的风险

除了与清洁能源直接相关的企业外,我们认为食品生产、水泥制造和水资源等各种领域将为投资者带来潜在机遇

现实已经明确

当前,科学共识空前明确和清晰。如果不彻底改变我们的生活方式,我们或我们的子孙后代可能将面临气候灾难。温室气体排放已经引发极端气候和天气事件,对人类和地球造成的破坏性后果日益严重。最为明显的是洪水、火灾、干旱、空气污染和水资源缺乏等问题日益频发及日趋严峻。

未来二十年,预计地球表面温度将比工业化之前上升1.5°C(2.7°F)。18 然而,气温进一步上升的风险极高。如果气温比工业化之前上升2°C,将可能出现更多的极端高温情况、海平面上升、植被和野生动植物进一步减少、作物产量下降、几乎所有珊瑚礁遭到破坏以及海洋鱼群数量减少。对经济活动和人类生活的影响将非常严重,世界上一些最脆弱的人群遭受的冲击将最为严重。

更加关注,更多行动

如今,对气候变化的关注程度也是前所未有,很多公民、政府和企业坚信需要采取行动。在2021年11月召开的联合国第26届气候变化大会(COP26)上,在实现净零排放、减少甲烷排放、停止和扭转森林砍伐以及逐步减少煤炭使用方面达成了更多承诺。如果得以落实,国际能源署估计这些举措可以将全球气温上升控制在1.8°C。但是将承诺转化为成果需要切实行动、协调和资金。

而事实上,这些承诺正在逐渐落实。世界各国政府正加大对重要减排措施的支持。一些最新举措成为部分国家后疫情时期经济复苏和创造就业计划的重要组成部分。美国、中国、欧盟和日本均计划投入数万亿资金建设和升级可持续基础设施,包括可再生能源生产。

构建绿色世界是不可阻挡的趋势

鉴于对人类未来的重要性以及给予支持的立法、市场和社会推动力,我们认为向更可持续生存方式的转变是不可阻挡的趋势。我们在《2020年展望》中的“能源未来”以及《2021年展望》中的“构建绿色世界”中介绍了在绿色能源创新、电气化和效率提升方面的持续进步案例。同时,我们建议投资组合可长期持有这类转变的潜在受益者,其中包括电动汽车制造商、电池制造商、基础设施供应商和建造商以及智能家电制造商。

Outlook
December 9, 2021
3 mins

Unstoppable trends | Greening the world

December 9, 2021
3 mins
Harlin Singh
Global Head of Sustainable Investing
Charlie Reinhard
Head of North America Investment Strategy
Malcolm Spittler
Global Investment Strategist
SUMMARY

Combating climate change is a momentous challenge for humanity. We believe the shift toward greater sustainability is also creating potential opportunities for investors.


Key takeaways

The scientific consensus is that far-reaching action on greenhouse gas emissions is urgently needed to avert a climate catastrophe over the coming decades

We consider the transition to clean energy and the broader shift to a more sustainable world to be an unstoppable trends

Companies across many industries need to adapt their operations or face possible displacement

In addition to companies directly involved in clean energy, we see potential opportunities for investors in diverse areas such as food production, cement making and water

The facts are clear

The scientific consensus could hardly be louder or clearer. Without radical changes to how we live, humanity faces a potential climate catastrophe during our or our children’s lifetimes. Greenhouse gas emissions are already causing extreme climate and weather events, with devastating consequences for people and planet alike. The growing frequency and severity of floods, fires, droughts, polluted air and water scarcity are among the most obvious.

Within the next twenty years, the rise in the Earth’s surface temperatures is set to reach 1.5°C (2.7°F) above pre-industrial levels.18  However, there is an acute risk of even greater increases. A 2°C rise, for example, would likely see many more extreme heat events, higher sea levels, worse losses of plants and wildlife, lower crop yields, near-total coral reef destruction and shrinking marine fish stocks. The impact upon economic activity and human life would be severe, with some of the world’s most vulnerable people suffering most.

More focus and more action

As such, the focus upon climate change is now greater than ever before, with many citizens, governments and companies convinced of the need for action. The UN’s 26th climate change conference, known as “COP26” in November 2021 saw further pledges to strive for net-zero carbon emissions, methane emission reduction, halting and reversing deforestation and the phasedown of coal. If enforced, the International Energy Agency estimates that such measures could allow global warming to be limited to 1.8°C. But translating pledges into results will require considerable commitment, coordination and capital.

Increasingly, actions are indeed matching words. Governments across the world are boosting support for vital measures to reduce emissions. The latest initiatives form an important part of some nations’ post-pandemic economic recovery and job creation plans. The US, China, the European Union and Japan are among those poised to spend trillions on creating and upgrading their sustainable infrastructure, including renewable energy production.

Greening is an unstoppable necessity

Given its importance to the future of humanity – and the legislative, market and social momentum behind it – we consider the transition to a more sustainable existence to be an unstoppable trend. We presented our case for ongoing advances in green energy innovation, electrification and efficiency in The future of energy in Outlook 2020 and Greening the world in Outlook 2021. And we recommended long-term portfolio exposure to the transition’s potential beneficiaries, including electric carmakers, battery makers, infrastructure suppliers and installers, and smart appliance makers.