2022年固定收益投资归来

Bruce Harris
全球固定收益策略主管
Kris Xippolitos
全球固定收益投资组合策略师,花旗投资管理

投资于债券

2022年固定收益的艰难开局推高了该资产类别的收益率。我们认为这可能提供了寻求收益的机会。

要点

货币紧缩全面推高了固定收益类资产的收益率

虽然这对现有投资者来说是痛苦的,但我们认为这种势头进一步为赚取收益和提高投资组合多元性创造了可能性

我们认为利率可能在2022年见顶

潜在机会包括美国投资级债券、高收益债券、优先证券、新兴市场美元计价债券

2022年初对于投资于固定收益的投资者而言十分不利。该资产类别经历了史上最差的一段总回报期,截至2022年5月23日,彭博美国综合债券指数年初至今下跌9.5%。

货币政策是表现大幅下降的主要原因。1月初,美联储突然“转舵”,偏离原本的适度和有控制的紧缩计划。相反,美联储释出信号表明将实施一种更为激进(近乎应急式)的方法,以应对其感知到的持续高通胀风险。

鉴于年初至今通胀数据居高不下,再加上俄乌冲突带来的“大宗商品价格冲击”,美联储认为不得不继续上调利率。而这是在3月份首次加息25个基点以及5月份再次加息50个基点以外的加息举措。期货市场目前定价所反映的预测是2022年将再有近8次25个基点的加息,且2023年还将再进行几次加息。美联储还宣布,从6月份开始,它将开始将其资产负债表规模缩减近9万亿美元,到夏季结束时,上限为每月缩表950亿美元,这一过程被称为“量化紧缩”(QT)。

货币紧缩预期板上钉钉,短期美国国债收益率立刻应声上涨。受此类收益率上升的带动,全球范围内的长期美国国债收益率和信贷收益率也同样水涨船高。短短四个月,“准现金”工具的价格上涨了近200个基点,这一创纪录的变动在每个固定收益类别中都引起了反响——见图1。

 
图1.2022年初收益率飙升
 
资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月23日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。
 

我们的观点是,美国国债收益率现在已经消化了大部分美国紧缩预期。我们认为,随着美国GDP增速迅速放缓,利率有可能在今年见顶。这或将导致通胀数据下降,或使美联储缓和其鹰派立场。

对投资者而言,收益率上涨可能会形成具有吸引力的买入位。我们认为,鉴于某些固定收益类资产的收益率较高,因此目前能够抵御通胀上行的影响。

此外,这类资产还有助于减轻多元化投资组合中的股票风险。从历史数据看,长期美国国债是少数在股市大幅回调期间与股票呈现负相关的资产之一——见图2。不过,我们要在此强调选择性。无论是欧洲和日本的长期政府证券,还是风险信贷,历史上都没有相同的对冲属性。这是由于这些地区的央行进行了更积极的干预,也因为风险信贷回报往往会跟踪股票回报。

 
图2.固定收益在美股回调幅度20%以上期间的总回报
 
下跌日期 MAR '01 JUL '08 MAR '20 AVG
# OF DAYS 251 197 17 155
US TREASURY 12.4 7.6 4.3 8.1
UST SHORT 9.1 5.1 1.5 5.2
UST INTERMEDIATE 12.6 8.4 31.1 8.1
UST LONG 14.8 9.4 10.7 11.7
US IG CORP 12.4 2.2 4.0 3.5
US IF CORP SHORT 9.9 3.9 0.7 4.4
US IG CORP INTERMEDIATE 12.4 3.2 2.4 4.4
US IG CORP LONG 13.2 0.4 7.0 2.2
US HY CORP 7.6 4.4 10.8 7.6
表中显示了在过去三次美国股市熊市(跌幅>20%)期间,彭博指数所代表的某些固定收益资产类别的总回报。资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月16日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。

那么,我们认为最适合帮助抵消通胀的固定收益资产有哪些?

投资级债券

截至5月23日,彭博美国企业债券指数所代表的投资级债券收益率已升至高于美国国债收益率147个基点。这一利差远高于1月5日91个基点的年初至今低点。

利差迅速扩大可能是俄乌冲突和美国经济走势的不确定性造成的。收益率上升肯定会受到新投资者的欢迎,因为除了美国国债收益率上升之外,目前整体利差水平几乎是2005年76个基点的几十年低点的两倍——见图3。如果避险情绪未进一步增强,利差进一步扩大的幅度可能有限。

我们继续看好中间投资级债券,因为它通过寻求收益来帮助抵消通胀,同时也能在股市下跌时提供潜在的对冲。

 
图3.美国投资级债券利差再次走阔
 
图表显示久期相同的美国投资级债券收益率与美国国债的利差资料来源:彭博,截至2022年3月16日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。
 

美国市政债券

美国市政债券是指由州、市和其他政府实体为公共项目融资所发行的债券,似乎对可以利用税优待遇的投资者很有吸引力。

美国市政债券收益率/美国国债收益率比率(M/T比率)将相同到期日的AAA级市政债券收益率与美国国债收益率进行比较。目前,按照过去的标准衡量,在所有到期日,美国市政债券的估值都优于美国国债。截至5月23日,5年期M/T比率为89%,远高于1月3日的45%。10年期M/T比率从70%左右上升到100%。大多数其他M/T比率接近其5年历史高点的前四分位数。

这一比率的值由可以获得的高税收等值收益率表示——见图4和图5。此外,大多数美国市政债券的信用评级相当稳健。由于税收收入非常强劲,作为最大市政债券发行人的美国各州的经济指标正在改善。

 
图4.美国市政债券收益率比率,按期限
 
图4显示了美国市政债券与美国国债的收益率比率,以及收益率比率当前的百分位数与2017年的对比。资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月23日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。
 

 

 
图5.部分州的税收等值收益率
 
资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月23日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。
 

美国高收益债券

投资级债券的收益率和利差可能会接近过去的平均水平。相比之下,高收益债券的利差现在超过了疫情前5年约440个基点的平均水平。截至5月23日,利差为475个基点——见图6。 如果对于美国经济的担忧加剧,高收益债券利差可能进一步走阔。

 
图6.如果对于美国经济的担忧加剧,高收益债券利差可能进一步走阔
 
图表显示彭博美国高收益企业债券指数的收益率与相同久期美国国债收益率的利差资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月23日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。
 

自疫情以来,高收益债券的信用指标总体上有所改善,因为产品价格上涨创造了一种“意外收入”,使许多公司能够迅速偿还债务。能源行业尤其如此,该行业约占高收益债券板块的13%。

此外,许多公司的资产都有所升值,比如拥有房地产的零售商。其他一些公司的固定资产重置成本由于通货膨胀而增加,比如汽车生产商。这也改善了资产负债率指标。

但由于美联储加息,企业融资成本将增加。由于高收益债券发行公司通常比投资级债券发行公司的杠杆率更高,随着时间的推移,利率上升将消耗更多的自由现金流。如果经济放缓,这类发行人的营收也可能下降。尽管如此,我们认为,在合适的投资者投资组合中,评级较高的精选高收益债券或贷款或可占据一席之地。

美国优先证券

优先证券和其他“应急资本”证券位于发行人资本结构的底部,低于无担保债券,略高于股票。这些证券的利率一般是“固定转浮动”。这意味着这些证券在某一段时期提供固定利率,通常为5年。此后,它们通常转换为浮动利率附加信贷利差。在固定利率期结束时,大多数证券都是可赎回的,也就是说,发行人可以返还投资者的本金,并停止支付利息。

大多数优先证券都是“永久”的,因此除非被赎回,否则它们永远不会到期。相比之下,一些证券在发行30年至50年后到期。鉴于它们在相对较短的固定利率期后转换为浮动利率,因此尽管它们的到期日较长,但它们的久期很低。传统观点认为,如果利率上升,大多数发行人通常会选择在固定利率期结束时赎回证券,但他们并非必须这么做。

与其他固定收益资产类似,2022年优先证券的价格大幅下跌。对于那些想要短期(少于4年)固定收益敞口,并可以接受信贷风险和优先结构的“延期风险”的投资者而言,目前的收益率水平(截至5月23日,投资级优先证券为5.76%,高收益优先证券为6.54%)可能会引起他们对这些证券的兴趣——见图7。 对美国纳税人而言,某些优先证券的股息收入也可能获得税优待遇。根据发行人的不同,这可以转化为6%至7%或更高的应税等值收益率。

 
图7.美国优先证券收益率上升
 
图表显示ICE美银投资级机构资本证券指数和ICE美银高收益机构资本证券指数的收益率。资料来源:彭博,截至2022年4月30日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。
 

新兴市场美元计价债券

新兴市场美元计价债券是一个非常宽泛的类别。它包括投资级和高收益债券,以及两个评级类别的主权和公司发行人。它们受到国家、区域和行业板块考量因素的影响。也可能出现“特殊”的事态发展,对某一板块或国家的美元计价债券的估值产生重大影响,例如涉及俄乌冲突或地理位置靠近俄乌冲突的发债国最近发生的情况。

总体而言,截至5月23日,新兴市场利差为364个基点,接近多年顶部(不包括新冠疫情时期)——见图8。随着俄罗斯从该指数中剔除,收益率低于几周之前。然而,考虑到评级、行业和地域多元化的综合因素,这可能是目前固定收益中最有价值的资产之一。

新兴市场国家和企业债券目前的一个考虑因素是,美国国债利率走高可能导致美元走强,进而可能导致国际收支问题,因为进口产品价格更加昂贵。但在许多新兴市场地区和国家,本币兑美元坚挺,因为其中许多国家是大宗商品出口国,预计将受益于以美元计价的大宗商品价格上涨。

 
图8.新兴市场美元计价债券利差走阔
 
图表显示了彭博新兴市场硬通货综合指数收益率与相同久期美国国债的利差。资料来源:彭博,截至2022年5月23日。指数未管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,如有更改恕不另行通知,亦非对未来事件的保证。参阅词汇表了解定义。
 

2022年如何成为固定收益类资产投资者?

到目前为止,2022年固定收益类波动的速度和幅度令人惊讶。因此,许多投资组合反映的仍然是去年年底较低的收益率环境。当时,更多的债券面临着通胀风险。我们认为,投资者现在应该根据目前较高的收益率来审视他们的固定收益配置。

战术上,我们全球投委会超配中间美债和投资级债券,略超配长期美债,低配欧洲和日本政府证券,对高收益债券为中性持仓,超配新兴市场。

展望未来,随着美联储收紧政策的行动变得更加明确,我们预计将增持更长期的久期。一旦紧缩的影响被经济吸收,我们可能会扩大信贷风险敞口。

然而,如果我们低估了收益率可能增加的幅度,固定收益资产可能会遭受进一步损失。不过,我们坚信利率将在2022年见顶。

虽然通胀仍在持续,但现在固定收益中有更多的可能性来帮助保护您的投资组合免受通胀蚕食。


下载完整报告

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

Fixed income investing is back in 2022

Bruce Harris
Head of Global Fixed Income Strategy
Kris Xippolitos
Global Fixed Income Portfolio Strategist, Citi Investment Management

Investing in bonds

A difficult start to 2022 fixed income has driven up yields in this asset class. We believe this has created potential income-seeking opportunities.

Key takeaways

Monetary tightening has driven up fixed income yields across the board

While painful for existing investors, we believe the move has created further possibilities for earning income and diversifying portfolios

We believe a peak in rates is likely to occur in 2022

Potential opportunities include US investment grade bonds, high yield bonds, preferred securities, emerging market US dollar denominated bonds

Early 2022 was a lousy time to be a fixed income investor. The asset class suffered one of the worst total return periods in its history, with the Bloomberg US Aggregate Bond Index down 9.5% year-to-date as of 23 May 2022.

Monetary policy was the primary reason for this sharply negative performance. In early January, the US Federal Reserve suddenly pivoted away from its plan for measured and controlled tightening. Instead, the Fed signaled a much more aggressive – almost emergency-type – approach to combat the risk of persistently high inflation that it perceived. 

Given the lack of a decline in inflation readings so far this year, combined with the commodity price shock imparted by the Ukraine conflict, the Fed has felt compelled to continually talk rates higher. This is in addition to its initial 25 basis point (bp) rate hike in March and a 50bp hike in May. The futures market is now pricing almost eight more 25bp rate hikes in 2022 and a couple more in 2023. The Fed also announced that as of June, it will begin reducing the size of its near-$9 trillion balance sheet up to a cap of $95bn a month by the end of the summer, a process called quantitative tightening (QT).

Short-term US Treasury yields ratcheted up mechanically alongside monetary tightening expectations. As those yields rose, longer-term US Treasury yields and credit yields rose worldwide. The price of near cash instruments increased almost 200 basis points (bps) in four short months, a record move that reverberated through every fixed income class – figure 1.

 
Figure 1. Yields surge in early 2022
 
Source: Bloomberg as 23 May 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events.
 

Our view is that most of the expected US tightening is now embedded in Treasury yields. We believe it is possible that rates will peak this year, as US GDP growth decelerates rapidly. In turn, this will likely see reduced inflation readings, perhaps allowing the Fed to relax its hawkish stance.

For investors, these higher yields may represent an attractive level at which to buy. We believe certain fixed income assets now offer an antidote to the cash thief, given their higher yields.

What is more, such assets may also help mitigate equity risk within a diversified portfolio. Historically, long-term US Treasuries are one of the few assets with a negative correlation to equities during large equity corrections – figure 2. However, we emphasize the need for selectivity here. Neither long-dated European and Japanese government securities nor risky credit have the same historical hedging properties. This is due to more active central bank intervention in those regions and because risky credit returns tend to track equity returns. 

 
Figure 2. Total return in fixed income during 20%+ US equity corrections
 
DATE OF DRAWDOWN MAR '01 JUL '08 MAR '20 AVG
# OF DAYS 251 197 17 155
US TREASURY 12.4 7.6 4.3 8.1
UST SHORT 9.1 5.1 1.5 5.2
UST INTERMEDIATE 12.6 8.4 31.1 8.1
UST LONG 14.8 9.4 10.7 11.7
US IG CORP 12.4 2.2 4.0 3.5
US IF CORP SHORT 9.9 3.9 0.7 4.4
US IG CORP INTERMEDIATE 12.4 3.2 2.4 4.4
US IG CORP LONG 13.2 0.4 7.0 2.2
US HY CORP 7.6 4.4 10.8 7.6
Table shows the total return in certain fixed income asset classes as represented by Bloomberg indices during the last three US equity bear markets (>20% declines). Source: Bloomberg as of 16 May 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.

So, which are the fixed assets that we see as most appropriate to help beat the cash thief?

Investment grade bonds

The yield on investment grade bonds – as represented by the Bloomberg US Corporate Bond Index – had risen to 147 basis points above those on US Treasuries by 23 May. This spread is well up from its year-to-date low of 91bps on 5 January.

This swift spread widening likely resulted from uncertainty over the Ukraine conflict and the direction of the US economy. These higher yields are certainly certainly welcome for new investors – since in addition to Treasury yield increases – the overall spread level is now almost double to its multi-decade low of 76bps in 2005 – figure 3. Further spread widening may be limited absent a further increase in risk aversion.

We continue to favor intermediate IG for seeking income to help offset inflation, while also providing a potential hedge should equities decline.

 
Figure 3. US investment grade spreads widen once more
 
Chart shows the spread of US Investment Grade’s yield over US Treasuries of the same duration. Source: Bloomberg as March 16, 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.
 

US municipal bonds

US municipal bonds or munis – debt issued by states, cities and other government entities to finance public projects –look appealing for investors who can take advantage of favorable tax treatment.

The muni yield/Treasury yield ratio (M/T ratio) compares the yield on AAA-rated municipal bonds to the yield on the same maturity Treasury. Currently, munis are favorably valued versus Treasuries at all maturities by past standards. As of 23 May, the 5-year M/T ratio stood at 89%, up from 45% on 3 January. The 10-year ratio has risen from about 70% to 100%. Most other M/T ratios are near the top quartile of their 5-year historical highs. 

The value of this ratio is indicated by the high tax-equivalent yields that can be obtained – figures 4 and 5. Additionally, credit ratings for most munis are as robust as we have ever seen. The metrics for US states – some of the largest munis issuers – are improving thanks to very strong tax revenues.

 
Figure 4. Muni yield ratios, by tenor
 
Chart 4 shows the yield ratios of US munis to US Treasuries and their current percentile versus their history back to 2017. Source: Bloomberg as 23 May 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.
 

 

 
Figure 5. Tax equivalent yields in select states
 
Chart 5. Source: Bloomberg as 23 May 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.
 

US high yield bonds

Investment grade bonds may be entering yield and spread ranges that are nearer to past averages. By contrast, high yield (HY) spreads now exceed their 5-year average pre-pandemic levels of around 440bps. As of 23 May, they stood at 475bps – figure 6.  HY spreads may have further to widen if concerns about the US economy intensify. 

 
Figure 6. HY spreads may widen further if economic concerns intensify
 
Chart shows the spread of the yield of the Bloomberg US Corporate High Yield Bond Index and US Treasury yields of the same duration. Source: Bloomberg as 23 May 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.
 

HY credit metrics overall have improved since the pandemic because of higher product prices creating a sort of windfall revenue, allowing many companies to pay down their debt quickly. This is especially true in energy, which represents about 13% of the HY sector.

In addition, many companies’ assets have appreciated, such as retailers that own real estate. Others have seen the replacement cost of their fixed assets have increased due to inflation, such as auto producers. This has improved debt-to-asset metrics.

However, as the Fed raises rates, corporate financing costs will increase. Since HY companies are generally more leveraged than IG companies, higher rates will consume more of their free cashflow over time. And if the economy slows, such issuers’ top-line revenues might decline as well. Nevertheless, we see a place for select higher-rated HY bonds or loans in suitable investors’ portfolios.

US preferred securities

Preferred securities and other contingent capital securities sit near the bottom of an issuer’s capital structure, below unsecured debt and just above equity. These securities are generally fixed-to-float. This means they offer fixed rate for a certain period, often five years. After that, they generally switch to floating rate plus a credit spread. At the end of the fixed period, most issues are callable, i.e., the issuer can return the investors’ principal and cease making interest payments.

Most of preferred securities are perpetuals, such that they never mature unless called. By contrast, some issues mature 30 to 50 years after issuance. Given their relatively short-fixed rate period and then switch to floating rate, preferreds have very low duration, despite their long maturities. Conventional wisdom holds that most issuers will generally choose to call the securities at the end of the fixed period if rates are rising, but they are not required to do so. 

Similar to other fixed income assets, preferreds have dropped meaningfully in price in 2022. At present yield levels – IG preferreds at 5.76% and HY preferreds at 6.54% as of 23 May – these securities may be interesting for investors who want shorter-duration – less than four years’ – fixed income exposure and are comfortable with both the credit risk, and the “extension risk” of the preferred structure – figure 7.  For US taxpayers, there may be favorable tax treatment on the dividend income for certain preferreds as well. This can translate into taxable-equivalent yields of between 6 and 7% or higher, depending on the issuer.

 
Figure 7. Rising yields in US preferreds
 
Chart shows the yields of the ICE BofA Investment Grade Institutional Capital Securities Index and ICE BofA High Yield Institutional Capital Securities Index. Source: Bloomberg as 30 Apr 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.
 

Emerging markets US dollar-denominated debt

Emerging markets (EM) US dollar-denominated debt is a very broad category. It encompasses both IG and HY debt, as well as sovereign and corporate issuers in both rating categories. They are influenced by country, regional and industry sector considerations. Idiosyncratic developments can also arise, which can have major valuation impacts on a particular sector or country’s US dollar denominated debt, such as what recently occurred to issuer countries involved with or geographically near to the Ukraine conflict.

Overall, spreads in EM are trading at 364bps as of 23 May and near the top of a multi-year channel– excluding the COVID pandemic period – figure 8. With Russia removed from the index, yields are not as high as they were a few weeks ago. However, given the blend of rating, industry, and geographic diversification, this may be one of the best values in fixed income currently.

One of the considerations for EM countries and companies currently is that higher US Treasury rates can lead to a stronger US dollar, which in turn may cause balance-of-payment issues, as imports become more expensive. However, in many EM regions and countries local currencies have held up vs the US dollar, as many of them are large commodity exporters and expected to benefit from higher commodity prices which are priced in US dollars.

 
Figure 8. US denominated emerging market debt’s wider spread
 
Chart shows the spread of the Bloomberg Emerging Markets Hard Currency Aggregate Index yield over US Treasuries of the same duration. Source: Bloomberg as 23 May 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events. See Glossary for definitions.
 

How to become a fixed income investor in 2022?

The speed and extent of the fixed income moves in 2022 so far has taken many by surprise. As such, many portfolios still reflect the lower yield environment of late last year. At that time, many more bonds were at risk of the cash thief’s activities. We believe investors should now review their fixed income allocations in light of the higher yields now available.

On a tactical view, our Global Investment Committee is overweight intermediate Treasuries and Investment Grade, slightly overweight long-term Treasuries, underweight in European and Japanese government securities, neutral in High Yield and overweight in Emerging Markets.

Going forward, we would expect to add to longer-term duration as the Fed’s actions on tightening become clearer. We will likelier add more credit risk once the effects of this tightening are absorbed by the economy. 

If we have underestimated the extent of likely yield increases, however, fixed income assets may suffer further losses. However, we have high conviction in our view that rates will peak in 2022.

While the cash thief remains on the prowl, there are more possibilities now within fixed income to help seek to defend your portfolio from his exploits.


Download the full report

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.