2022年金融科技投資展望

WIETSE NIJENHUIS
花旗投資管理,高級股票投資組合經理
CHARLIE STUART
花旗投資管理,股票研究分析師/投資組合經理

金融科技的增長與創新

雖然金融科技股今年走弱,但該板塊的長期前景依然強勁。我們認為,對於這一不可阻擋的趨勢,投資者應當增加相應投資。

要點

利率上升使得金融科技股以及其他增長股投資受到重挫

消費者與企業持續擁抱金融科技服務,創新環境健康向好

金融科技領域的創新形勢依然良好

我們認為,支付子板塊尤能提供潛在機會

與許多其他以增長為導向的板塊一樣,金融科技股在2022年因利率上升和地緣政治不確定性而苦苦掙扎。整個金融科技板塊年初至今以來下跌達46%,而支付子板塊下跌31%——見圖1

 
圖1.金融科技和支付類股近期表現承壓
 
圖表顯示2017年初至2022年5月,Indxx全球金融科技主題指數和主要移動支付指數的走勢。資料來源:Haver Analytics與彭博,截至2022年5月12日。過往業績並非未來回報的保證。實際結果可能發生變化。指數未經管理。投資者不能直接投資指數。所示數據僅作說明之用。參閱詞彙表了解定義。
 

金融科技私募股權

我們認為,目前金融科技股行情所反映的是非常疲弱的宏觀經濟前景看法。GDP增長放緩確實在兩個主要方面影響了金融科技公司。對於金融科技服務供應商來說,企業在升級金融基礎設施方面的支出下降使得擴張的可能性降低。對於支付供應商而言,主要驅動因素是消費健康狀況。這會對支付金額、交易量和新賬戶啟用等方面造成影響。

雖然緊迫的宏觀經濟和地緣政治挑戰不太可能在短期內完全解決,但我們認為金融科技的長期基礎是扎實的。新冠疫情加速了向數碼支付、網上財富管理和數碼借貸的強勢過渡,用戶信任度進一步提高。

創新情況也預示著良好的前景。大量新資本正湧入處於金融科技發展領先地位的公司。根據畢馬威的一份報告,2021年全球投資達到2,100億美元,其中1,150億美元是風險投資1。我們認為,這可能最終尤為利好金融科技行業內的數據分析、支付和賬戶以及加密和區塊鏈技術等領域。

即使在經濟放緩的情況下,我們相信金融科技公司仍可以繼續幫助消費者和企業推動重要的流程改進,取得便利性提高、成本降低和利潤率提高等成效。這在零售、餐飲、電子商務和金融服務等不同行業屢見不鮮,金融科技也從這些行業的傳統參與者那裡獲得了市場份額。

如何投資於金融科技行業?

我們堅信金融科技仍是一個不可阻擋的趨勢——參閱《2022年展望》中「金融科技正重新定義金融服務」(Fintech is redefining financial services)一文。從2021年峰值的大幅回撤導致估值顯著重置,目前估值已從2020年的峰值回落至疫情前的水平。尤其是對於低配或沒有金融科技持倉的投資者而言,我們認為目前的估值水平是一個有吸引力的買入點位。

誠然,我們的樂觀預測也面臨風險。如果利率繼續上升(與我們認為今年見頂的預測相反),將對金融科技和更廣泛的增長股造成更大壓力。其他風險包括宏觀背景弱於預測、不利的監管變化、電子商貿對商鋪活動的推動作用減弱以及黑客對電子錢包進行高級網絡攻擊。

然而,我們認為,投資者面臨的最大風險來自於對這一不可阻擋的趨勢未有進行長期的投資,以及對可能受到這一趨勢不利影響的板塊持倉比例過大。


下載完整報告

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

1 金融科技動向2021年下半年,全球金融科技投資分析,畢馬威國際

Fintech investment outlook 2022

WIETSE NIJENHUIS
Senior Equity Portfolio Manager, Citi Investment Management
CHARLIE STUART
Equity Research Analyst / Portfolio Manager, Citi Investment Management

Growth and innovation in fintech

While fintech equities have weakened this year, the sector’s long-term prospects still look robust. We believe investors should consider adding exposure to this unstoppable trend.

Key takeaways

Rising interest rates have hit fintech equities, along with other growth investments

Consumers and businesses continue to embrace fintech services, while innovation is health

Innovation in fintech remains in good shape

The payments sub-sector in particular offers potential opportunities, in our view

Alongside many other growth-oriented sectors, fintech equities have struggled in 2022 amid rising rates and geopolitical uncertainty. Fintech as a sector is down 46% year-to-date, while the payments sub-sector has shed 31% – figure 1.

 
Figure 1. Fintech and payments’ recent struggle
 
Chart shows the price of the Indxx Global Fintech Thematic Index and the Prime Mobile Payments Index from the start of 2017 to May 2022. Source: Haver Analytics and Bloomberg as of 12 May 2022. Past performance is no guarantee of future returns. Real results may vary. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only. See Glossary for definitions.
 

Fintech private equity

In our view, fintech equities are now factoring in a very weak macroeconomic outlook. Slower GDP growth does indeed impact fintech companies in two main ways. For fintech services providers, lower corporate spending on upgrading financial infrastructure reduces expansion possibilities. For payments providers, the dominant driver is consumer health. This impacts areas such as payment amounts, transaction volumes and new account activations.

While pressing macroeconomic and geopolitical challenges are unlikely to be fully resolved any time soon, we believe fintech’s longer-term underpinnings are robust. The pandemic has accelerated the already-powerful shift toward digital payments, online wealth management and digital lending, with user trust growing further.

The state of innovation also bodes well. Large amounts of new capital are flowing to firms at the cutting-edge of fintech development. Global investment reached $210bn in 2021, $115bn of which via venture capital, according to a report by KPMG.1 We believe this may prove especially supportive for areas such as data analytics within fintech, payments and accounts, and crypto and blockchain technologies.

Even amid slowing economic conditions, we believe fintech companies can continue to drive important process improvements for consumers and businesses, leading to benefits such as greater convenience, lower costs and better profit margins. This is happening in diverse sectors including retail, restaurants, e-commerce and financial services, with fintechs also gaining market share from traditional players in these sectors.

How to invest in the fintech industry?

We maintain our strong conviction that fintech remains an unstoppable trend – see Fintech is redefining financial services in Outlook 2022. The large drawdown from 2021’s peak has led to a meaningful reset in valuations, which have retreated from their 2020 apex to pre-pandemic levels. Particularly for investors who are underweight or have no fintech exposure, we believe current levels represent a potentially attractive entry-point.

Of course, there are risks to our positive case. If interest rates continue to rise – contrary to our call for a peak this year – it would put further pressure on fintech and growth-orientated equities more generally. Other risks include a weaker than anticipated macro backdrop, unfavorable regulatory changes, the deceleration of e-commerce’s advance over in-store activity and a high-profile cyberattack on digital wallets.

Ultimately, however, we believe the greatest risks for investors arise from not having long-term exposure to this unstoppable trend and from having excessive exposure to its likely victims.


Download the full report

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.

1Pulse of Fintech H2’21, Global Analysis of Investment in Fintech, KPMG International.