另類投資數碼化

數碼化和另類投資的增長

市場不加選擇地大範圍拋售固定收益產品,這可能在產生收益的另類投資方面為投資者創造了潛在機遇。對於適合的投資者而言,我們認為某些策略可以提供多元化的投資機會,以提高投資組合的收益。

要點

 

公募市場中科技公司估值的下降也開始導致許多需要資本投入的私募公司在2022年下半年受挫


由於科技公司仍需要籌集股權和債務資本,我們認為另類投資管理者會有機會獲得具有吸引力的潛在投資增值


利率見頂後,市場會出現逆轉,隨著公募市場估值的回升,投資者可能會再次關注數碼化的長期潛力


 

對於適合的投資者而言,我們推薦風險投資、增長型、收購型和私人債務管理公司的專注於技術面的策略

另類投資在數碼化領域中的作用日益增強

創新是數碼化革命的核心。然而,開發新思路並圍繞這些思路建立可行的業務,需要在相當長的時間裡積累大量資金。2022年公開交易的科技股遭遇拋售潮,加大了私營企業融資困難。與此同時,我們認為這些困難可能會為各種另類策略投資管理人創造潛在機會。

風險投資、增長型和收購型投資管理人是數碼創新融資生態系統中重要的組成部分。風險投資管理人對公司從最初的想法和產品開發到整個擴張階段進行孵化,這通常稱為早期到晚期風險投資。增長型投資管理人選擇一些最成功的私募科技公司作為投資目標,並為這些公司的重要擴張提供支持。收購型投資管理人會收購一些更加成熟的企業,並通常將他們從公有制轉為私有制。

估值會下降,但交易依然保持不變

公開交易的科技股遭遇拋售潮,導致估值大幅下降——請參閱「數碼化深入推進」。市場波動和估值下降為尋求透過首次公開發行(IPO)向公眾出售股票的受風險投資支持的科技公司帶來了挑戰。因此,2022年此類公開上市的公司只有60家,而2021年受風險投資支持的IPO公司有303家。 1在市場穩定之前,IPO可能在很大程度上仍不對科技公司開放。

對於在過去兩年內上市受風險投資支持的美國公司來說,估值下降尤其明顯。截至2022年8月17日2,這些公司的市銷率(表示公司市值和營收比例的衡量指標)下降了約60%至67%——見圖1。

圖1.受風險投資支持的公司對IPO後的擔憂


資料來源:Pitchbook/晨星機構量化視角,截至2022年第三季度的數據。圖表顯示了2022年第三季度Pitchbook/晨星機構受風險投資支持的IPO指數成分股的市銷比。該指數成分股是由過去兩年完成公開發行、價值超過5,000萬美元、受風險投資支持的公司組成。這些公司根據最初的市銷比按百分位數分組,價值最高的在左邊,然後依次按順序往後排。

公開市場的這種疲軟已經滲透到後期的風險投資公司。截至2022年第三季度,交易前估值中值(即IPO或私人投資者融資前的估值)為9,100萬美元,比2021年的水平低9%。 3

對於處於早期發展階段的種子期和早期風險投資公司來說,估值保持得更好。涉及此類公司的交易(例如,當他們向風險投資公司出售所有權股份時),在很大程度上並沒有參考估值倍數。相反,關注點更多的是集中在公司所覆蓋的市場規模、產品是否填補了市場空白、市場領導潛力和增長率等因素。

儘管如此,隨著後期私募市場和公開市場估值的重新調整,未來一年,即使是種子期和早期階段的風險投資公司估值也可能會下降。儘管如此,2022年技術交易活動依然強勁。儘管與2021年的高位相比下降了10%,但仍明顯高於以往任何一年。儘管風險投資交易活動總體已在2021年的高點連續三個季度出現下滑,但風險投資活動已超過了除2021年以外所有的年份——見圖2。 

圖2.美國風險投資交易從高點回落


資料來源:Pitchbook,截至2022年9月30日的數據。圖表顯示了自2015年以來每個季度美國風險投資的交易活動,綠色線條表示交易總價值,直線表示天使輪和種子期、早期風險投資和晚期風險投資類別的交易數量。

隨著估值的下降,我們預計會有更多的收購型投資管理人將上市公司引向私募領域。2022年第三季度,IT交易值佔私募股權交易活動的31%,接近歷史最高水平。 4鑑於科技行業的增長前景和當前較低的估值,現在越來越多的收購型投資管理人開始關注科技這一領域。

由於目前IPO市場實際處於關閉狀態,處於發展後期的增長型公司和擬IPO公司將需要從私人渠道獲取資金,例如私人貸款機構。與2021年同期相比,私募股權對IT收購的意向在2022年前三個季度並沒有出現明顯的下滑趨勢。該行業仍有資金流入,截至第三季度,2022年全球共完成1,239筆交易,交易總額為1,289億美元。 5 

然而,槓桿貸款和高收益債券的發行量接近全球金融危機以來最低水平6,而此時利率和息差已經大幅上升,這使得另類私人信貸經營者能夠參與進來,並為選定的交易提供融資——參閱「另類投資可能會提高現金收益率」。

2023年數碼化投資

鑑於科技公司的估值有所下降,以及我們長期看好未來數碼化前景,我們認為有理由透過早晚期風險投資管理人,以及增長型和收購型投資管理人對此類公司進行投資。我們也傾向於透過私人信貸投資管理人向處於發展後期、增長型和擬IPO的公司提供貸款。一旦利率見頂,我們相信投資者將再次重點關注數碼化的增長前景。隨著估值的逐漸回升,私募投資管理人將有機會以更高的價格出售他們的股份。

儘管我們認為,這種在別人都感到恐慌時買入的反週期策略不無道理,但除了利率上升會削弱估值以外,這些策略也同時存在風險。因為私募市場策略缺乏流動性,投資者需要投入數年才能取得回報。例如,私人技術投資通常會投資於自由現金流為負的公司,這些公司可能需要額外的資金來支持增長。 

許多適合的客戶的投資組合並未持有多少私募股權資產類別。事實上,許多人根本就未持有此類資產。我們還注意到,許多類型相同的客戶可能在數碼化方面投資不足。此類客戶應考慮其當前的投資組合定位,以及如何進一步增加回報和多元化的潛力。

財富展望

了解來自2023年財富展望的更多文章:

聯繫我們

聯繫我們

爲了幫助您聯繫到合適的私人銀行顧問或團隊,請回答以下問題。

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

您是私人銀行現有客戶嗎?

請填寫表格,以便我們與您聯繫。

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款與條件以便繼續

最符合您情況的描述是?

我想討論的一項投資是關於

我想討論的一項投資是關於

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,

我們服務的最低投資要求是500萬美金

基於您提供的信息,我們相信Citigold的服務或許更加適合您的需求。

如需瞭解更多信息:請訪問Citigold Private Client

我關注的領域

Aircraft Finance
藝術品諮詢和融資
Banking
Custody
Family office
Investments
Law Firm
Real Estate
Trust

請選擇至少一項

職務與公司

職務與公司

所在地

所在地

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

您希望我們通過哪種方式與您聯繫?

請輸入您的聯繫方式

請輸入您的聯繫方式

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

您是從哪裏得知花旗私人銀行?

還有其他評論嗎?

我同意花旗私人銀行搜集並使用我的個人信息(姓名、電話號碼和電子郵件地址)與我聯繫,向我發送有關花旗私人銀行理財產品和服務的營銷信息。我了解,我的信息被使用時將會遵守我所在地區的相關隱私聲明要求。我也了解,我可以通過電話或發送郵件至donotspam@citi.com,  隨時撤銷此項同意。

請同意條款和條件以便繼續

感謝您關注花旗私人銀行,我們的團隊成員會盡快與您聯繫。

Digitization and the growth in alternative investments

Daniel O'Donnell
Global Head of Alternative Investments
Jeffrey Locke
Global Head of Private Equity and Real Estate Research and Management
Megan Malone
Head of Private Equity and Real Estate, Americas
Stefan Backhus
Head of Private Equity, Americas

An indiscriminate selloff across fixed income may have created potential opportunities in income-generating alternative investments. For suitable investors, we believe certain strategies may offer diversified ways to enhance portfolio income.

Key takeaways

Falling tech valuations in public markets have also begun to hit many private companies needing equity capital in the second half of 2022

With tech firms still needing to raise equity and debt capital, we see opportunities for alternative managers to make potentially attractive add-on investments

Once rates peak and then reverse, investors are likely to refocus on digitization’s long-term potential once more as public valuations recover

For suitable investors, we favor technology-focused strategies from venture capital, growth, buyout and private debt managers

The increasing role of alternatives in digitization

Innovation is the beating heart of the digital revolution. But developing new ideas and establishing a viable business around them requires significant amounts of capital over fairly long periods. The selloff in publicly traded technology equities in 2022 has made raising capital for private firms harder. At the same time, we believe these difficulties may create potential opportunities for the managers of various alternative strategies.

Venture capital, growth and buyout managers make up an important ecosystem for financing digital innovation. Venture capital managers incubate companies from initial idea and product development through all their expansion stages, typically called early-stage to late-stage venture capital. Growth managers select from some of the most successful private technology companies and support significant scale expansion. Buyout managers acquire more established businesses, often taking them from public to private ownership. 

Valuations decline but deals hold up

The selloff in publicly traded technology equities has driven valuations substantially lower substantially lower – see Deepening digitization. Market volatility and falling valuations pose challenges for VC-backed tech firms seeking to sell their shares to the public via an initial public offering (IPO). As a result, there have been only 60 such public listings in 2022, compared to 303 VC-backed IPOs in 2021.1 The IPO route is likely to remain largely closed to tech companies until markets stabilize.

For US VC-backed companies that previously went public within the past two years, the valuation declines are especially pronounced. Such firms’ price-to-sales multiples – a metric expressing a company’s market capitalization in relation to its revenues – fell some 60% to 67% through 17 August 20222Figure 1.

 
Figure 1. Post-IPO blues for VC-backed companies
 
Source: Pitchbook/Morningstar Quantitative Perspectives, as of Q3 2022 Chart shows price-to-sales multiples of the constituents of the Pitchbook/Morningstar VC-backed IPO index in the third quarter of 2022 versus one year earlier. Index constituents are VC-backed companies >$50 million that have completed a public offering within the prior 2 years. The companies are grouped by percentile according to their starting price-to-sales multiple, starting with the most expensive on the left.
 

This public market weakness has seeped through to late-stage VC companies. The median pre-money valuation – or valuation just prior to an IPO or funding round from private investors – was 9% below 2021’s level at $91m, as of the third quarter 2022.3

For seed and early-stage VC companies – those at an earlier stage of development – valuations have held up better. Deals involving such firms – i.e., when they sell ownership stakes to venture capital firms – are not heavily based on valuation multiples. Instead, they focus more on factors such as the size of the market they’re involved in, whether their product fills a gap in the market, their market leadership potential and growth rate.

That said, even seed and early-stage VC valuations will likely decline over the coming year, as valuations in late-stage private markets and public markets reset. Nevertheless, technology deal activity has remained robust in 2022. Although down 10% from 2021’s elevated levels, it still stands significantly above any previous year. And while overall VC deal activity has fallen for three straight quarters from those 2021 highs, VC activity has already exceeded all prior years except for 2021 – Figure 2

 
Figure 2. US venture capital deals fall from their highs
 
Source: Pitchbook, as of 30 Sep 2022. Chart shows US venture capital deal activity by quarter since 2015, with the green bars denoting total deal value and the lines showing deal counts across angel & seed, early-stage VC and late-stage VC categories.
 

With valuations coming down, we expect to see an increase in buyout managers taking listed companies private. IT deal value accounted for 31% of PE deal activity in the third quarter of 2022, near the highest level ever.4 Technology is now a core focus for many buyout managers, given the sector’s growth prospects and today’s lower valuations.

With the IPO market effectively shut off for now, late-stage, growth and pre-IPO companies will need to access capital from private sources, including private lenders. Private equity’s appetite for IT acquisitions did not significantly decline in the first three quarters of 2022 compared to the same period in 2021. Capital still flowed into the sector, with 1,239 deals closed globally during 2022 as of the third quarter, with an aggregate deal value of $128.9 billion.5 

However, leveraged loan and high-yield issuances are near the lowest levels since the global financial crisis6 at a time when rates and spreads have increased meaningfully, allowing alternative private credit providers to step in and provide financing to select deals – see Alternative investments may enhance cash yields.

Investing in digitization in 2023

Given the decline in tech valuations and our positive long-term outlook for digitization, we see a case for investing in such companies via early- and late-stage venture capital managers as well as growth and buyout managers. We also favor lending to late-stage, growth and pre-IPO companies via private credit managers. Once interest rates peak, we believe investors will focus more on digitization’s growth prospects again. As valuations recover over time, private managers will have scope to sell their stakes at higher prices.

While we believe a counter-cyclical approach of buying when others are fearful makes sense, these strategies come with risks, beyond that of rising interest rates undermining valuations. As private market strategies, they are illiquid, requiring investors to commit for a period of several years. For example, private technology investing typically involves investing in companies that are generating negative free cash flows and can require additional capital to fund growth. 

Many suitable clients’ portfolios do not have much exposure to private equity as an asset class. Indeed, many lack any exposure at all. We also note many of the same clients may be underinvested in digitization. Such clients should consider their current portfolio positioning and how they might add the potential for further return and diversification.


Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.

1 Q3 2022 Pitchbook-NVCA Venture Monitor
2 Pitchbook Q3 2022 Quantitative Perspectives – Silver Linings on the Time Horizon 3 Source: Pitchbook/NVCA. as of 30 Sep 2022
4,5 Source: Preqin, as of 30 Sep 2022
6 S&P LCD Quarterly Review, Q3 2022