击败现金窃贼!负实际利率以及应对之策

Steven Wieting
首席投资策略师兼首席经济学家

采取寻求收益的策略,抵御现金窃贼

对于现金购买力而言,实际利率为负仍是一个明确且现实的威胁。我们认为,选择寻求收益的策略有助于抵御这一威胁。

要点

面临当前的不确定性,许多投资者都会持有过多的现金

虽然我们预计通胀将放缓,利率将在今年见顶,但来自“现金窃贼”的威胁将持续存在

随着利率的上升,我们再次看到各类优质债券所带来的潜在收益机会

我们偏好股息稳定增长的股票和大宗商品生产商类公司的股票,而对于合格的投资者,则可考虑某些特定的资本市场和另类投资策略

对许多股票和债券而言,2022年前几个月是一段艰难时期。MSCI全球指数曾一度下跌达18%,一些美国长期政府债券经历了几十年来最差的走势。投资者最迫切的担忧之一是货币政策的收紧。美国债券市场目前在定价上反映了后续两年可能会出现美国史上最大的加息幅度——见图1

 
图1.美国债券投资者预测美联储或将出台创纪录的紧缩政策
 
图表显示2年期美国国债收益率减去联邦政府利率。资料来源:Haver Analytics与彭博,截至2022年4月19日。过往业绩并非未来回报的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。所示数据仅作说明之用。
 

花旗全球财富投资对美联储是否会推行如此大幅度的收紧政策持怀疑态度。我们预计利率将在2022年某个时间见顶。而且,即使美联储确实如其所言一样收紧政策,历史表明,仅仅六个月左右,美联储就会再次降息。面对所有不确定性,许多投资者都在问同样的问题:“现在是不是持有现金的好时机?”

尽管利率有所上升,但现金持有者的处境与以前大致相同。经通胀调整后,大多数主要经济体的利率仍为负值。近期,美国消费者价格通胀达到8.5%,比大多数短期和长期利率高出几个百分点。虽然如此之高的数据可能不会持续,但利率低于通胀率可能是未来一段时间的现实情况。

这将对现金持有者造成巨大的负面影响。我们将这一过程比作“现金窃贼”蚕食现金的过程,购买力会逐年变弱——参阅《2022年展望》中“跑赢现金盗取者”一文。因此我们提醒投资者,坐拥大量现金非但不能保证安全,随着时间的推移,还会让人们变得更加贫穷。

抵御现金窃贼

我们认为,投资者需要采取行动对抗“现金窃贼”。我们首选的方法是,将现金投入到可能为投资组合带来实际正收入的资产中。

近年来,许多债券的超低收益率使得其收益能力和现金一样疲弱。然而,经过2022年初几个月的洗礼,情况似乎发生了很大改变。如果您一直在等待收益率上升,那么我们认为时机已到——参阅“债券归来!

我们还倾向于将有稳定分红历史记录的公司作为核心配置,这些公司在整个经济周期中都有着不断增长的股东支付记录。这些更高质量、更具防御性的股票在2022年上半年的波动中表现出色,回顾历史,我们不难看到股息增长型股票以较低的长期波动性跑赢了大盘。大宗商品生产公司的股票也颇具吸引力。

对合格且适当的投资者而言,某些资本市场策略也许是可行的,这些策略试图将较高的股票市场波动性转化为收益来源。同样,各种私募市场策略也可能有助于减轻通胀的影响——参阅“投资组合收益的替代路径”。

寻求实际正收入有助于捍卫您财富的购买力。我们认为,现在是时候通过投资组合进行充分投资,并击退“现金窃贼”了。


下载完整报告

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

Beat the cash thief! Negative real interest rates and how to deal with them

Steven Wieting
Chief Investment Strategist and Chief Economist

Income seeking strategies to defend against the cash thief

Negative real interest rates remain a clear and present danger to the purchasing power of cash. We believe select income-seeking strategies can help defend against this threat.

Key takeaways

Amid the present uncertainty, many investors are tempted to sit on excess cash

While we expect moderating inflation and a peak in rates this year, the threat from the cash thief is set to persist

Following the rise in rates, we see potential income-seeking opportunities in various high quality bonds once more

We favor dividend grower and commodity-producer equities, for qualified investors, select capital markets and alternative strategies

The first few months of 2022 have been a tough period for many stocks and bonds. The MSCI All Country World Index has shed as much as 18%, with some US long-term government bonds suffering their worst run for decades. Among investors’ most pressing concerns is tighter monetary policy. The US bond market is currently pricing in one of history’s largest rate increases over the next two years – figure 1.

 
Figure 1. US bond investors expect record Fed tightening
 
Chart shows US Treasury 2-yr note less Fed policy rate. Source: Haver Analytics and Bloomberg as of Apr 19, 2022. Past performance is no guarantee of future returns. Real results may vary. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only.
 

At Citi Global Wealth Investments, we doubt that the Fed will indeed tighten as much as that. Instead, we expect rates to peak at some time in 2022. And, even if the Fed did tighten as much as it is suggesting, history suggests it would then be cutting rates again just six months later or so. Amid all the uncertainty, many investors are asking the same question: Isn’t now a good time to hold cash?

Despite the rise in interest rates, the owners of cash remain in much the same situation as before. After adjusting for inflation, rates in most leading economies remain deeply negative. In the US, consumer price inflation recently hit 8.5%, several points above most short and long-term interest yields. While readings may not stay this extreme, interest rates below the rate of inflation could be a fact of life for some time to come.

The effect of this for the owners of cash is painful. We compare the process to the exploits of a cash thief, who silently steals your purchasing power year after year – see Beat the cash thief! in Outlook 2022. Far from offering safety, therefore, we warn that sitting on lots of cash risks leaving you much poorer over time.

Defending against the cash thief

In our view, the cash thief’s exploits call for taking action. Our preferred approach is to put cash to work in assets that may generate a positive real income for portfolios.

In recent years, ultra-low yields on many bonds have left them as vulnerable as cash. A few months into 2022, however, and the situation now looks rather different. If you have been waiting for a rise in yields, we believe your wait is now over – see Bonds are back!

We also favor core allocations to dividend growers, companies with a track record of growing shareholder payouts throughout economic cycles. These higher-quality, more defensive equities have outperformed during a volatile first half of 2022, and we have historically seen dividend growers beat the broad market with lower volatility over the long-run. Commodity producer equities also have attractions.

One possibility for qualified and suitable investors is certain capital markets strategies that seek to turn higher equity market volatility into a source of income. Likewise, various private market strategies may also help mitigate inflation’s impact – see Alternative paths to portfolio income.

Seeking a positive real income can help defend the purchasing power of your wealth. We believe it is time to get portfolios fully invested and keep the cash thief at bay.


Download the full report

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.