投资于另类资产投资组合

DANIEL O’DONNELL
花旗投资管理另类投资全球主管
MICHAEL STEIN
对冲基金研究与管理全球主管
MICHAEL YANNELL
对冲基金研究主管
STEFAN BACKHUS
私募股权主管 - 北美

固定收益产品遭到抛售后,我们发现了多种另类投资策略,可能有助于合适的投资者寻求收益,并有望缓解通胀对投资组合的影响。

要点

另类固定收益子资产类别的收益率仍高于传统核心板块

可灵活委托的另类策略或能利用固定收益内部的表现差异

向财务稳健的科技公司直接放贷或能带来当期收益,推动资本增值

如果私有房地产的投资收益能够抵消可能上涨的融资成本,则该项投资有望对冲通胀

2022年初,市场不加选择地大范围出售固定收益产品,这可能为投资者创造了可通过另类投资策略来把握的各种潜在机会。这些另类投资包括公募和私募市场中的收益型资产,熟练的投资经理可以频繁进行证券选择和子资产类别轮换。我们也偏好具备通胀意识的投资,例如通胀挂钩债券和部分房地产机会,这些投资产生的收益可能有助于投资组合对冲通胀风险。

潜在收益型另类投资机会

在2022年初,信贷市场一直动荡不安。然而,与固定收益市场特殊产品组合相关的溢价仍然保持强劲。事实上,大多数固定收益子板块的收益率大幅上升,而出现拖欠及违约的几率一直保持在低位。

 
图1.按资产类别子板块划分的固定收益收益率
 
资料来源:彭博、摩根大通、联邦储备经济数据、Cliffwater、纽约抵押信托、EARN、ACRE、ARI,截至2022年3月31日。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,且并非对未来事件的保证,如有更改恕不另行通知。
 

另类固定收益市场的收益率平均每年上涨1.2%,仍显著高于传统核心板块(图1)。对于为投资组合寻求额外收益的合格投资者,收益率上涨可能创造了一个很有吸引力的买入点。

固定收益子板块往往高度离散,相对表现取决于各种宏观经济因素。我们认为,目前的环境对另类固定收益投资经理有利,他们可以趁着市场暂时的混乱局面,运用市场专业知识和灵活的投资委托形式,将投资敞口转移到更看好的板块。

在2022年前三个月,表现最佳和表现最差的另类固定收益子板块之间的利差已经超过过去四年乃至过去十年多数年份的全年利差。

由于市场需消化美联储不断变化的货币政策所带来的影响,我们预计波动性将持续,为投资经理创造更多实施更灵活投资策略的潜在机会。

通过直接放贷策略获得可观的收益率

虽然科技板块在近期出现波动,但我们相信该板块的长期实力。向科技公司提供有担保的优先浮动利率直接贷款可能带来可观的当期收益,并可能通过结构化债务和股票推动资本增值。投资者可寻求在成熟和高增长的科技公司中获得差异化的投资敞口。

贷款价值比低、与其他资产类别相关性较弱等特点或能降低风险。此外,只要标的持仓主要为浮息债券,投资者就可能从加息中获益。

通胀意识投资:通胀挂钩债券为何举足轻重

我们认为,传统债券和通胀挂钩债券在多资产类别投资组合中均能发挥重要作用。在增长下滑期间尤其如此,因为在此时期,股市面临艰巨挑战。通胀高于预期的时期历来既冲击股票也冲击名义债券,而通胀挂钩债券可在此时缓解风险。

由于全球范围内通胀上升,全球通胀挂钩债券在过去12个月跑赢传统债券(图2)。如果长期通胀超过当前预期,则此类债券可能进一步拉开与传统债券的差距。通胀挂钩债券是部分另类策略的核心组成部分,包括与其他传统资产配置相比更加均衡的多资产类别风险平价基金。

 
图2.通胀挂钩债券表现优异
 
资料来源:彭博社。2021年3月31日至2022年3月31日的数据。指数未经管理。投资者不能直接投资指数。指数仅供说明、指示之用,不代表任何特定投资绩效。过往业绩并非未来结果的保证。实际结果可能发生变化。所有预测均为观点的表达,且并非对未来事件的保证,如有更改恕不另行通知。
 

房地产或可对冲通胀

我们还认为,在通胀环境下,投资房地产及其他有形资产可能会使投资组合受益。对房地产的投资专注于创收,而我们的高确信度子板块(例如多户住宅和工业板块)可能处于特别有利的位置。

私有房地产或可对冲通胀。它可能继续受益于部分板块及市场的潜在收益增长,以弥补利率上升可能导致的融资成本上涨。此外,美国房地产资本化率与10年期美国国债收益率之间的利差定义为“风险溢价”,截至2022年3月31日,该利差与历史平均值保持一致,约为289个基点。1若利差较历史平均值低,则表明资本化率可能走高。然而,眼下的利差意味着可通过收窄利差抵消债务成本的上涨。

如何将另类投资添加到合适的现代投资组合

对于合适的投资者,我们认为有充分的理由通过另类策略寻求潜在收益,实现多元化配置,以及对冲通胀。我们的客户关系团队可根据您当前的资产配置情况、投资目标和风险承受能力,探讨您的投资组合可能适于采取哪些策略。


下载完整报告

联系我们

为了帮助您联系到合适的顾问或团队,请回答以下问题。

1 Real Capital Analytics,数据截至2022年第一季度

Investing in alternative asset portfolios

DANIEL O’DONNELL
GLOBAL HEAD OF CITI INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT ALTERNATIVES
MICHAEL STEIN
GLOBAL HEAD OF HEDGE FUND RESEARCH AND MANAGEMENT
MICHAEL YANNELL
HEAD OF HEDGE FUND RESEARCH
STEFAN BACKHUS
Head of Private Equity - North America

Following the fixed income sell-off, we see various alternative strategies that may help suitable investors seek income and potentially mitigate the impact of inflation on portfolios.

Key takeaways

Yields across alternative fixed income sub-asset classes remain higher than in traditional core sectors

Alternative strategies with flexible mandates may be able to take advantage of performance divergence within fixed income

Direct lending to financially healthy technology companies may potentially provide current income and capital appreciation

Private real estate can potentially hedge against inflation, if underlying income can offset possible higher financing costs

Widespread, indiscriminate selling in fixed income in early 2022 may have created various potential opportunities accessible via alternative investment strategies. These include yield-oriented assets in public and private markets, where skilled managers can perform diligent security selection and sub-asset class rotation. We are also drawn to inflation-aware investments such as inflation-linked bonds and select real estate opportunities, which can produce income potentially hedging portfolios from inflationary risks.

Yield-oriented potential alternative investment opportunities

Credit markets have been volatile during the early stages of 2022. Nevertheless, the premiums associated with more specialized pockets of the fixed income markets remain robust. In fact, most fixed income sub-sectors offer a considerable step-up in yield, while trends in delinquencies and defaults have stayed low.

 
Figure 1. Fixed income yields by asset class subsector
 
Sources: Bloomberg, JP Morgan, FRED, Cliffwater, NYMT, EARN, ACRE, ARI, as of 31 Mar 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events.
 

Yields across alternative fixed income markets have increased by an average of 1.2% on a year-over-year basis. They remain notably higher than in traditional core sectors – figure 1. The increase may have created an attractive entry point for qualified investors seeking additional yield for their portfolios.

Fixed income sub-sectors are prone to wide dispersion, with relative performance dependent on a variety of macroeconomic factors. We believe the current environment should be conducive for alterative fixed income managers who can exploit temporary market dislocations, relying on market expertise and flexible investments mandates to shift exposures to more favorable sectors. 

In the first three months of 2022, the spread between the best and worst performing alternative fixed income sub-sectors has eclipsed the full year dispersion over the past four full years and indeed for most of the past decade.

We expect volatility to persist as markets digest the Federal Reserve’s evolving monetary policies, creating more potential opportunities for managers with more flexible investment strategies.

Attractive yields via direct lending strategies

Despite the recent volatility in the technology sector, we believe in the sector’s long-term strength. Senior secured floating rate direct loans to technology companies may provide attractive current income and the potential for capital appreciation from structured debt and equity securities. Investors can seek to access differentiated exposure in established and high-growth technology companies.

Features that could potentially mitigate risk include low loan-to-values and weaker correlations to other asset classes. In addition, investors may benefit from an increase in interest rates so long as underlying positions are primarily floating rate debt.

Inflation-aware investing: Why inflation-linked bonds matter

We believe both traditional and inflation-linked bonds play an important role in multi-asset class portfolios. This is especially true during periods of falling growth, which are challenging for equities. Inflation-linked bonds may offer risk mitigation in periods of higher-than-expected inflation, which historically has hit both equities and nominal bonds.

Global inflation-linked bonds have outperformed traditional bonds over the past twelve months as inflation has risen around the world – figure 2. They may outperform further if longer-term inflation exceeds current expectations. Inflation-linked bonds are a core component of select alternative strategies, including multi-asset class risk-parity funds that can be more balanced versus other traditional asset allocation implementations.

 
Figure 2. Inflation-linked has outperformed
 
Sources: Bloomberg. Data from 31 Mar 2021 to 31 Mar 2022. Indices are unmanaged. An investor cannot invest directly in an index. They are shown for illustrative purposes only and do not represent the performance of any specific investment. Past performance is no guarantee of future results. Real results may vary. All forecasts are expressions of opinion, are subject to change without notice, and are not intended to be a guarantee of future events.
 

Real estate can potentially hedge against inflation

We also believe investment in real estate and other tangible assets may benefit portfolios amid inflation. Real estate focused on income-generation and our high-conviction subsectors such as the multi-family residential and industrial sectors may be especially well positioned.

Private real estate can potentially hedge against inflation. It may continue benefiting from underlying income growth from select sectors and markets to compensate for potential higher financing costs resulting from rising interest rates. What is more, the spread between US real estate capitalization rates and the 10-year US Treasury yield is defined as the “risk premium” and remains in line with historical averages at approximately 289bps as of 31 March 2022.1 A lower spread versus a historical average could signal potentially higher capitalization rates. However, the current spread implies some potential to offset higher debt costs through spread compression.

How to add alternative investments to suitable, modern portfolios

For suitable investors, we believe there is a compelling case for seeking potential income, diversification and inflation hedges via alternative strategies. Your relationship team can discuss which strategies may be suitable for your portfolio, given your current asset allocation, objectives and risk tolerance.


Download the full report

Contact us

To help put you in touch with the right advisory or team, please answer the following questions.

1Real Capital Analytics, as of Q1 2022