DAN TOMASULO
2022年4月7日
5分钟

掌握积极的力量

2022年4月7日
5分钟
Citi Latitude
概览

积极思维的力量帮助我们摒弃让我们陷入消极循环的自我限制性观念,树立对美好愿景的持久信念。知名心理学家Dan Tomasulo表示,这是为了塑造最好的自己。


国际知名咨询心理学家、作家、教授兼哥伦比亚大学师范学院精神身心研究所学术主任Dan Tomasulo表示,积极思维的力量有助于您专注于自己的优势,培养最好的自己,从而建立充实的人生。

Citi Latitude邀请您在Dan参与的这个精彩环节中探索积极心理学这门科学,并了解五项实用的要点。

要点1

当您为未来做准备时,在心理上保持积极态度应是一项核心原则。您应该培养一种清晰和乐观的心态,这不仅是为了恢复,更是为取得进步。

在实现这一目标的过程中,我认为,传统心理学不太有效。传统心理学的前提是减轻人们的痛苦,例如,受困于焦虑、压力、信心不足或抑郁的人。这虽然没有什么问题,但这只是赢得了心理战争的一半,因为这就好比是现代医学中的情况,在确定了痛苦之后,后续的大部分举措都是为了减少这种痛苦。从来没有一门科学来研究如何能够积极向上、拥有希望和保持乐观。这就是积极心理学发挥作用的地方,它增加了对于“恢复并取得进步的能力”的关注。在积极心理学出现之前,人们就有一种真实的感觉,即:我们只是在处理出现的问题,而不是真正在探索如何变得强大。

要点2

积极心理学涉及一种非常不同的方法,由“P.E.R.M.A.”(积极情绪、参与、关系、意义和成就)提供支持。当您明白您需要这五个要素来真正了解幸福的定义之后,您会开始思考您在这五个方面可能需要的干预。

P.E.R.M.A方法还使您能够提出有意义的问题,以了解如何真正提升幸福感。P.E.R.M.A是一个首字母缩写词,其本身正如其中所包含的五项支柱因素一样强大。当然,积极心理学并不是华而不实的表面功夫。参与P.E.R.M.A.所支持的转变才是其中的关键。只有当您学会如何利用积极思维的力量来挑战和影响您的观念时,您才能够从非常不同的角度来看待这个世界。这个世界不是一成不变的。决定我们如何做出应对的,并不是具体的状况。我们对这种状况的观念决定了我们的应对方式。因此,就个人而言,您需要知道,转变是真实且可行的,并且,在往往是快速变化的情况下,也可以自信地管理这种转变。

要点3

当您开始了解积极干预以及如何促成转变时,您会发现,干预会涉及我们的过去、现在和未来。真正的干预应着眼于从过去获取积极情绪,并将这种情绪带到现在,随后以一种强大而独特的方式融入未来。

如果您把过去和现在都安排妥当,那么,您就会带着积极的意图、乐观的态度、信念和希望迈向未来。这种方法将帮助您改变您对“您是谁”以及“您在未来能产生的影响”这两个问题的思考方式。这不仅仅是为了感觉良好。这是为了建立一个信念:您可以掌控未来。当然,这不是指绝对的掌控,而是相信自己可以掌控它。这将帮助您提升自身的领导能力,增强对自己的信心,并给予您真正付出额外努力的动力,同时为您营造一个希望:您的努力会带来改变。

要点4

您应该相信“心理资本”的概念,它包含四个组成部分 - 希望、赋能、复原力和乐观心态 (H.E.R.O)。

“希望”是需要真正理解的第一种情绪,也是最重要的一种情绪。它关乎于建立期望,建立一个信念:您可以掌控未来。赋能和自我效能感意味着您拥有自信。您相信,您能以某种方式影响未来,您敢于踏入这个领域。之所以需要复原力,是因为我们都会受到打击,我们需要复原力,不仅是为了实现恢复,还为了取得进步。您如何应对阻碍、难题或困境,并开始将其视为机会?我相信坚忍主义者说过的一句话:“阻力产生动力,障碍成就道路。”最后,我们需要乐观心态。重点在于对未来的可能性采取非常普遍的积极态度。

要点5

打个比方,消极想法就像鹅卵石一样重,而积极想法则像羽毛一样轻。当您能把这个想象的天平向积极想法那一边倾斜时,这个天平(以及您的心理健康)就会发生实质性的变化。

研究表明,我们每天大约产生6200个想法,其中80%的想法是消极的。在这80%的消极想法中,有大约90%是前一天的想法的重复。这意味着,一旦一个消极想法或担忧嵌入到您的思维中,它就会进行自我复制。进化心理学家已经确定,会担忧的人才能够生存下去。因此,担忧融入到了我们的基因里。问题在于,我们可能会把这个天平向“一直担忧”的方向倾斜。积极心理学的目的是希望尝试让这个天平恢复平衡。它的目的不是尝试让人们消除担忧,因为这是很荒谬的事情。目标是确保消极想法不会过于占据主导地位,导致妨碍其他所有想法。真正有效的做法是对您的想法进行有意识的谨慎思考。因此,当您面对冲突时,请采用“微目标”或将您的进度细分为非常小的目标。然后学习如何使用微目标,因为希望和乐观心态是双向的。如果您对自己的工作抱有热情,则微目标会为您的成功提供助力。通过两个主要手段来实现这些目标:(1) 自我关爱——在身体和情绪上真正照顾好自己;以及 (2) 自我同情——学习培养自我安慰能力以及抚慰自己的负面情绪或失误造成的沮丧,用积极的想法来推动自己的情绪,从而使自己能够将这些想法传递给他人。

We noticed that you are based in . Would you like to view this page in ? Yes, take me to the page. No stay on this page.

Close MultiLang Selector Dialog
Dan Tomasulo
April 7, 2022
5 mins

Harness the power of positivity

April 7, 2022
5 mins
Citi Latitude
SUMMARY

The power of positive thinking helps us ditch the self-limiting beliefs that keep us stuck in a cycle of negativity and creates a lasting sense of hope. Renowned psychologist Dan Tomasulo says it’s all about cultivating your best self.


The power of positive thinking helps you focus on your strengths and cultivate your best self in order to lead a fulfilling life, according to Dan Tomasulo, internationally renowned counseling psychologist, writer, professor and the Academic Director at the Spirituality Mind Body Institute Teachers College, Columbia University.

Citi Latitude invites you to explore the science of positive psychology in this engaging session with Dan and observe its five key actionable takeaways.

Takeaway 1

Being psychologically positive should be at the very core of how you prepare for the future. You should develop a clear and upbeat mindset not only to bounce back, but to bounce forward.

In bringing this about, I believe traditional psychology has not quite hit the mark. It is only predicated on alleviating the suffering of people struggling with, for instance, anxiety, stress, confidence or depression. While there's nothing wrong with that, it is only half the psychological battle because – akin to modern medicine – once the suffering has been identified, much of the subsequent effort is all about reducing that suffering. There was never a science about how to thrive, have hope and optimism. That’s where the field of positive psychology comes into play by bringing the ability to bounce forward into the equation. Before positive psychology came into in the mix, there was a real sense that we were just dealing with what was wrong, not really dealing with what was strong.

Takeaway 2

Positive psychology involves a very different approach supported by ‘P.E.R.M.A.’ or Positive emotions, Engagement, Relationship, Meaning, and Accomplishment. Once you grasp that you need all these five things to really understand what wellbeing is like, you start to think of the kind interventions you may need on these five fronts.

The P.E.R.M.A approach also makes you meaningfully question how to really cultivate greater wellbeing. It is an acronym that’s as powerful as the five key pillars that underpin in. Of course, positive psychology is not a spectator sport. Partaking in the transformation supported by P.E.R.M.A. is the crucial part. You will get to see the world in a very different light only when you learn how to challenge and influence your beliefs with the power of positive thinking. The world is not fixed. It isn't the circumstance that determines how we'll respond. It's our belief about that circumstance that will determine how we respond. Hence, as an individual you need to know that transformation is true and possible, and manageable with confidence in often fast moving circumstances.

Takeaway 3

When you start to look at positive interventions and enabling transformation – there are interventions that deal with our past, present, and future. The real intervention should be about harvesting positive emotions from the past into the present, and subsequently leaning into the future in a powerful and unique way.

If you have the past and present all set, then you lean into the future with positive intentions, optimism, faith and hope. Such an approach will help you to change the way you think about who you are and the impact you can have in the future. It isn't merely about feeling good. It's about having a belief that you can control the future. Of course, it's not absolute control but rather the belief that you can control it. It will help you upgrade your leadership capabilities, bolster belief in yourself, and give you the motivation to really put in that extra effort whilst harboring the hope that your efforts are going make a difference.

Takeaway 4

You should believe in the concept of psychological capital which has four components – Hope, Empowerment, Resilience and Optimism, or H.E.R.O.

Hope is the first and foremost of emotions to really understand. It's about anticipating, having a belief that you can control in the future. Empowerment and self-efficacy imply that you have a sense of confidence. You believe that you can influence the future in a certain way, and you step into that space. Resilience is needed because we all take knocks, and need it not just to come back, but to bounce forward. How do you take a block, difficulty or struggle, and start to see it as an opportunity? I believe in the saying from the stoics: "What's in the way becomes the way.” And finally, its Optimism we need. It is all about having a very general positive attitude about possibilities in the future.

Takeaway 5

Negative thoughts metaphorically weigh like pebbles while positive thoughts are like feathers. The balance of that imaginary scale – and your mental wellbeing – materially changes when you can tip it in the direction of positive thoughts.

Research suggests that we have around 6,200 thoughts a day and 80% of those thoughts are negative. Of that 80%, around 90% are repeats from the day before. What it means is that once a negative thought or worry gets embedded in your thinking, it will duplicate itself. Evolutionary psychologists have determined that people who worry are the ones who survive. So, it's built into our genes to worry. The problem is we can tip that scale in the direction of worrying all the time. Positive psychology is about attempting, with hope, to balance that scale out. It not about trying to make people not worry as that would be ridiculous. The goal is to make sure that negative thoughts don't become so prevalent that they get in the way of everything else. What really works is being conscious and deliberate about your thoughts. So, when you move toward a conflict you adopt ‘micro-goals’ or break down your progress into very small goals. Then learn how to use micro-goals because hope and optimism are bidirectional. If you have passion for what you do, micro-goals are going to fuel your success. Achieve them through two primary means: (1) self-care, by taking really good care of yourself physically and emotionally; and (2) self-compassion, by learning how to nurture and soothe yourself of negativity or slip-ups and filling up your emotional fountain with positive thoughts so that you can radiate those out to others.