APRIL RINNE
2022年5月5日
6分钟

8种“超能力”,应对持续不断的变化

2022年5月5日
6分钟
CITI LATITUDE
概览

为了帮助最优秀的领导者在当今混乱的世界里审时度势、沉着应对未来,未来学家April Rinne提出了“变通心态”的概念。我们将与April一起学习如何培养变通心态,并了解其八个特征。


在我们这个瞬息万变的世界里,即使是那些对自身应变能力引以为傲的人,也时常会感到力不从心。面对当今动荡的形势,人们需要一种能够应对万变的新方法。为了帮助您在当今混乱的世界里审时度势、沉着应对未来,“变革领航者”、未来学家兼励志演说家April Rinne提出了“变通心态”的概念。

Citi Latitude邀请您参加这场引人入胜的会议,与April一起了解变通心态的特征,并学习五个颇具可行性的实践心得。

心得1

当您开始层层剖析自己的生活时,您会发现变化无所不在,并且一直是生活的主旋律。变化并非什么新鲜事,早在人类历史出现之前,就已普遍存在。生活就是以正确的方式接受并管理变化。

作为人类,我们往往喜欢我们可以控制或选择的变化。我们通常很讨厌那些我们无法控制或让我们猝不及防的变化。我们采取何种方式应对和管理我们家庭、工作场所、人际关系及整个世界的变化,将最终决定我们的命运。

心得2

变化只是一个词,但它的出现往往异常混乱、复杂和令人担忧。我们必须学会把意外的变化——无论变化多么巨大——视为机会,并在出现意想不到的变化之后重新调整我们的生活方式。

这不仅关乎变化的内容,时间也是一个因素。对某些人而言,变化可能是轻松而快速的,但对另一些人而言,可能是艰难而痛苦的缓慢过程。并且,变化的速度从来没有像今天这么快——这既令人兴奋,又令人恐惧,具体取决于您如何看待它。

心得3

作为人类,我们痴迷于预测和掌控未来,这令人感到滑稽,因为未来不止一个。我们每天都在致力于实现许多不同的未来。未来既不确定,也不稳定,并且充满不断的变化和变通。

对我来说,变化既是一个名词,也是一个动词。作为名词,它意味着持续的变化,但作为动词,它意味着要学会变化。如果世界在变化,我们需要学会如何变化。这关乎我们希望成为什么样的人,以及我们希望如何应对各种可见和不可见的变化——正如两年多来新冠疫情所展现的那样。我们的工作场所、气候、市场、家庭动态——所有这些都在不断变化。

心得4

在当今快节奏的世界,为了应对战略与心态之间的矛盾或关系,您需要培养变通心态——一种应对瞬息万变世界的心态。我称之为拥抱不确定性的能力,因为我们不是试图改变变化。

我们不是试图鉴别和管理变化;事实上,我们只是顺其自然地接受它,因为我们知道它是生活轨迹的一部分。此外,变通心态也意味着放慢脚步,看清周围真正发生的事情——在全身心投入变化之前进行考察、评估、思考和制定战略。我们千方百计地跑在变化的前面,但我们真正需要的是看清所有变化,然后接受变化并在日常生活中作出调整的能力。变通心态将有助于您改变自己的方法。

心得5

您必须运用变通心态来释放和培养您的8种变通超能力。这些超能力是指成功应对万变的做法和原则。不过,这些超能力只是以菜单的形式列出,而不是以教学大纲的形式列出。也就是说,您不必按照从1到2再从2到3的顺序练习这些超能力,您可以练习其中某一种,也可以练习全部8种超能力。每一种超能力都独立存在,但它们之间确实会相互促进。它们会启迪我们反思自己的优缺点。

第一种超能力就是所谓的放慢跑速,做出更明智的决策,而不仅仅是缓解焦虑和倦怠。

第二种超能力是看到隐藏的事物,找出您的盲点,发现新的机会、见解和价值源泉。

第三种超能力是走出我们的舒适区,让我们自身沉浸在与未知事物的关系之中,迷失和探索自己的方向。

第四种超能力是从信任开始,学会培养关系,并与他人一起更好地引导变化。

第五种超能力是知道自己足够好。我们痴迷于太多的事物,欲望越来越大,这让我们很痛苦。更多的点击量、更多华美的衣服、更大的权力、更多的金钱——摒弃这种态度将有助于我们追求真正的幸福、满足和人生意义。

第六种超能力就是通常所说的创建您的职业组合。这种超能力有点特别,因为它是针对未来的工作而言的。它是关于如何设计您的专业身份和职业,以适应未来工作的变化。其中的关键理念在于,未来的成功职业看起来更像是一个艺术家或投资者的作品集或投资组合,而不是一条追求的道路或攀登的阶梯。

第七种超能力是更加人性化。这主要与我们和技术的关系有关,问题在于:我们花在设备上的时间越来越多,而彼此之间相处的时间却越来越少。

最后但同样重要的是第八种超能力,称为“放任未来”。这并不意味着放弃或失败,而是放弃我们对预测和掌控未来的执念,因为未来不止一个。有许多不同的未来。事实上,我们需要跳出自己的思维模式,放开那些将我们拧成一团乱麻的事物,让更好的未来出现。

了解和培养这八种超能力就像是强化一块精神肌肉。如果您开始日复一日地反复练习,则随着时间的推移,它会微妙地改变您对变化的条件反射。

April Rinne
May 5, 2022
6 mins

8 Superpowers for thriving in constant change

May 5, 2022
6 mins
CITI LATITUDE
SUMMARY

­To help the best leaders find calm and meaning amid chaos, futurist April Rinne has developed the flux mindset. Together with April, we will learn how to develop a flux mindset and understand its eight characteristics.


In our rapidly changing world even those who pride themselves as being flexible and resilient often feel stretched to breaking point. This fluctuating landscape calls for a new approach that’s capable of accommodating constant change. To help you find calm and meaning amid chaos, “change navigator”, futurist and motivational speaker April Rinne has developed “the flux mindset.”

Citi Latitude invites you to understand the characteristics of the flux mindset in this engaging session with April and observe its five key actionable takeaways.

Takeaway 1

When you start peeling back the layers of your own life, you will see that change is universal and has been a consistent thread in it. Change is nothing new, it goes back farther than human history. Life is all about embracing and managing it the right way.

As human beings we tend to love changes that we can control or ones that we can opt-in to. But we tend to really hate changes that we can't control or those that blindside us. How we react and manage that change in our homes, workplaces, relationships, and the whole world is what will ultimately define us.

Takeaway 2

Change is just one word, but its occurrence is often extraordinarily messy, complicated and fraught. We must learn to view unexpected change – however profound – as an opportunity and reconfigure how we show up for life in the wake of an unexpected development.

It is not just about what is changing. There is also a time component here. Changes that are easy and fast for one person might be hard and painfully slow for another. And that pace of change has never been as fast as it is today – something that’s exciting and terrifying in equal measure depending on how you view it.

Takeaway 3

As human beings we are obsessed with wanting to predict and control the future, which is funny because there is no one future. There are many different possible futures that we are each contributing to every single day. The future is neither certain nor stable and will be full of constant change or flux.

To me, flux is both a noun and a verb. As a noun it means continuous change but as a verb it means to learn to become fluid. If the world is in flux, we need to learn how to flux. This is about who do we wish to be and how do we wish to show up for the many kinds of changes both seen and unseen – as the COVID pandemic has aptly demonstrated for over two years. Our workplace, climate, markets, family dynamics – all these things are in flux.

Takeaway 4

In order to cope with the tension or relationship between strategy and mindset in today’s fast paced world, you need to develop the flux mindset – a state of mind that thrives in a rapidly changing world. I call it the ability to lean into uncertainty precisely because you're not trying to make it something different.

You're not trying to triage and manage it; you're just actually letting it be and embracing it based on the understanding that it is part of life’s trajectory. Additionally, a flux mindset is also about slowing down and seeing what's really happening – examining, assessing, thinking and strategizing before diving headfirst into it. We are programed to run faster in the face of change but what we really need is the ability to see all the change before we embrace it and show up for daily lives. A flux mindset will help you change your approach.

Takeaway 5

You've got to use this flux mindset to unlock and develop your 8 flux superpowers. These are practices and disciplines on how to thrive in constant change. But the superpowers are a menu, not a syllabus. You don't have to do 1 before 2 or 2 before 3, you can practice 1 and you can practice all 8. Each one stands on its own but they do enhance one another. They invite us to rethink our strengths and weaknesses.

The first one is what's called running slower, making wiser decisions and not just mitigate anxiety and burnout.

The second superpower is seeing what's invisible, identifying your blind spots and discovering new sources of opportunity, insights and value.

The third superpower is getting lost by stretching beyond our comfort zones and immersing ourselves in a relationship with the unknown.

The fourth is starting with trust, learning to nurture relationships and navigate change better together.

The fifth superpower is knowing you're enough. We're obsessed with more and it's making us mostly miserable. More clicks, more clothes, more power, more money – discarding this attitude will help us in our quest for true happiness, satisfaction and meaning.

The sixth superpower is what's called creating your portfolio career. This one is a little unique in that it's specific to the future of work. It is about is how do you design your professional identity and career in ways that are fit for a future of work in flux. The punchline here is that the successful career of the future looks far more like a portfolio to curate as an artist or an investor would, and far less like a path to pursue or a ladder to climb.

The seventh superpower is - be all the more human. This is all about our relationship to technology and the tension we face in that we're spending ever more time with our devices and yet ever less time with one another.

And last but not least the eighth flux superpower, is called letting go of the future. This is not about giving up or failure, but rather about letting go of our obsession with wanting to predict and control the future because there is no one future. There are many different possible futures. We actually need to get out of our own way and let go of the things that are twisting us up like pretzels in order to let better futures emerge.

Understanding and working on these eight superpowers is like strengthening a mental muscle. If you start doing that day after day after day, and it will subtly shift your immediate default reaction to change over time.