可持續投資
2021年3月26日

爲何忽視可持續性會構成投資組合風險?

2021年3月26日
David Bailin
首席投資官
Harlin Singh Urofsky
可持續投資全球主管
Steven Wieting
首席投資策略師兼首席經濟學家
Business man looking at model wind turbine
概覽

在投資決策中,可持續性已成爲越來越重要的考慮因素。不考慮可持續性,可能會演變成代價高昂的錯誤。


過去幾年中,投資者可能會自行決定是否強調或忽略可持續性因素,而且推動他們做出選擇的是個人看法並非市場基本面。但是,這種情況正迅速發生改變,可持續性日益成爲業績和投資組合穩定性的驅動力量。例如,根據晨星公司的數據,在2020年第一季度,可持續投資策略的淨流入爲456億美元,而在新冠疫情期間市場遭遇拋售潮的情況下,整個基金行業的淨流出爲3,847億美元。到2020年,全球可持續投資的資產管理規模(主要根據ESG數據整合衡量)達到40.5萬億美元,約佔專業機構的預計全球資產管理規模總額(100萬億至120萬億美元)的33.8%至40.5%。

儘管被提及的頻率很高,但經常有人問我們:什麼是可持續投資?廣義而言,可持續投資包含許多不同的方法,並且對不同的投資者具有不同的含義,但是最終目標是使用環境、社會和治理數據來確保在構建投資者的核心投資組合時,考慮的不僅僅是每家公司的經營目的,還要考慮每家公司如何經營。

可持續投資包括排除不符合投資者價值的公司(即排除有問題的股票)和評估一家企業是否具有可持續的商業模式或在未來的可持續經濟中是否佔有一席之地。因此,可持續投資已從主要側重於排除或納入一小批股票轉變爲更廣泛的主題觀點。例如,我們發現許多策略將整個化石燃料行業排除在外,其原因不僅是溫室氣體排放所造成的傷害,而且還有在未來後碳時代中這些資產所面臨的風險。從價值觀一致”轉變爲“無重大損害的理念已成爲投資組合排除選股名單增長的主要動力。另一方面,投資者追求可持續主題的價值,例如可再生能源、清潔水資源、經濟適用房和醫療保健。

財富洞見

歡迎查閱與您和您的財富相關的焦點話題以及我們的獨到見解。

查看更多

財富洞見

歡迎查閱與您和您的財富相關的焦點話題以及我們的獨到見解。

查看更多
如果您是花旗私人銀行客戶,則可以通過月度報表查看您的投資組合的價值,如果您使用花旗私人銀行In View,則可以通過"Portfolio"(投資組合) → "Overview"(概覽)導航到“Account Overview”(賬戶概況)頁面。如有任何疑問,請聯繫您的花旗私人銀行代表。

Alert iconWarning: Unsupported web browser

In View no longer supports your current web browser version, which means some functionality may be limited. Please update your browser for the best experience before you log in.

close icon
Citi Private Bank logo

Unsupported browser

Our website no longer supports your current web browser version, which means you are no longer able to access this website. Please update your browser to continue.

Continue
Investment strategy
March 23, 2021
3 mins

Why ignoring sustainability is a portfolio risk

March 23, 2021
3 mins
David Bailin
Chief Investment Officer
Harlin Singh
Global Head of Sustainable Investing
STEVEN WIETING
CHIEF INVESTMENT STRATEGIST AND CHIEF ECONOMIST
Business man looking at model wind turbine
SUMMARY

Sustainability is an increasingly important consideration in investment decision-making. Failure to consider it could prove an expensive mistake.


In past years, an investor could emphasize or ignore sustainability factors at their discretion, with personal views not market fundamentals driving their choice. But that has been changing rapidly, with sustainability increasingly functioning as a driver of performance and portfolio stability. For instance, according to Morningstar, in Q1 2020, sustainable strategies saw a net inflow of $45.6BN, compared to an outflow of $384.7BN for the overall fund universe amid the coronavirus pandemic market sell-off. Global sustainably invested AUM (measured primarily by ESG data integration) reached $40.5T in 2020. That represents roughly 33.8% – 40.5% of the estimated $100T - $120T total global AUM under professional management.

Despite how often it is talked about, we are often asked: What is a sustainable investment? Broadly, sustainable investing encompasses many different methods, and means different things to different investors, but the end goal is to use Environmental, Social, and Governance data to ensure that an investor’s core portfolio is constructed in a manner that accounts for not only what each company is doing business in – but also how each company is doing business.

This ranges from excluding companies that don’t meet the investor’s values (i.e. excluding "sin" stocks) to evaluations of whether a business has a sustainable business model or has a place in a future sustainable economy. Thus, sustainable investing has shifted from primarily focusing on a short list of exclusions or inclusions to broader thematic views. For example, we see many strategies exclude the entire fossil fuels sector both because of the harm caused by greenhouse gas emissions but also due to the risk to those assets in a world shifting towards a post carbon future. The shift from values-alignment to a concept of “do no significant harm” has been the primary driver of a growth in the list of portfolio exclusions. On the other end of the spectrum, are investors seeking value in sustainable themes – such as renewable energy, clean water, affordable housing, and healthcare.

If you are a Citi Private Bank client you can check the value of your portfolio by reviewing your monthly statements or, if you use Citi Private Bank In View, by navigating to the Account Overview page via Portfolio → Overview. If you have any queries please contact your usual Citi Private Bank representative.
Close Contact Form
Close Modal

You're about to leave the Citi Private Bank website

By clicking continue, you will visit a third-party website that is not owned or managed by us.

We have no control of the content, privacy or security beyond this point.

Continue

Stay on this page