投资策略
2021年3月18日

增持股票和债券

2021年3月18日
Steven Wieting
首席投资策略师兼首席经济学家
概要

我们已清算重持的黄金,并将收益再投资于若干股票和债券。


花旗私人银行环球投资委员会(GIC)取消我们对黄金的战术性重持,将收益再投资于美国国债通胀指数化债券和英国股票。因此全球股票和债券权重均略有增加。(全球股票和房地产投资信托基金从9.0%上升至10%,而固定收益从-9.5%上升至-9.0%。我们仍然持轻1.0%的现金)。

花旗私人银行环球投资委员会在2019年8月决定对黄金进行战术增持,原因是当时全球债券收益率暴跌。在购债规模缩减之前,我们于2020年年初疫情爆发期间进一步增加黄金持仓。在此期间,黄金上涨16%。

由于各国央行设定较高的通胀率目标,总体相对于其他实际资产,黄金越来越多地成为长期战略性持有的资产。但是,就像长期债券一样,当市场利率上升时,黄金对表现构成战术性风险。  自1985年以来,黄金在6个时期内涨幅均超过20%,在4种情况下跌幅超过20%。2020年期间,黄金的可观收益反映出美国宽松货币政策已达到峰值速度。这使得今年的黄金和债券估值处于易受影响的状态。

由于主权债券收益率创历史新低,欧洲和日本更是首当其冲,我们依然大幅减持全球固定收益。我们预计未来几年美国十年期国债平均收益率为2.5%,而目前为1.65%。我们也基本上对信贷资产持乐观态度。尽管如此,2021年年初至今,美国长期国债已下跌13%,降低了估值风险。与其他发达市场相比,美国长期国债的美国收益率溢价不断大幅上升,这将吸引全球需求,可能会减缓美国收益率的上升速度。美元资产的外汇对冲成本的暴跌也将提供至关重要的支撑。

我们预计短期内通胀率将会飙升,美国消费价格指数可能会在2021年余下时间内升至年均3%以上。美国通胀保值债券(TIPS)持有人将直接获得此通货膨胀补偿,但会损失一小部分应计本金。从长远来看,美联储采取高通胀目标以拉平过去10年通胀率较低的影响,将使美国十年期通胀保值债券持有人受益。

考虑到世界经济的严重扰乱以及在疫苗接种有效推进期间通过的空前财政刺激措施,来年的总体通胀率很可能会高于长期利率。即便假设其它物价上涨速度不变,仅汽油期货价格的上涨就意味着12个月的消费价格指数将上涨超过3%。

为了在通胀上升期间将我们的整体债券估值风险限制在固定收益范围内,我们削减了机构抵押贷款支持证券等美国政府担保债务的配置。

在我们的资产配置中,美国通胀保值债券和英国股票均已超配。今天,我们将两者的权重各增加了1.0%。英国股票的平均股息收益率为4.0%,似乎正得到越来越多的有力支撑,并且可能会走高。英国股票的估值仅为当年预期每股收益的14.2倍,与美国股票相比折让近40%,2022年期间每股收益率有望强劲反弹。

英国股票因为新冠疫情冲击最严重的行业存在大量周期性因素而受到严重影响。英国的疫苗接种工作进展良好,与欧盟参差不齐的情况形成鲜明对比。英国脱欧带来的贸易不确定性在过去五年中阻碍了外国投资者对英国的投资,而目前脱欧问题已经基本得到解决。强大的贸易敞口和国内经济好转应该会为各板块的各类英国股票提供支持。尽管英国股市的表现与新兴市场一致,但该国股市与美元走势的负相关性要远低于新兴市场。由于美国相对收益率的上升以及空前的美国财政刺激措施可能在年内将美国实际GDP增速提高至6%,我们认为随着美元反弹,经济复苏会给资产的表现带来潜在风险。

展望未来,我们将密切关注美国大盘股和中国股票市场。这些都是我们资产配置中的中性权重,但医疗保健和房地产投资信托基金除外。在过去6个月中,鉴于美国大盘股价值高于成长股近15个百分点,我们会在周期性行业股价更加充分体现出已摆脱疫情影响后的某个时间,重新配置以获得长期持久的增长机会——请参阅我们《2021年展望》中的相关讨论。

Alert iconWarning: Unsupported web browser

In View no longer supports your current web browser version, which means some functionality may be limited. Please update your browser for the best experience before you log in.

close icon
Citi Private Bank logo

Unsupported browser

Our website no longer supports your current web browser version, which means you are no longer able to access this website. Please update your browser to continue.

Continue
Investment strategy
March 18, 2021
4 mins

Adding to equities and bonds

March 18, 2021
4 mins
Steven Wieting
CHIEF INVESTMENT STRATEGIST AND CHIEF ECONOMIST
Gold bars cooling in water
SUMMARY

We have liquidated our overweight in gold and reinvested the proceeds in certain equities and bonds.


The Citi Private Bank Global Investment Committee (GIC) eliminated our tactical overweight in gold, reinvesting the proceeds in US Treasury Inflation Indexed bonds and UK equities. This resulted in slight increases in both global equity and bond weightings. (Global Equities and REITs rose from +9.0% to +10%, while Fixed Income rose from -9.5% to -9.0%. We remain underweight cash by 1.0%). 

The GIC added gold as a tactical overweight in August 2019 on what was then a plunge in global bond yields. We added further to the position during the crisis months of early 2020 before scaling back. Gold has risen 16% over the period.

The case for gold as a long-term strategic holding is improving among real assets generally, as central banks target a higher inflation rate. However, like long-duration bonds, gold is a tactical performance risk when market interest rates rise.  Since 1985, gold has risen more than 20% during six periods, and fell more than 20% in four cases. The sizeable gains for gold through 2020 reflected a peak pace of US monetary easing. This leaves both gold and bond valuations vulnerable this year.

We remain deeply underweight Global Fixed Income because of record low sovereign bond yields, particularly in Europe and Japan. We would expect 10-year US Treasury yields to average 2.5% in the coming few years, versus 1.65% at present. We are also fundamentally optimistic on credit assets. Nevertheless, the 13% decline in long-duration US Treasuries in 2021-to-date has reduced valuation risk. The large and rising US yield premium for long-term US Treasuries compared to other developed markets will attract global demand, likely slowing the rise in US yields. A plunge in foreign exchange hedging costs for US dollar assets is a critical support.

We expect near-term inflation to spike, with US consumer price inflation (CPI) likely to rise above 3% annualized for the remainder of 2021. US TIPS holders will directly receive this inflation compensation, but lose a smaller amount of accrued principal. The Fed’s higher inflation target – to make up for the past decade’s shortfall in hitting that target – should benefit TIPS holders over the long term.

Given large distortions to the world economy and record fiscal stimulus at a time of effective vaccinations, headline inflation in the coming year will likely exceed the long-term rate. The rise in gasoline futures prices alone suggests a greater- than-3% twelve-month CPI increase even with no change in the pace of other price gains.

To limit our overall bond valuation exposure to fixed income during a time of rising inflation, we trimmed the allocation for US government guaranteed debt, such as agency Mortgage Backed Securities.

Both TIPS and UK equities are already overweights within our asset allocation. We added 1.0% to both weightings today. UK equities sport a 4.0% average dividend yield, which appears increasingly well supported and likely to grow. UK equities trade at a valuation of just 14.2 times current year EPS estimates, a nearly 40% discount to US equities, with a strong EPS rebound likely through 2022. 

UK equities were hamstrung by a heavy cyclical composition of industries most exposed to COVID disruptions. The strong performance of the UK vaccination rollout contrasts with a highly uneven one in the European Union. Now largely resolved, Brexit trade uncertainties have held back foreign investor allocations to the UK over the past five years. Strong trade exposures and a rebounding domestic economy should support various UK equities across sectors. While UK equities have performed in line with emerging markets (EM), the country has a far lower negative correlation to movements in the US dollar than EM. With the rise in US relative yields and a record US fiscal stimulus likely to push US real GDP growth toward 6% this year, we consider a rebound in the US dollar a potential performance risk to assets we believe are otherwise poised for recovery.

Looking ahead, we are keenly watching US large-cap and Chinese equity markets. These are both neutral weightings in our asset allocation apart from healthcare and REITs. With US large-cap value outperforming growth by nearly 15 percentage points over the past six months, we will reallocate towards longer-term enduring growth opportunities at some point after the recovery from the COVID shock in cyclical industries is more fully priced – see our Outlook 2021 for discussion.

Close Contact Form
Close Modal

You're about to leave the Citi Private Bank website

By clicking continue, you will visit a third-party website that is not owned or managed by us.

We have no control of the content, privacy or security beyond this point.

Continue

Stay on this page